Find companies:
AMERICAN SYSTEMS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

AMERICAN SYSTEMS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company
Data Communications Manager/Technician (Former Employee), Chantilly, VASeptember 4, 2014
Cons: everything
As an installer they box you in where you are at.

No matter how much you advance yourself they won't increase your pay.

Constantly place you on furlough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Case Inventory Latent Print Technician/Trainer (Former Employee), chantily VASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
Met alot of great people had alot of good times and bad times learned alot from SR's.Hire alot of great people so that people can have a chance to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced and Good working experience
Case Inventory Technician/Latent Print Technician (Former Employee), Chantilly, VAAugust 24, 2014
-As a supervisor (2013-2014) I was responsible for timesheet reviews for up to 12 people.
-Handled personnel issues for up to 30 people.
-Write yearly performance reviews.
-Learned how to effectively balance personnel issues with completing time sensitive tasks.
-Ensure proper procedures are followed when prepping casework for distribution.
-Research – more... on Evidence material databases pertaining to case issues.
-Create worflows to help with effeciency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced and Good working experience
Case Inventory Technician/Latent Print Technician (Former Employee), Chantilly, VAAugust 24, 2014
-As a supervisor (2013-2014) I was responsible for timesheet reviews for up to 12 people.
-Handled personnel issues for up to 30 people.
-Write yearly performance reviews.
-Learned how to effectively balance personnel issues with completing time sensitive tasks.
-Ensure proper procedures are followed when prepping casework for distribution.
-Research – more... on Evidence material databases pertaining to case issues.
-Create worflows to help with effeciency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SHORT TERM EMPLOYMENT WITH NO ADVANCEMENT
N/A (Former Employee), Chantilly, VAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: weekly paychecks and good work hours
Cons: short term work with no advancement
TERRIBLE WORK ENVIRONMENT
CO WORKERS ARE GARBAGE
PROGRAM MANAGERS AND FOREMEN
ARE A JOKE
NO TEAMWORK
I WAS TOLD THIS WAS GOING TO BE A
LONG TERM PROJECT THAT WAS A LIE
WORKED HARD EVERYDAY WITH NOTHING TO
SHOW FOR IT BUT UNEMPLOYMENT
OK COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS
GOOD WORK SCHEDULE AND HOURS BUT
BE READY TO WORK LIKE A SLAVE AND
BE OUT WORK FOR A LONG – more... PERIOD OF TIME
BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me a chance
Cable Systems Supervisor (Former Employee), Chantilly, VAJune 25, 2014
Pros: metting new people to network and find other work that pay more.
Cons: management would never pick up the phone.
Liked how they brought me into the market. they will not give you top dollar for yourself. They will help you to meek other in the market. Most of the co workers I came in contact with were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Systems OK place to work
Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee), VirginiaMay 26, 2014
It is an OK place to work. Typical contract type job. The people there are great. I will miss them when I leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone for a science job
Forensic Photographer (Current Employee), Chantilly, VAMay 17, 2014
Pros: they take on recent grads.
Cons: no possible promotions
Forensic photography this is a fast paced job in which you see new things everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Contracts (Current Employee), Chantilly, VAApril 29, 2014
Pros: people.
Cons: no growth.
Best part of this company are the people. Over the last eight years I've worked in three different departments and all my co-workers and bosses were amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company changed significantly with new management in 2005
Director for Special Projects (Former Employee), Washington DCApril 28, 2014
Pros: supported innovation
Cons: corporate culture shifted
Dynamic work environment focused on innovative solutions to Government issues became more focused on short term profits. Corporate management impacts every aspect of a company. The majority of co-workers were capable and hard working. It was very difficult but not insurmountable for a small to medium size company to compete against the bigger contractors – more... pursuing government services contracts. ASC supported aggressively pursuing contracts and innovative solutions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides a productive work area
Project Controller (Current Employee), Chesapeake, VAApril 27, 2014
Pros: esop company
Cons: no 401k match
A good company. A typical day at work is pretty hectic, it's a small company which competes with the Larger Government contract companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst contractors ever
latent print tech (Former Employee), Lorton, VAMarch 13, 2014
Cons: condescending work environment, poor pay
Management lies as to how secure the contract is...lies about compensation, poor salary for the DC area..starting around 30k.., backstabbing management, poor work environment, run run and stay away from American Systems..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment
Latent Print Technician (Current Employee), VirginiaMarch 5, 2014
Pros: personal music devices (ipods) allowed, work at your own pace
Cons: salary, unprofessional coworkers and supervisors
On a typical day, I work from the moment our squad's morning meeting adjourns until the moment I leave the building to go home. I only take one break and a lunch and don't mind at all. Though the work can get a bit monotonous, the personal satisfaction from our mission makes it worthwhile.

I've become more familiar with fingerprints and the methods – more... used to find latents for identification purposes. Management clearly expresses their expectations and is always willing to listen to any suggestions or constructive feedback from employees.

As a government contractor, I am a bit disappointed that many of my coworkers do not maintain a professional attitude within the workplace and some of our supervisors also maintain a similar lack of professionalism. I prefer to keep the work atmosphere pleasant yet professional and it seems that is not the case here.

The hardest part of this job is organizing the evidence, as I will sometimes receive single cases that can take upwards of two full days to inventory properly before moving on with processing.

The most enjoyable part of this job is twofold; I enjoy being able to listen to my own music in the workplace and I enjoy working under my own supervision. Our supervisors are there if I have questions, but my daily progress is not constantly monitored and that helps create a more relaxed environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time here
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dumfries, VAMarch 4, 2014
I mainly worked on the customer site and also at our home site. I loved the program I worked on as well as the people that we supported.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr Cyber Operations Planner
Senior Cyber Operations Planner (Former Employee), Columbia, MDFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: exciting mission
Cons: contracting volatility
Good company, great environment and exciting mission.

Downside is that contracting for a 3 letter gov't agency is volatile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Program Support Specialist (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: flexibility, benefits
Cons: pay
Smaller company, but very close knit. Everyone is spread out but the atmosphere is wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and long hours
Telecommunication Technician (Former Employee), Chantilly, VAJanuary 6, 2014
I was so much in great shape from all the lifting and moving cables.
I have co-workers who are fun to be around. I got to see my work put in a lot of government buildings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Latent Print/Case Inventory Technician (Current Employee), Lorton, VADecember 20, 2013
Very friendly , funny and a great learning experience, moved from Indianapolis to this job the company made me feel warm and welcome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average employer with limited potential and job satisfaction
Electronic Technician (Current Employee), Lorton, VANovember 26, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: oconus travel required
Not recommended
Poor benefits
Poor management
Remote job locations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Supervisory Installation Engineer (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAOctober 25, 2013
American Systems treats you like you are part of a family instead of a number or an employee.

1 2 3

About AMERICAN SYSTEMS

AMERICAN SYSTEMS is a government services contractor and one of the largest employed-owned companies in the U.S. AMERICAN SYSTEMS – Read more

AMERICAN SYSTEMS Photos