AmeriGas Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Collections Agent (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLNovember 18, 2017
Great place to work
Lots of opportunity
Great benefits
Travel included
Skills enhancement
Flexibility
Education reimbursement
Management opportunities
Pros
Advancement
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a place
Data Processing Specialist/ Forecasting Analyst (Current Employee) –  Westlake, OHNovember 12, 2017
Worked at Amerigas for a while now management always changes. Them, plus the director need to take a class about treating there employees!!! Co workers are wonderful!!!
Pros
Paid time off and co workers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office staff treated like garbage
Crr (Current Employee) –  Clinton, NJNovember 5, 2017
If you are in the office instead of out in the field you are treated like you are incompetent, you are replaceable and any fault in any situation lies with you; never the customer, never the driver or tech. There is no room for advancement. The stress is unbelievable. The expectations from the high ups are so redixulous5 that numbers are constantly being manipulated to make goals and sometimes they just straight up lie. The culture that a driver makes all the money for the company and as office staff you do nothing is so hard to deal with. I have heard, "you never question a driver-if it's wrong figure it out" more than once. Seriously skip this place. I have been trying to get out for yrs but I have been unsuccessful.
Pros
Bonuses if you make quarter, learn to lie well
Cons
No advancment, split culture between office and drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable work environment
Sales & Retention Represenative (Former Employee) –  Westlake, OHNovember 2, 2017
Data Processing department is an easy job. You must be comfortable with no talking, no job advancement, and you do the same work duties everyday, but once hired in a secure, safe place to work.Routing department is the highest paying, and most work. Stressful, but doable. I would not recommend working in the Sales & Retention department. It is a new department under new management. Unless you are a friend of management it will not be a pleasant work environment.
Pros
14 PTO Days when hired in
Cons
Make Rules Up As They Go Along
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lockport, NYOctober 30, 2017
*overworked when busy, hours cut when not.
*benefits were extremely expensive. $500/mo for single healthcare
*dangerous equipment
*terrible managment
Pros
close to home
Cons
working most holidays, expensive benefits, dangerous work environment, underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely Unethical
Service Tech / Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  The place that looks like a wrecking yard.October 28, 2017
I started as a bobtail driver.
When hired, I was very excited because the district manager was focused on safety and well-being, I was the 9th person on staff and as such, would only have to be on-call 1 out every 5 weeks.
It was September of last year and within the first 2 months, 6 people (including the district manager) left.
Suddenly I am on call every other week - or more. Suffering greatly last winter while upper management did nothing, and we hemorrhaged customers.
The winters are grueling. You're constantly working in spite of DOT violations regarding hours worked.

Thus began my descent into Amerigas He!!.
The list of unethical things they do is staggering.

In the 13 months I've been here:
I've never received an employee review.
I've been discriminated against.
I've been lied to repeatedly from upper management.
I've actually had one of my managers steal from me.
I've witnessed countless indiscretions by my boss and his boss.

The company line is "Safety First" but this is only if it's convenient.
They will turn a blind eye to infractions whenever they can.
They cannot keep qualified people because they are constantly understaffed and have a huge employee retention problem.

I handed in my notice today.

Time to cut my losses.
Pros
Get to work autonomously. And you'll never be fired.
Cons
Too much work. And you'll never be fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Nightmare
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  USAOctober 24, 2017
Very top heavy, they are NOT the image they present, they intentionally hurt their customers in order to pay shareholders, very high school cliquey, nepotism is rampant, they do not enable their employees to be successful. They are owned by a global energy corporation that does not hold the interests of America in high regard.
Pros
Flexible Schedule, Good People in the Lower Ranks.
Cons
High Turnover, Nepotism, Low Pay, Poor Management, Fake Atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what it used to be-Bulk Driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 21, 2017
Work load use to be checked in with supervisor,got daily route 20-25 per day with expectancy of a few out of gas call until the company went to a different system called SAP and things went to heck in a hand basket. We lost a great Operations Supervisor who started at the bottom and worked his way up . New management don't understand the driver's concept of delivery and the company constantly lose driver's for being short and overworked..
Pros
plenty of overtime
Cons
overworked, short breaks, constant driver and management changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
issues within district need addressed
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  IowaOctober 11, 2017
small office and most days the air is very cold - hard to keep customers due to competitor pricing a large company should be able to give better deals not more expensive ones
Pros
close to home
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
district manager
District Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 11, 2017
the hardest part of the job is not back up support when needed, stressful work culture. To much gray area, to many demanding departments that all think each department is number one
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivering propane doing safety checking.
Delivery Driver and Rep (Former Employee) –  Angels Camp, CAOctober 11, 2017
planning the route for the day do safety check on the truck then fill the truck with propane. I would spend the day filling customer's tank fixing any safety concerns. this job was out side in all kind of weather.
Pros
there was good benefits
Cons
Management setting standers that could not be meat safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment
Bulk Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 10, 2017
For such a big company that stresses safety the training was very poor. Had people performing duties they were not qualified to do.
The drive cam adds to the already stressful job.
Pros
Pto
Cons
Drive cam, Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  McCall, IDOctober 9, 2017
The management was fun to work with side by side and the drivers were very kind and pleasant while dispatching orders. The environment was very clean and comfortable to work in.
Pros
Great pay and benifits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not like doing reviews
Customer Relations Representative (Former Employee) –  MIOctober 6, 2017
Talking to customers, answering questions, answer phones, take orders.
Customer Service
Collections
Driver Dispatch/Routing
SAP
small office with constant traffic. sometimes difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ustok
Service Technician/Bulk Driver, 11 (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 5, 2017
Company was fair. Nothing bad to say. It just didn't work out between Amerigas and myself. I wish everyone there a good life. Work was not bad as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced in the winter
Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ranson, WVOctober 4, 2017
Constantly busy. Always having continuous training in LP gas systems and industry safety. Equipment usually in real good condition. I enjoyed being out meeting customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work to fix
Bulk Driver (Former Employee) –  McFarland, WISeptember 27, 2017
Previous employees did not do things right or within code and had to be tagged to be fixed. Great place with overtime available. Communication could be worked on. If you have one incident you are fired. I was forced off the road by another vehicle and terminated.
Pros
Pay, Pto, Benefits
Cons
Skipped breaks, Long days, Too many stops on route.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery Driver
Professional Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  VariousSeptember 27, 2017
Hard work! Good place to work! Good benefits! get to meet people! Good opportunities for advancements! Get to learn a lot about petroleum liquid! Good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work . Well compensated. Job security.
Propane service tech (Former Employee) –  Ferndale, WASeptember 26, 2017
Retired 30 years in industry . Great job to raise a family. Not to good for advancement when you get older. It will wear out your body. And amerigas has the best lawyers. So forget soft tissue injury claims.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
A lot of soft tissue injurys and feeling it when you get older.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like a family
Router (Current Employee) –  Westlake, OHSeptember 26, 2017
It's a good place to work and everyone is like family. I've worked here for over 12 years and wish it was closer to where I currently live. Management is very supportive and wants to hire from within
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AmeriGas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 479 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0