American Marketing and Publishing Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Hiring Manager (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILMay 2, 2017
I have loved my time at AMP. There is an exceptional company culture, extensive and ongoing training, ample opportunities for performance based promotions, and a great leadership team.
Pros
Training, culture, Pto, Insurance, 401k match, contests, leadership development trainings
Cons
Performance based pay/promotions, which is not actually a con if you dont mind a little hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to gain sales expeirence
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNMay 1, 2017
Great company to work for. If you don't like cold calling and or do not like being told no alot everyday, this is not for you. I learned quite a bit about sales and negotiating through this experience.
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
Cold calls, usage of own vehicle
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours with laughable products
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILApril 11, 2017
All of the reviews are spot on. Training is BRUTAL! The pay is $12.02 an hour, and the hours you are expected to work on top of the low pay don't add up. Do your self a favor and look elsewhere. Unless you like working 12 hour days and bugging business owners for an ancient product. They claim to be "partnered" with Google which is a lie. Extremely difficult to sell a product that nobody is interested in.
Pros
Freedom, helpful managers
Cons
Low pay, long hours, low car allowance, tough sell
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lonely environment
Digital Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNMarch 1, 2017
The company has an incredible CEO, and benefits. The division that I was employed for was a new position and the training lacked efficiency and my direct managers were not helpful. You are by yourself constantly kicking doors down and searching for business owners that are few and far between.
Pros
incredible CEO
Cons
terrible environment that erodes confidence and mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please Read
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  IllinoisFebruary 2, 2017
DO NOT WORK HERE!!!
The only good things about this company are the few people you connect with during your training and the health insurance. The training is a long and difficult joke. The style they teach you is not effective and there are only about 20 people in the entire company that are good at selling their products. Everyone else is mediocre at best. They have the top 40 sellers on the wall in the training room and most of them barely meet the quota or are below it. Very few people want to be in the book and it is evident that they have been bothered by AMP for years on end because most people immediately say no when you say where your from. Also they expect you to work an extra two hours on Tuesday and Thursday's where you're supposed to focus on home based businesses. It was pitch black and I had some very dark streets that were not well lit-not a safe environment whatsoever especially for women. Nearly all of my training class was gone after 3 weeks and we had one of the largest classes. Do not waste your time please! I normally don't write reviews but I hope this helps people from making the same mistake I did.
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes24NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Waste Your Time
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Valparaiso, INJanuary 11, 2017
The amount of work you have to put in to be successful in this job is not worth it. I really liked my district manager and the people I trained with but that is the only thing positive about this experience. They will feed you some lie about how AMP is the only growing print company but the reality is no one wants to purchase ads in a knock-off yellow pages directory. The marketing products they offer are sub-par at best and you really have to be a special personality to actually consistently sell them. Their "corporate headquarters" leaves a lot to be desired. If you have any aspirations to be a part of a company that has national legitimacy do not work here. The "CEO" is laughing all the way to the bank while his peons suffer.
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Everything but the Health Insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly cold calling, selling a product that most companies see as out of date.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 14, 2016
8:30 - 5 work day, with the expectation to also work Tuesday and Thursday evenings.

Brutal training week.

Very long script that must be memorized to be hired.

Very difficult products to sell.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible opportunities
Senior Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  IllinoisAugust 27, 2016
The work/life balance is as good as you make it. If you do not balance well, you may struggle. The management is incredible and will help you any way they can. It is important to ask for help if you need it, but showing that you want to advance and that you are willing to work for it will get you promoted.
Pros
Support that you receive, additional training is always available, amazing coworkers & management
Cons
it's sales - sometimes you deal with people who are not friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes9No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Outside Sales Job with actual base salary, commissions, and bonuses.
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Davenport, IAAugust 25, 2016
I was very skeptical at first before joining AMP, but it really is a great sales job with lots of support and great benefits. It definitely is not easy, but if you are disciplined and work hard you can have huge success. Be willing to put a lot of miles on your car, but if you are determined you can have a lot of success even in your first year.
Pros
Base Salary, Good Compensation, Great Company, Promotions all come from within
Cons
Lots of time alone in car—can be true of any outside sales job though.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience of a job I never want to be in ever again!!
Outside Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIJuly 29, 2016
I stopped working here in 2013 and I still have anger and bitter resentment towards this company. The only thing they did for me was turn me into an alcoholic and make me hate my life and myself. They promise all of these things and never give it to you. The amount of pressure is ridiculous. The distance they make you drive is 2 to 3 times further than what they tell you in training. With the amount of gas and time wasted you may just barely have enough of your paycheck to survive. I stayed there longer than I should have because I needed a job but I found a much better one when I left!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes35No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment and a True Sales Job
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Valparaiso, INJuly 27, 2016
A Lot of cold calling on business owners. Be prepared to leave your comfort zone! Lots of hours working required for success! Management is truly enthusiastic and works to help you succeed. Follow the basic principles that are taught and you will be successful. If you can't hear no, then you can't handle this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours not enough pay
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Cedar Falls, IAJuly 25, 2016
You are expected to work really long hours and they dont tell you that initially - they said it was a 8-5 m-f but really its a 7-7 and not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the time and money
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJuly 7, 2016
This company expects you to spend a lot of time and money before you ever get paid. Also, there are hidden rules that don't come out until you experience them. Overall it's a scam and no one likes the phone book. Most people in it now want out...regardless of what they tell you in training. Also, most of the recent positive reviews magically came out after I mentioned all of their bad reviews during my class training. Some of them the same day even. I garuntee its a current employee who was asked to help make it appear better. Don't fall for it. Find a real job bc this job cost more than you'll make.
Pros
Freedom
Cons
Pay, miles on car. Car allowance is not enough in 2016
Was this review helpful?Yes31No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun work environment (not for the weak of heart)
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJune 3, 2016
I started working for AMP about 4 months ago. Before i started i read a lot of reviews here and i was pretty skeptical. For the people who do read these reviews i want to point out a few errors in past reviews.

Someone posted that they track your cell phone when you are in the field. This is not accurate. Also, they do not deduct from your pay check. From the experience i have had with AMP they are a very honest and hard working company. I won't tell you it is an easy job but it is rewarding.

I have had more fun with this job than any of my past sales jobs and really enjoy the company structure and especially their leadership. All of the managers in the company have spent time selling out in the field so you are being led by someone who knows and has done exactly what you will.

The culture with this company is supportive and almost like a familiy. There is an entire staff in their office who is always ready to answer questions and are extremely helpful.

Overall. I would recommend this job for anyone who has the go get em mentality and isn't afraid to work and have a ton of fun while doing so.
Pros
Salary and extremely competitive bonus/commission structure. insurance and other benefits
Cons
For those fearful of rejection... don't apply
Was this review helpful?Yes16No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Outside Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILMay 11, 2016
Selling print advertising is a dying business. Their SEO program is great however again, difficult to sell because people don't want to spend the money.
Pros
Owner and VP are great!
Cons
Extremely difficult product to sell. Direct Supervisor never available
Was this review helpful?Yes17No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILMay 2, 2016
A typical day involved being micro managed and constantly on edge while working. Management is horrendously poor and seem to have absolutely no interest in your well being. The amount of coworkers with stress related health issues is absurd and truly speaks to the environment of the workplace. Compensation for suffering in this poor environment is not even CLOSE to competitive market standards. If you can avoid wasting away here please do. I would not wish this place on any decent human being.
Pros
Work does not follow you home, some decent people working with you
Cons
Management does not care about you, terrible culture, micro management, HR is a joke, pay is hilariously low
Was this review helpful?Yes37No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company to work for!!!
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILApril 5, 2016
The company culture is so positive and motivating and uplifting. The leadership team is great! The training process is continuous so I am always learning new things. There have been some changes this year that have been great for the sales force. A lot of these reviews are out dated and old information. I started my career almost a year ago and I have never been happier. The company is going through a lot of growth and offering great, affordable products for our customers. If you're willing to put in a lot of time, effort, energy you can do really well with this company.

Your typical day is working with a lot of business owners. You get to meet great people in your community. You make about 40 different business stops in a day so it's really fast paced. 2 nights a week I will work later in the sales field. You can expect about 50 hours a week. Any career that you can make this type of money in your first year you are going to have to work at. It's hard work, but the work pays off.

In my first year I was able to pay off a lot of debt, as well as do things I've never been able to for my family. AMP is a great company that really cares about their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No29Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disceptive, will drive further than promised & be micro-managed
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILMarch 24, 2016
Do not believe the Hype! I was promised a certain distance for a territory from my home, and was much further than discussed. When I needed help or had a concern, I was brushed off. But when they wanted or needed something...different story, micro-managing adults who can sell and did for company is insulting. If your employee isn't doing what is expected, write then up or fire them, but let them be if they are selling.
Pros
Meeting the business owners & helping them create ads
Cons
expected to go into homes...not safe! Company tracks you by GPS, and micro-manages, wtih little pay, but high expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and false advertising in all aspects
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  DeKalb County, ILMarch 14, 2016
They cram in what should be two weeks worth of training into 4-5 days in a dingy basement... From 7:30 am to 5:30 pm..... Then you have 3 hours worth of homework each night. You have to memorize scripts like a robot for three different types of products they advertise.... You have to map and plan out your days the night before. From 8:30 am to 5 pm, Monday, Wednesday and Friday.... 8:30 am-7 pm Tuesday and Thursday, in which case, you do not get paid for the extra two hours. You are going door to door to small business owners by yourself whether it's in town or in the country. They put a GPS tracker on your personal cell phone whether you are working, or not working.... Big brother is watching!! Your goals are changed on a weekly basis... No matter what you do, it's never good enough!! You are expected to keep going back to these businesses until you get them to sign a contract. Which is ridiculous and quite frankly, embarrassing. Doing this, upsets the owners and you feel like a stalker. Every move is calculated by the company. If it is not the AMP way, it's the highway. No matter how hard you work, you still feel like a failure. It's not all sunshine and rainbows like they make it out to be. It's not fun, it's stressful, exhausting, uninspiring and not worth all of your effort. My DM was talking poorly about me behind my back to the rest of my team. I always felt like something was going on and I was out of the loop.... Until she messed up herself and sent out a text to the entire team saying I was causing drama and throwing fits after  more... I politely asked a team member to NOT send me pics of her half naked daughter because it made me uncomfortable. I'm sorry.... But how am I supposed to explain a picture of a half naked child on my phone that I've never met? No thank you..... I'm not going to jail for child pornography...... Even after selling $17,000 worth of advertising in two months, I was fired today bc I didn't make "quota" I had to drive an hour and 45 minutes for that. And when my DM said she had documentation of my "insubordination" and I asked for proof..... She back peddled and said she'd have to search for it on her computer. I've ran a franchise bigger than this company when I was 22, and never would show this much disrespect to an associate no matter what the situation........ This job was a waste of time and money because they sure as heck don't pay you enough for everything you do. And they will deduct money from your paycheck without notifying you. Unless you want to follow a cult and be a puppet...... This job is definitely not right. Phone books are going out of style and once you've sold a digital or text package once, someone else on the inside gets your sale. Absolutely absurd!!!!! Will be talking to a lawyer about suing for emotional distress, slander, defamation of character and not properly following company policy for those who have a disability....... Oh yeah.... Once they fire you, someone else takes credit for your work......not a good company  less
Pros
Health insurance
Cons
Everything. Poor management, poor people skills, docked pay, .... Everything is messed up.
Was this review helpful?Yes46No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scam
sales representative (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 9, 2016
Do not talk to AMP. Selling knockoff yellow books door-to-door is not the type of career anyone would want, especially with their joke of a payment system. Upper management will give you a low-set amount for gas mileage which you will surely surpass within a week. Their low annual pay amount is already low, but you will be guaranteed to put in plenty of extra overtime doing lowly-level work. Most people who went through training alone got smart and left ASAP, hope people who read these reviews learn the same. It's not another sales job, but much worse. Not worth being treated lowly, do not waste your time.
Pros
Realizing you're better than this
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes65No11Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Marketing and Publishing. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.1
Culture
3.0

American Marketing and Publishing Reviews by Location