Ameristar Casinos, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun environment
Table Games Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vicksburg, MSDecember 13, 2017
The fellow team members and many of our regular guests, as well as some of the new ones, make working at Ameristar a fun time. Those people make the time go by fast and the level of communication between team members make the night a breeze when it comes to the work involved.
Pros
fellow team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really cool place
Busser (Former Employee) –  Black Hawk, CODecember 11, 2017
The casino was a cool spot with very friendly people. Was a cool work environment when the customers were winning. I enjoyed the team as well as the management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great attitude towards team members
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MODecember 8, 2017
This was the most fun job that i remember having. I enjoyed how genuinely happy people seemed to be to come to work. It was a very friendly atmosphere among fellow team members.
Pros
Team Member dining room w/ meals for very cheap
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aaa
Cook (Current Employee) –  ColoradoDecember 8, 2017
Ameristar is a decent job to work at if you are in the gaming industry, if you are In F&B, you may find opportunity a little lackluster and redundant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IADecember 6, 2017
great teamwork and management was always there to assist you if you needed help always very busy on friday nights on seafood buffet there was all ways a huge line to get in made really great tips......
Pros
free food
Cons
worked weekends and all holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy people having great experiences.
Table Games Supervisor (Current Employee) –  East Chicago, INNovember 30, 2017
Greeting our guest, being a happy and friendly person. I do my best to keep my area clean, and dealers on a professional level. Every employee is friendly and approachable. I enjoy seeing our guest having a great experience. Providing great customer service is everything in the casino business.
Pros
A great place to develop character.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
Dealer/Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MONovember 21, 2017
I learned a lot about the entertainment business working here. Management was always pushing for guest satisfaction and willing to work with employees as well as customers.
Pros
fun, excint
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and managers to work with
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IANovember 14, 2017
Love working there job is easy and fun people are the best part all your co workers are funny and great to be around and managers play an active roll on all fronts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  East Chicago, INNovember 14, 2017
The Compancy was fast growing casino , they are still number 1 in the region . They guests were treated very well .we had the best team including the management.Plan Of Service was indeed placed and used very well
Pros
free lunch
Cons
intoxicated customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Host/Cashier (Former Employee) –  East Chicago, INNovember 8, 2017
The management was poor. The length of breaks was short compared to a number of hours worked per day. I do believe the management issue has been controlled now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A caring place
Buffet Cook (Former Employee) –  East Chicago, INOctober 15, 2017
The chefs and managers were profession, but knew their employees personally. They cared about what they did and encouraged others to take pride in their work.
Pros
free lunch and friendly work environmnet
Cons
lack of career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Lead Steward/ shift supervisor (Former Employee) –  East Chicago, INOctober 10, 2017
the most enjoyable part of my job was working along side with my team helping out so reach our goals by the end of the shift. the hardest part of the job was went the equipment broke down and we had to do everything manually. work load wasn't too bad at times.
Pros
free lunch, Paid time off was added every pay period, decent break times
Cons
health care wasnt good, paid every two weeks, no room for advancement within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino
Pit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAOctober 7, 2017
I really enjoyed this company. I only let because I moved to Las Vegas. Great management and work/life balance. Employees were great as well. Great teamwork.
Pros
Great envoronemnt
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Steward Supervisor (Former Employee) –  East Chicago, INOctober 1, 2017
The Amreistar Casino is a fantastic place to work, it has a very friendly and family atmosphere. The Ameristar Casino also has great opportunity for advancement throughout the company.
Pros
Free lunch and free parking
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
EVS Attendant (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IASeptember 29, 2017
We would have a meeting and then they would give us our place on the boat to clean. Nothing there it was just about cleaning. Management was ok it depended on who you worked for that day. The hardest part was working when the boat was full and you could not get around. I did not enjoy this job.
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Bus coordinator/Bus Greeter (Former Employee) –  East Chicago, INSeptember 26, 2017
My experience working at ameristar teaching and being a great assistant and a great team member as a fellow employee doing the best to my ability as a bus coordinator.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes
SLOT TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Vicksburg, MSSeptember 24, 2017
Its a great place to work for wonderful people there to help and guide your through the way. You can learn a lot of things there to better yourself and move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Late long hours underpay
Valet Parking (Current Employee) –  East Chicago, INSeptember 16, 2017
I would ask for days off with months in advanced and still get denied. Long late hours. Always under staffed. Running from car to car. Pay is 5 an hour plus tips but don't expect tips it rarely happens.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible work environment
Soft Count Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 12, 2017
got hives. had to leave due to the stress of the backstabbing girls who worked the department. told supervisor why I left, he could care less. supervisor under him was one of the backstabbers.
Pros
nothing
Cons
terrible work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vicksburg, MSSeptember 11, 2017
Fun people
Understanding managers
Okay hours
Always have something to do
Busy on weekends
Everyone these is a family
Managers are fun people to be around
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ameristar Casinos, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 370 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7