Ames True Temper Employee Reviews in United States

Found 47 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
warehouse woker (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAApril 19, 2016
you will always have something to do their and it make time fly and also you have to make sure the things you have to make for the company are correct and they check on your product to see if you doing it right and every three months they tell you what kind of job that you are doing
Pros
sometimes they will have big meals for the workers
Cons
change locations sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
production supervisor (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg paNovember 10, 2015
Excellent place to retire from great employer and employees, would have stayed until overtime changes were made. Great Benifits and vacation. Supervised 25 employees across 2 shifts. Hardest part of job was getting good information from back shift that also reported to me
Pros
overtime paid when worked
Cons
stopped paying overtime and forced to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Services
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAOctober 30, 2015
Terrible workers, Horrible managers. I wouldn't reccomendedworking there unless you like being yelled at. Breaks should be longer.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Battery changer (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAOctober 6, 2015
like the company and the people management ok paid lunches was a plus but not enough money or moving up in rank always stayed in same department
Pros
paid luches
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away at all costs!
employee (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PASeptember 28, 2015
Harassment and objectification of women, OSHA violations, toxic coworkers, regular injuries, and inept management was just a daily inclusive bonus when working for AMES.

The health insurance was decent though.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Associate (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PaSeptember 23, 2015
The company had alot of undermined things happening behind the lines. The company was very poorly managed. I would not recommend to others.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
Managment did not care about employees, saftey and team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
manufacting officer (Current Employee) –  camphill, paJuly 23, 2015
the first day i became a forger was my happiest day and i learned how to forge shovels which it was so interesting, the shovel through oven which the fire there is incredible and we stand by the oven to pick the shovel before forging
Pros
training
Cons
insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun with bending machines
Forklift Driver (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVJuly 14, 2015
Nice place to grow up, good people, good communication, safe place to work in peace, supervisors real friendly and kind
Pros
free donuts and bagels
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAJune 5, 2015
Fast pace office. Screened calls for CEO/President, CFO and Vice President, Operations. Made travel arrangements, interacted with Board of Directors, copy and distributed monthly financial package. Management kept and open line of communication. I made many great friends at Ames True Temper and am still friends with several. The most difficult part of my job was keeping track of my boss as he was so busy that he would just walk out of his office and forget to tell me where he was going. The most enjoyable part of my job was doing the powerpoint presentations for meetings.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No scheduled breaks except for lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive high energy work enviorment.
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAApril 15, 2015
During my time at Ames True Temper, I had the opprotuntiy to meet people from all walks of life, I was able to learn new skills that I had not been familiar with before. I was pleased with management and my co-workers, almost everyone worked well together and was treated fairly. I had a great experience with human resources they were always helpful. the most difficult part of working at Ames True Temper was the physical work at that fast pace for that length of time. But not long following I got the hang of it. Most enjoyable part of this job was me entertaining co-workers!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pase, with a lot expected of employees
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Lewistown, PAMarch 5, 2015
A typical work day consisted of assembling shovels. You learn how to work with a partner so you can be very productive for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance Groupleader
Maintenance Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Union City, PAFebruary 18, 2015
I really enjoyed my career at this facility. If the plant had not of closed I would still be with them. Mostly the coworkers were great people and my direct management were fair and willing to send employees to training when it was needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and productive
Warehouse picking and packing tools (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 24, 2015
fun what i learned how to drive a forklift management was a very nice guy and my co-workers very good people the hardest part of the job was how to make orders and the most enjoyable part of the job was learned how to use the forklift
Pros
the i work 4 days for 10 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producti ve n fun wrok place
WAREHOUSE CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  carile paDecember 10, 2014
an average day at work is like normal for me I have learned a lt from my experience
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wrong job
Technical Operator (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PADecember 4, 2014
think i took the wrong job when filing out the app here. The benefits are awesome but the work place is extremely hostile and stressful
Pros
hours are great in plastics
Cons
condone racism
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAOctober 13, 2014
- typical day at work was going to my station and getting everything organized to make garden tools
- management sucked... the day i started the manager introduced himself and showed me where i was going to be working.... that was it. he didn't say anything else to me until 2 days later when we had a meeting.
- i learned that team work is absolutely everything
Pros
helpful co-workers
Cons
management wasnt the best
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
forklift oper (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAOctober 1, 2014
ames true temper has poor management and pooremployee comunacation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face pace work enviornment
Warehouse employee (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAJuly 22, 2014
making lawn tools and putting them in boxes for storage or shipment I learned how to build lawn tools from scratch and also was a good experience to learn something out of my league you really didn't interact with nobody because it was a job were u work by yourself hardest part was when I first started out trying to get use to the fast pace but then the job was so enjoyable once you learned to do it correct
Pros
good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Operation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJuly 7, 2014
I learned a lot working here. I enjoyed working with other members of the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Technical Operator/ Assembly Line Supervisor. (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAJune 28, 2014
Horrible management and disrespectful towards certain employees yet lots of mobility towards promotion and good compensation and pay raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0