Find companies:
American Red Cross
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,512 reviews

American Red Cross Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service generated company.
Environmental Services Supervisor (Former Employee), Detroit, MISeptember 12, 2014
Pros: human resource managers easy to talk to, department heads always willing to listen to ideas which would improve overall customer service, pot luck lunches, cookouts.
Cons: difficult terminating unproductive employees due to union and eeoc compromise, employee attendence, union rule restricting supervisors from doing employees upon an absence.
Excellent company to work for pertaining to services to the public and hospitals. Learned the meaning of external and internal customers. Enjoyed demostrating that a happy employee is a productive employee. The most friendly people I've ever worked for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very special place to work and know you are helping others
Collections Technician II (Current Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: helping others
Cons: hours
Set up and tear down of mobile units. The day could start anywhere from 5am to 1pm. Driving to many different areas in the River Valley Region of the American Red Cross. Meeting new people every day and knowing that I am making a difference. I have learned more about customer service and my ability to handle difficult situations.

The hardest part of – more... my job is the hours. Some nights not getting off work until 9 or 10 and having to be back at 5am. I am doing it, but prefer to have a set schedule to work with.

The most enjoyable part is meeting all the wonderful donors and being able to talk to them. People are very interesting to listen to and in some aspects I have learned some things from my donors that I may not have known. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Payment Card Coordinator (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: flexible with family/work life
Cons: growth within the company is minimal
Very flexible with family/work balancing. Compensation can be improved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a job of dedicated people who want to make a difference.
Receptionist (Current Employee), Bristol, VASeptember 10, 2014
Working at Red Cross is like no other job. The services that they provide to assist disaster victims is a blessing to those in need. The hardest part of the job is to see the look on their faces when everything that they own is destroyed. The most enjoyable is to see their dignity restored through the assistance that Red Cross provides. The dedication – more... and compassion of the volunteers, employees and management has made working at Red Cross a rewarding experience for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledge of patient safety for elegibility for blood donation
Mobile Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Oakland, CASeptember 10, 2014
to prepare for morning van transport to donor site destination preparation set up at site for donors,conduct health histories and perform mini-physical screening to determine eligibility for blood donation, health history factors are very important to qualify people for donation and to identify weather there health also helps them to qualify to be a – more... qualified blood donor,this is a life and death situation where you have to comply with standard operation procedures by Federal State and local regulations by Management,co-workers must work in a timely and professional manor with donors,hardest part there is no room for mistakes every detail has to be precise and accurate,at the end of the day to know that you saved someones live. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible and No Job Security
Volunteer Representative (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: nothing comes to mind...
Cons: pretty much everything
If you are a young professional, this is not the job for you. There is absolutely no room for career advancement or growth. The whole organization is being restructured and so many people have been let go in the past year, with more coming. The Baltimore Volunteer Services department is so poorly run and lacks educated management who know what they – more... are doing. There is no support within the whole organization and they are not bright enough to make changes. The organization is very outdated and archaic. Ladies, make sure you have panty hose because that is a rule in the handbook. There has been a lot of turn over with the 20's and 30's age group because this department is just ridiculous and old. If you like to take time off, good luck. They make it difficult for you and give you a hard time about it. Save yourself the hassle and frustration and look elsewhere. This organization has everyone duped! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Red Cross is a place of employment that an employee would be proud to include on their resume.
Services Coordinator (Former Employee), Washington, DC/HeadquartersSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: celebrate all holidays with employees present.
Cons: parking issues at the dc location.
Productive agency with opportunity for employment advancement and is staff supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different ways to make a difference
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), Gainesville, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: overcoming my fears and soaring professionaly
Cons: working with someone that i felt was dishonest
Typical days at the American Red Cross were never the same. One day I might teach a class and on another I might help a family after a fire.

I learned that my heart was in the right place and I was meant to do non-profit work.

The director that hired me taught me alot about volunteerism and helped me to overcome some of my fears. With her guidance – more... I sored as an individual.

The final director was one that I felt was dishonest and was worked toward promoting her own business that had nothing to do with the agency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Collection Tech/Supervisor (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: little to know supervison, great pay with wondrful benefits, co-workers were also amazing people as well
Cons: had to travel each day to a different city, with no knowledge of when i was getting off or arriving back home
Very demanding job but I loved every minute of it!...My day consisted of setting up a blood drive, once drive was set up, we then performed phlebotomies on clients willing to give blood for donation purposes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
TECHNICIAN II MANUFACTURING (Former Employee), Culver City, CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: some of the coworkers
Management sucked,they Didn't care about your life outside the company. When they called you they wanted you to answer and expected you to drop what you were doing and come in to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very exciting and fast pace
Receptionist (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: very informative
Cons: long hours
everyday is something different I enjoy learning about the military and meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting many different people.
Donor Mgmt (Former Employee), Douglasville, GASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: blood drives and games
Cons: hearing of hospitals that have blood shortages
AMR is a national recognized agency that saves lives. Talking with people on the phone and hearing different cases of how donating blood has saved their life or someone they know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working enviroment and fun co-workers
Phlebotomist/ Team Lead. My Job (Current Employee), Marshall, MNSeptember 3, 2014
My typical day at work starts off driving anywhere from 1 mile to 150 miles to work. I then set up equipment and start performing physical findings, phlebotomies and assuring the blood mobile runs smoothly and answering any questions that staff or donors may have.
My co-workers are awesome they are fun hardworking and outgoing . The hardest part of – more... my job is the traveling and staying in hotels and not being home every night. What I love about my job is helping people and saving lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), pomona, caSeptember 3, 2014
management sucks and no upward mobility. Co-workers are ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accounting intern
accoutning intern (Former Employee), fairfield, ctSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: became cpr, and first aid certified
Cons: had to travel for no pay
no two days were the same i learned about how a non profit organization handles accounting, and how to deal with disaster relief donations that came in.

Sent out thank you letters for donations that came in and scanned checks in.

Coworkers were very helpful and knowledgeable in their respective fields
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience of my Life
Team Supervisor/ Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Vancouver, WASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: continued education - teamwork - feeling as part of a family
Cons: you have to travel at times
Setting up and running a blood drive. You interact with all types of
people from various cultures. Customer service is always a top priority. Continued education and training in the multiple fields from performing blood pressure and pulse to drawing a unit of blood from a donor. Concern and care of everyone from staff to the last donor had my 110% focus – more... daily. My belief: if you take care of your staff they take care of you. Respect way always felt in my everyday work life. And the smile and thank you for all you do was humbling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
straight forward
Volunteer (Former Employee), Syracuse, New YorkSeptember 2, 2014
This was a low pressure volunteer opportunity for me. I was able to meet new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for!
PHLEBOTOMIST (Current Employee), Cape Girardeau, MOSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: work long and varied hours every day. no set schedule.
Our days can be very long, we travel to a different location daily. when we get to a site of the blood drive we unload the truck then set up. then we take donors through histories, and venipuncture, all while following FDA guidelines. I love the job because it's different people every day, co-workers and donors. it keeps things interesting. I help save – more... people everyday by doing my job, wich is an awesome feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Donor Representative II (Current Employee), Farmington, CTSeptember 1, 2014
I enjoyed working at the Red Cross. I had several job position in the past 22 years that I worked at the Red Cross. I'm a team player and enjoy challenges. One of the hardest things i did was dealing with patients with cancer and trying to find platelet products that matched there HLA antigiens. I had set goals every month that i exceeded at. I loved – more... the people i worked with and will miss them all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Cross
INFECTIONS DISEASE LABORATORY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 31, 2014
Working nights is difficult but knowing you are potentially saving lives is a good motivator.

1 2 3 4 5

About American Red Cross

The humanitarian mission of the American Red Cross connects us to people and communities across the nation and around the world. – Read more

American Red Cross Photos