Ames True Temper Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay /good people to work with/good hrs
Laborer/painter/forklift driver (Former Employee) –  Parkersburg, WVNovember 13, 2017
I started at AMES in 1972 at the age of 18 years old , and retired in 2005 with 34 years working there, would still be there if they had not shut the plant down in sept 2005
Pros
loved the hrs/good place to work and great pay/ben
Cons
hot in summer cold in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work in central Pa
Tool Maker (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAOctober 1, 2017
Poorly managed, 2 faced cut throat employees ( in the tool room ). Upper management and engineering is clueless. You will be beat down, used, and degraded. Horrible culture is promoted by management and humane resources. This company will cheat and lie about anything! There was a time in was a good company but since it has been taken by Griffin it has gone on a fast downward spiral. Managers of all departments are not fit to manage and could not anywhere else. There's a reason they are constantly hiring!
Pros
None
Cons
Management, Human resources, Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Line lead op4 (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PASeptember 23, 2017
These guys are very understanding and willing to work with you the pay is great the career is great it is a fast pace job. But so worth it. I miss working there and still would love to work there.
Pros
All good
Cons
All good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad place to work
Technical Operator and Quality Assurance (Current Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAAugust 3, 2017
Dont do it management is terrible and your chances for advancement are slim...favortism at its finest...be aware that there are reasons ames cant retain their employees..mangement is in full denial and please dont question anything because your not suppossed to..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAAugust 2, 2017
It was fun an a fast paced workplace and and there was alot off goals i had there but it was cut short because i had too take care off my mom and she got cancer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, close to home
Laborer/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Dexter City, OHJuly 23, 2017
It was a good place to work, close to home. It was a reliable place to work. I don't agree with the amount that they want to pay their employees. The bosses were always pretty decent to work for and very understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Forklift Operator quailty control (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAJuly 19, 2017
its an ok place had one con on the place I had one bad experience I was being harassed for 6 months and nothing was done until me and the manager had an argument
Pros
good hrs lots of overtime
Cons
points system is horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and very fast pase
Shovel maker (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAJuly 12, 2017
A typical day at work was stressful and productive. The management was good. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the machines. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers.
Pros
Good benefits, long hours
Cons
Multiple breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn more jobs
forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAJuly 11, 2017
Fulfilling demands to the line to keep product meeting the criteria on my data sheet.Descent management. A union based job. Hard part supply an demand. My enjoyable part is keeping busy. I learned a lot more safety than your average job can't never be to safe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Employee
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAJune 17, 2017
My fellow office workers were fun and professional. Slightly noisy work place due to the warehouse being attached to the office. No real lunch room.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Manufacturing Associate (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAMay 30, 2017
The work environment with others is nice. Management system works well and helps fix any problems that arise. Most of the Coworkers are easy to work with and get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work environment
Machine Press operator (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAMay 4, 2017
Fast pace work environment. Very hot in the summer and cold in the winter. It's union and they have holiday parties. Loved working here and the supervisors are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job but that's it!
manufacturing operator III (Current Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAMay 3, 2017
Not a great place to work. They treat there employees bad.They can be very inconsiderate. It's very hot in the summer but there's free sports drinks when available. The work is in between depending on which department you work in
Pros
they have dinners and fun activities sometimes.
Cons
if you take of 9 times in a year your fired
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pased warehouse
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAApril 17, 2017
It was a great opportunity for me to learn different job skills such as drilling, sawing, and bundling. Also there were opportunities for advancement. After I was trained, my performance on each task was above average.
Pros
Free lunches, paid break
Cons
Only one break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic work place
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAFebruary 28, 2017
*In a good mood for work
*How outdoor tools are made
*Up beat and smart management
*Its Ames True Temper so its about outdoor equipment
*The hardest part of the job is the health hazards
*The most enjoyable part of the job is the pay checks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversified manufacturing environment with opportunity
Maintenance and Facilities Manager (Current Employee) –  Camp Hill, PADecember 30, 2016
Manufacturing minded company with a production driven system. continuous improvement is a major goal all of operations is expected to strive for.
Pros
Diverse manufacturing environment
Cons
nothing to note
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
DO3 Warehouse worker (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PANovember 15, 2016
Very good excellent I'm glad i was able to find a great place like this to work at learned a great deal in the logistics industry all about saftey which is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and fun place to work
Tool assember (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PANovember 3, 2016
put together outside tools. the manger was friendly to work along with the other workers. I learned hot to make outdoor tools with different work tools.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment best and helpful staff
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVOctober 31, 2016
the management is awsome, i enjoy working as if we were family helping one another and having a great feeling of accompishing my job at the end of the da.
Pros
good work at atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice
SENIOR ACCOUNTS PAYABLE ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAAugust 26, 2016
Ames was a terrible place to work, especially for those in the accounting/finance fields. Management doesn't seem to care about it's employees. Raises are not given based on performance. There is too much work and not enough people to do the work. Co-workers were friendly, but also miserable about being there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ames True Temper. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 69 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1