Find companies:
AMERICAN SECURITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

AMERICAN SECURITY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Security Guard (Former Employee), Greenville, SCSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: stress and drama free. worked great with my school schedule
Cons: medical benifits, no room for advancement and didn't pay enough
*A typical work day consisted of 8 hour, 5 days a week work days.
*What I've learned to be is attentive, follow directions and take very detailed notes.
*Management was very nice and understanding.
*My co-workers and I worked well together.
*The hardest part of my job...There wasn't really anything hard about the job.
*The most enjoyable part of my – more... job, it was stress free! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for entry level work
Security Guard (Current Employee), Forest Park, ILJuly 23, 2014
Good work for entry level. Working here helped me when I needed it .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Security Company
Security Guard (Former Employee), Greenville, SCJuly 17, 2014
Pros: good stable work environment
Cons: short breaks, depends of location
My day was spent at a hospital because that's where I was contracted to work. I watched patients sleep most nights. Management was ok. Co-workers were good. Staying awake a night was the worst part. Enjoyed the freedom when I was doing building checks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in all types of locations and times of day and night
Security Guard (Former Employee), Harlan KYJune 12, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
As they are no longer in business I do not have any comments to add.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security officer
Guard (Former Employee), forest parkMay 8, 2014
Prevention Management
• Maintain and compile record logs while also verifying access for trucks and visitors.
• Monitor video surveillance, walk, scan and guard sites to prevent or site possible theft activity. Compose reports and summaries of the day’s activities including any incidents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid management
Guard and Site Supervisor (Former Employee), chicago illinoiseApril 28, 2014
fair place to work for. management knew there fields and crew where hard working smart individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Okay If Your Stationary
Security Guard (Former Employee), Forest Park, ILApril 2, 2014
When working at American Security everyday is the same you make your rounds by patrolling the parking lots, all floors and exits. You sign visitors in upon receiving proper identification. When problems arise you have to be quick to responding by notifying the authorities, american security personnel and building management. Your Co-workers are often – more... friendly. The hardest part of the job is staying alert, because sometimes you sit for long periods of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting work enviornment
Shipping Department Manager (Former Employee), Lanham, MDMarch 30, 2014
The most enjoyable job I've ever had. Incredible first serious employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, peaceful job.
Security Guard (Current Employee), Madison, WIFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: working alone.
Cons: third shift, and a bit boring.
This is a new position, so I am still evaluating it. I do like working alone at my post.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Company
Security Guard (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: free uniforms
Cons: no lunch break
Learned how to operate security cameras and what exactly to look for when monitoring the premises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, low pay and poor benefits
Officer (Former Employee), Greenville, SCDecember 27, 2013
Pros: advancement opportunities
Cons: benefits and time off
Wonderful people to work with. The company needs to update its uniforms, rules, and regulations (1970's mentality). Benefits and time off is the worst, needs serious improvement. This organization offers great training opportunities and would be a great stepping stone for those interested in a law enforcement career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIGH RISK JOB
Armed Guard (Former Employee), Denver, CODecember 18, 2013
AVG PAY. GOOD COMPANY. SCHEDULE AND WORK HOUR SUCKED. TRAINING WAS ALRIGHT. CO-WORKERS WERE FRIENDLY AND STUCK-UP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with different people
Security Officer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 14, 2013
I meet different people and have became friends with some. I listen to the folks that lived in the retirement home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as a security officer always good
security officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
my typical day as s security working 3-11p was fine working with people from different countries management okay co-workers okay there was no hardest part of the people was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I met various Law Enforcement Officers.
Security Officer (Former Employee), N Charleston, SCOctober 16, 2013
Pros: interacting with others.
Cons: good health plan
A typical day at work was unpredictable. I learned that people are different and the same at the same time. Management was always in the office and never helped or supervised in many occassion. The co-workers was supportive and willing to help. The hardes part of the job was dealing with management. The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with – more... the different cultures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked alone
Security Guard (Former Employee), Pueblo, COOctober 3, 2013
Pros: alone time
Cons: jealous co-workers and bad management
drive to each car lot checked every car to make sure secure, answered calls for transporting individuals from hospital to rehab or detox. most enjoyable time was when you transport individuals out of city to rehab
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Armed Security Guard (Current Employee), Forest Park, ILSeptember 16, 2013
Overall a great company, the training is in-depth and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to advance in the security division.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Security Guard - Posted at Pilgrim's Pride Poultry (Current Employee), Gainesville, GASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: work all holidays
Well it dose not pay well, no overtime and no room to move up! It teaches how to deal with different personalities. work day is 8 hr very slow no breaks, my management is good he is fair, co-workers are not sine often. the hardest part is passing the time with nothing to do , well i listen to a lot of talk radio. i am not being used to my ablies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job fun people
As an employee (Former Employee), Asheville, NCSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: no job security
great place to work employees are fun job is not hard but is temporary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Security Officer (Former Employee), Shoe StoreAugust 23, 2013
Pros: loss prevention, good leadership.
Cons: sometimes clients had problems with payment.
Very good company. Great hours and good leadership. CCTV monitoring, parking lot surveillance, and you get a discount on shoes.

1 2 3