Find companies:
American Medical Response
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
287 reviews

American Medical Response Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A paramedics dream company
Paramedic Intern (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIApril 1, 2014
AMR is a great company to work for. The senior paramedics took the time to teach and ensure as a new paramedic I knew what I was doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCMarch 29, 2014
I enjoyed patient care and working for this employer, the hardest part of this job was working 24 hr shifts with small children at home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to off at and gain experience from.
Business Development Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 26, 2014
Pros: good benefits, good hrs.
Cons: unorganized, unhappy employees, no room for promotion.
American Medical Response allowed me to challenge myself and to find creative ways to sell. I enjoyed going out into the field and meeting clients face to face building a relationship with them. However, It was a very competitive and corrupt business. We were an honest company who followed compliance therefore lacking business forcing the Brooklyn base – more... to close. This I would say was the hardest part of my job. If I didn't produce enough business, I'd have to answer to my boss. There was a lot of pressure on everyone, causing stress. I really liked some of my co workers and are still in contact with a few of them. They also offered great benefits to their employees. It's a shame the Brooklyn based was closed due to poor business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexable company
Paramedic (Current Employee), Springfield, MAMarch 24, 2014
good working expereince, WWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Paramedic (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: job security, good pay, great environment
Cons: non
great place to be, job security, good pay, great environment, almost everyone love to be here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing special
Cash Control (Former Employee), Modesto, CAMarch 20, 2014
Loved the people I met there. Management does not care about their employees. Low pay, horrible HR
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Akron, OHMarch 16, 2014
Staff had a different culture. Presently I have learned most people employed there now work from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tragic and always in a transition
emtb (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no comment
Tragic and always in transition. Within the 3 1/2 years I worked for AMR I went through 4 supervisors. And one of which wasn't even EMT certified. The operations I worked for was clearly looked at as "red headed step-child" and viewed from the rest of the company as 'a joke'.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tensed, walking on egg shells environment
Billing Coordinator (Former Employee), Wailuku, HawaiiFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: good pay and good hours
Cons: no raise or bonus for ten years +
I worked as a billing coordinator at this company for twenty years. The last 15 years was a struggle. Management was poor and unprofessional. Favoritism was a HUGE problem. I feel that I was a victim of workplace bullying which is not against the law. Although I had excellent yearly evaluations, I couldn't do anything right. I had claws on my back and – more... eyes on me every second of the day. I was called in for every little thing you can imagine. The director was no help either all my concerns were never addressed and the manager was always found in favor. The year I made twenty years, they said I did something wrong and even though my co-workers were involved too, I was the only one they let go. (go figure) When I contacted H/R some of the information provided that lead to their decision to let me go was based on false and inaccurate information. I couldn't fight it because the corporation hires as "at will" so they can get rid of you anytime they felt like it. Why I stayed so long? you might ask. Because I had to do what I had to do to support my family of four young children. I would never consider working there again, even if they offered me a million dollars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMR
Paramedic (Former Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 20, 2014
Available shifts were 8 to 24 hours. Learned how to work in a high stress environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun saving lives and bringing people that need help to the hospital for evaluation
emergency medical technician (Current Employee), New Haven, CTFebruary 19, 2014
transporting patients to and from the hospital
patient and personal contact
management does not care of the employees
the most enjoyable part of the job is performing patient care to those that are sick and need help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative/Executive Assistant Duties
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Torrance, CAFebruary 15, 2014
My typical day as an administrative/executive assistant responsibilities consist of, but are not limited to answering phones, typing and taking notes, meeting minutes, memo taking and letter typing are making coffee, greeting clients, keeping outlook calendars up to date, ordering lunches, breakfast, making travel arrangements as well as knowledge of – more... office computer programs and equipment. An administrative assistant may even be responsible for financial records, office funds, billing clients and maintaining accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Management not so much
EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 8, 2014
Your jobv was threatened everyday, No job security, Managment is rude and treats you like a number no a person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast fun paced enviornment
Paramedic (Former Employee), CAFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: patient care
Cons: little sleep during the night, 2-3 hour drive from my home address
A typical day at work consisted of checking out my ambulance and equipment needed to perform my duties as a paramedic. I usually worked on a 24 hour ambulance so I had a station that I posted at continuously throughout the shift. I worked mostly out of Antioch and was dispatched to a wide variety of calls consisting of both minor and major incidents. – more... I worked with one other paramedic and we would rotate calls throughout the shift. My co workers were very supportive and we worked very well together as a team and providing the best pt care I/we could provide to the public. The hardest part of the job was the physical demand and lifting patients off the floor, out of bed, down stairs, and in the ambulance was something I encountered daily. The most enjoyable part of my job was taking care of patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for growth and learning.
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Natick, MAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: wonderful co-worker community, great learning opportunity.
Cons: poor compensation, lengthy hours.
American Medical Response offered me an entry into the medical field. It was here that I learned my love for people and my desire to help those in need. The emergency medical service community is remarkably close and supportive of each other. Typical work days would range between 12 and 24 hours in length consisting of both emergency response and patient – more... transfer level of care. This company allowed me the opportunity to build confidence interacting with people during their time of need and working to maintain a calm and organized approach when a situation became chaotic. The management team often worked alongside many of the employees and as a result there was often a direct and open line to supervisors. Compensation for this position was prohibitively low requiring overtime hours to be worked to maintain cost of living expenses. This combined with lengthy shifts made up the most difficult part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to receive experience
Paramedic, Field Training Officer, PT Supervisor (Former Employee), Independence MOJanuary 28, 2014
Worked in high call volume 911 system. Also trained new employees and worked in a supervisory roll when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to receive experience
Paramedic, Field Training Officer, PT Supervisor (Former Employee), Independence MOJanuary 28, 2014
Worked in high call volume 911 system. Also trained new employees and worked in a supervisory roll when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first job in EMS so I can say this was my place of learning.
EMT-P/Field Supervisor/FTO (Current Employee), Monroe, LAJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: competitive hourly wages, health benefits package
Cons: yearly salary, some local management.
A typical day in the suburban EMS world was at times exciting and then at time monontanous to say the least. We come to work and sit on a street corner in the ambulance waiting for that call. The life at AMR is different than anywhere else I have worked. It is a large corporation and I found that you aren't treated like the company values you as a part – more... of their corporation but you are just another number. The management team in my location gets mixed reviews. Some are good and some bad. I really like the people that I work with on a daily basis. They all for the most part are just hard working people. The hardest part of the job is the stress mental and physical of many years of EMS. What I enjoy the most is the interraction with patients and with other service providers that I get to work with. Another large part of my job at AMR was to teach classes. I have taught all disciplines of the American Heart Associaiton, BLS, ACLS, and PALS. I have also taught multiple first responder courses and EMT courses as well as teaching documentation and orientation classes to new employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: the hours overtime
Cons: some of the people
AMR was great to work for. All the different shifts and the pay was great. The supervisors were helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for.
Station Manger/Field EMT Supervisor (Former Employee), Scarborough, MEJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not knowing if the company will be around much longer
Good company to work for but in the last year or so it seems new management has not given support or time to Maine & Southern New Hampshire market. This has caused personnel to have low moral and the loss of business.

About American Medical Response

Because driving yourself to the emergency room isn't always the best plan, there is American Medical Response (AMR). With thousands – Read more

American Medical Response Photos