Find companies:
American Medical Response
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
310 reviews

American Medical Response Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply here!!!!!!!!!! They are nice only durning training.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), ClearwaterAugust 25, 2014
The worst job ever.The pay sucks you cant make a living.They lie and tell you oh you will get a raise and nothing ever happens.The mangers dont know how to mangage they explain your job description and you end up doing nothing they said you would be doing.You do everyone else job while they does nothing every one else job for $8.50 hr.not worth it. – more... At least knowledge the employee they dont even do that.This is not a real company.They steal money from the goverment and make false trips to pocket money.All they want you to do is only go to lunch and no other breaks unless its on lunch.Supervisor never want to handle calls even when client ask for one they tell you to handle it.This job is embarrassment and they should even be open unless they get the right manaagment in the office.Make changes this is not a job to be proud of there is no room to grow with the company.Had to find a better job a real job that you can be proud of.this is not the way is a non long term company smh .Until now do yourself a favor and do waist your time.1000 THUMBS DOWN still counting – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical private ambulance company.
Paramedic (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 23, 2014
This is the worst company I have ever worked for. The supervisors do not care about you. Its all about the money. The equipment is terrible, the ambulances I mean vans are run down and falling apart. Have a problem about your equipment? Don't worry, the supervisor will get back to you within the next century....maybe. Have a family emergency at home? – more... Don't worry they will make sure you get your write up for calling off. Need to go to the bathroom? Don't worry we'll make sure to run you to death without a break.

I really enjoy reading the reviews from the office personnel. You have no clue how the field employees are treated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and woeking
Contract Representative (Current Employee), Torrance, CaAugust 20, 2014
Pros: fun and creative people to work with
Cons: bad health benefits
process all accounts under my contracts which include commercial, Medicare and Medicare accounts. Complete all follow up and Denials
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the faint of heart!
Emergency Medical Technician / Paramedic intern (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: diverse assignments, working breaks, spectacular culture, overtime.
Cons: working breaks, diverse assignments, overtime
Working for AMR is not for the faint hearted. While it is one of the best jobs I've ever had, it is a place where you get what you put in. Outside of the office there is no typical work day. Each day brings something different and the work environment can change in a matter of minutes. In my tenure at AMR I've experienced working conditions that range – more... from friendly and casual to hostile and downright unsafe and back all within the same day! There is no way to list all that I've learned here. Management is supportive, your co-workers can become a part of your family, and excellence is mandatory. The hardest part of this job is adjusting to the learning curve and dealing with on duty stress. I most enjoyed the varying challenges presented to me on a daily basis. This is a rare company where job duties can go from "fun and games" to "life and death" in the blink of an eye. I loved almost every minute of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and independent
Cash Posting Representative (Current Employee), Akron, OHAugust 10, 2014
Pros: flexibility of schedule, productivity, great bosses.
Cons: limited growth potential in the organization.
I have had wonderful experiences while working for AMR. Since I have been there, I have been given the opportunity to work from home and travel the country while continuing to keep my job with them. Management is understanding and fun. It is also great to be given the opportunity to complete tasks and assignments that are challenging and trusted to – more... complete these assignments with little direct supervision.

The most enjoyable part of my job is the flexible scheduling. Because of working from home, I have the ability to create my own schedule and also my supervisors and managers are very understanding when it comes to personal issues and the things that come along with having a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very demanding job that either you like it or you don't.
Medical Transport Operator (Current Employee), Evansville, INAugust 7, 2014
Typical day at work is a long one while your there. Constant paperwork and driving.Dealing with the patients is the best part of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Passion of the Job
Paramedic (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 6, 2014
Pros: all education for continuous clinical improvement is paid for and provided
Cons: hours not conducive to family life
Every day is different in some ways, it is exciting not to know what one might encounter arriving on a scene. It is also exciting to meet so many different people of all ages, cultural backgrounds, injuries and illnesses, social and economical backgrounds and so on. It is even more exciting to help someone feel better or buy them time through clinical – more... excellence, compassion or simply an ear to listen. It is satisfying to be able to take pride in keeping up with excellent clinical knowledge and skills and keep a neat and professional looking ambulance. Employees support another and continuously challenge each other to remain a good clinician. The hardest part of the job is often either a long streak of abusive patients or the very young that pass away with nothing available to help. The most rewarding part can be either truly saving a life or the heartfelt happy tears from someone you helped feel better or less lonely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prouductive professional work force
EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Concord, CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: helping people in need of emergency services, and saving the day
Cons: some times no meal breaks, and people abusing the 911 system.
assisting people in need of help sometimes we have large call volumes , but that generally helps the days go by faster, we always have a positive work environment , and professional relationship with other agencies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Paramedic (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 5, 2014
This company has a productive work place. The best part i like about this company is the team work between partners. Management did what they could to fulfill your every need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exercise Room
Various Positions (Former Employee), Akron, OHAugust 4, 2014
Pros: being able to listen to music or a book. office appreciation parties.
Cons: quotas and not much team work.
Working at the computer.
I learned many things, scanning, verification, etc.
No comment.
No comment.
Trying to meet quotas or handling inbound calls of elderly people who were having a heart attack, stuck, or anything bad.
I could listen to music or books at my desk while working.
Flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, lots to do
EMT (Current Employee), King county WashingtonJuly 29, 2014
Pros: stable job, flexible schedule
Cons: long hours, low pay
Private EMT work in King county Washington.

No end to the people who need a ride from here to there...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for private EMS
Paramedic (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COJuly 20, 2014
I have worked for several private ambulance companies before and AMR is better than a lot that are out there. The division I work for has good management and is in a great area with combination of city/rural calls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FT and Overtime available
EMT-PARAMEDIC (Current Employee), WA, MSJuly 15, 2014
Very busy 911 ALS system, able to learn and use all skills required of EMT/Paramedic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A interesting place to work
Dispatcher/Call Taker (Former Employee), Modesto, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: threee day work week
Cons: 12 hour shifts
This was a really fast paced environment. I worked with emergency and non emergency fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are applying here, you should know what you are getting into
PARAMEDIC (Current Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: lets you practice medicine
Cons: management
If you are working for AMR you should know what the company culture is already. Either by word of mouth or personal experience. AMR is a horrible company that runs the heck out of their employees and pay you pennies. Only place for advancement is becoming a supervisor, but then you are not practicing medicine anymore. Which is why you probably working – more... for AMR. So if you find yourself working here, just remember this is just a stepping stone and should be trying to get out of there within a year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT
Driver/Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 7, 2014
The transporting of patients to medical facilities in BLS Units and/or Invalid Coaches and providing a standard of care to our patients while transporting them for their appointments. I trained new technicians on various procedures. I was called upon to fill in as an acting supervisor numerous times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an OK experience
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee), jackson, msJuly 5, 2014
The scheduling was very flexible, though the employees can be treated better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Station group is excelent for the most part
EMT-Basic (Current Employee), Wauchula, FLJuly 4, 2014
Pros: not
Cons: a few
Fair place to work, great supervisor when she is allowed to do her job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Bad goals
EMT-Basic (Former Employee), TexasJune 30, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: management
AMR is a great company to work for. My goals were not compatible for AMRs. Very Low growth within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok Job for someone starting out in the medical field
EMT (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAJune 29, 2014
The rigs broke down daily.They never had enough crews on to handle calls, supervisors had a "good old boy club" thing going on.

About American Medical Response

Because driving yourself to the emergency room isn't always the best plan, there is American Medical Response (AMR). With thousands – Read more

American Medical Response Photos