American Valet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work, but hard
Valet Attendant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 11, 2017
I worked American Valet's MAPC location. My boss was fantastic and my coworkers work great.

Downside: hot, sweaty work. Physically demanding, inconsistent pay (tipped wages).
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 23, 2017
worst company to work for the ceo does not care about his workers. there are no benifits in the company and there are no incentives and the pay is terrible.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Account Manager, Heritage Square Garage (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 28, 2016
Parking company, founded in 1980, specializing in valet, garage and lot parking, and private party parking. Has a great CEO, who is hands on and willing to work harder than everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good tips, not hard work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 5, 2016
Fun and easy work, great exercise. Horrible company to work for, they treat you as a number not an employee. You work for them they don't work for you, they don't care what you have to say or take it into account.
If you could work without having to deal with corporate or a bad manager it's not that bad of a job, but since it's not possible I'd look elsewhere.
Pros
Tips, exercise.
Cons
Managers, corporate, possibly no days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Valet/Doorman (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 4, 2016
I took this as a second job and it is one of my favorite. You'll get to park car worth more then some house and make great tips.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 6, 2016
Corporate staff writes positive reviews. The pay is low, tips are horrible since its a free v as let service, management is ridiculous, corporate has no idea what they're doing. You follow the rules and management does whatever not backing you. The hotel and security staff treat valets like trash and blame us for everything. The DM steve strofenruther is a sexist pig who talks bad behind everyone's back
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Valet (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 15, 2016
During the peak times of this company, it truly was a great family type work environment. The company provided a great opportunity to excel and take care of your family.
Pros
Great Atmosphere
Cons
Company sold out and moved out of state
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZNovember 2, 2015
fun workplace with supportive management. everyone is willing to step up and help out and they are good at making you comfortable in the work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day on the job
Valet (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 20, 2015
You get tipped out right after your shift, get paid to exercise, and you get to test drive many different cars. All of the coworkers you meet are good people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice hotels.
Valet/Bellman (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2015
Payed my bills but wasn't all that great, secret shoppers made it much harder to just do our job without repricusion from lack of perfection.
Pros
Nice cars to drive
Cons
No benefits to the basic workers only management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 15, 2015
I would drive cars and trucks to our lot for the company. I would also log the keys into the computer and place them in our stand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Productive
Valet/ Traffic director (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 28, 2014
a typical day consists of creating customers and ticketing cars, then parking cars. When customers request, pull up their car and help them load anything they need help with.
all of the managers i worked with were productive, fun and energetic.
the most enjoyable part of this job is driving REALLY awesome cars.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Valet (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 23, 2014
The job itself is wonderful and fun. There's usually so much going on it doesn't really feel like your actually working. However, the lack of management and accountability with company would make anyone steer clear of them.
Pros
Money, Networking, Nice Cars, Hours
Cons
Managment, Customers, Clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job would work if i didnt have to
Valet (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 31, 2014
As a contract worker the company's employees are not highly regarded for the company they are contracted to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working staff
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMarch 31, 2014
clock in
ticketing cars, parking and returning cars, hanging up set of keys pulling off sets of keys
handling money as far as tips and dividing them at the end of the night
putting cones and valet booth away
clock out
as far as management i felt as they were lazy had us always doing the work as they just sit there and watch
co-workers were fun good group of guys hard workers was easy to work with
hardest part of the job running for 8 hours straight and being slammed short staffed
the most enjoyable part of the job was the end of my shift getting my tips good feeling for all my hard work
Pros
meeting new people getting to work with a good staff of people and also making money
Cons
slow day at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
greeter customer service / shuttle driver (Former Employee) –  phoenix AZFebruary 10, 2014
its a contractor job, people seem to be nice and friendly you meet a lot people on the job
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 30, 2013
I only placed five stars because there is an error in this system's programming and it only allows me to place that many stars. To be quite honest, the daily life is great working with customers and being an image of the company on a daily basis. The only downside is that there are a few locations where the level of appreciation is more often than not shown in a manner of a "thank you" or a handshake. Unfortunately with a base pay below minimum wage, tips are essential to sustain a suitable lifestyle. Other than that, it is a very laid back, casual, and fun environment to work in and I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
x x x x x x
Executive Assistant to the President (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 23, 2013
everyone was wonderful to work with, was bored with my job i didnt have enough to do.
Pros
xxxxxx
Cons
xxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job
Private Party Valet (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 11, 2013
Great part-time job, very flexible, potential to make good money during the fall-winter season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good attitude and speed are important.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 2, 2013
Most of the jobs at American Valet involve parking cars, which requires a lot of running. My job was to transport Hospital Staff and Patients for Mayo Clinic. The environment was very professional, with emphasis on courteousness, cleanliness, safety, comfort, and punctuality. I made many friends.
Pros
Extra shifts available.
Cons
No Employee Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Valet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1