Find companies:
American University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
68 reviews

American University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm atmosphere of young, eager professionals
Graduate Student Representative (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 8, 2014
The Justice Programs Office offers a relaxed yet productive work environment with young professionals, many graduate students or recent graduates, where research and the pursuit of social justice through implementing and enhancing drug courts in the USA takes precedent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and Welcoming Organization
Student Involvement Publicity Chair (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 31, 2014
I coordinated public marketing for a student involvement enhancement organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Counseling Center Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 27, 2014
This has always been my favorite job. The staff was so pleasant and always happy.
I made appointments for students and parents.
Maintained the hours of each therapist on a computer program.
Answered telephone calls and filed away confidential student files.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 27, 2014
High paced work environment with extensive work load. Great opportunity to acquire new and/ or refresh previous work experience within the accounting field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place with respect between the fuclty team and organized management
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Cairo, GAOctober 20, 2014
Pros: huge library organised and repectful people and place
Cons: no healthcare low salary
TA Professional Development workshops in American University in Cairo (AUC) covering: TA Duties – Classroom management – Collaborative learning in science – Academic Integrity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with great people. Quite environment
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 7, 2014
Processing invoices. Paying consultants, and reimbursing employees.
Yearly 1099 processing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive all the time
cook (Former Employee), Bayamón, PRSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: free lunchs and finish my turn early
Cons: short breaks no medical plan
all days I responsible to make the food for customers breakfast and lunch good team of co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment where I was able to hone a lot of professional skills.
Program Assistant with DC Reads (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: work culture, support & professional relationships
All of my positions at American University has provided me with great insight. I have learned how to operate a variety of data management systems, how to coordinate and plan large-scale events, recruit over 500 students for events, and much more. My work environment was always one where I felt supported and motivated to do more. The hardest part of – more... the job was knowing when to leave for the day. I enjoyed the position as a whole, but the best part was being able to host a successful event that I had been working on for months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding School, Good Program
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, suppot staff
Cons: course called for an entire day on site each week
I taught a course in international business within American University's Graduate Gateway Program. I loved the atmosphere at American, enjoyed the international students who were enrolled in the course and very much liked the course design. I was allowed to choose my own textbooks and asked to arrange fieldtrips for the students to important Washington – more... institutions--The World Bank, the IMF, the State Department, the U. S. Congress, the Pentagon--whose activities affected international business. American's pay for the course was higher than being paid to adjuncts at other universities. I would return to American whenever they asked m to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Audiovisual Technician (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 25, 2014
Learned a lot at my two jobs at American University which involved television production and audiovisual services. The people there are very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Maintenance Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 1, 2014
Pros: lots of activities to participate in, learn a lot of skills, team environment
Cons: male dominated, discriminations against women (in ideas, position advancement, opinion/idea robbers)
Great place to work, great benefits, great learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy teaching and being there for my students .
language consultant and an OPI tester (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 4, 2014
Pros: my teaching team
Cons: advancements
Enjoy preparing for my classes. Get authentic material and introduce culture to my students.
Learned how to be a facilitator.
Attend and participate in meetings and have open communication with my management,
Have a great team to work with. We learn from each other and support one another and share material on daily basis.
Trying to cope with students – more... personal problems and guide them to student counselors to resolve their issues without getting personal.
When I see that my message went through and my students say Arabic means Professor Shaghaf to them They continue with me for years learning Arabic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute worse company to even apply
IT specialist (Former Employee), Washington D.C.April 23, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: very unfriendly staff
Don't waste your time applying here. They make you go through several steps of hiring, then choose an internal candidate over you. They have done this two times to me and god knows how many times they have done it with others. I was over qualified for the their listing and both time they emailed me telling that they picked an internal candidate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Health Fitness Supervisor (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 9, 2014
I fully enjoyed my time at American University as a Fitness Supervisor. It was a good atmosphere to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment with job security.
Police Officer (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: free uniforms and cleaning, 200% retirement contribution matching.
Cons: many different responsibilities outside of the scope of law enforcement.
The American University is a safe environment with friendly staff, faculty and students. The equipment and facilities are satisfactory. The culture at American University promotes education and growth. Dedication is rewarded with advancement and respect. It has a family feeling and my co-workers are self respecting professionals.
The job is conducted – more... like a regular police department, just on a smaller scale. Calls for service are dispatched via radio and consist of criminal investigations, medical assistance and general police assistance.
Management is very experienced with backgrounds in major law enforcement agencies.
The best part of the day are the friendships shared in the Department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Applications Credentials Evaluator (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: ability to work from home
Cons: would like to go into the office more often to connect with co-workers
A typical day at work consists of evaluating applications for prospective students. I have learned about important aspects on the enrollment process and my supervisor has shown a positive attitude while maintaining a professional demeanor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experience
Support Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 31, 2013
Pros: good experience
Since I worked in two departments, my duties at AU were different. Part of my responsibilities required my Help Desk knowledge, Administrative Support, and Front Desk reception. A typical day involved directing telecommunications, make reports, update filles, inventory of equipment, Network Tech support, remove virus from incomming student computers. – more... I learn a lot about computer software, operating systems, Microsoft Windows, and Lotus Notes 7.1. My co-workers were very good because it was my job to make sure time sheet were up to date and everyone would get paid on time. The most enjoyable part of the job allowed me to take college level course free. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an interview
Guest on Student (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 6, 2013
Students interviewed me for explanation of 30% recycled content in recyclable container.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment and learning opportunities
Director of Major Gifts (Former Employee), CairoNovember 17, 2013
Pros: children get a free college education, health coverage and retirement plans are great
Cons: does not provide a career path
I spent 17 years of my professional life at the American University in Cairo where I had exposure to unique learning experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work after graduation in May.
Interim Assistant to the Executive Director (Current Employee), Washington DCOctober 10, 2013
Since graduating in May I have worked in the Office of Student Conduct and Coflic Resolution and the Office of Student Activities and University Center. Interim positions have been a great option while I have been transitioning. My co-workers have been friendly and supportive and the University has a wealth of resources.

1 2 3 4