Find companies:
AMIKIDS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

AMIKIDS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Experience
Master's Level Counselor (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LANovember 11, 2013
If you are looking for a rewarding experience and like working with kids, you should consider working with AMIkids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alternative school for at risk kids
Director of Operations (Former Employee), 425 Kingsley streetNovember 3, 2013
Taught life skills
Administered core curriculum subjects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and encouraging alternative school for adolescents.
Mental Health Counseling Intern Student (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: much gained experience
Cons: not being able to assist some of the adolescents
At AMIkids-Baton Rouge I learned how to provide adolescents who had behavioral challenges; aggression replacement training, social skills training, and positive reinforcement. I absolutely loved interning at AMIkids-Baton Rouge not only because of the opportunity I was given to advance my skills in Mental Health but also because of the team of people – more... who worked there. Everyone worked as a team to provide the students with the best possible therapeutic treatment, education, and behavior modification. Working with adolescents was challenging because there were some I was not able to help even after numerous attempts. This was perhaps the hardest part about interning there. The most rewarding part about interning there was being a positive influence for the students and learning from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth it
Local care counselor (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 20, 2013
Pros: a paycheck
Cons: no lunch breaks, poor health benefits, odd hours, no breaks period, staff not supportive, rundown facilities
Horrible, staff were very disrespectful and unprofessional. It is very difficult for the kids because most of them have no business being out of prison and in society. This job was highly stressful and there were no breaks of any kind during working hours. I am surprised that they are still in business. There is no sense of professional community between – more... employees. It is a chaotic work environment and it is all about blaming someone else and documentation to prove it. They wanted you to work overtime at home and not paying you for it. The managers would often put you on the spot in front of the kids creating strife between the staff and kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Family Oriented Environment, and Practice of 13 values essential
Community Coordinator/Education Assistant (Current Employee), Donaldsonville, LAFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: saving lives and making a difference
Cons: when they are not with you, what happens... not having total control
A typical work day consist of touching lives of At-Risk Students who come from all corners of life. I see happy faces, hungry faces, sad faces, confused faces, but most importantly I see faces reaching out for help and I am their to reach out and assist where needed. I have learned that it does not matter where you come from in life, it doesnt matter – more... what you have, the little things are the things that mean the most in life when you have never heard I love you or I care about what happens to you. I have not only had the opportunity to work with he students, but I have worked in the capacity as team lead and Coach trainer where I planned our monthly inservices and meetings. I planned quarterly motivational staff meetings to keep up the moral in our work place. Our staff has an environment that is very family oriented. We have an outstanding team that work together and assist each other. Through our suggestion box, if we have any concerns or complaints, we place in there and discuss at our quarterly pep meetings. The hardest part of my job is not being able to save all the kids I work with each day. I go home sometimes and wish I could come up with a solution to try some other avenue that could help the kids to make changes that are positive to saving them from destruction. The most enjoyable part of my job is the Passion and love I have for making a difference in the lives of these At-Risk kids. Noting gives me more pleasure than to give my all to them knowing I make a difference in their lives inspite of what they go through. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Do It!!!!
Employee (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLFebruary 8, 2013
Cons: everything
I worked at the Gainesville location and I do not see how they are still operating! The management, clinical director and the people in charge of the kids that work the floor are complete liars and couldn't tell the truth if they had to. They lie to the kids, their parents, staff, DJJ, school board, Courts, and Officers. The ONLY decent people there – more... are the poor teachers that REALLY get taken advantage of! Sad part about it, the Corp. office don't seem to care. If you apply here....you only have yourself to blame for what you will get in this work experience! – less

– May 20, 2013

I hope other people see your posting before they decide to apply. The Orlando location is pretty much the same as Gainesville location

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission
Conditional Release Case Manager (Former Employee), FLSeptember 17, 2012
This is a hard program for kids, change is always hard. Staff care about the kids, great teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life-changing
Case Manager and Music Instructor (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 21, 2012
Pros: service
Cons: government work
This job requires a healthy individual and is challenging.