Find companies:
Ameristar Casinos, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
165 reviews

Ameristar Casinos, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Housekeeping- Service rooms, Guest attendant (Former Employee), Saint Charles, MODecember 9, 2014
I Enjoyed Working At The Ameristar, I Like To Clean So That Really Helped Me A Lot With That. It Was A Fun Yet Stable Workplace. A Typical Day For Me Was Steady And Easy. I Learned Different Techniques To Clean, My Coworkers Were Really Fun To Work With, And Easy To Get Along With. The Hardest Part Of My Job Was Cleaning Other People Sections, And The – more... Most Enjoyable Part Was Seeing That Wonderful Smile On The Guest Face When They Walked Into A Nice Clean Room. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Guest Service Agent / Coaching Partner (Current Employee), Saint Charles, MONovember 28, 2014
Ameristar is a fun place to work at. Everyone is extremely nice. It is easy to move up in the company or transfer to a different position. The management is caring and fair. Overall, a great place to work at. It can be stressful dealing with difficult guest but we learn how to handle difficult situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If I had stayed I for sure would be upper management by now.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches, you know all the secret areas of the casino
Cons: stading at one post for long hours, the late night shifts.
I worked the graveyard shift so I really didnt have a life cause i was sleeping in the daytime, mo co workers were all nice and funny, the management was always nice to me. The hardest part of the job were the long, late hours on my feet. Also, when having to take money to the underground bank it was a really tedious process. The most enjoyeable probably – more... would be that they tried to do alot of things for the employees like dinner was always free and they had a real nice break lounge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Diamond in the Ruff
Barista (Former Employee), Black Hawk, ColoradoNovember 1, 2014
Pros: guests, paid lunches, great benifits package, knowledgeable staff
Cons: location
I have worked several jobs in my life... and I had always wanted to work and experience Starbucks.
At Ameristar I was able to do just that while working in a quick paced casino atmosphere as well!
I learned that life isn't always planned and that the world throws hurdles in your way to see if you could survive. Working for both Starbucks and Ameristar – more... I was provided with a typical work day of the fast paced environment and the joys of regular guests with specific orders! I got the best of both worlds!
My management team was fast and always came when I called for back up or assistance with a guest.
The hardest part of my job was that I wasn't always able to drink enough coffee!
The most enjoyable part of my job was the guests. I was able to provide them with a genuine and knowledgeable experience every time they walked through my line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ameristar
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee), Saint Charles, MOOctober 22, 2014
Great company to work for. I wish I had never left. Great pay and a fun job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Security/EMT Officer (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOOctober 20, 2014
It was an okay place to work until they started getting rid of management. Then it was uncertain what to do and when to do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Server (Current Employee), Saint Charles, MOOctober 20, 2014
Pros: fun environment
Cons: work off tips/hours vary
This company loves to make their employees feel special and important. They make us believe without us there would be no them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, opportunities for advancement
Casino Operations Manager (Former Employee), Vicksburg, MSSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: job stability, team environment
Cons: tobacco exposure
Too much fraternization...basically among upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very first job.
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee), Vicksburg, MSSeptember 3, 2014
I worked there when I was 15, it was my first real job. I loved it! Great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino Fun
Dual Rate Cashier and Main Banker/ Trained Dealer (Former Employee), Vicksburg, MSAugust 4, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: customer's losing their money
As a Casino Dealer you do have many challenge's with player's when they are losing money and getting very hostile because they are losing and blaming the dealer because you deal the cards. I learned how to deal and absolutely loved it. Got along great with my co-worker's. Hardest part of coarse is the customers losing their money. The best part of the – more... job would be the customers as well because you cheer them on when they are winning and having a blast. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright place to work
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 27, 2014
Pros: good pay!
Cons: very smokey
Was ok, just lots of smoke, the management were not all that friendly. I enjoyed our guest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
melange cafe
Assist customers (Former Employee), Saint Charles, MOJuly 25, 2014
great job, family owned, cook, prep, salads. very hands on. everything made in house.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 24, 2014
Pros: cheap lunch, 15 minute break every hour and 15 minutes
Cons: no lunch break so no time to eat
It was fine but no room for error and you get cussed at a lot.
Management was good, pay was great but hours were bad.
Not a good job for sensitive or shy people.
Did have a problem with a supervisor but management helped with that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but professional work enviroment. Productive and very clean.
Cocktail Server/Bartender (Current Employee), Council Bluffs, IAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free salad bar for lunches, great people to work with.
Cons: one break per 8 hour shift. benefits.
A typical day at work, depending on if picked up a bartending shift or if I'm working my regular job description(being a cocktail server), we would start off what we call pre-shift. Management gives us the details on new things that may be going on with our company and property, promotions on guests players cards are most recent. I fill up my server – more... tray with sodas and water, and go around and politely ask each guests individually if they would like anything to drink whether it's the soda that I may have on my tray, or it could be beverage with alcohol, coffee, hot chocolate. I then bring back the beverage in a timely manner, and tell the guests to have a great day and good luck to them. Throughout the day I need to do cleaning duties as well, making sure everything is stoked full, wiped down well, coffees are filled and fresh. I do this 8 hours a day with one half hour break in between.

I've been with Ameristar for over 5 years now, and has been great I've never had a job that really cares about their employees. Although the only "bad" thing I can say is the benefits aren't so great. After 5 years, still no benefits. I need stability in life considering I have a 1 year old. I'm at that point in my life where I want to move up in the world. I want to go back to school, and will.

Back to Ameristar, I enjoy going to work because 1. its a great atmosphere, 2. my fellow co-workers/friends, they make it so fun 3. to know that I am providing for my daughter.

The hardest part of my job is that my Tips fluctuates, its never constant. I feel like I need a reliable job where I know I'm getting paid where I don't have to scramble because I haven't made enough for bills and doing what i need to do. I feel most of my life is stress, and it shouldn't be that way.

Thank you so much for your time! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job.
Assistant Executive Steward (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 21, 2014
Great job. Friendly people. Good hours. Good work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and entertaining place to work with great benefits
Table Games dealer (Former Employee), East Chicago IndianaJuly 16, 2014
Pros: benefits and coworkers
Cons: sometimes unruly and rude customers, 20 min breaks
I enjoyed working with my coworkers and supervisors here everyday. We were a family and I felt I could go to them if I had a problem or if a situation came up that I didn't know how to deal with. Even on the bad days when the business was slow and the customers were unruly, or when we were very busy and had to work overtime, we still were able to come – more... together and get things done as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast pass environment
Inspector General (Former Employee), Hazelwood, MOJuly 10, 2014
getting employees in a good mode so that way they could start the day on a positive mode instead of a negative one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already reviewed
Security Officer (Current Employee), Saint Charles, MOJuly 6, 2014
Pros: already completed
Cons: already completed
Already completed. Handled all aspects of security, including inside and outside patrol, investigated crimes and wrote reports. Guest service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but too much smoke
Security Officer (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 2, 2014
It was a fun job to meet a lot of different people but besides that it wasn't special. There was too much smoke and it got really boring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Officer (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 1, 2014
Pros: lunch was always good, plenty of breaks i also really appreciated my halthcare insurance
Cons: if you accidently let a minor on the casino floor the casino gets fined and you lose your job.
Enjoyed working at Ameristar; meeting new people and having random conversations. Getting to the customers that came to the casino day-to-day. Secondly, my co-workers were very fun happy energetic people.Although, it could be a little stressful. There were plenty of underage individuals who always tried to get on the Casino floor with false ID; It may – more... sound easy but it was the hardest part of the job. Lastly, I think the best part was meeting new people everyday. I enjoyed making people smile. Sometimes I would see a visitor at the Casino who seemed down or upset, I made it my job to put a smile on their face before leaving my area. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Ameristar Casinos, Inc.

When you wish upon Ameristar, you can hit the jackpot on land or on boat. Ameristar Casinos owns six casino hotels and two casinos. – Read more

Ameristar Casinos, Inc. Photos