Find companies:
American Residential Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

American Residential Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Money with learning technical skills
Sales Service Associate (Former Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLJuly 5, 2014
Pros: fast money, short days
Cons: writing leads on a slow day
A typical day for me at ARS, I would get to Home Depot and as the store got busy, I would talk to customers and assist them with questions and signing customer's up for AC services from tune ups and repairs to brand new installs. I learned how to talk to different kinds of people so I could sign up a variety of people. I would say the hardest part of – more... this job was trying to keep my quota every week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sale associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 15, 2014
Cons: it was all about the leads
A typical day at this job was going in early and waiting for the time to start. Signing in and getting to work approaching customer and helping them throughout the store. Schedule appointment when there was any and when there wasn't I would keep approaching more people Intel my day was done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 17, 2014
Technician took pride in maintaining customer's HVAC systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Customer Service Representative / Dispatcher (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 10, 2014
simple as long as you follow the rules. Great co workers and management. Hardest part the job would be in the summertime when everyones a/c stops working and call volume is heavy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment with a diverse client group.
Lead Generator (Former Employee), Corona, CAMarch 28, 2014
Cons: short breaks, on your feet all day
Majority of time spent approaching customers and informing them about the services and products offered.
Some difficulty in communication with foreign populations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Setup HVAC leads
HVAC Representative (Current Employee), Corona, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: the spifs
Cons: management at the stores
I learned there is a lot of patience needs in this job especially during the slow season. You get customers interested in tune ups, repairs, and free home estimates. The hardest part of the job is standing 8 hours a day. The manager is great and he is always trying to help us out as far as money is concerned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more time home with family
HVAC Technician (Former Employee), Laurel, MDFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: the employee are great to work with
Cons: company won't allow experience tech to help trainee's
Company is more interested in quantity instead of quality of work techs have very little support from management .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Olivette, MOJanuary 17, 2014
did not like job. didn't stay long moved to a job closer to home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved ripping out a homes plumbing and installing all new.
Re-Pipe Plumber, ARS (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 4, 2013
Pros: worked with some great guys. we were the team to beat.
Re-pipe plumbers job was to remove a home owners faulty plumbing tubing/pipes, (Quest) and install all new copper tubing in the home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bunch of guys to work with
SERVICE TECHNICIAN F/T (Former Employee), berry hill, tnOctober 2, 2013
Pros: well marketed company with unlimited resources in order to make the sale.
Cons: on board drive cams
My days were about 10hrs long even in the off season which is hard to come by, and I was only on call once a month. I would make hvac house calls to diagnose if the system needed to be upgraded, repaired, maintained ,or replaced as well as educating the customer on the latest products. Sales training was done very well and made me very successful on – more... commission checks. I very much enjoy the customer service aspect of the service tech position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place where I have learned a lot about the HVAC Industry
Sales of HVAC (Current Employee), Pittsburgh,PAJuly 22, 2013
The Sales side I have pre-set appointments to potential customers where I offer them equipment that fits their needs. I also am currently assisting a service tech and learning the technical side of the industry. I work close with the management on sales side going over jobs sold and gross margin of the jobs. At ARS we have a number of good employees – more... who work hard and know their jobs. The best thing about my job is that I am always learning something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Commercial HVAC mechanic (Former Employee), raleighJuly 21, 2013
in house certification on refrigeration licenses, take home work van and cell phone with gas card, great benefits, management are great people to work for. hours are good, tools provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at ARS is a 6-7 days a week commitment and some holidays.
Home Depot Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 21, 2013
Pros: reduced cost hvac services
Cons: working weekends and 6-7 days a week
A typical day at ARS could range from learning about the latest promotional offers to implement at all of the 13 Home Depots the South Florida division managed to conflict resolution between a very irate customer on a county inspection gone wrong and the installation coordinator.

What I gained from my experience with ARS is that I can work very well – more... under pressure and still carry a positive attitude. I can definitely multitask and easily prioritize.

Management at ARS is about average.

My co-workers were very much team players and fully dedicated to their work.

The hardest part of my job was being on call 7 days a week and being required to work weekends.

The most enjoyable part of my role with ARS was doing in-store presentations and meeting the diverse clientele at Home Depot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
General Sales Manager (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: everything
A great company and people to be associated with, I enjoyed each day of work. I look forward to change of the daily routine.The people at all levels are incredible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Customer Service and Dispatch Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 19, 2013
I have been there for 2 years, int hat time I have built professional relationships that will last a long time. Overall it is a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small office setting
Account Coordinator (Former Employee), Laurel, MDJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: flexible schedual
Cons: managment
A typical work day consist of mesetting accounts, scheduling appoints, dispatching technicians,answering inbound calls, logging techinccian hours. I learned to wear many hats m and still be very productive. The hardest part of the job would be the constat changing of procedures, however i enjoyed working with my technicians, and building a realationship – more... with our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical "sales" environment
Employee (Former Employee), Corona, CANovember 29, 2012
Pros: a check
Cons: everything else
This is not a career location for anyone with values. I would not recommend this place to anyone for a long term goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ARS
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Manassas, VANovember 7, 2012
A typical day at ARS would be to go in and track every tech that was working to make sure they were prompt about getting to their first call and doing first calls for the next day. I learned about new areas and how to route the techs accordingly. Management was okay about making right decisions. The hardest part about the day was making sure all of – more... the calls were taken care of by the end of the day and keeping customers happy. The most enjoyable part about the day was the people I worked with and the techs. Without them, it wouldn't be an ARS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Sales Support Associate (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 22, 2012
Pros: tailor making our schedules based on peak times in the store
Cons: no benefits
A typical day at American Residential Services starts with being in the Home Depot Retail location. My job is to share with retail customers the benefits of having American Residential Services provide them with HVAC services. Our management team keeps us Sales Associates motivated to talk to everyone so that we can generate leads for our technicians. – more... The most challenging is just gaining the confidence of a complete stranger to do business with us. The most enjoyable is when we do gain there confidence and they obtain our services coupled with good feedback. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, evolving work place with rewarding challenges
Sales Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 13, 2012
Pros: good management, teamwork, healthcare, rewarding
Cons: difficult technicians
A typical day in this industry can go by fast. This job requirs me to juggle multiple responsibilities while maintaining customer satisfaction and motivating the sales team. I've learned to prioritize my daily duties such as generating reports, planning and executing team training and meetings, providing optimal customer service as a manager to retain – more... and grow cliental, provide sales support for inside and outside sales team, as well as delegate tasks to additional departments.
I worked to earn and maintain respect and build on teamwork as this industry is primarly male.
I was able to succeed in various start up programs within the company that I assisted in managing or creating.
The most enjoyable and most rewarding part of my job is to coordinate and conduct sales training workshops for our divisions outside sales team.
My work is meaningful. On a daily basis I am engaged with others within the company and work together to help our customers solve their problems. – less

About American Residential Services

For those whose home maintenance skills don't rival Bob Vila's, there's American Residential Services (operating as ARS/Rescue – Read more