American Savings Bank Employee Reviews

Showing all 61 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot and advancement is there
Teller II (Former Employee) –  Kahului, HIJune 22, 2017
Always changing but learning new things is great. The benefits were great. You meet a lot of great people. Challenging but fun. Flexiable working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture is difficult
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMay 10, 2017
I loved the opprtunitie to learn about different department operations and the compliance aspect of my job as an auditor.

I gained many auditing skills from asb.
Pros
Opportinities for learning
Cons
Job culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the people
Senior Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mililani, HIApril 19, 2017
Technology Management is unstable. There is a reorg every two years and it's taxing on the employees. Management does not have the employee's best interest in mind when making decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with my team
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Waianae BranchMarch 8, 2017
Good Benefits and Pay,just that individual goals is too high.Branch Team employees are motivated and open minded.We work together as a team for result.
Pros
Incentives
Cons
Branch Individual goal is too high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIFebruary 20, 2017
This is the most enjoyable place I have ever had the pleasure of working for. You learn so much during training , and from management. The CEO stays in tune with his workers. Offers room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and Memorable
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIFebruary 10, 2017
American Savings Bank is an incredible place to work. The people I had as managers are still my friends till this day. They stood by me and passed down any knowledge they had. This company definitely wants to see you succeed and there is a lot of opportunity to move up!
Pros
Paid time off, birthday off, family like atmosphere
Cons
Long work hours when working in a 7 day branch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Leadership (Former Employee) –  HonoluluJanuary 13, 2017
Great Place to Work

Good culture to promote team work. But pay could be better. All parts of leadership should be more involved in the operations to show more understanding and knowledge.
Pros
Great benefits, and team bonding culture
Cons
Pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever!
Teller I (Former Employee) –  Wailuku, HINovember 29, 2016
I was a former employee there and I must say the company is very very great to their employees. I was fortunate to have worked for them. Training & co-workers are so helpful. They're always there for support & customer issues. Wish I stayed...Great place to work for.
Pros
Benefits, work atmosphere, great employees
Cons
Pay, rehire is strict
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun working place
Data Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HINovember 1, 2016
I really looked working at American Savings Bank which is the best place to work from past 7 years in Hawaii.

I worked as Data analyst intern here in American Savings Bank for 8 weeks and I really learnt a lot everyday in my work. My Manager is so awesome and that thought very well how the knowledge of statistics can be applied in a Banking sector.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work where you are part of a team
Business System Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mililani Town, HIOctober 27, 2016
People are easy to work with where the common goal is the success of the department and company. Always looking better improving the Technology and process to provide the customer experience painless to bank with us.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank teller
Teller (Former Employee) –  Lahaina, HIOctober 18, 2016
Doing multiple cash/non cash transaction for customers.
Learning multiple dealing with U.S and non US currency's.
there was always a lead/supervisor/manager to assist with complicated issues.
We all got a long with one another, there was no personality clashes.
As long as I was there, the raises wasn't as much and pay was very little.
It's definitely job security.
Seeing the same customers and getting to know them was most rewarding.
I like making new friends.
Pros
job security, new friends
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great firat job
Teller (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIAugust 25, 2016
This is just like a staffing company for native hawaiians. They helped place me into a seasonal job. They have very friendly works who are very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Human Resource Specialist (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJune 13, 2016
An all around great place to work at, friendly environment and hard workers. Co-workers are very friendly and festive. I was real shocked that a company had planned a lunch/birthday party for me (it was very thoughtful). The most enjoyable part of this job was that if you needed help nobody would turn you down or look down on you.
Pros
Friendly Environment
Cons
Personal Con: heavy traffic makes for longer commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Teller I/II (Former Employee) –  Kalihi, HIMay 18, 2016
I love working here! i love my co - workers. They make work like its nothing! I come to work looking forward to see everyone!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with excellent benefits
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMarch 16, 2016
*Typical day at work consist of morning team huddles, sales commitments, customer service ideas to improve and excel.

*I learned to manage a branch and coach my employees.

*Management within the company was always helpful when needed

*Co-workers was amazing as we all strived for success in our position

*Hardest part of my job was maintaining the high turnovers of my employees due to employees moving to another state or another career.

*I enjoyed coaching my employees and watching them grow within the company with promotions. I also enjoyed working with the customers and helping them in there financial situations.
Pros
Great Salary and Benefits
Cons
Long hours working for 7 day branch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard and get rewarded
Personal Banker/Teller Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Haleiwa, HIFebruary 8, 2016
A typical work day consist of assisting customers with their bank accounts. I learned so much about customer service and Bank regulations. As a teller Supervisor I learned how to communicate and delegate work. Working as a team is key in this type of organization, making the work place fun yet professional was very enjoyable. The hardest part of the job is the demographic for sales, its hit or miss when it comes to retail banking.
Pros
20 vacation days 1st day
Cons
pay does feel like much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Senior Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIFebruary 1, 2016
Enjoyed working at institution. Learned a lot about banking, finances, investments, and planning for the future as far as finances and investing is concerned.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family oriented company.
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJanuary 25, 2016
Loved working for this company. They truly incorporate the family feel to it. Always there to help if needed. Management was always around for assistance as well.
Pros
Instant Messaging between all branches.
Cons
pay was a little less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked working here
Senior Teller / Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kapolei, HINovember 7, 2015
I liked working here. It was a cool laid back atmosphere. There was little opportunity for advancement though. I had to look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Company
Branch Manager, Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HINovember 4, 2015
Inclusive culture, amazing team. They are a fantastic, smart, energetic group to work for. Plenty of perks, busy branches, great leadership for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Savings Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

100%
17 ratings
Add your rating