Find companies:
American Medical Response
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
258 reviews

American Medical Response Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FT and Overtime available
EMT-PARAMEDIC (Current Employee), WA, MSJuly 15, 2014
Very busy 911 ALS system, able to learn and use all skills required of EMT/Paramedic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A interesting place to work
Dispatcher/Call Taker (Former Employee), Modesto, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: threee day work week
Cons: 12 hour shifts
This was a really fast paced environment. I worked with emergency and non emergency fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are applying here, you should know what you are getting into
PARAMEDIC (Current Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: lets you practice medicine
Cons: management
If you are working for AMR you should know what the company culture is already. Either by word of mouth or personal experience. AMR is a horrible company that runs the heck out of their employees and pay you pennies. Only place for advancement is becoming a supervisor, but then you are not practicing medicine anymore. Which is why you probably working – more... for AMR. So if you find yourself working here, just remember this is just a stepping stone and should be trying to get out of there within a year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT
Driver/Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 7, 2014
The transporting of patients to medical facilities in BLS Units and/or Invalid Coaches and providing a standard of care to our patients while transporting them for their appointments. I trained new technicians on various procedures. I was called upon to fill in as an acting supervisor numerous times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an OK experience
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee), jackson, msJuly 5, 2014
The scheduling was very flexible, though the employees can be treated better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Station group is excelent for the most part
EMT-Basic (Current Employee), Wauchula, FLJuly 4, 2014
Pros: not
Cons: a few
Fair place to work, great supervisor when she is allowed to do her job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Bad goals
EMT-Basic (Former Employee), TexasJune 30, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: management
AMR is a great company to work for. My goals were not compatible for AMRs. Very Low growth within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok Job for someone starting out in the medical field
EMT (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAJune 29, 2014
The rigs broke down daily.They never had enough crews on to handle calls, supervisors had a "good old boy club" thing going on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre Work environment with different personalities.
EMT-Basic (Current Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CAJune 24, 2014
This is a good company to work for to gain experience in this field. A lot of bitter and burnt out employees, but don't let them bring you down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMS comm
EMS Communications Specialist (Current Employee), Salinas, CAJune 20, 2014
Pros: pays well, overtime available, always different and changing, amazing coworkers
Cons: long shifts, holdovers, tough calls, few raises
I absolutely love my job! Each and every day is different, some slow or some so busy your head won't stop spinning even after you clock out and to go home. This job/career definitely takes a strong mind, strong personality, big heart with compassion along with the super power of extreme multitasking under pressure. I dispatch for Monterey County which – more... is a Very large area, there can be times where the ambulance, fire or police personnel can take quite a bit of time to get to some locations and in that time some calls require you to stay on the phone to give prearrival instructions (CPR, airway management, etc or even to just keep the callers calm).
I have been exceptionally blessed to work along side amazing people in the field such as Paramedics and EMT's also in the comm center.
When any of us encounter a call that is hard to process we are there for eachother. Such calls: drownings, hangings, babies are hard for everyone parent or not, some CPR calls pull at your heart strings. Though we in EMS; you know there will be tough calls we also can rely on helping eachother.
One of my hardest calls was my first shift cleared to work I received a 911 call that a six month old who drowned in a pool. The parents were both educated in Emergency situations but you have to remember that all the knowledge can go right out the window and it's your job to calmly help instruct them until field personnel arrive. Even if you have multiple calls happening, you remain calm.
With that still, that was almost 7 years ago and to this day I LOVE what I do. I posess a huge heart filled with compassion which makes long shifts, alot of overtime all worth it. Because I enjoy coming to work to do my job.Maybe this is the job for you as well? Some dispatch centers allow you to do a "sit along" for serious applicants. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job; Constant work in order to make living wage; No gratitude.
Paramedic (Current Employee), Contra Costa CountyJune 20, 2014
Pros: get to help people.
Cons: management fucus on finances and bottom line only. people are put last.
Being a paramedic is a good job. AMR makes this job extremely hard. the corporate bureaucracy, redundant policy, and a lack of appreciation for their employees efforts on their behalf is intollerable. That being said if you can keep to yourself, stay out of managements way. and work your tail off, you can survive long enough to make a decent living – more... wage. AMR is rough on Paramedics and EMTs and cycles alot of them through the company on a fairly regular basis the discards them without so much as a thank you in most cases. If your can handle that then you'll be fine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive
Government Manager (Current Employee), Modesto, CAJune 19, 2014
A typical day is to ensure all ECT files have been transmitted. Ensure that the cash flow is coming in the door and the work-bins are being work and are maintianed at goal at all times. Deal with any employee issues. Think of ideas to improve the billing system to enhance the production for line sfaff. The hardest part of my job is to log off and not – more... think about work when I am off. The enjoyable part of my job is to start a project and see the end result. I have very high expectations for my self so I ensure my projects are at high standards aswell. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work environment
Operations/Clinical Field Supervisor (Former Employee), Napa, CAJune 18, 2014
Great people in the field environment, but management team leaves a lot to be desired. Hardest part of the job was working within the management structure developed, due to lack of leadership. Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Medical Response
EMT/Paramedic, American Medical Response (Former Employee), Marina, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: leadership experience, public servant experience, personally gratifying job. seeing people at their best.
Cons: stressful situations, dealing with death and dying. seeing people at their worst.
American Medical Response provided adequate materials and equipment to perform the job of Paramedic and EMT. A typical day at work ran relatively smoothly operating quickly and efficiently in providing the County of Monterey with advanced and basic life support services.
I feel that I learned how to lead coworkers and to handle stressful situations – more... with poise and professionalism. I felt management of the company was relatively hands off allowing employees to operate independently yet was still available when called upon. Coworkers were driven and often competitive.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with traumatic and tragic events that happened in the lives of other people. The most enjoyable part of the job was being useful and helpful when assisting people in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employer
Administrative Supervisor (Current Employee), Independence, MOJune 12, 2014
There is flexibility and advancement.My manager is one of the best I have ever had in my 30 year career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for the UHP
Ambulance Dispatcher (Former Employee), Burlingame, CAJune 11, 2014
I learned an awful lot there. I was able to advance my ability and able to do more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start!
Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMJune 9, 2014
Cons: no retirement
American Medical Response in Las Cruces, NM is a great place to start and get experience in the field. There is a variety of calls, everything from stabbings to breathing problems. I work with a variety of people and different personalities. I got to learn from and work with great experienced paramedics and emt's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn , New YorkMay 29, 2014
Pros: people oriented
Cons: n/a
Wonderful place to work. It is a Patient focused, care giver inspired environment. We were always in the midst of emergencies and disasters that have occurred and the company exhibited excellent professionalism as well as concern for their patients, patients families and employees and their families. Truly a great balance and a concern and culture that – more... is very rare these days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fast-paced ambulance company serving a diverse community
Paramedic (Former Employee), Oakland, CaliforniaMay 15, 2014
Pros: high energy challenging environment, high level of autonomy and leadership, direct patient care
Cons: poor benefits packages and limited abililty to advance
As a full-time paramedic on night shift serving the community of Oakland I responded to all 911 emergency calls in the area and provided direct patient care to those in distress. I encountered many types of emergencies spanning all ages and circumstances. The exposure to a high volume of pediatric and adult trauma, critical medical situations and psychiatric – more... ailments served to make me a well-rounded provider. I enjoyed a close working relationship with my co-workers, fire department, police department and receiving hospital emergency department staff. It was a great honor to care for my patients and I was prided in my interpersonal communication and repore within the community and amongst other agencies. The most difficult part of the job was the physical toll it took after doing it for many years given that the equipment we use is very heavy and often it is impossible to use proper mechanics in emergency situations and confined spaces. Also a disadvantage was the inability to secure a good retirement or pension or advance my practice capabilities beyond the scope of a paramedic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Medical Response
East Area Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 9, 2014
A place for professional EMS personnel. Located throughout the USA. Some 911 service available.

1 2 3 4 5

About American Medical Response

Because driving yourself to the emergency room isn't always the best plan, there is American Medical Response (AMR). With thousands – Read more

American Medical Response Photos