Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Supervisor of retail bakery (Current Employee) –  St. Charles, MOJune 12, 2017
know compliance only need to give better raise a very good environment we do fun things you always tranfer to diffrent departments i will refer pepole to work for this company
Cons
good breaks and health ins.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no good at all
Cook (Current Employee) –  Blackhawk Gulch, COJune 9, 2017
sucks but they have a ping pong table it however is very sad place to work. there is no management and the ones to claim to be are not ever there, simply awfully
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOApril 18, 2017
terrible company poor management bosses say they will do something then don't even after asking them repeatedly the boss is known to flirt with the females at work and nothing has been done about it even after being reported several times very unprofessional work place well at least in the life of a sanitation worker for the casino
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Dealer (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOMarch 25, 2017
Good job for not having to have any experience or degree of any sort. Pays the best of non degree and advancement placement companies. I would recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart quick cool nice funny
Respectful (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOMarch 7, 2017
I have had a lot of job and I like to work I am a hard worker I have a car I buy stuff I take care of friend and family I have money I'm respectful person
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic place to work
Cook 1 and Cashier (Current Employee) –  St. Charles, MOJanuary 20, 2017
Nice place to work. Real easy to get comfortable there. Been working here for 3 years and I've been treated fairly good. Benefits are wonderful as well as the pto for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment and team
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOJanuary 2, 2017
Team and guests make the environment enjoyable and interesting. Everyday was a new learning experience because of the different backgrounds of team members and guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very supportive culture
Director of Security (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOSeptember 30, 2016
No Comment - Unfortunately I can not release any further feedback. I apologize for not being more detailed. But the information will be held against existing leaders
Pros
Hourly and Front Line Managers
Cons
Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dealer (Former Employee) –  St. Charles, MOJuly 12, 2016
Followed protocols to ensure that the casino was in compliance with all federal, state gaming laws, and corporate policies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
LEAD SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOApril 26, 2016
I loved working there and the job was very exciting. Great benefits. I learned a lot about the industry and the hours were good..
Pros
hours
Cons
smoke
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn new things
Buffet Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 24, 2015
-I learned new things like how to work with different foods.
- not all but some of the management was unorganized
-my co-workers were helpful, they always had a positive attitude, and fun to be around.
-dealing with poor management
-Most enjoyable part was interacting with guest and employees
Pros
Good income
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work.
Housekeeping Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Black Hawk, COOctober 14, 2015
Ameristar Casino it's was very good to me. they give me the opportunity to learn and work for them. they co-workers are very good
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience in the gambling industry
Host / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Black Hawk, COJanuary 15, 2015
Open and close transactions at register. seat guest at table, buss tables and help servers with their tables, Learned that you cant always please every singel human.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and busy entertainment industry
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  Black Hawk, COOctober 21, 2014
• Support property Chef’s by conducting competitive bids for Food & Beverage buying for 5 restaurants and 3 bars as well as purchasing repair & maintenance parts and equipment all kitchens.
• Support Casino Operations by managing and maintaining gaming purchases for Slot Machines, Table Games, and repair & maintenance parts for slot machines.
• Support property Directors by conducting all operational buying for Casino Resort & Spa.
• Collaboration with General Manager by establishing product levels during the hotel opening which included FF&E and OS&E purchases.
• Collaboration with Accounts Payable by assisting with reconciling invoices.
• Directly Responsible for inventory buying for over 1000 items stocked in an off-site warehouse facility including food-buy off pars set in system based on weekly usages.
• Established Training by developing Stratton Warren Training Guide and held training classes for all internal guests.
• Team Leader of the Quarter for Q4 2008
Pros
Teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For fun Poker room Gambling
Poker Room Cashier (Former Employee) –  Blackhawk, COOctober 8, 2014
Prides themselves in guest services. Fast paced requirements, multi-tasking with a smile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Rooms Controller (Former Employee) –  Black Hawk, COMarch 13, 2014
The casino industry is where the money is. Work hard and move up. Job security is based on how much you work. Work for what you want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conflicted Workplace
f and b management (Former Employee) –  Black Hawk, COMarch 2, 2013
Company has set values that they give great lip service to, but fail to live up to. However, they will not hesitate to use these as a cross to crucify staff.

Management is the total ELITE on property. Ask them, they really do walk on water!! lol At least they think so!!

The most enjoyable part of the job: the guests!!

Worst part: Management
Pros
if you like dealing with people, great place.
Cons
if you like being treated like a person, look somewhere else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start out
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOJuly 5, 2012
Promotes from within if you are in the right network. Hosts several team member events througout the year to show appreciation.
Pros
numerous assistance funds
Cons
cannot gamble or drink while working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management.
Human Resources Representative (Former Employee) –  Black Hawk, COMarch 19, 2012
I would never work here again. Most of the directors seemed nice but the supervisors were highly critical and quick to judge.
Cons
always something wrong, high turn over, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Reviews by Location