Find companies:
Americold
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
199 reviews

Americold Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with a diverse group of people.
Night Shift Supervisor of 16 (Former Employee), Darien, WIJune 30, 2014
Pros: working with people.
Cons: new management . 3 general managers in 1 year.
I arrive 1 hour from start of shift. Read my e-mails from management and customer requests. Evaluate the business and decide what areas to place workers for the 12 hour shift. I learned how to operate a large warehouse in the most efficient way. I worked well with other supervisors and the employees under my supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Environmen with Poor Management
LTO (Former Employee), Pendleton, INJune 27, 2014
I started out working first shift and was transferred to second shift to help jump start their production. We worked 12 hours a day and rarely had days off. The Work/Life Balance was terrible because I rarely saw my daughter or fiance. They were not very open with shift discussions. I asked to transfer to first shift and was denied because there was – more... no one who could do a better job than me on second shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work. I do feel things could have been better organized.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 25, 2014
The turn-over rate is high for this employer. The Facility could be ran with better organization. Fun place to work and morale was high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and awesome work place.
Leadman/Supervisor (Former Employee), Rochelle, ILJune 25, 2014
Pros: five weeks vacation after five years !
Cons: at the time it was the pay !
Setting up the schedules and assigning them to individuals. The environment and co-workers is a learning processed itself. Some of them turn out to life time friends . The hardest part of the job was not being notice and when I did a outstanding job. The learning experience and true friendship I have encounter !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
CSR (Former Employee), RussellvilleJune 23, 2014
Pros: got to sit down
Cons: hrs
i didnt like the work enviroment. managment was horrible! We got sent home early all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is a very low moral at this company; employees are not happy there.
Foreman/Warehouseman (Former Employee), Ontario, ORJune 22, 2014
Pros: busy environment and times goes by quickly, variety of duties which breaks it up so its not repetitive.
Cons: lots of negativity
I enjoyed the work at this place; however, the threats and treatment from upper management was hard to cope with. I suffered an injury while working at this company, they paid my medical bills but never compensated me otherwise. I suffered from PTSD after the injury and it went unnoticed until recently. The company offered little support to their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work ever
Forklift (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IowaJune 12, 2014
Pros: discrimination number 1
Cons: short breaks
I recently quit this company because of discrimination. this company discriminate against minority and in fact I was only minority to work for this company on all 3 shift. first of all you work in a really cold environment below -15 to 20 degrees. they don't want you to come out and warm up no matter how cold you are.they fire people all the time and – more... its not a secure place to work, every ones that works there have less one year with the company just because they get rid of people all time. before you even think about quitting your job to work for this company you better think TWICE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a paycheck
Lift Driver/ Supervisor (Current Employee), Clearfield UtahJune 2, 2014
This company is only interested in "disposable" labor. There is no consideration for life outside of work. No room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day at the warehouse
Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee), Industry, CAMay 31, 2014
Pros: pay was good
This was a great job. I started off at Americold as a temp and worked my way onto the company. A typical day was start off with a safety check on the forklift I was going to use then if everything checked off okay I would sign onto the RF system and start picking orders. Once I would pick it I would make sure case count was correct and item numbers – more... match I would comfirm it then label it with the order number then stage to completed pallet onto the floor. Later on the day I would Unload and load truck also verifying case count and item number then if all is good sign off on the paper work and send the driver on there way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work you can get the most overtime you can handle
Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 29, 2014
My day at Americold starts off with pre shift from there i get my lift truck and begain my job of picking my co workers were fun to be around they were all team players and the hardest part of my job was going up in the air and fixing dump pallets the most enjoyable part of americold is the co worker
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold place to work, literally.
General Warehouse Laborer (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNMay 19, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: warehouse temperature
Well this job is different from my past jobs being that this is my first warehouse job. I like the job because your postion is different each day but I would have to say that the temperature in the warehouse is the hardest part other than that its a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to work
Dock Clerk (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 19, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: poor work envirment
long hours,they do have union but not worth a dime, show a lot of favortism
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all day was enjoyable. Management was great and challenging
Senior Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee), Malvern, PAApril 29, 2014
All day was enjoyable management was great and challenging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Career, just a Job.
Lift Truck Operator (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 22, 2014
Pros: compensation & benefits
Cons: management & work-life balance
What's understood need not be explained... (See Pros/Cons)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice group of guy to work with
LTO operator (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNApril 22, 2014
Start of your day you have to pick on what your job is for the day. I enjoyed the work i am doing here. I pick product from diffent spots in the warehouse to get ready for shipping.You must wear warm gear to do the job ,beacuse its -10 below here. The guys here are easy to work with and helpful when you need it. The hardest part of this job is they – more... go by senority. I am low on the senority list . So you have to deal with the irregular hours and work days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is good and the workers are nice.
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Darien, WIApril 10, 2014
Pros: free lunch once in awhile.
Cons: 12hr shift 1-20 min break and 1 lunch.
Steady work with overtime. Supervisors are ok above that it is not so good. Huge turnover and they make you feel like they are trying to figure a way to get rid of you as soon as you are at full pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work load
SAP/ PSM Compliance Associate (Current Employee), Watsonville, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: able to work indepently
Cons: doesn't pay enough for job duties being asked to perform
Love the work I do, feel I am contributing to company PSM compliance goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold and long hours.
Inventory Control (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 9, 2014
Pros: a lot of overtime.
Cons: no life outside of work.
Americold demanded long hours on short notice. It is a basic warehouse job complete with picking, loading, and receiving. I did however enjoy the people I worked with. I meant a wide range of great people. The hardest part about working at Americold is all the required hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PAApril 7, 2014
Always busy, never run out of things to do. Management teaches you properly and lets you do your job and will correct you if your wrong
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Possibly the worst place i ever worked.
Order Selector (Former Employee), Modesto, CAApril 4, 2014
Pros: learning standup forklift, good benefits.
Cons: extreme cold temp., favoritism, management, faulty equipment (outdated)
I'm writing this review since I've been noticing that Americold is Constantly looking for Order Selectors and now I know why. I left that company over a year ago and was the best thing that happened to me. This place needs a complete OVERHAUL starting with the management and the rest of the upper-level guys....just recently learned that they fired the – more... Warehouse Manager and later their Human Resource Manager....big red flags. The other Minus about this place was the 'favoritism' that was very noticeable--If your not pulling your numbers, they will bring it up in the pre-shift meeting, and sometimes tend to make a joke about it in front of others(Had other workers wait around for the Big, Easy orders to come, so they can bust them out and keep their numbers abover average--'Coyote' move--it seems that when you're pulling 100% or above, they don't mention it--but then, when the Day you happen to do not-so-well, they are "Cracking the Whip" on you. While the benefits were pretty Descent, the Union seem to be of no Help. I now work for a local winery and the work environment is by far the best. Thank you, Americold. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Americold

In business to keep cool, AmeriCold Logistics is a leading provider of temperature-controlled warehousing, distribution, and logisticsĀ services. – Read more