Find companies:
Amica Insurance Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
55 reviews

Amica Insurance Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a lot of room for growth
Account Manager (Current Employee), Westborough, MASeptember 22, 2014
In a typical day at work, I would start with a brief meeting with my sales team. Once the day began I worked on numerous account servicing scans as well as risk reviews. I am responsible for handling any escalated calls and customer complaints that my team may receive. I also have my own customer accounts to service as well as recommend various coverage – more... to. The most important thing I have learned is how to deal with different types of personalities on my sales floor as well as from the customers I have encountered. I have also learned how to adapt my management style to those around me, which involves the most effective ways to set goals for each individual. I really enjoy working in such a busy environment as it allows each new day to present a new and interesting challenge to overcome. I also love being able to train new representatives on the job functions and new systems. The hardest part of my job has been being away from my family and friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and training
Associate National Service Specialist (Current Employee), Spokane Valley, WASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: team collaboration
Cons: short breaks
Busy, fast paced work day. Great management and co workers. On going training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there and the job i did
Technical Assistant (Former Employee), Park Ridge, NJSeptember 12, 2014
my day start out by retrieving voice mail to mail out new customer's application for car insurance and place a to a customer to retrieve missing documents. I learned how to process an application. I also enjoyed my co-worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stand offish
Communications (Former Employee), Lincoln, RISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: nice building
Cons: strict on dress code ( need a sportscoat on to go to the printer )
People hate their positions, unfriendly atmosphere
Not willing to assist new /contract help willinly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced customer service focused environment with great opportunities for advancement.
Claims Service Representative (Current Employee), Baltimore, MarylandAugust 26, 2014
Fast paced call center focused on customer service with great opportunities to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Henderson, NVJuly 14, 2014
Cons: terrible management
I've never worked for worse people. The account managers are fresh out of college with no real world experience. Moving up is impossible, unless you want to uproot your family. Stay away from this call center job. 0 out of 10.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth a long-term stay
Account Representative (Current Employee), Frisco, TXJune 24, 2014
Pros: good hours
Welcome to Amica, where the pay is barely enough, the training is terrible,where anyone who's been there longer than 5 yrs is on a power/ego trip, most of the people will smile in your face and laugh at you behind your back , where there's never a right answer so everything is wrong and where diversity is non-existent. Oh and since there is no HR department – more... on site, good luck trying to address any of your concerns! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Associate Account Manager (Former Employee), Lincoln, RIJune 17, 2014
I learned a lot about the insurance industry and how to make the choice that was best for the customer. The compensation was reasonable but there is definitely higher in the industry. The best part of the job was learning to underwrite risks and working with representatives. The hardest part was having little to no control over where and when you would – more... be moving next. I found that those making the decisions in home office cared little for your opinions or general happiness in regards to moving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to retire, very stressful job
Licensed Account Associate (Former Employee), Englewood, COJune 3, 2014
Amica has been around for over 100 years, they still hold some conservative. (ex. men can not have ears pierced and women are not permitted to have anything within sight pierced other than one earring in each ear) In a CSR position it is extremely high pressured and very stressful position. However, if you commit to the position it does pay off. Lot – more... opportunity to earn a lot of income, decent base pay, great benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Insurance Adjuster (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNMay 27, 2014
The job was not a good fit for me but it did teach me a lot. Your work-day was scheduled by you and had little supervision. The company is a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amica
Multi-line Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 3, 2014
It was okay working for Amica, they have decent benefits and it is easy to move up in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Licensed Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 7, 2014
Not conducive to professional growth and development. I would not recommend it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a lot of security
IT Developer (Current Employee), Lincoln, RIMarch 25, 2014
Pros: healthcare, security
Cons: slow, conservative culture
Everything at Amica is essentially like it's culture, slow moving but very secure. I enjoyed working here and learned a lot about the industry and web development as a whole. I understand what it means now to work for a corporate setting. The people are all nice and will help you understand anything that you do not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, stable company
IT Specialist (Current Employee), Lincoln, RIFebruary 28, 2014
The big draw is stability. The work is steady and interesting. Great team to work with and the benefits are great. I would say my only complaint is they're still stuck in the conservative, 9-5, corporate culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Job no frills
Auto Adjuster (Former Employee), Westborough, MAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: good environment
Cons: low pay
Decent people who work there, moderate work load, good overall place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with dedicated long term employees!
Voice Analyst (Former Employee), Lincoln, RIJanuary 14, 2014
Excellent team support with many opportunities to move ahead within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People-Nice place to work
Quality Assurance Analyst-Consultant (Current Employee), Lincoln, RIDecember 26, 2013
Excellent place to work. Was there for 2 + years and learned a great deal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjuster
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Frisco, TXNovember 4, 2013
Don't go. low pay.Nothing nice to say so I'd rather not say anything at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amica was the worst job ever! Discrimination is HIGH!
Claims Service Representative (Former Employee), Bellevue, WAOctober 3, 2013
Pros: great expensive medical coverage
Cons: example: short breaks, lack of opportunity for advancement, micromanaged, low pay, no time and ½, you are expected to work every holiday
Work Life balance sucks, you are expected to work holidays while the top dogs sit at home with their families and forget time ½ that isn’t offered. If there is bad weather back east where majority of their policies are held, get ready to work 10 hour shift days and again no time ½ like other companies offer. They will work you to the bone and if you – more... aren’t like by your boss or coworkers for whatever reason don’t expect a raise or an opportunity for advancement. I know people who had been there for ten plus years whose title had never changed not even once from a level I, II or III.

Your coworkers are often fun and welcoming but behind closed doors are miserable to feel stuck in this rut. Although, their model is customer service driven they enforce their workers to not offer assistance to satisfied the customers need but instead pass the complaint over to the manager or team lead and they will offer incentives instead. This means you are considered the bad guy while they get the credit. Also, you are micromanager and timed to use the restroom. Don’t have the BG’s and need to use the restroom more than once or your team lead will come looking for you!

Most people who are happy with the employment at Amica are from down south or their home office in RI where employees are offered gym usage and holidays off since the main office is closed and great bonuses. My boss would leave for hours at a time to go work out and shopping but if you are sick don’t bother staying home or you will be considered a non-dependable employee and treated horribly. Discrimination is overwhelming they do not favor minorities and older individuals or same sex relationship! I’m glad I left, if you do give them a try get in for experience and get out as quickly as possible before 20 years pass you by! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real family atmosphere w/coworkers
Underwriting, Sales & Service (Former Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: coworkeres are like familiy.
Cons: more work than can be handled by current staff
Workload can be daunting. Need to hire more help soon. High stress level can be annoying. management try to ne team players.

1 2 3

About Amica Insurance Company

Amica Mutual Insurance Company is a national writer of auto, homeowners, marine and umbrella insurance. Amica was founded in 1907 – Read more

Amica Insurance Company Photos