Find companies:
American Red Cross
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,995 reviews

American Red Cross Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working place
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 27, 2015
American Red Cross is a great company to learn new experiences. A typical day at work involves driving to the job location where ever the blood drive is set, help unload the truck for utilities, set up area, and start your work day of great customer service and doing venipuncture's. when the drive is over you break down all beds, tables, and materials/ utilities you used to set up with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked
COLLECTIONS TECH II (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAMay 27, 2015
I loved my actual job and when I first started I loved all of my supervises and all of the work staff. During the time I was there the companies staff continued to deprecated. They hired staff that were not physically able to handle their work load. So it put extra work and stress on the rest of the staff. The pay was excellent as long as I brought in overtime. But I would never want to work for them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vulenteer
Voulenteer (Former Employee), Morgan Hill, CAMay 26, 2015
I enjoyed Vulenteering for Red Cross. It allowed me to learn from the workers and to give back to my community. Red Cross helped me as a person to know which career direction i wanted to go in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
International Services Intern / Volunteer (Current Employee), Montclair, NJMay 25, 2015
I enjoy my time at the red cross, and just wish I would have an opportunity to grown and stay with the company long. The management is very professional and helpful if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like a family
Transportation Dir & Crisis Volunteer Coordinator (Current Employee), Canton, OHMay 23, 2015
Pros: helping people
Cons: job is going to be eliminated in future
We are like a family. Like helping people in need. Have worked for 15 years. Looking because my job is going to be eliminated in and near future
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional
Red Cross Volunteer (Former Employee), Yuba City, CAMay 22, 2015
When I would walk in to start the day they would always greet me. They are always so nice. I would then go into the back, sign my time card, then go to my desk and start my work. I learned how to remain focused, be professional on a job, and how to talk to clients on the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping victims of natural disasters.
Emergency Management Specialist (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMay 22, 2015
Pros: Helping people reunite
Cons: Seeing the despair.
Interview victims and finding out there need to find there love ones. I learn about the devastation they experience and how I could help minimized their burden. The hardest part of the jobs was seeing the elderly, disable and children separated from their love ones. The most enjoyable part of the jobs was helping people reunite.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall
Emergency Communication Center Dispatcher (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 21, 2015
Interesting Position. Enjoy the staff that i work with.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company to work for.
ASSISTANT BLOOD DONOR RECRUITER (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAMay 21, 2015
Pros: A company committed to the well being of everyone who was in the need.
Cons: Some of the public responses of why they thought the donation process was a waste of time.
I loved having the opportunity to assist the public in doing good deeds for complete strangers. Individuals, whose lives depended on someone donating their time away from family, work obligations, or obligations. with their own children. Co
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day for American Red Cross
Office Clerk (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 21, 2015
A typical day would be to start calling blood donors from daily call log and making appointments for them in their area. Input the Blood Donor Sites and Volunteers onto a calendar. Input Volunteers for Blood Drive into system. Mail out incentives to Blood Donors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity is held to a high standard
Indiana Training Specialist (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 20, 2015
High efficiency is also highly effective with small, but mighty teams. Our teams strive to educate community members on life saving skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn to value working for the community
First Aid Certified Instructor Volunteering (Former Employee), Stcokton, CaliforniaMay 18, 2015
I had the chance to work with the community and I enjoyed it. Red Cross always appreciate the time donated. The community needs a lot of help and Red Cross is there to assist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working across the nation to help people when disaster strikes
Disaster Program Manager (Former Employee), Sacramento, CA Northeastern regionMay 16, 2015
Pros: helping client across the nation in disasters from coast to coast
Cons: on call 24/7
I was on call 24/7 for Disasters that occur in my 8 counties. I would respond or send volunteers to respond to fire calls, wild fires, floods, tornadoes, or people in distress due to loss of homes. I learned how to manage a mix of cultures and classes of people on a day to day basis. My co-workers were a TEAM and had respect for one another. The hardest part of the job here was when people were in need and it did not fit into the National definition for Red Cross assistance. The most enjoyable part was seeing the light in peoples eyes when we could help and did so without cost to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN JOB
HOPSITAL SERVICE (Current Employee), Johnstown, PAMay 16, 2015
Pros: GOOD PAY
Cons: LONG HOURS
GOOD PLACE TO WORK. LONG HOURS AND SOME DEMANDING DONORS. BUT I UNDERSTOOD THEIR COMPLAINTS. MET ALOT OF NICE DONORS AND SAW ALOT OF NEW PLACES IN OUR TRAVEL. ALL STAFF WAS LIKE FAMILY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The mission of saving lives is a rewarding career and you work with different people everyday.
Collections Technician III, DRC, Charge (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYMay 15, 2015
Pros: The mission
Cons: hours, lack of advancement, company is in the red
A great place to work. The most enjoyable part is the donor's and the reason why they donate their blood. The mission is saving lives. Plus you work @ a different site and with different coworkers everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
simplemente tener la vocacion e interes de servir y ayudar.
Orientation Coordinator (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 15, 2015
Pros: horario flexible
Cons: sus adiestramientos o certificaciones deberian tambien ser en espanol.
Es de modo voluntario. Mi labor es dar a conocer la historia y servicios q ofrece la Cruz Roja a nuevos integrantes voluntarios.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Supervisor, Marketing Operations (Former Employee), Douglasville, GAMay 15, 2015
Love the ARC! I enjoyed being a part of the team! I miss being a member of the ARC family! It made me very proud to tell others where I worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission
Certified Phlebotomy Technician, Specialist I (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMay 15, 2015
Pros: Great Team enviorment
Cons: Policy always changing making it hard to remember which to go by.
Rewarding job, saving lives. Daily duties included setting up for a drive. Quality control, Collecting blood. Taking care of donors that may have fallen ill. Cleaning up the blood drive. Returning blood to the lab for processing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surprisingly unpleasent
Collections tech (Current Employee), Portland, MEMay 15, 2015
Pros: you have a job
Cons: everything else
Coming into the company I had heard good things, and heard people were happy to work there. Upon a few months of working I found the complete opposite. Workers are unhappy and treated poorly. You are in fear of getting written up constantly even if you are a good employee, thanks to the Federal regulations that the Red Cross is under for making too many mistakes. I also thought I would be coming to work with highly trained medical staff, but this was untrue as well. Most staff had never done phlebotomy before, not to mention work in a medical setting. The amount of benefits are taken away each year more and more. I still cannot believe how this company thinks it is going to keep running with so many unhappy employees and a work culture of fear, disappointment and under appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Disaster Coordinator, AmeriCorps Member (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 14, 2015
Pros: International
Cons: I didn't know about the opportunity in the past.
Organization filled with hard working, energetic, caring, and very informational people. Everyone works together to enhance and give support to the community.

1 2 3 4 5

About American Red Cross

The humanitarian mission of the American Red Cross connects us to people and communities across the nation and around the world. – Read more

American Red Cross Salaries

Officer
$66,667 per year
Business Development Officer
$2,500 per month

American Red Cross Photos

Red Cross volunteers unload supplies during the Texas wildfires.
CPR course on Capitol Hill.
Our services to the armed forces provide support to the military, veterans and their families.