Find companies:
American Medical Response
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
255 reviews

American Medical Response Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Management not so much
EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 8, 2014
Your jobv was threatened everyday, No job security, Managment is rude and treats you like a number no a person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast fun paced enviornment
Paramedic (Former Employee), CAFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: patient care
Cons: little sleep during the night, 2-3 hour drive from my home address
A typical day at work consisted of checking out my ambulance and equipment needed to perform my duties as a paramedic. I usually worked on a 24 hour ambulance so I had a station that I posted at continuously throughout the shift. I worked mostly out of Antioch and was dispatched to a wide variety of calls consisting of both minor and major incidents. – more... I worked with one other paramedic and we would rotate calls throughout the shift. My co workers were very supportive and we worked very well together as a team and providing the best pt care I/we could provide to the public. The hardest part of the job was the physical demand and lifting patients off the floor, out of bed, down stairs, and in the ambulance was something I encountered daily. The most enjoyable part of my job was taking care of patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for growth and learning.
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Natick, MAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: wonderful co-worker community, great learning opportunity.
Cons: poor compensation, lengthy hours.
American Medical Response offered me an entry into the medical field. It was here that I learned my love for people and my desire to help those in need. The emergency medical service community is remarkably close and supportive of each other. Typical work days would range between 12 and 24 hours in length consisting of both emergency response and patient – more... transfer level of care. This company allowed me the opportunity to build confidence interacting with people during their time of need and working to maintain a calm and organized approach when a situation became chaotic. The management team often worked alongside many of the employees and as a result there was often a direct and open line to supervisors. Compensation for this position was prohibitively low requiring overtime hours to be worked to maintain cost of living expenses. This combined with lengthy shifts made up the most difficult part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to receive experience
Paramedic, Field Training Officer, PT Supervisor (Former Employee), Independence MOJanuary 28, 2014
Worked in high call volume 911 system. Also trained new employees and worked in a supervisory roll when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to receive experience
Paramedic, Field Training Officer, PT Supervisor (Former Employee), Independence MOJanuary 28, 2014
Worked in high call volume 911 system. Also trained new employees and worked in a supervisory roll when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first job in EMS so I can say this was my place of learning.
EMT-P/Field Supervisor/FTO (Current Employee), Monroe, LAJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: competitive hourly wages, health benefits package
Cons: yearly salary, some local management.
A typical day in the suburban EMS world was at times exciting and then at time monontanous to say the least. We come to work and sit on a street corner in the ambulance waiting for that call. The life at AMR is different than anywhere else I have worked. It is a large corporation and I found that you aren't treated like the company values you as a part – more... of their corporation but you are just another number. The management team in my location gets mixed reviews. Some are good and some bad. I really like the people that I work with on a daily basis. They all for the most part are just hard working people. The hardest part of the job is the stress mental and physical of many years of EMS. What I enjoy the most is the interraction with patients and with other service providers that I get to work with. Another large part of my job at AMR was to teach classes. I have taught all disciplines of the American Heart Associaiton, BLS, ACLS, and PALS. I have also taught multiple first responder courses and EMT courses as well as teaching documentation and orientation classes to new employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: the hours overtime
Cons: some of the people
AMR was great to work for. All the different shifts and the pay was great. The supervisors were helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for.
Station Manger/Field EMT Supervisor (Former Employee), Scarborough, MEJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not knowing if the company will be around much longer
Good company to work for but in the last year or so it seems new management has not given support or time to Maine & Southern New Hampshire market. This has caused personnel to have low moral and the loss of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
EMT-Basic (Current Employee), New Haven, CTJanuary 17, 2014
Good Job but Does not let you out on time most of your schedule work week.which is good if you dont mind getting out on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Medical Response
EMT Trainee (Current Employee), Ventura, CAJanuary 15, 2014
The team at AMR is wonderful. They are more than willing to train new EMT's in the field, and they give very valuable information to those who are willing to cooperate. The ride-a-long experience was great. I got a lot of hands on experience with patients in the field and aided paramedics in the ambulance as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with an excellent on the job training.
Patient Biller (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 14, 2014
American Medical Response was very fast paced with an excellent on the job training on Patient Billing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN AND RELAXING
Medical Biller (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: relaxed work place
WISH THEY NEVER WENT OUT OF BUSINESS. LOVED IT VERY MUCH. MANAGEMENT EASY TO GET ALONG WITH. CO-WORKERS WAS LIKE ONE BIG HAPPY FAMILY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting enviroment, but limited advancement opportunities
Paramedic (Former Employee), Portland, ORJanuary 9, 2014
most of the co-workers are fine
there is a lot of political drama
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not really a safe place for field crews. Run field crews very hard.
Paramedic (Former Employee), Independence, MOJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: would enjoy the calls i ran, very busy business
Cons: favortism by management to some crew members. protocols changed on regular occasion
No real chance to move up unless you are related to top management in independence. Field Crews for most part are good people. No real concern for field crews safety, Portable radios didnt work and dispatch would not keep track of your unit for safety reasons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company that treated you like a family member.
certified emergency medical technician (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: too many supervisors
Using emergency techniques to help citizens of new haven. emergency medical training as necessary. overtime was worked as needed and management was very good at working a schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), belleville, ilDecember 29, 2013
Worked for 6 months. The part-time set up is weird but not bad overall
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Field Trainer Officer/Driver (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 24, 2013
Pros: coupons, discounts, complements, commendation letters, encourragement
Cons: low salary
Nice company to work for,always room to grow,respect and care for the employees,good amount of hours to work,plenty of over time,travelling around the city and meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough and busy... wages were ok but company is closed in NY
EMT (Former Employee), Holbrook, NYDecember 17, 2013
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: overworked and under paid.
Lots of emergency transport, often was held over unwillingly due to extra work call ins.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical billing in cozy cubicles
Medicare Coordinator (Current Employee), Modesto, CADecember 11, 2013
Decent place to work. Management is decent and always open to discuss issues and concerns.

Co-workers are decent but we are limited to the amount of interaction between each other.

The most enjoyable part of the job is helping seniors receive the full extent of their coverage from their insurances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent company
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), San Jose, CADecember 11, 2013
Excellent and very professional company to work for. Management has their eye on the ball. Great place to work.

About American Medical Response

Because driving yourself to the emergency room isn't always the best plan, there is American Medical Response (AMR). With thousands – Read more

American Medical Response Photos