Find companies:
Ameristar Casinos, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
149 reviews

Ameristar Casinos, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast pass environment
Inspector General (Former Employee), Hazelwood, MOJuly 10, 2014
getting employees in a good mode so that way they could start the day on a positive mode instead of a negative one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already reviewed
Security Officer (Current Employee), Saint Charles, MOJuly 6, 2014
Pros: already completed
Cons: already completed
Already completed. Handled all aspects of security, including inside and outside patrol, investigated crimes and wrote reports. Guest service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but too much smoke
Security Officer (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 2, 2014
It was a fun job to meet a lot of different people but besides that it wasn't special. There was too much smoke and it got really boring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Officer (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 1, 2014
Pros: lunch was always good, plenty of breaks i also really appreciated my halthcare insurance
Cons: if you accidently let a minor on the casino floor the casino gets fined and you lose your job.
Enjoyed working at Ameristar; meeting new people and having random conversations. Getting to the customers that came to the casino day-to-day. Secondly, my co-workers were very fun happy energetic people.Although, it could be a little stressful. There were plenty of underage individuals who always tried to get on the Casino floor with false ID; It may – more... sound easy but it was the hardest part of the job. Lastly, I think the best part was meeting new people everyday. I enjoyed making people smile. Sometimes I would see a visitor at the Casino who seemed down or upset, I made it my job to put a smile on their face before leaving my area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Day AsTechnician
Slot Technician II (Current Employee), Vicksburg, MSJune 25, 2014
Pros: working with my team
Cons: short hours
A typical day at work for me is maintaning two levels of slot machines, replacing bad bulbs and cleaning.I learned being a lead slot technician comes with a important task beside doing all repairs by yourself, being able to communicate and share my knowledge with my team. To me we have the best working staff in the world due to we do game moves every – more... week and to be able to complete it befor Friday.There isn't anything that difficult about my job.The most enjoyable thing about being a technician is troubleshooting and learning something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed different parts of the job
Cook 1 (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 24, 2014
Pros: my money
Cons: no team work
Working at Ameristar was good and bad i learned that with in this job there was no team work. A typical day at this was fun but also very different from any other job i have every had before. The mangers where some help at times but very little and cared nothing about there employees. The hardest part about this jobs was trying to get everybody to do – more... there jobs. The most enjoyable thing about this job was my employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holidays nights and weekends
Marketing Rep (Current Employee), St.CharlesJune 23, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: schedule, compensation
Working life away for no reward and management does not seem to care for family time for its employees. Low impact job that can be done easily if you motivated and willing to educate yourself on whats happenong in your department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company; Poor Management
Executive Casino Host / Player Development (Former Employee), East Chicago, INJune 13, 2014
This was a good company to work for but management never looked at the big picture and were too close minded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee), East Chicago, INJune 2, 2014
Nice friendly environment and when everybody is n the same page its a great and easy time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, pretty decent job.
Hostess/Cashier for Heritage Buffet (Former Employee), East Chicago, INMay 31, 2014
Pros: free food. consistant breaks. cared about you as an employee.
Cons: short shifts. minimal hours.
I don't have much to complain about other than treatment by a very few specific people. Coworkers were great, very rarely had problems let alone anything that affected work. The company is great if you can manage to get in the right spot, otherwise, like with my position, it was just good but still no complaints. Very few places can say they take care – more... of their employees like these guys. I really wish that there had been more hours available for my position and that I had been able to stay on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme fun
Bartender, Bar Back (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMay 28, 2014
I was sad the day I got fired from Ameristar. Truly the best place I have worked in current work history. Our management strove for a family atmosphere and they achieved that. The open door policy was awesome and really no one judged anyone. A very helpful place especially when it came to helping with family needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino/entertainment
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee), St Charles MOMay 18, 2014
Casino environment, fast paced entertainment industry. Long hours unusual schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Cashier (Current Employee), Saint Charles, MOMay 17, 2014
the co-workers that you see are good people, since we work in a small environment you get to know them and their life. management is OK overall, we don't really see much of them unless we have an issue with a guest. the hardest part of the job is making sure you keep your paperwork in order and follow the Missouri Gaming Commission rules and standards. – more... Enjoyable part of the job making friends with the co-workers and the guest are fun people to be around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assist Casino guests
Slot Service Specialist (Former Employee), East Chicago, INMay 17, 2014
I performed minor slot machine repairs. Assisted guest with slot machine combinations and pay scales. Give change and pay out jackpots. There wasn't really nothing bad or hard about that job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very interesting place to work nothing was the same every day was a challenging and awarding.
MS Nighttime Houseman (Former Employee), Vicksburg MsMay 4, 2014
I thank that the job would have been better if it guiding line would have held it employee to be accountable for their action
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Poker Dealer (Former Employee), East Chicago, INApril 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch, employees had their own chef
Cons: poker room closed
I had a great experience working at Ameristar. The management team do all they could to help their employees and everyone worked as a team which made your job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
cook III (Current Employee), East Chicago, INApril 6, 2014
the people are great its a fast work environment
friendly atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational place to work
Certified Forklift Operator (Former Employee), St. Charles, MOApril 1, 2014
Data entry, unloading trucks, putting merchandise away. Traveled with the company to other sister companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino, slots, motel, dinning
Count Room Specialist, Deul Lead position (Current Employee), Council Bluffs, IAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: holiday pay, over-time, lunch is cheap, paid lunches.
Cons: short breaks at times, hours are bad, pay isn't the best.
Work at 4:30am till done, Everyone is friendly, guest, co-workers. Drop Team- Very hard on hands and fingers, pull full boxes from slot machines and replace them with empty boxes. Not an easy job. Then boxes loaded in locked cart taken to count room. open boxes, run money through a machine that counts it and separates it. Lead position- in charge of – more... count room with 9 people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Slot Attendant (Former Employee), Council Bluffs, IAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches/dinners
Cons: hours
Great team member working together. Great supervisors that work for the company.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ameristar Casinos, Inc.

When you wish upon Ameristar, you can hit the jackpot on land or on boat. Ameristar Casinos owns six casino hotels and two casinos. – Read more

Ameristar Casinos, Inc. Photos