Find companies:
American National Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

American National Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something different in a consistant work environment
Main Branch Teller (Current Employee), Danville, VAApril 16, 2014
A typical day at work involves assisting customers with their banking needs and looking to provide the products and services that best fit their personal or business life. You also constantly experience new situations while working to find the answers for new questions asked each day. Everyday involves a great deal of multitasking, detail oriented transactions, – more... organization, great listening and communication skills, computer skills, and great team work. I have learned a lot about the banking industry and how involved a bank teller's job truly is. You work closely with Management and co-workers in banking because of the many different areas that are involved in each transactions preformed. This job would be difficult for someone who doesn't obtain good organization skills because you are faced with having to complete several task at the same time while a new situation is brought before you. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with different cliental each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At least they work with you if you have children
Lending Department, Processor (Former Employee), Terrell, TXMarch 10, 2014
Pros: good work/life balance
Cons: bad training and even worse salary.
The training I received was decent but I do not feel it was concise enough. It did not cover everything I needed to do my job well. The workload at times could choke a horse and it was not a company that paid you well for the work they expect from you. The hardest part of the job was knowing you had to be there forty hours a week. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was five o'clock any day, but especially Friday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seemed slow about updating systems.
Sr. Mortgage Closer (Former Employee), Omaha, NEFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: employees were good to work with.
Cons: slow is updating working systems.
Was difficult to be timely & efficient. Systems were not as updated as they could have been.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resourceful
Call Center Agent (Former Employee), Waycross, GAOctober 31, 2013
Answered telephone inquiries on products, and services
Resolved problems of clients
Conducted telephone interviews to process loan applications
Maintained a thorough knowledge of all banking products and services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounts Payable Manager (Current Employee), Brainerd, MNOctober 28, 2013
Cons: temporary & part time
An excellent place to work. Very nice atmosphere to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place dealing with daily customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kaufman, TXOctober 16, 2013
Pros: loved customer contact
Cons: little pay, no retirement future
I enjoyed my time at the bank, I was bank teller then new accounts manager. I pretty much worked alone and dealt with accoounts for customers and opened accounts based on customer needs.
Hardest part of job seemed to be not enough time in the day to get all the paper work done.
Most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers on a daily basis with – more... money needs and account management no matter what amount of money they had.
I left job to go back to AT&T becuase of retirement future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good small company
Teller I (Former Employee), denver, coAugust 16, 2013
Some values are not where they should be, but the company was easy to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits with Decent Compensation but not a whole lot of room for growth and is still in transition
Accountant Specialist (Former Employee), Danville, VAAugust 12, 2013
Pros: friendly workers
Cons: unbalanced work load (either too much from little problems or not enough altogether)
Remit Withholding to IRS

Balance GL Ledger Accounts Assigned

Initiate daily or weekly journal entries

Resolve any outstanding issues

Review Reports for outages

I did learn how a bank does its accounting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Main Branch Teller (Current Employee), Danville, VAJuly 9, 2013
Banking is always changing and the company is looking to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company
Treasury Management Specialist (Current Employee), Terrell, TXFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: flexible scheduling, good benefits
Very stable company that is growing rapidly. Co-workers are very friendly and easy to work with. Job can be demanding but rewarding when you are recognized for your excellent customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place ot work when position was in Chattanooga, TN. Center closed.
Bankcard Merchant Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNFebruary 10, 2013
Calling on possible clients to gain their financial banking and credit card business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting to meet people from all over the world
Teller (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXNovember 21, 2012
Pros: meeting people from all over the world
Cons: no holiday pay no benefits, no sick leave
my Night Started coming in and clocking in,getting downtime reports printed,pull up all inhouse guest and make sure each of them were put in the system correctly,waiting for arrivals to come in,make sure all wake-up calls where put in system,make sure fresh coffee was availabe for guest when they come to the lobby,then around 2:30am
you start you Night – more... Audit if everything is in Balance.We have a lare turnover so I reall do not get to know my Co-Worker very well,it takes alot to work at a hotel due to hours ,working Holidays without the pay,odd hours sometime.The hard part of the job is keeping the guest happy at all times no matter what and you do your best and at the end of the day you feel good about the guest you made happy about being there' – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a Coffe Shop in Lobby
Motor Bank Teller (Former Employee), Amarillo TxNovember 21, 2012
Pros: coffee shop in building
Cons: long walk to the parking lot
A typical Day at work was coming in and getting window ready
to open working up the Night Drop Vault,checking with supervisior
to see if there were any thing that needed to be taken care of before opening window up,my hours were 7am to 3pm M-F.
My co-workers were the best,we all got along so well.
To me the most enjoyable part of my job was the customers,I – more... enjoy
and always have working with the public, I have meant so many
great people and some turned out to be good friends.The Hardest part of the job was having to leave,we moved out of town due to my
husbands' job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auto Loan Processor
Auto Loan Processor (Former Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 26, 2012
Pros: acquired exceptional data entry and 10 key skills.
Cons: not much variety.
Wonderful company to work for. Team like environment. Enter auto loan applications and approved loans into bank database. Data entry position. Good pay and benefits. Quiet office and very friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Bank enviroment was very professional. I was able to utilize my previous bank teller skills which made my work experience very productive.
Teller/Drive-up (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 7, 2012
Cons: the company offered good healthcare
Processed members deposits, withdrawals and payment transactions.
Managed cash drawer,with excellent balncing record.
Cross-sold and referred financial products and services .
Assisted with managing vault incoming and outgoing currency shipments.
Answered telephone inquiries.

Enhanced my cash handling and customer service skills.

Capable of interacting – more... with all levels of management effectively.

Strive to be a team player at all times.

Challenges on the job was minimum. However, Being assured that I have cross-sold a member a product or service that best fit their need was sometimes difficult.

Successfully completeing the members transactions and intoducing new products and services that would benefit the member as well as the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Branch Manager I (Former Employee), Aspen, COAugust 31, 2012
Pros: great place to work
Cons: layoffs due to the economy
A typical day at work in the management position consisted of making sure the staff was ready for the day, supplies and cash ready. Pulled daily reports such as non-post and NSF, as well as making the decisions of whether or not to pay or return based on customer relations and risk. Approval of wires of up to 100k, answering and solving customers issues. – more... Answering phones when necessary and tellering at lunch hours. Delivered meetings on security and lost prevention, to also introduce new products and goals.

Got along well with co-workers, respected them and reflexed in my image and behavior what I expected from them.

That hardest part of the job was when layoffs came around and had to let go of great employees when the economy collapsed.

I really enjoyed working for ANB Bank, great support from management and positive atmosphere. We had the opportunity to make marketing business decisions and implement them at our branches – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place that I would recommend. Not employee friendly
Loan Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Terrell TexasAugust 29, 2012
Cons: i did not take the insurance through the company-they did not compensate an anyway.
I worked with loan documents in tracking and verifying that all documents were completed. The work was very steady-no time to goof-off. I handled several other duties which kept my day busy. My day went by fast because I was always staying busy-this was great..I did not have to look for work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Bank with great expansion plans
Senior Lender & Loan Workout Specialist (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOAugust 27, 2012
Great customers and people to work with. They paid for my college which I finished while working here. I miss these days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed what I did as a BSA Analoyst
BSA Analyst (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJuly 12, 2012
Compnesation and benefits are not there,. Job security not there. Four layoffs in two years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Personal Banker/Teller (Former Employee), Telluride, COJuly 1, 2012
Pros: great management, great location, great pay, good hours
I was working there for 2 years but they laid me off from cut backs. We were a great group and we worked well together. I have learned alot from that job, sales, helping and listening to people. Opening accounts, deposits, withdraws, some office work. The hardest part of the job was trying to get get a sale when that person really does not want that – more... card or account. We had fun also like July 3rd we would bring in snacks and cake for our clients, every friday we had popcorn for everyone. – less