Find companies:
American National Insurance Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

American National Insurance Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morale is low
Lead Accounting Clerk (Current Employee), League City, TXOctober 28, 2014
Employers treat employees poorly.

Employer worked with my school schedule and works with me when I need to switch around my schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a short time.
Case Manager (Former Employee), Galveston, TexasOctober 8, 2014
Pros: cafeteria in the home office
Cons: managers and insurance benefits
A typical day at work is good because of the people that you work with. I learned lots in regards to life insurance. You will have to learn all by yourself. Management really doesn't know the products that we sell or the actual systems that we use. Management lacks in this company. The co-workers are great. You have your lazy ones and you have the ones – more... that work hard. Just like in any other job. The hardest part of the job is when the company puts out new life insurance products and they do not make you aware of them. All of a sudden you get an application for the new product and you don't know what to do. This is why management lacks. In regards to advancement you will have to be a managers pet or be related to someone that has some sort of pull in the company. There are so many employees that are related it's crazy. The people that you work with is the best part of the job. If you like to be confined in a cubicle and have managers that don't really know the business, and only get .10 cent raises every year, this is the place for you. Oh, and for it to be an insurance company the health insurance for their employees in expensive and doesn't cover much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, very professional
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Galveston, TexasJuly 22, 2014
Besides the old technology and gloomy looking walls and cubicles, I thought the company was great. I learned how to act in a professional manner. It is an older building/company, but with that comes a great history of success. Overall I would say its a good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and buiness starts right as you walk in the door
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chesterfield MissouriMay 23, 2014
Pros: lunches, amazing co-workers, bosses are great
Cons: the pay and the location is to far from where i live
In the morning I go into my Boss/Agents office we sit and talk about clients and what needs to be done for the day. Each day is different due to some hours are spent on Marketing ideas and putting them together, as well as phone calls being made out to clients or underwriters. Also have files that need quoted for home and auto as well as life which – more... I have not got into just yet. I learn something new every day and it is just adding on to my experience and knowledge of the business. I have learned the different language that comes from dealing with insurance company's and also having my bosses back when it comes to making sure to get things done and on time. The most enjoyable part of my job is when a file is fully done and others have been reviewed. That's enjoyable to me because that means more business to move onto. The hardest part of the job is not being able to make every client happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Daily Administrator (Former Employee), Galveston, TXApril 22, 2014
I would deal with the daily trading for outside 401(k) plans. I learned a lot about pension plans and the laws that affect them. I had some good coworkers who I still stay in touch with. I really liked the work. The biggest challenge was the deadline for trades. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to see what you accomplished when you were – more... finished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
something to do productive everyday
Life Agent (Former Employee), Visalia, CAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: long days
a typical day was selling insurance and picking up payments from clients , data entry. The hardest part was trying to get ahold of some clients. I learned to deal with a variety of tasks all in one day. My coworkers were helpful and respectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very flexible place to work for
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Los AngelesMarch 24, 2014
My days were very productive working on the field, I learned to manage my time and stay productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out as fun, tried to stay to myself and away from certain co-workers
Licensed Life Insurance Agent (Former Employee), League City, TXJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: co-workers, not all but most
I have to agree with another post on here;

"it's high stress due to co workers.
management put up with a lot.
a lot of employees have been there for 20 years or longer and get away with anything."

Sad but true and I was unable to function in that environment since co-workers harassed me for ignorant reasons. The call center can and should do better. – more... Get rid of folks who just want tenure to collect a pension check when they retire, especially if they're numbers are low.

There is free parking, lovely marina view, great restaurants, lots of traffic leaving work, nice gym and discounts, if they can do something about certain co-workers it will be a much better place to work and 5 stars – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company makes money off employees high insurance rates
Scheduling console operator (Current Employee), League City, TXJanuary 19, 2014
it's high stress due to co workers.
management put up with a lot.
a lot of employees have been there for 20 years or longer and get away with anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
data entry position with agent emails and calls to respond to
Case Manager Level II (Current Employee), League City, TXOctober 21, 2013
Pros: office is located in league city with parking
Cons: position will be relocated to galveston and will need to find available parking and pay for parking.
I review life insurance policies for accuracy. I handle phone calls and emails from the agents. This requires immediate response. I also confirm new policies and existing policies have the correct plans and requirements needed to place the policy in force. I also monitor the draft dates and ensure all banking information is correct prior to issue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Peoria, ILOctober 9, 2013
Received my certification for life insurance. Worked 40 plus hours a week. Left the company due to my assigned route and the location was in a hard part of town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
MLGA - Life, Annuity, P&C Agent (Current Employee), Roseville, CASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: new clients becoming friends i just haven't met yet.
Cons: losing a client to premature death/illness
Helping people protect what they value most; Life, Home, Auto, Retirement plans/strategies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), St. Petersburg, FLJuly 2, 2013
Pros: good money
Cons: catching your clients
Good company to work for, training is great, help you in any way they can, great support, great on the job training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting a variety of new people daily
Assistant Office Administrator (Former Employee), San Angelo, TXMay 30, 2013
Pros: meeting new and exciting people
Cons: acknowledgment of policy holders dying.
worked with lots of people on a daily basis, I learned alot on the computer, and the management was remarkable. The co-workers were very cheerful, and the hardest part of my job, was finding out when a person died right away, since we sold life insurance. The most enjoyable part of the job, was when the agents came in with all their sales. They had – more... a smile on their faces, due to their hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMEs failed attempt to go corporate
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 19, 2013
The company is a small company that has it's own insurance products that includes health and life. The only problem is the health plans are very outdated, and management is a small community that tends to have a high micro-management operation. It can be difficult to communicate to the some of these officials and certain things have to be done the way – more... they are use to. Things could have changed since I've worked there, but others say the conditions have just became much more unbearable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rest Assured, Laid Back Atmosphere
Analyst (Current Employee), Galveston, TXMarch 11, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: promotions are based on years service and not qualified candidates or someone is hired externally
Laid back atmosphere. Not enough challenges present personally for myself, but others may find the company culture to their liking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting place to work.
Health Claims Examiner (Former Employee), Galveston, TexasDecember 27, 2012
Pros: in-house executive dining room and medical facility
Cons: parking issues
With 17 years of work experience in the Individual Health Claims Division at American National, I would have to say that it was one of the greatest experiences in my life. I learned so much about how to run on office, how to effectively communicate with people, both verbally and in writing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job with great hours
Claims Representative (Current Employee), Springfield, MODecember 12, 2012
Pros: hours, pension, work/life separation
Cons: hourly, advancement opportunities, unable to "own" the job
A typical day at work begins with checking voicemail and emails. From there you simply step into the Claims Adjuster role. 85-90% of the day is spent on the phone. I was blessed to be placed under an outstanding manager, in a great unit. I can't say that every other adjuster is as lucky as I have been. The most difficult part of the job is realizing – more... that not everyone understands insurance, it's a language that is often blurry, even to seasoned professionals. As a guy who prefers face-to-face interaction and the feeling of a job well done, this role presents its share of difficulties. As a whole, this is a company with many different departments to try your hand at. As a recent college graduate, ANPAC has been great to me. As a young professional, ANPAC has provided me with knowledge of what I excel in, where I need to be in my career, and experience to move into a position more tailored for my needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience, but...
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Galveston, TXOctober 28, 2012
American National can be a great place to work, but there is little room for advancement and the pay scale is low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 Years of Company Service
Sr. Analyst Clerk/Control Technician (Former Employee), League City, TXOctober 28, 2012
I enjoyed my job here; I liked working with a diverse group of people; Learned a lot on this job in various areas of Life and Health Insurance. Great experience.