Find companies:
American Signature Furniture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

American Signature Furniture Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Associate, Smryna, GA (Former Employee), Driver/HelperAugust 5, 2014
Pros: the perks where great getting discounts on some of the furniture.
Cons: some long days and evenings not noing what time u where getting off.
Good people it was nice to see customer satisfaction at the end of the day. My co workers we worked as a team we new what we where doing got along very well. Management gave us as a department great support. The hardest part of the day was not noing what to expect. The best part of the day seeing a customer happy leaving their house. What I learned – more... was being team oriented can go a long way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for single person as a start-up
Customer Service Office Associate (Current Employee), Smyrna, GAAugust 3, 2014
The company really had several things going for them prior to the economy bubble. After the bubble, there was plenty of restructure faced by the company and not very much done to try and accommodate the daily lives of employees. Granted it's retail and known fact is holidays are not for family, your time belongs to the retail monster (reason job may – more... be good for a single start-up). As far as advancement opportunities, count it as a no, only if you are in the "in-crowd". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best working enviroment
Home Furnishings Consultant (Former Employee), Atlanta GAMay 6, 2014
Pros: meeting nice people
Cons: on your feet for 10-12 hrs, working with people who domn't care about about you
The day always started with a meeting to let us know what if any new furniture we had received.

Unfortunately a lot of the furniture was not in stock and we lost sales because of that. Management skills were lacking as they really didn't care about their employees only the bottom line.

Since this was a commission based job it was cut-throat on the – more... sales floor. Many times if you left your customer to check on something for them another sales person would try to "steal" your customer offering them things that they really couldn't deliver.

It was not a pleasant atmosphere to work in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Iselin, NJMarch 11, 2014
Pros: 4 day work week
Cons: low salary difficult commission structure
Fun place to work low salary. Very difficult Sales Reporting Systems.
Harsh Monthly review process four write-up and you can be terminated for not achieving your monthly goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Current Employee (Current Employee), Plymouth MeetingFebruary 25, 2014
The pace of work is contently changing depending on how many customers are in the store or calling. Most customers are nice, you get the few bad apples but mostly people are decent. My coworkers can be fun to work with at times. The hardest part of the job is having an angry customer that you can't help and have to get a manager for. The best part of – more... the job however is being able to laugh with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great program
Furniture technician (Former Employee), Smyrna, GaFebruary 10, 2014
Nice working environment in Hiram, Ga. This company was wonderful for the youth of America. Many of my work days were simple enough. I learned quite a few new skills, which was sometimes a hard task but mastering those skills was most gratifying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Office Manager (Current Employee), Lithonia, GeorgiaDecember 30, 2013
A typical day at work consists of high levels of communication with customers either in person or over the phone. I've learned throughout my committed years of working at American Signature Furniture that persistence and consistency is the way to make sure that all customers are taken care of alongside your employees. The hardest part of the job to – more... me is when business slows. I prefer a fast pace work environment where I can multitask and make the most of my work day, each and every day. The most enjoyable part of the job for me are the people. I love working with different groups of people whether it is the customers or the employees. I work with many different types of personalities, from outgoing salesmen to hardworking warehousemen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's selling furniture.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Langhorne,paOctober 21, 2013
Pros: it's quiet most days
Cons: struggling to sell furniture for an unrealistic goal. the delivery price is insane
Once you get done training just forget what they taught you because they switch vendors so often nothing you tell the customer makes sense anymore. They have unrealistic goals for the sales people and do not listen to any improvements or suggestions from their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small office staff, pay didn't match workload
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sunrise, FLOctober 7, 2013
Pros: weekly pay, good benefits
Cons: very heavy workload, small office staff, less than helpful management staff
A decent company, the workload was equal to that of management but the pay was equal to that of a part time employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't believe this place makes money!
Regional Visual, Asst. manager (Current Employee), TennesseeSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: coworkers, health plans, weekly pay
Cons: management
I've been with the company 7 years. My position was eliminated twice and I've had over 15 different managers! The farther the store from the home office the more discombobulated in its operations. The company is family owned, thus many people in the corporate office and in regional positions are family and friends. Many not qualified for the positions – more... they hold. Cronyism and nepotism are abound. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greeted furniture customer and showed them, the furniture they were searching for.
Home Furnishings Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJuly 15, 2013
Pros: excellent opportunity to work on my customer service skills, because you can encounter all personality types
Cons: on your feet alot.
Best part of the job was to greet and work with all kinds of personality types for my internal and external customers. This was an perfect opportunity to sharpen my customer service skills. Had to have a consistent daily working knowledge, of what furniture was in the showroom, to answer any questions and take customers promptly, to the furniture they – more... are interested in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Self Motivated
Customer Service/Office (Former Employee), Lithonia, GAJuly 9, 2013
Upon arrival at work, I would balance my cash drawer, log in to the AS 400 system and begin to greet and assist customers as needed.

I learned that although communication is vital, notes in the system also plays a crucial role when verbal communication is not present.

Working at American Signature Furniture provided a friendly environment and a fun – more... place to work.

The hardest part and the most enjoyable part once again were the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company before you
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Joliet IllinoisJune 10, 2013
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: no stability
They tend to put profit before your family life. long hours no recognition of a job well done no stability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tremendous growth and diversity
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Lithonia GaJune 5, 2013
Pros: increased business acumen, birds eye view of retail market trends, firm handle on risk management
Cons: work/ life balance.
Being at American Signature has given me a great deal of exposure to different aspects of Retail management as well people development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, visual design of high traffic showrooms
Regional Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee), Tri State AreaMay 1, 2013
I originally started out traveling to eight stores throughout the tri state area, but the company started getting busier so they split the region up so we could dedicate more of our time at specific stores, which leaves me traveling to three stores currently. The majority of the day I work independently, I do report to management throughout the day – more... to stay on top of current merchandise that needs to be put out on the showroom floor, or even small tasks they may have. Overall I have learned a lot about the furniture industry, as well as following corporate guidelines. With the guidelines I am still able to add my personal touch to the furniture displays and vignettes, although I wish I had more flexibility with the design and setup of the store. This job includes a lot of lifting from pictures to sofas, but as strenuous as it may be I actually really enjoy it, I like to stay busy and the physical labor aspect of the job gives me the opportunity to create the displays I feel look the most appealing and allows me to not have to depend on management and warehouse staff all of the time. This job has showed me all angles of a business, I concentrate more on the visual display of the stores, but I also can jump in and help closely with management, from ordering merchandise and knowing what to stay on top of so that each specific store meets the requirements made by corporate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Loss prevention Officer (Former Employee), Thomasville, GAApril 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no overtime
Meeting new people on a day to day basis. I learned to work more as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with a fast enviorment
Customer Service/Installer (Former Employee), Duluth, GAFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: i got to provide outstanding work skills.
Cons: there is nothing that i dislike about the work place.
As a warehouse employee with this company the daily work load began ealiy mornings, by unloading and loading delivery trucks.

Then shortly after all truck have been process begins the sortment of the product to varies areas of the warehouse. We pull and inspect the products, that are for the following day that is to be shipped and delivered. Once all – more... inspection are meet we sign off on tyhe work and dismiss for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Pool tables
Assembly line worker (Former Employee), Thomasville, GADecember 3, 2012
Pros: short breaks
Cons: healthcare, 401k
A typical day at work is when everyone come to work. I learned many different jobs types. The management there was very nice and understanding. My co-workers were nice to each other. The hardest part of the job for me was when I first started. Had to learn how to load and unload trucks. The most enjoyable part of the job was when we had cookouts for – more... the employee and they families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Truck Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 3, 2012
● Pack/load customer orders on truck daily.
● Ensure customer satisfaction providing highest quality of products.
● Ensure all purchases properly installed/working correctly.
● Provide outstanding customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secuirty
Security Officer (Former Employee), Thomasville, GAJune 28, 2012
Pros: availablity to work consistently
Cons: short breaks
Maintained the premesis for the safety of employees. Fast pasted enviroment to ensure the grounds were secured on all levels.

About American Signature Furniture

Schottenstein Stores is where the Schottenstein family stores its retail holdings. The investment firm owns interests Value City – Read more