Find companies:
Ameriprise Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
228 reviews

Ameriprise Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, Productive Atmosphere
Client Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 17, 2014
A typical day at work for me was answering the phones, directing clients to advisors and filing client files.
I learned how to interact with clients/customers on a more personal and face to face basis and the ins and out of caring for an office.
My co workers were quiet, when there.
The job was enjoyable being in a laid back environment, clients were – more... usually interesting to interact with and the lunch meetings were great! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be Careful
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Green Bay WisconsinSeptember 16, 2014
Cons: call center....horrible managment
Constant pressure meeting metrics.....call center setting so always busy...be prepared to take 50 calls a day unless your on mandatory overtime which is basically the entire summer....then expect more....hours are horrible...they change every 6 months and you could be working anywhere from 6 am until 12 am.....so if you have kids or a family...good – more... luck planning around that....managment doesnt care about anything but themselves...they act like they care about you and your issue but at the end of the day your just a number and if your not producing then they will find someone else – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging place to work
Manager (Current Employee), Minneapolis MNSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: gym and health services on site for employees, full breakfast and lunch cafeteria, cultural groups
Cons: parking downtown
I enjoy training and developing a pool of talented people to succeed in their current role as well as prepare them for future roles based on their strengths, skills, and interests.
I have identified and worked on various projects to improve process efficiencies, save costs, policy and procedure documentation reducing compliance risks.
In this role I – more... work closely guiding,supporting, and building strong relationships with vendors in the Phillipines and India resulting in improved business results in timeliness and quality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and great benefits
Claims Trainer (Current Employee), Green Bay, WISeptember 3, 2014
Supportive environment, advancement opportunities, and great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
IT Manager (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 25, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: technology pay rate
not so bad to work there if you have good leader in your deprtment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big corporate culture, but good people
Manager - Corporate office (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 23, 2014
Pros: generous vacation time
Cons: corporate culture
Ameriprise is a big bureaucracy, and has all of the problems inherent in corporate America - too many layers of management, excessive corporate-speak, etc. The people themselves are generally great, though. The benefits, especially paid time off are good, and it's hard to really complain about a job that is secure, comfortable, and pays the bills. The – more... place is cubicle-city, though, and the people who do well and advance are the ones who can drink the Kool-Aid, speak the corporate language, and play the game of pretending to care about things that don't actually matter much in the larger world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Risk Manager
Risk Manager (Current Employee), MinneapolisAugust 19, 2014
As a Risk Manager within Operational Risk Management I am responsible for preforming proactive reviews of projects to ensure that anything that could negatively impact clients has been considered and that there is a process in place to reduce or eliminate that impact. In addition I perform incident management for situations that have negatively impacted – more... our customers. Within incident management I manage the process to ensure corrections to client accounts and systems are completed in a timely manner, communicate effectively to clients and senior leadership, and complete all necessary reporting documentation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always had fun at work
Scrum Master (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 14, 2014
It has a great work environment and I had excellent team members, always had fun at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
less productive and easy going
Technical Lead (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 10, 2014
Easy going place, Compensation on lower side and no benefits at all. There is job security for sure. No interaction with Mgmt. JOb culture is easy going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine if you don't mind bending over backwards for advisors and management
Registered Support Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free lunches now and again, good way to learn multitude of advisor businesses, cut-ins can be profitable
Cons: too busy to ever take breaks, sometimes overtime that is essentially "unpaid" since you need preapproval first, management doesn't listen (surprise)
If you get in good with an advisor or two, you're usually fine. Most advisors however are the most needy, demanding, unappreciative individuals who won't hesitate to work you like a dog. The "voluntary cut-in program" allows advisors to bonus you, however it's just a way to take the responsibility of paying or bonusing staff off the company itself, – more... as the cut-in comes from advisors paychecks if they even elect to cut you in. You can make a decent bonus though and not feel like an endentured servant trying to learn the industry, if you're lucky enough to work with a good advisor. However, that's up to management who only looks at the production levels of the advisor to determine how many you'll support. Since that's NO indication of how busy you'll be, you can get overwhelmed and for no bonuses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Columbia management (Current Employee), Providence, RIJuly 20, 2014
Great place to work , advancement opportunities. Excellent management with open dialogue and feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Brokerage Trades Specialist (Current Employee), Las VegasJune 28, 2014
Excellent place to work. Focused on employee empowerement and development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 19, 2014
I worked there 20 years ago. I enjoyed career advancement and salary increases yearly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A diversified workplace
Brokerage Specialist II (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 17, 2014
A diversified workplace with many different areas to learn in the financial industry (brokerage, mutual funds, life insurance, annuities).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Services
Registered Principal and Operations Director (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAJune 6, 2014
Worked for multiple financial advisers in Iowa. Wrote comprehensive financial plans and provided compliance and risk management services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy position
Registered Support Assistant (Former Employee), Roseville, CAJune 3, 2014
Learned how to multitask such as cashiering, answering telephones for 14 financial advisers as well as work with five financial advisers with $1,000,000 in production.

The branch manager was very supportive of all my efforts. The co-workers were very helpful and fun to work with on a daily basis.

The most difficult part of working at Ameriprise was – more... trying to study for the Series 66 while working 10+ hour daily and taking care of my family life.

Meeting and speaking with clients was the best part of my job as I was able to help them by serving their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfortunate Manager
Office Administrator and Client Support (Former Employee), Novi, MichiganMay 23, 2014
Pros: interactions with clients and co-workers
Cons: management and 60-70 hours per week
I was extremely professional and had great interaction with all my co-workers and clients. I learned a lot about financial planning and complete management of the office. That was definitely the highlight of my position. However, the offices of Ameriprise Advisors are all franchises and the Manager/Owner of the financial firm I worked for was tyranical, – more... abusive, made numerous jokes of a very unprofessional nature and finally I decided it was time to walk away and start my family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), De Pere, WIMay 22, 2014
Pros: management very easy to talk to, mentorships, advancement opportunities
Cons: advancement opportunities in only a few business departments, no internships
I really enjoy working for Ameriprise. I feel that the company really does want their employees to do well and promotes from within. There are tons of diversity groups to gain knowledge and further your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Comprehensive Financial Planning Firm
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 17, 2014
Pros: resource, training and support
Cons: sales, but you know this before you start..just have to work hard.
Excellent place to have a long lasting career as a Financial Advisor. What you put in is what you get out. Great training, resources and support team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Ameriprise Adviser Center is a place for monotonous work with no room for personal growth.
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 16, 2014
The Ameriprise Adviser Center in Las Vegas, NV has changed from a place for young talent interested in the financial industry to gain experience, learn, and grow to a monotonous gear box designed to churn "clients" for their money.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ameriprise Financial

It's no surprise that Ameriprise Financial is a leading provider of financial advice. The company offers financial planning, products, – Read more