Find companies:
American Medical Response
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
306 reviews

American Medical Response Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work environment
Operations/Clinical Field Supervisor (Former Employee), Napa, CAJune 18, 2014
Great people in the field environment, but management team leaves a lot to be desired. Hardest part of the job was working within the management structure developed, due to lack of leadership. Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Medical Response
EMT/Paramedic, American Medical Response (Former Employee), Marina, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: leadership experience, public servant experience, personally gratifying job. seeing people at their best.
Cons: stressful situations, dealing with death and dying. seeing people at their worst.
American Medical Response provided adequate materials and equipment to perform the job of Paramedic and EMT. A typical day at work ran relatively smoothly operating quickly and efficiently in providing the County of Monterey with advanced and basic life support services.
I feel that I learned how to lead coworkers and to handle stressful situations – more... with poise and professionalism. I felt management of the company was relatively hands off allowing employees to operate independently yet was still available when called upon. Coworkers were driven and often competitive.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with traumatic and tragic events that happened in the lives of other people. The most enjoyable part of the job was being useful and helpful when assisting people in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employer
Administrative Supervisor (Current Employee), Independence, MOJune 12, 2014
There is flexibility and advancement.My manager is one of the best I have ever had in my 30 year career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for the UHP
Ambulance Dispatcher (Former Employee), Burlingame, CAJune 11, 2014
I learned an awful lot there. I was able to advance my ability and able to do more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start!
Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMJune 9, 2014
Cons: no retirement
American Medical Response in Las Cruces, NM is a great place to start and get experience in the field. There is a variety of calls, everything from stabbings to breathing problems. I work with a variety of people and different personalities. I got to learn from and work with great experienced paramedics and emt's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn , New YorkMay 29, 2014
Pros: people oriented
Cons: n/a
Wonderful place to work. It is a Patient focused, care giver inspired environment. We were always in the midst of emergencies and disasters that have occurred and the company exhibited excellent professionalism as well as concern for their patients, patients families and employees and their families. Truly a great balance and a concern and culture that – more... is very rare these days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fast-paced ambulance company serving a diverse community
Paramedic (Former Employee), Oakland, CaliforniaMay 15, 2014
Pros: high energy challenging environment, high level of autonomy and leadership, direct patient care
Cons: poor benefits packages and limited abililty to advance
As a full-time paramedic on night shift serving the community of Oakland I responded to all 911 emergency calls in the area and provided direct patient care to those in distress. I encountered many types of emergencies spanning all ages and circumstances. The exposure to a high volume of pediatric and adult trauma, critical medical situations and psychiatric – more... ailments served to make me a well-rounded provider. I enjoyed a close working relationship with my co-workers, fire department, police department and receiving hospital emergency department staff. It was a great honor to care for my patients and I was prided in my interpersonal communication and repore within the community and amongst other agencies. The most difficult part of the job was the physical toll it took after doing it for many years given that the equipment we use is very heavy and often it is impossible to use proper mechanics in emergency situations and confined spaces. Also a disadvantage was the inability to secure a good retirement or pension or advance my practice capabilities beyond the scope of a paramedic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Medical Response
East Area Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 9, 2014
A place for professional EMS personnel. Located throughout the USA. Some 911 service available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work and learning experience
EMT-I (Former Employee), Palmdale, CAMay 8, 2014
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: relocated
Emergency medicine, daily. Working with several different agencies and facilities. This company was the foundation of my education and experience in order to advance to Paramedic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate thinking
Cash Reconciliation Specialist/Refunds Rep. (Current Employee), Torrance CAMay 8, 2014
Seems company is closing in Southern California. Was able to understand more of the ambulance industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amr
Scheduling Administrator (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMay 7, 2014
Pros: field wonderful to work with
Cons: communciation
Fast paced job never a dull moment. Worked with the field and mgmt for the success if the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Portland, ORMay 1, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Needed better organized training. The resources for policies and procedures recently updated and very helpful. Customer service should be more of focus then call times and call volumes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to provide public safety
May 2006 Communications Supervisor (Former Employee), Riverside CaApril 24, 2014
Pros: personally rewarding
Cons: long hours and a long drive.
extreme fast paced environment, directing/assisting employees in their duties. Hr Issues, HIPPA issues, Logistics and Statistics. Teamwork and mentoring. Death was the hardest part of the job. Being able to assist a person at the worst moment of their life and seeing a positive outcome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Patient Care Report Auditor (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 23, 2014
It was great to be a part of an important team regarding pre-hospital patient care. I have learned and gained valuable experience throughout the years I have worked within the company. Good opportunity for advancement and career growth. Can be very stressful but at the end of the day its rewarding when we can help someone in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT- Basic
EMT-Basic (Former Employee), Springfield, MAApril 23, 2014
A typical day at work consists of checking the ambulance ensuring that all equipment and medical supplies are accounted for. After everything is checked, employees then sign on with dispatch and await instruction for posting location/transfer/911.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No supervisor accountability
Paramedic (Former Employee), Austin, TexasApril 21, 2014
Pros: patients are wonderful
Cons: horrible management....
After 3 yrs of being employed at the Austin ,TX office, I was shocked that they could still be in business. Paramedics carrying expired drugs, non-working trucks, radios, time clocks, etc. I personally have had 8 schedule changes and went threw 5 supervisors. Absolutely no accountability from supervisors.
One super, can talk a lot but doesn't say anything – more... but lies. One of the training officer was let go from other employment, due to personal pornography at work,(ref. Austin American Statesman news coverage)
One super quit because they were instructed to hold a 12 hour crew over for another 12 hours,,,they refused and were threatened with termination.
Dispatchers constantly sent crew and units to wrong locations, at least 4 times a week. VERY BAD PLACE TO WORK. The patients and Co-workers were the only good thing about this job... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Call Taker (Former Employee), Burlingame, CAApril 15, 2014
A.M.R once held the entire Bay Areas Monopoly on 911 ambulances and the money and raises was unimaginable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun Until a lot of changes happened
PARAMEDIC/FTO (Former Employee), Manchester NHApril 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
When the entire management team was replaced , it made for some big changes and the atmosphere changed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many opportunities right out the gate
Wheelchair Driver (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 3, 2014
Pros: understanding management, not staying in one place all day
Cons: not working here long enough
hired at full time right away i got to meet some very nice people on my driving routes and build re-pore with them because i saw some people everyday, overtime was given if wanted, and bonus cash could be earned if the pick ups went over a certain number
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A paramedics dream company
Paramedic Intern (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIApril 1, 2014
AMR is a great company to work for. The senior paramedics took the time to teach and ensure as a new paramedic I knew what I was doing.

About American Medical Response

Because driving yourself to the emergency room isn't always the best plan, there is American Medical Response (AMR). With thousands – Read more

American Medical Response Photos