American Medical Response Employee Reviews

Found 415 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Passion of the Job
Paramedic (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 6, 2014
Every day is different in some ways, it is exciting not to know what one might encounter arriving on a scene. It is also exciting to meet so many different people of all ages, cultural backgrounds, injuries and illnesses, social and economical backgrounds and so on. It is even more exciting to help someone feel better or buy them time through clinical excellence, compassion or simply an ear to listen. It is satisfying to be able to take pride in keeping up with excellent clinical knowledge and skills and keep a neat and professional looking ambulance. Employees support another and continuously challenge each other to remain a good clinician. The hardest part of the job is often either a long streak of abusive patients or the very young that pass away with nothing available to help. The most rewarding part can be either truly saving a life or the heartfelt happy tears from someone you helped feel better or less lonely.
Pros
all education for continuous clinical improvement is paid for and provided
Cons
hours not conducive to family life
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMR is a great place to work if you are an employee that just wants to come to work, follow the rules and are highly motivated.
Quality Assurance Representative (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHApril 16, 2012
AMR promotes a work environment free of clutter, is quiet and work focused. I loved working for the company and agreed with most of the policies and procedures and would still be there if my position were still available. Management is approachable, will in most cases assist you in your needs. Co-workers were wonderful and team players. The hardest part of my position was the fact that I was not trained to do some of the other functions and was not as involved in that part of the job. I was given the oppurtunity to learn most of the other aspects of the job by training for a few weeks but I was not proficient in those job positions as well as the position I was trained in and worked in for 13 years, I enjoyed my time at AMR and like I said before, would still be there if my position was not downsized.
Pros
the amr office is a secure office, staff are team players and friendly.
Cons
sick/vacation accural rolled up into 1 catagory.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Medical Response
EMT/Paramedic, American Medical Response (Former Employee) –  Marina, CAJune 17, 2014
American Medical Response provided adequate materials and equipment to perform the job of Paramedic and EMT. A typical day at work ran relatively smoothly operating quickly and efficiently in providing the County of Monterey with advanced and basic life support services.
I feel that I learned how to lead coworkers and to handle stressful situations with poise and professionalism. I felt management of the company was relatively hands off allowing employees to operate independently yet was still available when called upon. Coworkers were driven and often competitive.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with traumatic and tragic events that happened in the lives of other people. The most enjoyable part of the job was being useful and helpful when assisting people in need.
Pros
leadership experience, public servant experience, personally gratifying job. seeing people at their best.
Cons
stressful situations, dealing with death and dying. seeing people at their worst.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place to learn and grow
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 1, 2013
It is a busy place that you will never get bored. On average during a 12 hour shift we see about 12 patients. Not all bad, but they can be challenging and rewarding, and some patients can be non compliant and we have to call for back up. I enjoy the people I work with. I have to say we have some of the best supervisors I have had the pleasure to be around. I have become a part of this great family. We look out for each other and help take care of each other. I am going to miss them dearly. I will have to say that the most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I was able to do some good in a persons life, even if it was just bringing them a smile or holding the hand of a dying patient. It has been a very rewarding experience in more ways than one.
Pros
meeting new people, learning a lot of new and different ways to do things, getting a vast a mount of experience, and being a part of something!
Cons
dealing with very sick or injuried people that you can't do anything for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't stay long
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJune 20, 2013
I started at the company in 2000 since then I have seen them decrease their core values and increase the amount of empty promises a thousand fold, through controversy and internal political strife, an EMT will be poorly treated by customers, management, and dispatch. If you are young person who is health and wants to progress in their career this is an excellent place to work. If you are career driven person who wants longevity out of a job keep looking. People who get internally promoted have to be ruthless and have poor moral standards, where you are willing to sell out everyone you make friends with to succeed. Benefits are expensive, and progressively worsening, the work union has no leverage against this corporate conglomerate.
Pros
experience of a life time.
Cons
being critically injured with no support from the company. no lunch, no breaks, forced to spend your days cramped in an poorly designed ambulance, and made to do the worlds bidding.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing facility
Transportation Coordinator -NET (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 19, 2013
This job is overall a great job to have however it can be very stressful at times and the typical day at work is never the same every day but if it was the routine would go as follows:

Clock in log on to all systems needed.
Start working trip planned for the day of
Then work all trips scheduled after the day of and complete the entire trip and set them up with a transportation ride to the member Dr. appointment.
After all trips have been completed then you would go to the next day.
I have learned a lot mostly from my co workers. Working with different people you have to communicate and I have learned to communicate with every one affectively.
The hardest part of the job is dealing with last minute trips that are set up for the same day because it is hard finding transportation for same day appointments or urgent trips. The most enjoyable part of the job is satisfying my customers.
Pros
off for all holidays, etc.
Cons
very short breaks, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past, stressful yet rewarding
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 4, 2013
While working within the Emergency Medical Services can be a stressful job both mentally and physically, the rewards far overshadow anything negative one might say about this profession. When dealing with life and death emergencies on a daily basis, one tends to learn about humility and strive be become humble. But these are some of the large aspects of this profession. Personally, I've learned the value of communication and the artfulness involved - different people and different situations require a person to be adaptive to each and every situation.

Honestly, I don't have anything negative to say about this job, co-worker or management. We all survive in a selfless profession that many people have difficulty with.
Pros
livelong relationships, ability to function under fast past, highly stressful situations.
Cons
long hours, no breaks (at times), stressful, impact on physical/mental health
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Egh, how can I not be offensive
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  CAOctober 11, 2013
Depending on who your partner is you can have a really good day or a really bad one. most shifts are 24 hours long, which is a traditional style of EMS; but there are more than enough EMT's and Paramedics where they could run 8 hour shifts for no problem. Every operation is different and upper management is completely disconnected from middle management and middle management has unrealistic ideas of what actually happens in the field.

I learned a lot here, continuing education is a requirement and they do offer only what is required of them.

Some operations have a good crew that really jells together and you can build life long friendships. Other operations are not so friendly. The most enjoyable part is the patient care, sometimes you do actually get to change a patients life. 90% of EMS is BS though.
Pros
the schedule offers a lot of off time and vacation
Cons
it is a stepping stone, do not stay too long or they get rid of you.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work environment.
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSSeptember 9, 2015
AMR employees provide emergency medical services in every type of environment. A typical 12 hour shift can include, but is never limited to, cardiac, endocrine, pediatric, neurological, or traumatic emergencies.

Working for AMR provides extensive experiences in emergency medicine. AMR also provides experience with respect to caring for diverse populations, which can often be the most challenging part of this job. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside colleagues and learning valuable skills from each of one them.

Fun workplace with supportive management. Management cares about their employees, especially with respect to personal and professional growth and development. Policies and protocols are appropriate and reasonable.
Pros
FREE CONTINUED EDUCATION/CERTIFICATIONS
Cons
Busy schedules, sometimes with limited breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast fun paced enviornment
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  CAFebruary 7, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of checking out my ambulance and equipment needed to perform my duties as a paramedic. I usually worked on a 24 hour ambulance so I had a station that I posted at continuously throughout the shift. I worked mostly out of Antioch and was dispatched to a wide variety of calls consisting of both minor and major incidents. I worked with one other paramedic and we would rotate calls throughout the shift. My co workers were very supportive and we worked very well together as a team and providing the best pt care I/we could provide to the public. The hardest part of the job was the physical demand and lifting patients off the floor, out of bed, down stairs, and in the ambulance was something I encountered daily. The most enjoyable part of my job was taking care of patients.
Pros
patient care
Cons
little sleep during the night, 2-3 hour drive from my home address
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No supervisor accountability
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Austin, TexasApril 21, 2014
After 3 yrs of being employed at the Austin ,TX office, I was shocked that they could still be in business. Paramedics carrying expired drugs, non-working trucks, radios, time clocks, etc. I personally have had 8 schedule changes and went threw 5 supervisors. Absolutely no accountability from supervisors.
One super, can talk a lot but doesn't say anything but lies. One of the training officer was let go from other employment, due to personal pornography at work,(ref. Austin American Statesman news coverage)
One super quit because they were instructed to hold a 12 hour crew over for another 12 hours,,,they refused and were threatened with termination.
Dispatchers constantly sent crew and units to wrong locations, at least 4 times a week. VERY BAD PLACE TO WORK. The patients and Co-workers were the only good thing about this job...
Pros
patients are wonderful
Cons
horrible management....
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work with great people
Search & Add Rep (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MS.June 10, 2013
I began my employment as the front desk receptionist. I greeted customers, answered multiple line switchboard and transferred calls accordingly, scanned, copied, emailed and faxed documents as required, and all other general office duties. After 2 years I transferred to Patient Billing where I entered transport tickets into company data base(data entry), searched data base for existing accounts, updated patient demographics as needed and verified patient insurance. Most of the management I worked with were great, got along wonderful with my co-workers, we were a team and worked well with each other. The hardest part of the job was reading the medics hand writing and trying to input the information into the system. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with.
Pros
work schedule (monday-friday 8 to 5) and great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for this caring and responsible company
Emergency Medical Technician - Basic (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VAMay 5, 2015
I personally love this company and how they treat their employees and how their employees daily work equipment. They truly care about safety and spare nothing to be ahead or make their employees lives easier. The only issue I have is a conflict of interest as the supervisors at my job area have friendships with regular employees so it is intimidating if not impossible to go to them if you have an issues with the people that supervisors are friends with. im sure that is not the case at other branches but for the sake of being honest, I include that information.
Other than that, the company is truly awesome to work for and I hope to not have to leave and can continue until I retire.
Pros
Great benefits, wonderful rewarding days out of an office
Cons
Supervisors having conflict of interest friendships
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to off at and gain experience from.
Business Development Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 26, 2014
American Medical Response allowed me to challenge myself and to find creative ways to sell. I enjoyed going out into the field and meeting clients face to face building a relationship with them. However, It was a very competitive and corrupt business. We were an honest company who followed compliance therefore lacking business forcing the Brooklyn base to close. This I would say was the hardest part of my job. If I didn't produce enough business, I'd have to answer to my boss. There was a lot of pressure on everyone, causing stress. I really liked some of my co workers and are still in contact with a few of them. They also offered great benefits to their employees. It's a shame the Brooklyn based was closed due to poor business.
Pros
good benefits, good hrs.
Cons
unorganized, unhappy employees, no room for promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized, terrible management, poor employee treatment
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 5, 2012
Worked on the "back up" ambulance which in turn ran more calls then the "dedicated" ambulances. Worked 48/96 schedule, constantly worked standing 48's. Brought up safety concerns and was told "it is not going to change" from management. Had a co-worker address similar concerns and in turn ended up falling asleep behind the wheel of ambulance, LUCKILY very minor damages occurred and NO persons were harmed. Advised management of situation and was written up! This co-worker had brought up numerous concerns about this to management and was also told, it will not change. The pay is terrible, benifits lacking, favoritism is constantly shown to specific employees. It is all in who you know and your quality of medicine does not matter.
Pros
hospital staff members
Cons
favoritism, poor pay, poor benefits, poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and independent
Cash Posting Representative (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHAugust 10, 2014
I have had wonderful experiences while working for AMR. Since I have been there, I have been given the opportunity to work from home and travel the country while continuing to keep my job with them. Management is understanding and fun. It is also great to be given the opportunity to complete tasks and assignments that are challenging and trusted to complete these assignments with little direct supervision.

The most enjoyable part of my job is the flexible scheduling. Because of working from home, I have the ability to create my own schedule and also my supervisors and managers are very understanding when it comes to personal issues and the things that come along with having a family.
Pros
flexibility of schedule, productivity, great bosses.
Cons
limited growth potential in the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paramedic - Former Employee
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutJuly 23, 2012
Right off the bat I was assigned to a division away from my house that I had no experience with. I was promised that I would get to transfer to my first division of choice then told that it was not going to happen. I have been in EMS for over 20 years and this was a part time gig. AMR just cut loose several very competent old timers who gave their heart and soul to this company. They have a numbers goal that they have to meet. If they are not doing back to back calls all day and night they start sending people home. Selective arbitrary discipline and a Dysfunctional system of leadership and high turnover make AMR a place to ONLY get a few years of experience and then run screaming from this place
Pros
high call volume in some places.
Cons
utterly dysfunctional, shareholders interests way above ems provider, pt care interests
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMR was a great learning experience for me
Cash Reconciliation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAOctober 27, 2014
I began working in the Cash department processing patient and insurance refunds. This grew into learning the receipt portion of the job working with several different people to make sure the deposit was complete for posting. After a while I was promoted to Cash Dept. Lead where I reviewed and resolved daily issues with both the receipt and refunds staff. In 2011 I was again hired to a lateral position as Cash Reconciliation Specialist where my daily work is to balance the incoming cash to what has been posted to the patient trips. This involves intense review and research into several posting batches to verify they are in balance to the total amount of cash received.
Pros
detailed work, work is varied
Cons
company is closing their ca offices and outsourcing our work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress job. Able to be out all day in the community, with down time.
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Irwindale, CANovember 17, 2013
Twelve hour shifts, driving the ambulance and giving basic medical care to sick and injured patients. Transporting them to hospitals and nursing home facilities. I learned how the 911 system works and how to work calmly in high stress situations. The hardest part of the job was lifting and carrying heavy patients down flights of stairs and tight spaces, also working the graveyard shift having to stay up all night. The most enjoyable was the bond you had with fellow EMT's and the sense of being able to help people at a time in there life that was at it's worst. Also being thanked by family members for taking good care of there loved ones.
Pros
free lunches at many hospitals, lots of overtime if you wanted it.
Cons
long hours, being in high stress situations
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a joke of a company
former emt (Former Employee) –  tampaFebruary 19, 2015
This job is a joke they play you and never are truthful and very shady i would never rec anyone ever working here and they will fire you w/o cause and lie to its clients and customers and the supervision is uneducated in being leading its employees, a bad place to work the pay sucks and the compensation is worse, they never will be grateful and if your a good looking female you get what you want this company in Tampa is by far the worst people who work here as new employees dont know but be here for number of years and see what this company will do to you and for what it really is there is no brotherhood/sisterhood, only backstabbers and people that are lazy they make their employees lie and worse they never have the equipment that works
Pros
some good calls
Cons
poor mgmt poor staffing, poor pay and a company of liars
Was this review helpful?Yes15No10

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 416 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture