American Medical Response Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 450 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable enviroment
Icd 9 coder (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTAugust 14, 2015
code PCR reports, collections, training,. I learned how to become extremely thorough with researching specific things. my cowokers were extremely busy. We all were. Hardest part misinformed insurance adjusters. Best part getting back pay and bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible pay, all company decisions are based on profit only.
Employee (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 25, 2015
Yay let's get paid half of a burger-flipper to save lives and constantly worry about job security and how the company will scrape the bottom of the barrel for vehicles and maintenance.

The personnel were amazing at this company and management legitimately tries to make the best of what they have, but their hands are tied from corporate. In fact, the only issues that this company has is based from the regional level and higher (i.e. compensation, vehicles, maintenance, supplies, municipality contractual requirements, etc.)

Really unfortunate for the employees.
Pros
Exciting everyday, great personnel.
Cons
Pay is downright degrading.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling atmosphere with day to day challenges
Communications Training Officer (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAJuly 22, 2015
This position teaches the utmost highest skill training in multitasking, patience, and commitment. My coworkers are extremely supportive with one another and team work is priority. The most difficult part of the job are the long hours and lack of family time due to the high call volume. What I love most about this job is helping people in their most stressful times of their lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job training and very good working atmosphere.
maintenance (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 11, 2015
I would send someone there who is interested in the medical field Co-workers are great,will work with you to resolve any issues you my have in performing your daily work requirements.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cubicle setting/phone/2 computuers
Trip Entry Insurance Representative (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJune 9, 2015
answered phone, faxed forms, verified insurances, entered insurance codes, clerical, billed insurance codes, entered correct codes, answered phones daily, billed commercial insurances, billed Medicaid, faxed/mailed medical necessity forms
Pros
big company, treated for lunch on fridays, incentives, bonuses, compnay picnic, great insurance, great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work day, with serval exceptional Co-workers.
Vehicle Service technician (Current Employee) –  Burlingame, CAJune 2, 2015
A day at AMR involves cleaning and restocking Ambulances. I have learned the behind the scene work that needs to be done. to make sure the public receives the correct medical treatment. My co-workers are a plus to a day at work and the management is nothing less than that too. There is nothing at my job that isn't manageable, which makes it enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get to fish anytime your off
Safety Advisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 1, 2015
The greatest part of the job is the satisfaction that everyone got to go home SAFE without injuries due to the safety practices that I implemented.
Pros
Breakfast, lunch and dinner were free to all employees every day.
Cons
2 weeks on, 2 weeks off ( Location was 200 miles in The Gulf of Mexico)
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you are fresh out of school and have no experience.
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Evansville IndianaMay 29, 2015
If you need call volume because you are new to EMS, great place to start. Bad place if you are older and not looking to be ran into the ground daily. Can run anywhere between 5-22 calls per truck during 12 hour shift with no relief.
Pros
12 hour shifts with the chance to go on long distance transfers.
Cons
Extremely high call volume. Sometimes unable to stock your truck, never off on time and sometimes forced to work over with no notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Medical Response-Support Services
Support Services Rep (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAMay 28, 2015
Filing ambulance claim forms/ stock clerk. My co-workers were very nice but yearned to do difference job/position. Temp to hire position. Moved on to look for better job
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Paid very low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn, helping people
Paramedic (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 28, 2015
With AMR you get a chance to learn the career you have chosen or if you have been the career field a while you can brush up on some skills you haven't used in a while.If your willing to learn they will teach you, if your a paramedic than you have the option to move up to a higher advanced level of paramedic with a critical care paramedic training.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Want to know more about American Medical Response?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash Posting Team Lead / Staff Council Rep
Cash Posting Technical Coordinator / Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAMay 28, 2015
Great management, learned a lot of medical coding and billing practices and shipping and receiving of all bills and documents. Great coworkers, no real hard part of the job and loved the fast pace work environment

Cash Posting Technical Coordinator / Team Lead
 Posting and processing of patients payments into various computer systems
 Coding of insurance payment reports and ICD-9 coding
 End of month balancing and confirming all payments to ensure they are balanced
 Auditing and reconciling off balance reports and balancing batch reports
 Filing and organization of all payments, batches and various other documents
 Assembling payment copies and EOB’s into batches
 Creation of Excel time log and batch report spreadsheets
Staff Council Representative
 Elected representative of cash posting department
 Creating various fundraising activities
 Planning, execution and implementation of new employee guidelines
 Case management of cash posting employee concerns and questions
Pros
Good pay, Good work environment, good pace of work
Cons
Poor job advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 27, 2015
Great place to work, 911 emergency services in Yolo County as well as Placer County. Providing inter facility transfers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to learn and start a career in EMS
EMT-B (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAMay 23, 2015
The relation ship between management and field staff if strained
the union is new so still trying to find its footing
there are a lot of oppertunities to learn at AMR
Pros
a lot of shift to pick up
Cons
almost no breaks during a typical day
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environement
Call Taker/ Dispatch (Current Employee) –  Farmers Branch, TXMay 21, 2015
On the phone for 10-12 hours straight with little to no breaks. Work every single weekend, no room for advancement.

Several co-workers did not like each other and would not talk even when it was work related.

Management and training is almost none- existent.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No breaks/ extremely short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow
Paramedic-Field Training Officer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 14, 2015
Private EMS company that has little regard for their employees, at least in the Kansas market. Profit is main driving factor of staffing, and nothing else seems to matter. The general public suffers from this. I have heard this has "gotten better" but have no verification of this.
Pros
Tons of overtime
Cons
Tons of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  Tukwila, WAMay 11, 2015
Best department in the world. A family from your family. I have never been a place I felt so accepted. Everyday brings something new and anybody can provide you with a smile
Pros
Big red truck sirens saving lives
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 11, 2015
I enjoyed going to work and dealing with the public, i also had a great time working with my coworkers and interacting with everyone in the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better private companies
EMT-FTO (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 7, 2015
Overall better than most private companies in the area. Base pay rate is lower than other compaies, however you get daily run bonus which on average increases your rate to $2-$3 more and hour!
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation company, Medical field
Driver/Aide (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMay 7, 2015
On-call pager system. given an address to go to to pick up a patient.Use of maps to locate address. Drove all over Connecticut to find different hospitals and doctor's offices. Co-workers were very helpful in finding addresses and also were team oriented. Lifting customers up one or two steps to get into their private homes. I love to travel and this company offered a lot of that.
Pros
Full Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for this caring and responsible company
Emergency Medical Technician - Basic (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VAMay 5, 2015
I personally love this company and how they treat their employees and how their employees daily work equipment. They truly care about safety and spare nothing to be ahead or make their employees lives easier. The only issue I have is a conflict of interest as the supervisors at my job area have friendships with regular employees so it is intimidating if not impossible to go to them if you have an issues with the people that supervisors are friends with. im sure that is not the case at other branches but for the sake of being honest, I include that information.
Other than that, the company is truly awesome to work for and I hope to not have to leave and can continue until I retire.
Pros
Great benefits, wonderful rewarding days out of an office
Cons
Supervisors having conflict of interest friendships
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 450 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5

American Medical Response Reviews by Location