Find companies:
American InterContinental University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

American InterContinental University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for the hills....
Admissions (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: staff was friendly, family environment and fun moments not all business
Cons: hard numbers to hit, lots of performance plans, management uneducated about the business
The school is slowly collapsing! I would run for the hills if you want solid employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Work
Senior Admissions Advisor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2014
A typical day at work is 100+ outbound calls reaching out to students that have been separated/withdrawn from the University for over a year.

Conduct phone interviews finding out interest, desire, motivation in obtaining college degree. Set firm expectations and deadlines.

Process reentry application, guide student through reentry process.

Heaving – more... phone an email contact, multi-tasking.

Hardest part of job is being held accountable for another person's decision to move forward with their education, or at least exploring their options.

Most enjoyable part of my job, very rewarding when you know you have helped a student make an important decision toward earning their degree. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me to fit in class schedule
Administrative Assistant / Academic Affairs (Former Employee), Atlanta GaAugust 5, 2014
Pros: allowed for class
Cons: short breaks/ no benefits
School is great.. overpriced.. management can be petty. Nothing more to tell
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent work at a fast pace
Graduate Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Beaverton, ORJuly 24, 2014
Pros: consistent work schedule and decent pay.
Cons: in essence, it was a sales job and i am not as strong at sales as i am at other skills.
The day was scheduled out for us, with particular times we were on the "incoming call Queue" to interview perspective students, then scheduled time for following up with students we have already established contact with. I learned excellent time management skills for productivity and efficiency. The management was well trained and likable as well as – more... a diverse group of co-workers. The hardest part of the job was establishing trust with perspective students. The application process was easy but there was an application fee which was usually the part of the interview that stalled most applicants. The most enjoyable part of the job was two fold; tracking the success of the students I enrolled and a positive work environment with incentives to achieve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free popcorn in the lobby
Cons: rude management, undisclosed staff lounge
A typical day at work is mild mannered. I learned to just stay quite and not get in any one way. And only give a formal hello to those who are social and speaks back. not every one wants your good morning. the co workers i work in office with two are nice. although there are a few whi made my day with a smile and then there are the ones who sit and – more... catty about those less fortunate then themselves. the most enjoyable part was working with the students and assisting the events. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible work environment
Online Instructor, Economics (Current Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILJuly 24, 2014
Very flexible work environment. Everyone is friendly and accomodating. Flexible work hours and reasonable deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
National Recruiter (Former Employee), Beaverton, ORJuly 21, 2014
This company provides a great online educational platform.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Student management specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2014
Pros: fun place
Cons: not enough advancement opportunties
great place to work just not enough opportunity to grow
fun
co cowkers were great
all good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professor at the Online Division for a For-Profit University
Part-time Instructor (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILJune 27, 2014
Interesting to have been on the ground floor of the advent of online education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A field where one works at something the love is always a pleasure!
Visual Communications tech (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 13, 2014
Pros: invited to all university functions /free food
Cons: break in between assignments
Working in an artistic environment, where on has the freedom to create.
Learn to become more proficient with software such as Photoshop, In Design etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Past Customer Service Department
LIBRARY ADMINISTRATIVE TRAINER (Former Employee), Atlanta, GaJune 5, 2014
Pros: weekly training
Conducted staff training in the areas of Reference, Circulation, Customer Service and Collection Maintenance.
Facilitated team building by participating in departmental cross training and collaborating with staff on a variety of projects
Fostered team approach in problem solving by actively contributing to inter-departmental project meetings
Demonstrated – more... knowledge of electronic and print resources through coaching and training students and staff in research.
Promoted and participates in campus-wide Library events – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice check, low morale
Senior Advisor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 21, 2014
Job security is very stressing. Nice coworkers and disconnect between management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admissions advisor
National Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Downers groveMay 8, 2014
The Admissions Advisor provides admissions, academic and career advisement to prospective and current students regarding National University academic degree and certificate programs. The Advisor provides information regarding the admissions/enrollment processes, facilitates the collection of all required admissions documents, proactively follows-up – more... with prospective students, and provides ongoing customer service to students throughout the completion of their degree program(s). The Advisor is also responsible for maintaining a solid functional knowledge or NU programs, policies, procedures and practices to effectively support prospective and current students.

Additional duties include:
•Participates in and suggests recruitment/outreach activities; provide information on college opportunities and admission procedures/activities.
•Performs administrative tasks associated with department activities
•Follow up with students via telephone, walk-in visits, or scheduled appointments, to maximize academic scheduling
•Keep track of student enrollments through ongoing communications with students via different means to identify and address problems/issues early on to enhance student’s success with the goal of maximizing students’ completion rates.
•Lead and participate in daily retention activities in support of the University’s goals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm glad its closing
Adjunct Faculty in Audio Production (Former Employee), weston, flApril 25, 2014
This place is awful. They treat their faculty harshly and treat the students even worse. Since they found out the school was closing, it took a turn for the worse
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unraveling Structure
Administrative Assistant/Team Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaApril 14, 2014
Pros: challenging, personally rewarding, variety
Cons: inefficient department management practices, unclear/ unfocused short and long term goals, dishonesty, lack of integrity
I had a great time working with students, helping resolve issues that range from class schedules, course credits, internships and employment to how they might eat for the next few days.

It was enlightening and rewarding as I was able to make an impact and see that impact in our young adults. I learned the power of knowledge, communication, cooperation, – more... leadership and taking initiative. I took the initiative to inquire, post, and provide information to all students in regards to external internships, employment opportunities, that students could not find in the career assistance office. I also worked with personnel in that office to better commuicate such opportunities to all students, not just the ones specific to my department at that time.

I assisted with helping students engage individuals of influence not only in their respective professions but also within the school that could help provide knowledge and wisdom to further their careers.

The hardest part of job came towards the end when management started with vast changes that disrupted or severely crippled daily process. With such uncertainty, unclear structure or direction, mass resignations, and untrained/ unqualified individuals stepping into management roles without having the proper experience or knowledge which resulted in creating a disruptive, hostile, and volatile work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ultra competative and extremely negative
National Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Downers grove illinoisApril 2, 2014
Pros: pay is good
Cons: everything else
Work it typically the same from day to day. Being transferred calls from perspective students who are not really interested in the programs at all because they did not exactly request the information. Employees are pushed to enroll every possible student regardless of what they are really looking for. The government made it illegal to give raises based – more... on enrollment numbers however this company will fire you for it.
Management really has no idea how to lead a group. The only thing they know to do is threaten peoples jobs to get the results that they want.
Co-workers are ALL looking for new jobs.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with management who just wants more from less.
Most enjoyable part of the job is going home at night.

The job is not as advertised you will not be helping people further their education you will be trying to sell the school to everyone who will listen – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal Orientated Workplace
Admissions Advisor - Contract (Former Employee), downers grove ,ilMarch 19, 2014
Reaching your monthly goal of enrollments was your number one priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online University that was a learning experience.
Document coordinator (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILMarch 17, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: hard to reach anyone when needed.
Being an online university, it has its ups and downs. It was a place that needed total focus and paying attention to. It was ever changing, so employees needed to be flexible with their learning.

I learned how to be a manager and dealing with students on a regular basis. I would call them for signatures on the request form, so that I could request – more... their transcripts for college credit. My coworkers where great. I still communicate with one.

I think the hardest part of my job was getting a hold of the students and schools to check the status of the request that was sent. So, I would have to call several times to get someone that would answer. The most enjoyable part of the job was the coworkers. Great conversations that were healed. Learning off of each other was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating Teaching Experience
Online Adjunct (Current Employee), OnlineMarch 8, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: measurement system
If you are looking to teach online beware, this is a frustrating experience because the measurement system is a complete joke! AIU requires Doctoral degrees out of faculty but then measures them with individuals with Bachelors or Masters degrees and no teaching experience. Do you see a problem; additionally, the Un-experienced Reviewer is using a checklist – more... that does not account for actual Quality in terms of engagement, or content. Lastly, there was a TON of IT related issues that increased the amount of time spent on the class which reduces your overall pay rate. It's not bad, but prepare to be frustrated! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for if you're starting your career
Career Services Advisor (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers, great cafeteria, good work-life balance.
Cons: high-volume cold-calling, regulatory pressure
This company was great to work for. The management was friendly and was always willing to listen to feedback. They were always striving to make our work processes better and were never shy about rewarding good work. They were also good about you taking time off for family or personal reasons. I was able to make friends with several of my coworkers because – more... it was such a friendly environment. Dealing with students tended to be high-pressure as you did have a high volume of calls to make. Sometimes the students could be rude or dismissive, but the majority were pleasant to deal with. If you don't mind working for a for-profit college, then this is a great place to go. – less

1 2 3 4 5