Amgen Employee Reviews

Found 445 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job experience
Manufacturing Associate (Current Employee) –  Puerto RicoSeptember 28, 2016
My job experience at Amgen was very important of my life, because I adquired professional knowledge. A tipical day at work was very hard. In Amgen I work as co-worker, this job was my first official science job and my first experience at the pharmaceutical industry. I learned everything of the manufacturing area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Associate
Manufacturing Associate (Current Employee) –  Juncos, PRSeptember 28, 2016
Amgen is the company provide opportunities a person without experiences. This industry help the people with healthy and better quality life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent benefits but very political
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CASeptember 25, 2016
The culture at Amgen is very competitive, with favoritism shown to those who buddy up to management. Individuals who do well in office politics are given more opportunity for advancement than those who master their jobs, particularly in the scientific roles. Medical benefits are above average, as are savings plans for retirement. Many layoffs have occurred over the last ten years, with staff being replaced by contractors. Some benefits have declined in recent years, such as tuition reimbursement, which went from 100% to a flat $5K per year. Child day care is available but is very expensive. Cost-cutting since the 2008 economic crisis has negatively impacted the working environment and the company culture.
Pros
Medical benefits are above average
Cons
Competitive, sometimes cut-throat culture
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for full-time employment
Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Westlake Village, CAAugust 29, 2016
Not the best place contractors, excellent for employees. Great environment and campus and highly talented individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate environment
Administrative Coordinator III (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAAugust 29, 2016
Intense corporate work environment. Great environment to learn. At this point in my life, I am no longer looking to return to Amgen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mega company nice environment but lacks of process control
SUPPLIER QUALITY CONSULTANT - Bio-Technology (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAAugust 28, 2016
The company looks nice to an outsider but management culture is very protective of an out of control quality system and does not invite new process improvement ideas!
Pros
Nice and new company
Cons
Lack of tendency to process improvement ideas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress work environment
Manufacturing Process Technician (Former Employee) –  West Greenwich, RIAugust 26, 2016
great pay working conditions are Terrible very high stress environment and very long hours but met some great co workers.emphasis on doing anything to get ahead even if it means damaging a coworkers reputation.
Pros
great pay
Cons
very high stress and very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Spectraforce ASSOCIATE MFG PROCESS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Municipio de Juncos, PRAugust 25, 2016
Love it. Was great working there and people ware like family. Very secure and care about safety. They provide everything you need to do the best of the Work..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of the art technology, challenging job
Environmental Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Juncos, PRAugust 24, 2016
Its the place where challenge own capacities since day one. The team member are in constante search of improvement. As it is each task, responsibility importan as it is the site facilities.
Pros
Great food
Cons
short lunch period (30 min)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company overall.
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAAugust 12, 2016
Loved being part of a science based company specializing in finding cures for grievous illnesses. Great benefits and advancement potential. Loved management and coworkers.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Can be intense
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Chemist (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CA 91320August 9, 2016
The company is a manufacturing company for Factor VIII drug and provided lot of opportunities to contribute significantly for the growth of the company. Had great managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Complaint Specialist (Current Employee) –  Juncos, PRJuly 26, 2016
Great Company
Excellent Compensation Benefits
Enjoy the work culture
Team Work Ambient
Management
Learn
Life Balance
Pros
benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Data Entry Operator (Temporary) AppleOne (Former Employee) –  Newbury Park, CAJuly 18, 2016
Good job, unfortunately just a temporary assignment, wish it was permanent. Even though it was a bit of a drive there from my residence, I would have been more than glad to be a permanent employee of Amgen.
Pros
Internationally known Company, honored to have worked there even for the short time
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Management Engineer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAJuly 17, 2016
Love my job and the people
Learned different things, never boring
Co-worker are helpful
Great support from Management
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Lay offs typical
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of benefits great location a great place to be a professional.
Material Coordinator/ MFG Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Municipio de Juncos, PRJuly 15, 2016
Very nice place to work i learn something new every day, great fellowship. A lot of ways to reach your dreams because the company pay for your studies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe the hype
Category Manager - Global Technology (Current Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAJuly 14, 2016
Amgen worker productivity seems to be diminished, and its culture appears to be conditioned by constant large-scale initiatives driven top-down. Teams' ability to execute is impacted by a culture of job-protectiveness, and even excellent and essential ideas are delayed for years waiting for various reorganizations. In a nutshell, Amgen does not foster ideation, invention, creativity; further, the company seems to reward passive-aggressive behavior.

Amgen's headquarters are isolated in Ventura County, CA, and while the benefits are great, I do not recommend relocating simply for Amgen. It frequently pays relocation benefits to new hires, but moving here could geographically block enriching opportunities from coming to you.
Pros
Good benefits, lovely campus, cheap cafeteria
Cons
Culture and ability to execute
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Associate Manufacturing,Operator Level II (Current Employee) –  Municipio de Juncos, PRJuly 8, 2016
Have a balance between work and life and a great experience in the job field, good e communication with all the operators and the supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cardiovascular Unit
Sr. Biopharmaceutical Representative (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 5, 2016
Current C Unit is more prior aut/reimbursement oriented than an actual Sales or Marketing job.



I would not recc working at this companies division until they have ironed out the reimbursement issues and structure and strategy..
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Biological Hazard Transporter (Current Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAJuly 4, 2016
Amazing benefits, workflow, organization, campus. Very friendly staff! Really have no complaints about the company. I am just looking for a new position that pays more so I can buy a house. I really enjoy my current position and hours, but it isn't enough pay to purchase a home on my own.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graphic design assistant.
Shipping and Receiving Manager (Former Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CAJune 30, 2016
the company split after both managers went different ways with ideas i learned shipping and receiving of goods for the entire company. work slowed down and the company ended up downsizing and i decided to leave for a job closer to home
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Amgen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 493 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8