Find companies:
American InterContinental University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

American InterContinental University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ultra competative and extremely negative
National Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Downers grove illinoisApril 2, 2014
Pros: pay is good
Cons: everything else
Work it typically the same from day to day. Being transferred calls from perspective students who are not really interested in the programs at all because they did not exactly request the information. Employees are pushed to enroll every possible student regardless of what they are really looking for. The government made it illegal to give raises based – more... on enrollment numbers however this company will fire you for it.
Management really has no idea how to lead a group. The only thing they know to do is threaten peoples jobs to get the results that they want.
Co-workers are ALL looking for new jobs.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with management who just wants more from less.
Most enjoyable part of the job is going home at night.

The job is not as advertised you will not be helping people further their education you will be trying to sell the school to everyone who will listen – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal Orientated Workplace
Admissions Advisor - Contract (Former Employee), downers grove ,ilMarch 19, 2014
Reaching your monthly goal of enrollments was your number one priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online University that was a learning experience.
Document coordinator (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILMarch 17, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: hard to reach anyone when needed.
Being an online university, it has its ups and downs. It was a place that needed total focus and paying attention to. It was ever changing, so employees needed to be flexible with their learning.

I learned how to be a manager and dealing with students on a regular basis. I would call them for signatures on the request form, so that I could request – more... their transcripts for college credit. My coworkers where great. I still communicate with one.

I think the hardest part of my job was getting a hold of the students and schools to check the status of the request that was sent. So, I would have to call several times to get someone that would answer. The most enjoyable part of the job was the coworkers. Great conversations that were healed. Learning off of each other was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating Teaching Experience
Online Adjunct (Current Employee), OnlineMarch 8, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: measurement system
If you are looking to teach online beware, this is a frustrating experience because the measurement system is a complete joke! AIU requires Doctoral degrees out of faculty but then measures them with individuals with Bachelors or Masters degrees and no teaching experience. Do you see a problem; additionally, the Un-experienced Reviewer is using a checklist – more... that does not account for actual Quality in terms of engagement, or content. Lastly, there was a TON of IT related issues that increased the amount of time spent on the class which reduces your overall pay rate. It's not bad, but prepare to be frustrated! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for if you're starting your career
Career Services Advisor (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers, great cafeteria, good work-life balance.
Cons: high-volume cold-calling, regulatory pressure
This company was great to work for. The management was friendly and was always willing to listen to feedback. They were always striving to make our work processes better and were never shy about rewarding good work. They were also good about you taking time off for family or personal reasons. I was able to make friends with several of my coworkers because – more... it was such a friendly environment. Dealing with students tended to be high-pressure as you did have a high volume of calls to make. Sometimes the students could be rude or dismissive, but the majority were pleasant to deal with. If you don't mind working for a for-profit college, then this is a great place to go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AIU is a great place to work
Admissions Services Associate / PDSO (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 24, 2014
The things I enjoyed most about working at AIU was helping young adults reach their educational goals. We worked as a team to help our students. A fast paced work place with integrity being our focus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position Not Long-term Employment
Admissions Advisor/Team Leader (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: gain lots of experience with communication, professionalism, sales
Cons: constant change in job requirements, management, colleagues
CEC isn't a bad company has great benefits. Shows employee appreciation but not many job advancement opportunities. Management and employee turn over is high. Very stressful quotas. But can be a very exciting job for a short period of time 6-24 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Pressure
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: paid well
Cons: high turnover
Boiler Room Phone Sales. All about high call volume with low quality leads
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and professional environment
Internship (Former Employee), Weston, FLJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: learned alot about corporate markeing
Cons: it could have lasted longer.
I completed and internship at AIU. It was very educational and enlighten for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Aid Assistant and Student Adviser
Financial Aid Assistant/Student Adviser (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 28, 2014
• Assisted faculty to help students in obtaining scholarships.
• Conducted entrance interviews on meeting financial aid deadlines.
• Updated financial aid records using Campus 2K software.
• Maintained front desk when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
geat people very friendly, managers are there to help you
Admissions Advisor (Current Employee), Downers Grove, ILJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: co workers are great, fun environment, great pay
Cons: time management, goals you have to meet monthly
normal Monday to Friday and 8 to 5 desk job. come in and jump on the phones and take transfers. you speak to prospective students who might want to go to school and some that don't. i find myself having to sell and convince more than have a normal conversation. before you start, you go through ongoing training that will help you over come any obstacles – more... while on the job. hardest part of my job is time management, out of an 8 hr day your talking almost 6. so being able to have time to process paperwork, follow up with other student, etc are at times hard to get to. most enjoyable is the people i work with that make it fun and up beat, also the students who really need the help and seek you out is the best because your actually having a conversation to better the student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee), Weston, FLJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: good enough hours for student workers
Cons: short brake for student workers.
I was a federal work study, the working environment was very good, I earned a lot about the financial aid department which i worked. I also worked the main lobby area where I would meet and greet possible students as well as students of the school, talk with them and get input about what they suggest to be done so i could pass it along in meetings. – more... Management as good in my department, we had a no none scene leader who at the same time was very caring for his employees everyone in our department worked together as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't apply
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 25, 2013
Pros: money
Cons: everything.
This company is a turn and burn company that only cares about numbers. Stay away! Far away!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
IT Assistant (Current Employee), atlanta, gaNovember 14, 2013
I enjoy working at AIU because each day, there's something new to learn and there's also a growth. My co-workers are team players and you can always expect the best from them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay position
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILNovember 5, 2013
Pros: hours, pay
Cons: everything
This is a very mentally draining position because you are constantly on the phone talking to very low income people who are really not interested in going to school. They do teach you how to speak to this demographic. Your job is to try to talk people into going back to school. They try to tell you it isn't a sales position but it really is. The managers – more... are very odd people. If they don't like you they will get rid of you. It doesn't matter how much effort you put into your job or other tasks you pick up to help your manager. They will still let you go if you don't make your goal.

You have to work every other weekend. If you are need of a job it is a good job replacement, but you'll want to look for another position right away.

The money is very good. If you are a permanent employee the benefits are okay. The product is actually a very good one.

Most people leave on their own. There are always new faces coming in.

The other advisers are really nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent compensation and collaborative environment
Admissions Advisor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 14, 2013
Pros: collaborative environement, open door policy, compensation and benefits
Cons: work load can become redundant, industry backlashes
If passionate for education and helping others achieve their educational goal, AIU is the employer to work for. There's never a dull day in conversing with students and staff when overcoming objectives for why prospective students should push forward and continue their enrollment/program with American InterContinental University. At the end of the workday, – more... everyone can look back and acknowledge that it has been a rewarding day (no matter what capacity your job level, or position may be). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Satisfactory institution
Academic Quality Analyst (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILSeptember 25, 2013
American InterContinental University is a for-profit post-secondary institution which excels in certain aspects of instruction but fails to be more successful due to decisions made by leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), chicago, ILSeptember 24, 2013
This place has the highest turnover I have ever seen. The managers micromanage all day and put pressure on you to enroll students even if the university does not offer the program they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yikes
National Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Beaverton, ORSeptember 3, 2013
Pay is great, but the environment is terrible. The joke of the employees was that is sucked the soul out of your body.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start in Education
Director of Career Services (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 21, 2013
It was a great place to start my career in Education and learn a great deal about the industry.

1 2 3 4