Find companies:
Americorps VISTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
379 reviews

Americorps VISTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AmeriCorps VISTA
Program and Resource Coordinator (Current Employee), Hayward, CADecember 23, 2014
Pros: education award, opportunity to network
Cons: stipend
This is a year long program dedicated to assisting underserved communities. AmeriCorps VISTA offer the opportunity to serve with a variety of programs across the country. Each VISTA receives a bi-weekly stipend. The amount is dependent upon the location in which you serve. AmeriCorps also offers an education awards that could be used towards future – more... or past educational expenses . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Life Experience
21st Century Scholar Specialist (Current Employee), Terre Haute, INDecember 22, 2014
Pros: healthcare, community outreach, experience
Cons: long meetings in committees
This whole AmeriCorps/ScholarCorps service has greatly enhanced the way I value commitment and has not only revealed strengths, but recreated strengths, goals, and mindsets that I once had. I love being a member of AmeriCorps and I feel like I'm giving back to my neighborhood, country, and generation every time I help a 21st Century Scholar. A typical – more... day at work for me consist of meeting with 21st Century Scholars, planning events, emailing, phone calls, and, tracking and reporting scholar engagement. I've learned a great deal about financial aid, scholarships, state requirements, college admissions, and student success barriers. Management and Co-workers are wonderful. They're so helpful and amazing at their crafts that the comradery is inevitable. The hardest part of my job is when I have to tell a 21st Scholar that they have lost their scholarship. The most enjoyable part of the job is engaging with scholars and learning from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College and Career Coach
Case Manager/College and Career Coach/Recruiter (Former Employee), Hickman, KYDecember 18, 2014
Pros: working with the kids at the school, touring different colleges.
Cons: contract job
I worked at an ATC center and I basically helped the kids in High School apply for college, submit their FAFSA and get prepared for the ACT, PLAN AND EXPLORE test. I had fantastic co-workers that really helped me whenever I needed a hand. I really enjoyed working with the kids and being someone they could talk to whenever they needed me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Service Oriented
VOLUNTEER ADULT EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 12, 2014
AmeriCorps is dedicated in providing volunteer service to adults of any age who want to give back and do good in the neighborhood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Coordinator at Sewa International
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 9, 2014
Completed a ton of work for very little money. Definitely good experience for recent graduates. Learned a lot and I got to help a lot of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Opportunity to Grow and Learn
Volunteer & Resource Development Coordinator (Former Employee), Louisville, KYDecember 4, 2014
My time with AmeriCorps was very formative and educational. I learned how to work independently with little supervision, yet still deliver great results. Expanded my knowledge of marketing, web design, and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team, and fun
Senior Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 2, 2014
Pros: helping in the community
Cons: no job security
A great way to start a career or find out where you want to be in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Americorps was voluntary
Volunteer (Current Employee), Dayton, OHNovember 24, 2014
It was a very enjoyable experience, I would personally refer this opportunity to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Refugee Housing Coordinator (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MINovember 17, 2014
I love working for Bethany Christian Services in the Refugee Resettlement Program. Unfortunately my time here must end because I'm contracted to work here through AmeriCorps for only 1 year. Working with refugees has been incredible and rewarding. I've learned to be flexible and juggle many different projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience at site
VETCORPS PREVENTION COORDINATOR (VPC) (Current Employee), Saint Marys, GANovember 17, 2014
The job of a Vetcorp Coordinator is a awesome and rewarding job, when utilized in the correct manner. Well the site I'm at is not working for the veterans like they should. They are focusing on what they think the Vereran's need, instead on finding out what the need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great new experince
Service Member (Former Employee), Dayton, OHNovember 14, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, helping the community
Cons: low pay
Americoprs gave me a great opportunity to interact with people I would not have met in my suburb life. I learning about all the programs there in my area and then using them to help people. I worked my shift every day then spent everyweekend helping others in my Americorps group with events (walks, food drives, outreach and more). It was one of the – more... best jobs I had even though I got paid hardly anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Americorps fellow allowed me to continue working where I had started as a volunteer.
Fellow (Former Employee), Peoria, ILNovember 12, 2014
Volunteering is what lead me to Americorps. They allowed me to continue my work with inner city children while getting compensated for my summer job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience for those interested in nonprofit
Leader (Current Employee), Waynesville, MONovember 6, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my experience, however, it was emotionally challenging. I learned more here than I have with any other position and felt it prepared me for bigger things ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good position to start a career
VOULUNTEER COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Cleveland, MSNovember 6, 2014
As a volunteer with Americorps VISTA a typical day work involved recruiting volunteers from the community to place in volunteer service programs. While serving I learned how to create confidential documents and filing. It was only two of us serving together but we where able to accomplish the task. Management was helpful at all time and we all worked – more... well together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and develop professional skills
Garden Development (Current Employee), Billings, MTNovember 2, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, fun environment
Cons: low pay
Every work day varied with my AmeriCorps position, as it depended on the particular event/project I was working on. My time was split between working in an office, at the garden site, and out in the community. My office time was spent answering emails, creating management plans, writing policies and procedures, coordinating volunteers and more. When – more... at the garden I was leading volunteer work days, putting on events or developing garden structures. In the community I was networking, advertising, or collaborating with other community members.

Through this position I learned how to work in a professional setting. I am now well versed in partnership development, effective meeting methods, event planning and volunteer coordinating.

In addition to the things I learned, I also built on my management skills. At the garden there was 25 garden participants who I co-managed. Throughout the summer I developed various management plans including an orientation, email check in system, and check out system. I also learned a new management skill: conflict resolution.

I had an amazing team to work with on the community garden project including another AmeriCorps VISTA, my supervisor and other Parks and Recreation staff. I worked in a small office with two other people and got to know them well. Open communication was key throughout this project as there was a great deal that needed to be done and it was essential that we were aware of what everyone was working on.

The hardest part of working as an AmeriCorps VISTA is working with community members who know you are a temporary employee; from some people it was hard to gain their trust. However, helping these people understand how my project was benefitting the community was how I overcame this barrier.

There are many enjoyable aspects to my current position, the most enjoyable being working with so many people who have a desire for the community to grow and change in a positive way. I met a great deal of people who are working very hard to help Billings become a better place; it was inspiring to work with them and hear their ideas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience opportunity
Washington Conservation Corps (Former Employee), WashingtonOctober 30, 2014
Pros: paid trainings, networking, experience
Cons: can be rough at times but worth it
This job is varies with region, but overall Washington Conservation Corps is a great program. Corp members are offered paid trainings and works alongside "sponsoring" agencies such as Dep. of Natural Resources" and "Department of Transportation", among others. A day of work might include building trails, bridges, planting native plant species for restoration, – more... monitoring sediment along the coast, a wide variety of interesting work. This job is also great to connect with future employers in certain fields of interests. This job includes working closely with a crew all year, providing opportunities for friendship and bonding. I loved this job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving and knowledgeable environment assisting me in my first volunteer opportunity
Volunteer (Current Employee), CottonwoodOctober 21, 2014
I love Working as a volunteer at AmeriCorps. I do not work for Vista I work for NAU's Youth In Action. I am learning Leadership skills and assisting my community with their economical growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe environment for school aged children.
Program Aide (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 20, 2014
Pros: being able to teach someone less fortunate than i was things that the are not being taught at home
Cons: being taking away from student who i gained trust with
A typical for me would be arriving to work a little before 745 having breakfast. promptly at 745am at entrance of school to greet parents and students during breakfast duty. Around the time of 830 dismiss children from breakfast to correct teacher. from 9-11 i am in a in class setting with teacher assisting her with children during instructional time. – more... lunch duty from 12-1. 1-3 back in class prepping for my after school class. 3-6 after school homework help enrichment activities snack and supper. during this time i keep children safe and in a learning environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Literacy Tutor (Former Employee), Dayton, OHOctober 17, 2014
Pros: serving others in a meaningful way
Cons: it's temporary
AmeriCorp was awesome! Loved the opportunity to touch lives and help others. I was a literacy tutor and worked with ESOL and children who were challenged with their reading skills. I rated everything with one star because it was a temporary experience - the length of about 9 months, pay was called a 'stipend' and fell below minimum wage, my manager – more... did not maintain contact or support (if I had a question she would tell me to go online & look up the answer) but she did ask a lot of personal questions when we did meet - questions about my personal life that did not apply to the job. The major benefit was college money rewarded if & when one finished the term. I LOVE AmeriCorps! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
roca
Youth Star Member (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: meet people
Cons: being shunned
Worked with people helping solve various issues they might have. Included managing the food pantry as well as bread pantry. Worked maintenance in building fixing any issue that might arise.

1 2 3 4 5