Amscot Employee Reviews

Showing all 133 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, lots of training, aweful schedule, no incentives, terrible management.
Co-Leader (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 15, 2015
BENEFITS

EASY WORK
The concepts that you learn are easy to grasp and a lot of what you do will be routine: counting money, cashing check, give loans and sign contracts, pay bills, send/receive Western Union, fax, notary, and other clerical duties. If you have decent math skills, focus on your work and follow compliance policies, you will do well.

STARTING PAY
Amscot starting pay for Financial Service Associate or FSA is $12-$15, which is pretty good and slightly higher than most banks, especially for needing only a High School diploma and some Customer Service and Cash Handling experience. However, you only get $.50 raise as you move up in each management position in the branch: Assistant Leader, Co Leader, and Branch Leader, respectively. The overtime pay is what allows the Branch Leader to make 50-60K a year.

OVERTIME
You get paid 1.5x the rate after your regular 40 hours. You can easily find overtime at Amscot as each branch is staffed just enough to not hire any part-time employee. The first week of the month is the busiest as customers need to borrow money and pay bills; therefore, you will find yourself scheduled for 8-10 extra hours during that week. On average, the associates are scheduled for this amount of hours: FSA - 43, AL - 46, CL - 50, BL - 65. If another branch needs coverage, you may pick up that shift on your day off. You may also pick up an extra shift at your own branch if your co-worker calls out.

SECURE WORK AREA
Amscot bullet proof glass makes it a safe working environment. You are locked behind bullet proof glass with only a small opening to slide
  more... documents through. Their security system helps you in getting in and out of the store safely during night times. Once you Clock-In, you are not permitted to leave the secure area until you Clock-Out, unless there’s an emergency. Only authorized personnels are permitted to enter the working area.

ADVANCEMENT
There are lot of opportunities for advancement because the company has a high turn-over rate, which is why it’s constantly hiring. Amscot uses the same system at all of its stores so you can apply to move up in any store. There have been associates who moved up as soon as 3 months to an Assistant Leader and within 2 years as a Branch Leader. Unfortunately, advancement opportunities become scarce the higher you move up.

401K
Amscot has a 401K plan that helps you save for retirement. It matches up to a certain percentage of your contribution. Although Amscot’s matching contribution isn’t nearly as much as banks or other financial institutions, it is still a plus to have a 401K.

CONS

NO WORK/LIFE BALANCE
Unfortunately, Amscot’s schedule makes it impossible to have a work and life balance. Most stores are open 7AM - 11PM, 365 days a year. 1/4 of its stores are opened 24hours. You are expected to be available from 6:15AM to 1AM. There are NO set schedules and NO two-day weekends. You are given ONE Week day and ONE Weekend day OFF. You CAN and WILL be scheduled for 10 - 16hrs on any day, for many days. You CAN and WILL be scheduled to close and then open back-to-back, leaving the store at 11PM one night, and then coming back at 6:15AM the following morning. If an associate calls out, you may have to work beyond your scheduled shift. Of course, you will be compensated with over-time pay. But for those with families and significant others, this put more stress on them as their family and personal time are shortened.

LONG SHIFT/LITTLE BREAK
Depending on which store you work at, you may or may not get a decent break. If customers enter the store, you are expected to “Beat Them to the Window” and ready to help. The first week of the month is the busiest and often customers trickle through out the day. Often, customers will enter the store during your lunch break, and depending on your staffing that day, you will be expected to stop eating and help them. Many associates have gone through their shift without taking a break because there are too many customers and managers have gone through 10+ hour shifts without eating lunch because they feel the pressure to be on duty at all times. The only upside to this is that you get paid for all the time that you’re there, even when you do take a break.

PERSONAL SACRIFICES
Without a work/life balance, you will have to make some sacrifices to stay on top of the schedule. There have been managers who missed out on their children growing up because they have to work 60 hours a week, associates who saw their partners only a few hours a day because of their long shift, and managers who lost sleep because one of their associates called out. Amscot does NOT permit you to be in school or have a second job. They are very vocal from the beginning that you must have NO SCHEDULE RESTRICTION as your personal and family life must be scheduled around the company’s.

LITTLE INCENTIVES
The company used to have more perks and rewards 10 years ago- which was partly why it was named One of Tampa Bay’s “Best Places to Work”. Employees used to enjoy getting Publix's Gift Cards year round for meeting branch goals and auditing compliance. Unfortunately, those days are over. The only reward program the company has today is the Perfect Performer Program. At the end of every quarter, associates may earn an extra 10% of their last pay and 8 hrs PTO to be used within the next 6 months. If you have no tardy, no customer complaints, no training issues, no infraction of any kind in the previous quarter, you may be eligible for this reward. Often, this program is really “carrot of a stick”, as the company will count everything to disqualify you. Also, if your branch meet collection goals, each associate will receive a $20-$25 restaurant gift card. This goal is achieved once in a blue moon.

NO SICK OR PERSONAL DAY
There are NO Sick or Personal Day at Amscot. You are expected to be at work even if you are slightly sick, as your absence is frowned upon and will result in extra stress being placed on other associates. Besides the Perfect Performer Program, the only true PTO that you have is your Vacation. Entry level associates will earn 1 week vacation ONLY after their 1st full fiscal year (beginning in May). 2 - 4 years associates will earn 2 weeks vacation. Only after 5 years of employment will you earn 3 weeks vacation. Most bank employees enjoy 2 - 3 weeks PTO in the FIRST year.

WORKING ON HOLIDAYS
Amscot has only 6 Paid Holidays. However, it is opened during ALL Holidays, which means you will be scheduled to work on a Holiday and 8 extra hours will be added to your week (without over-time pay). The only Holidays in which most associates get to be off are Christmas and Thanksgiving where only ONE associate will work. If you are an Assistant Leader or a Co-Leader, you will have to work during Christmas or Thanksgiving getting paid 2X your pay rate, plus 8 hours Holiday Pay. Most bank employees enjoy at least 10 Paid Holidays, in which their stores are closed and the employees actually get paid for it.

BENEFIT IS MEDIOCRE
Health insurance is expensive at Amscot, even the lowest premium plan has an expensive copay. Most banks and credit unions offer the same or slightly better benefits. At Amscot, there are No Tuition Reimbursement, No Commuter Benefits, No Scholarship for Family Members. There are some Discounts & Savings perks that rarely anyone use. Overall, the benefits package at Amscot is very basic and limited.

LACK OF TRUST
The company discourages employees from socializing outside of work due to fear of employees planning to plot against it. Employees are threatened with termination if found associating with each other outside of work. Their every move is being monitored by the company. There are no company social, no parties, no company wide celebration, no holiday celebration. The only celebration they do are held at Home Office for promotions of Co-Leaders, Branch Leaders, and other Corporate Office employees. You get to read about it later in the newsletter.

MANAGEMENT DOESN’T CARE ABOUT YOU
The bottom line is management doesn’t care about you. Most of the benefits you get of working at Amscot what you can do for the company while going above and beyond. When it come to your personal life, it matters little. The company expect you to be available when it needs you and compensate you with a slightly higher starting pay. But in the long run, you will make lots of sacrifices for this company. You are not a human being with needs and priorities beyond work. You are a replaceable worker, who’s given an extra dollar to be put on a leash.
  less
Pros
pay, overtime, training, secure work area, advancement, 401k
Cons
awful schedule, long hours, little break, personal sacrifices, no incentive, no sick/personal day, mediocre benefits, expensive insurance, little vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes74No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Job Stay Away!
FSA (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 14, 2015
This is simply the worst job! No BREAKS No LUNCHES! You cannot leave the building other than to take out the trash at certain times. Employees are rude to customers always screaming at them to come up to a window, treating them like it is a cattle call. Amscot wants customers to wait at a window rather than have a sit in the lobby. You have to help more than one customer at a time or you get yelled at for making them 'wait'. More errors happen that way and when you drawer is not balanced you have to explain why.They have bad polices like counting the money three times and also you have to keep track of audits on your drawer in two different forms which is dumb because they can just pull a report. They always preach about saving time yet do things that waste time. The owner has been in trouble with the law for fraud, not sure how he has managed to stay in business. Gives cash advances to old people on social security who will never pay their way out of debt because of their fixed income and they lend money to mentally ill people. Yet they claim that the lend out responsibly. Recently started using government scare tactics to have people sign up for a petition that would limit their use of cash advances by telling them 'the government will take away your cash advances' which isn't true. You are not entitled to a raise unless your branch performs really well. Even though you have no control what so ever on who comes in and who doesn't. They refuse to give time off of any kind, you must be there one year before you can take any time off - and you have to take it all at once. No  more... sick days either so if you are sick, you have to come in to work. Also you must have a car because of the way they open and close, if you do not they will not hire you. You have to clean at the end of the night in 15 minutes, which is nasty because customers clean out their cars in the little tiny trash bins Amscot provides, also must mop, sweep, take out the trash. clean spit off windows etc. They have a music CD that plays on repeat 24/7 enough you drive you mad. Customers are low class angry people, but I guess if I was in debt and couldn't get a bank account and got cash advances every week then I would be angry too. Long hours required at Amscot, you will work 11-15 hours in one day! Yup - standing all day getting a hard time from customers, with no break or lunch. The schedule is all over the place you will open then the next day close or close late and open early. You will not get two days off in a row, usually one weekend and one week day, you never feel refreshed because you are always drained from the stress of this job. The job description, recruiter, trainer none of them tell you how it REALLY is here. This is not a typical retail job. You have to go through class room training for a week (must pass all the test or they fire you) then you go to a branch for a week to train then on the last day they surprise you on your 'home branch'. Moving up is worthless you only get 50 cents when you 'move up' and you get a ton more responsibility. You will work every holiday even Christmas because low lives need their cash advances even on Christmas Day.  less
Pros
None
Cons
Every thing listed above
Was this review helpful?Yes29No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks, not a career. Trust me.
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee) –  St. PetersburgApril 10, 2015
All the people who gave this company a 5 star review are either out of their mind or are corporate employees who sit at their desk forwarding the same stupid emails every day and trying boost this company's terrible rating. This company has a culture of intimidation, where ridiculous policies are put in place to make the employees feel as though they will be fired over the stupidest thing.

They know that a lot of what they do suck, which is which they start you off with a slightly higher pay ($12-$15) than similar companies. But once you're on board, you'll pretty much hand over your life to them. Your life revolves around your schedule which your Branch Manager creates. You will be expected to work whenever they need you without regard to your personal life.

Work for this company if you like:

* Being micromanaged at all levels, at all times via managers, phone, emails, and cameras
* Culture of intimidation and threats of firing over simple things
* No sense of community or family
* Lack of rewards
* Having random schedules that make it hard to plan for anything else important to you
* Having only one weekend day off
* Working on holidays, always
* Having long 12-16 hour shifts. Most employees who work at a non-24 hr store work 16 hrs on Saturdays, yes it's true
* Expensive insurance
* No investment in your growth or well being
* The fact that no employees is proud to say that they work for Amscot
* Many good employees leave because they know they deserve better
* Not getting a raise because of your store's performance, which is something you largely
  more... have no control over
* No sick days
* PTO must be earned, not accrued
* They boast an Open-Door Policy, yet the company is highly micromanaged
* The people who stay do it for the money, not for everything else that makes a career
* The list goes on and on...
  less
Pros
Pay, that's it.
Cons
Everything else that make employees leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes45No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest review
Co leader (Former Employee) –  brevard countyAugust 29, 2015
I worked for Amscot for just under six years, and one day I just couldn't take it anymore. The pay is good and I moved up quickly; I was a Coleader in less than a year. Amscot rules with what we called a culture of fear. You were constantly afraid of getting fired. They also required you to do things that I felt was unethical. Every morning you were required to call banks of customers that had not paid their cash advances. You would then enter their account number and use the social to pretend to be them and check their balance. As an employee you were required to lie to customers and tell them that you shred their paperwork when they requested it back, when really we would keep it on file. We were also required to make copies of military IDs which I thought was against the law. One time my district leader had another Coleader take 3 customer's personal checks and take them in her personal vehicle over to another branch and then home for the night. No harassment policy was a joke. They left two people alone many of times and most branches didn't have cameras in the back; there were many things that went on that as a women you would feel very uncomfortable. I really enjoyed working with the customers and the actual job itself was good. The fear was terrible and the belittling that you endured from your district leader and branch leader. The schedule was what I hated most you were never allowed to request to change it at all. Often the branch leaders would call other employees on there days off and "get on to them" if they made any type of mistake like not signing a contract.  more... When I worked at the Palm Bay road location the branch leader would keep tally marks of how many times each person used the restroom. Overall the job is good for the pay and the actual job itself. I meat a lot of good people and I learned many things, but you have to weigh the quality of life compared to money.  less
Pros
Pay, overtime
Cons
no breaks, fear, poor treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes29No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company, little consistancy between branches
Co-leader (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 1, 2015
Amscot as a whole is a decent company but unless you want to be a branch leader and stay in the branches indefinitely then you need to have a goal of where you want to end up, such as the corporate offices in Tampa, a training location, or in maintenance or tech support. In theory Amscot does hire from within for all of these positions.

Each branch is unique. Each branch manager dictates what the atmosphere of the branch. Some managers are easy going and allow for more open communication between the employees and about mistakes being made, while others are more strict and very precise about what they want and expect.

There is no leadership or communication training at the corporate level as far as I can tell. Many managers achieved their current position by getting into the good graces of the manager who they worked with the longest, for that reason they seem to automatically inherit their former mangers general style of leadership (strict or relaxed)

Advancement can be rapid early on but there is a choke point once you reach the Co-leader position (Assistant Branch Manager). This is because of the large number of Co-leaders and the small number of openings to become a Branch Manager. Further advancement can be sought in the corporate office located in Tampa or at a training location if you ware willing to relocate.

Early advancement is easy if you listen to what your manager says, display some minimal competencies by keeping the number of mistakes you make low, and showing that you want to learn and move to the next position. This you are likely to get
  more... promoted quickly. I was promoted from Financial Services Associate To Assistant Leader in 60 days and to Co-Leader in less than a year. To help make this happen you should expect to work holidays and since Amscot is open 365 days a year there will be plenty to work on.  less
Pros
rapid advancement for those who want it, decent hourly wage, guaranteed full time
Cons
non standard shift hours, poor work balance, no consistency in management, open 365 days a year (even christmas)
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not just a job
Amscot Associate (Current Employee) –  FloridaJune 3, 2015
Pros: I am an associate working with Amscot since May 2011. Before working with Amscot I did not know much about the company other than my experience as a customer from a couple of visits. I have a 4yr degree in Business Administration and over 6yrs experience in Office Management. But you don’t need a degree only HS or GED is required and they provide training. When I applied I was desperately looking for a career, another long term position with advancement and benefits. I found that with Amscot. Unlike my previous job, I have been promoted several times in the 4 yrs I have been working with the company and my first promotion happened 90 days in. What I like most about working here is the people, the different teams I have worked with. Every branch I learned so much from my leaders and with their support and encouragement I have achieved a lot. Now, believe me when I say is very hard work but if you like what you do, thrive under pressure and like challenge Amscot is a perfect fit. Another benefit is you can get promoted within months, with that receive a pay increase and become a leader. Overtime is available which doesn’t hurt.

Cons: In my leadership positions I have worked long hours for me this is NOT a con, I was looking to earn additional income and I received overtime pay for every minute I worked over regular hours. I adapted pretty quickly to the rotating schedules, and they are posted in advance so I can make arrangements. I always get a day off during the week and one day off during the weekend. The pay is AWESOME from the start, add to that the pay increase
  more... by promotion and the overtime pay. Let’s just say I am a very happy employee.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to have a lot of will power
Financial Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 15, 2015
They pay very well, there is opportunity for advancement and overtime, but you have to be a very strong person to work here. Lots of zero tolerance policies, and they are no joke, but they will tell you, in fact they give you a list. You have to put the company and its profits above everything. Rules are explained and you know them but it is really hard sometimes collecting money from someone who needs them to pay their rent and is crying hysterically in front of you. If you can see a person being destroyed emotionally in front of you, you can work for them. I could not. If you work at a small branch you will be on call and must answer your cellphone at all times. You have to be willing to commute up to 20 miles to and from work, you have to work holidays and understand they can change your work location at any time. Empathy is one of their core values but at heart, you know you cant let empathy win, is all about the profit. You ll also see customers who you see week after week lying to you to get out of payments instead of explaining they cant afford it.
Pros
Excellent pay and bonuses (Weekly), opportunity for advancement and overtime, excellent training, they do tell you and over explain all the reasons you can be terminated, local company and they do a lot for the community
Cons
not for the empathetic, tattoos are not allowed, might get a long commute, they make you sign a no fraternization with coworkers document, you start doubting people
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Winter Springs, FLAugust 8, 2012
Amscot is a "good" company, for single individuals. People that do not have families at home or any other responsibility such as school. As a manager I worked 55+ hours weekly. I would clock in at 6:30am and usually would leave around 7pm. It is a very stressful work environment because of the pressure placed on every employee to be "perfect" from upper management. Once you are clocked in and ready to work you are not to clock out until the end of your shift. Lunch breaks do not exist so when you find a "slow" time during the day you can grab something quick in the back (if you brought something from home with you) otherwise you will have to order food from any delivery place. If it's a busy day, which weekends are busy, you can count on not eating that work day. Employees are NOT to leave the "secure area" until the end of their shift, for security reasons of course. Customer service is 1st 2nd and 3rd for this company so you better make sure you have a smile on your face at all times, even is the customer is rude, nasty, and/or belligerent, otherwise you can risk losing your job. The pay is decent, starting pay I believe is about $12/hr and opportunity for advancement is certainly there. The benefits are good.
Pros
pay, benefits
Cons
hours, not family oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience, but company is way too strict
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 31, 2013
I learned a lot from this job concerning customer service, compliance, etc. I was able to advance fairly quickly, but I never felt settled because they terminate people constantly. The company rules are WAY too strict. There were so many "no tolerance policies" that were beyond petty. They did not tolerate mistakes. At one point, I was required to call and terminate my assistant because she overslept ONE TIME and the branch opened 45 minutes late. She was a great employee with no disciplinary problems whatsoever, yet they failed to give her another chance.

There were so many rules with taking time off. It couldn't be during certain times of the month or when other people in your district were gone. They did not give any sick time, only vacation after 1+ years. You had to have open availability and there were many times I was forced to work 15+ hour days.

I met some great people working there, both customers and co-workers.

They only promote from within, which is both good and bad. The bad is that some of the upper management had no background in what they were doing.
Pros
opportunities to advance, decent pay
Cons
too many "no tolerance" policies, very restrictive with time off
Was this review helpful?Yes15No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast track career path.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLSeptember 19, 2012
Loved working for Amscot. They offered great wages and you could advance quickly. Since I worked at the same location for 3 years, I was able to establish a relationship with almost 100% of the clientele. The hardest part was adjusting to being in an enclosed space for all the duration of your shift. For security reasons you were not allowed to leave the secured area until your scheduled time was up which meant you could not stretch your legs, take a breath of fresh air or step out for lunch. It could get pretty hectic but it was very organized at the same time. You always had the support of the Clearing Center to approve/decline transactions. They also asked for you NOT to have a second job or school as they required a flexible availability from 6am to 11pm. Which somewhat compensated with the pay but it also meant that you would have to work back to back shifts or 14 hours. Amscot also terminated employment once you reached about a 3yr term with them and conducted job fairs recruting employees for lesser pay.
Pros
awesome pay.
Cons
could not leave the store to go anywhere until shift was over. lots of back to back shifts, extremely long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes39No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow
FSA (Former Employee) –  Tampa,FLFebruary 7, 2014
I lived in PA most of my life and worked a couple jobs down here and its just different how they treat workers in Florida. Its really bad, I would definitely not recommend this job to someone who has a job and is looking for a new opportunity. Unless you are comfortable with going into an atmosphere where they judge you on every move you make, including in the break room, class rooms all have cameras and they watch you like mice all day long. I wish the recruiter warned me of this or I would have never walked into this atmosphere, literally all week they kept pulling people out of the training class and letting them go. This is definitely not a good way to treat people and not the type of company I would want to work for. The main trainer is very condescending and says things like, I told you guys this yesterday, you aren't listening. Its like we are but this is the second day of training give us a break. He pulled people aside to say they are not making enough eye contact in class or look bored, its like what are we in middle school? Everyone at that company is trying to find a reason to get rid of you instead of training you.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave mentality workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 1, 2015
Very thorough training before entering branch.
All errors made by you are held accountable to only you, no matter if corporate was apart of the decision making process. You will always be held liable for any inconsistencies.
An ok company to build your resume, not much long term potential if you want a work/family life balance. Excellent job for single individuals.
No set schedules except for Branch manager which only gets Wednesday and Sundays off.
You wont be scheduled two days off in a row, especially weekends unless you make a special request.
When someone calls in, hard to find coverage thus the pressure falls on those who do show up to work.
The company has a go get you mentality, meaning they are vigilant at finding reasons to terminate employees at will.
No sick days off, Limited vacation time which will be substituted as sick days even if you don't want to.
Promotions are given by preference, even though they say it is performance based.
Pros
Proper training before entering a branch
Cons
short breaks, no sick days. Company will use your vacation days to cover your sick days without your request.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most stressful job I have had!
Financial Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 3, 2015
To weed out the people who are right for this job, on the first day of training they tell you that once you get behind the glass, you cannot leave it for any reason. Not even if you are sick. They start you at a pretty decent pay scale, so you figure that you can handle it. Something like this sounds minor...until it happens. I started having chest pains towards the end of my shift. There was no compassion from management. I could not leave without having someone to relieve me. After working there for a couple of months, you would start to dread the first of the month. Based on their "window system" it is difficult to keep up with who is next once it gets very busy. The customers will bang on the glass, spit on the glass, and throw things. The only motivation to continue working for this company is the pay. You then begin to think that the pay isn't worth your sanity. Stay away from this place if you can!
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours, extreme busyness, being locked in the cage
Was this review helpful?Yes27No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What is it like to work for Amscot?
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 17, 2015
Amscot is a very structured company with a structured culture. The pay is great, I am making double than what I was working for Wal-Mart. If you are looking for a Monday through Friday 9 to 5 job, then don't apply-it's that simple.

I read on here that you don't get breaks, and you do! You get as many breaks as you want. You can sit down as often as you want when you don't have customer, if this isn't a break, I am not sure what is.

Your schedule is posted two weeks or more. My branch manager posts our schedule a month ahead of time, it is actually a policy.

Benefits are good for employees, if you are expecting free insurance for your family, you will be disappointed-but that is everywhere, blame the affordable care act...that isn't so affordable.
Pros
paid breaks, high pay, promotions are given within the company, regardless if you have only been there a short time, friendly co workers, nice customers
Cons
you work a lot, but if you have a good work ethic then this won't be an issue for you
Was this review helpful?Yes9No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent pay/horrible work life balance
Branch Leader (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLMarch 1, 2013
As a Branch Leader you are expected to put in about 50-65 hours a week, and cannot leave early unless it is cleared by a District Leader. There is plenty of room for advancement, because the turnover rate is some of the worst in comparison with like companies. There are definitely plenty of opportunities to learn and move up if you want them, and the pay raises for the additional tasks are decent. The branches are set up like a sort of internal grape vine, in where it is easy to get caught up in office politics if you do not make a concience effort to keep your chin up. Hardest part of the job is the work schedule (close one night and open the next morning, are not allowed to have weekends off-only one day a week and one weekend day) lack of work/life balance and horrible grade of customers you have to service and the micro-managing upper management. The most enjoyable part of the job is that they do a pretty good job of hiring a decent crowd of folk to work for them. Most of the employees are hard workers with a great attitude (which is pretty hard to come by).
Pros
pay
Cons
work/life balance, hours, upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1

Comment – March 9, 2013

I am currently exploring career options with this company in kissimmee, I come from a retail background in a high volume store, any other advice to add? thank you

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great attitude from Management
Financial service associate (Current Employee) –  Leesburg, FLDecember 1, 2015
A typical day at Amscot is as follows. I will come into work and dive right into cash handling. Opening my drawer for the day is consistent and I enjoy that. Customer service is a must with that comes having a great attitude for the job. I have learned how to handle Western Union, how to spot when a customer is being scammed through Western Union. I have learned to spot stolen and counterfeit checks.
My management is really good. They are willing to work and teach you when you need it. Co-workers are very nice. Although some get way to personal about their life outside work and notice they bring problems to work. Hardest part of the job is the schedule. I am flexible but you can not plan anything unless it's a month away or even longer. I have not been able to see my daughter as much being here. Most enjoyable is learning and knowing if I want I am able to move up in the company
Pros
Salary, incentives, and room for advancement
Cons
schedule and not being able to have a life outside the company
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
fsa (Current Employee) –  floridaApril 5, 2015
No lunch breaks you are lucky if you get to go to the bathroom. Long hours...No respect from the district leader. she is always complaining that we aren't doing our job fast enough. When you are working 10 plus hours a day you tend to run down. She is always why are you moving so slow. One of her branches she has had 2 branch leaders quit within a month, what does that tell you. Can't ask for days off, sometimes you have to work from 6:15 am until 10:45 pm. Also they have you close then open the next day No life outside of Amscot. They tell you in training at the Corp office they the co workers bosses aren't suppose to treat you like a jerk, so false. They don't care there are other people willing to work there until they see how it works. Just enough people to work there is no wiggle room.
Pros
you make between 12-15 an hour
Cons
all the above
Was this review helpful?Yes34No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay with a lot of sacrifices
Financial Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sanford, FLJuly 18, 2014
Amscot is all about Amscot. They are very vocal from the beginning that you have to be flexible with your schedule, in other words, means you have to revolve your life around your schedule at Amscot. They make up a little bit with their beginning pay being between $12-$15/hour, which is really nice, but the horrible hours and lack of request days off can get over-bearing.
It's a very easy job as far as you know what you're getting into each day, and if you like being in a fast pace environment this is the job for you. The people you work with are very nice, but Amscot requests you dont become friends outside of work with anyone who works with you, so they can protect themselves from any possible conflict of interests or possible group robbery.

Apply for this job if you are single and want to make money, If you have a family and want to have time for them weekly, this isnt the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes38No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co Leader
Co Leader (Former Employee) –  Tampa FlAugust 22, 2015
Long 12 hour shifts but NO breaks if it is a busy day such as Fridays. Schedules are suppose to be posted two weeks in advance however it comes out the Saturday prior to the Monday work schedule.
You can't request days off. Vacations are determined by your district leader if you are in the North Tampa district.
Also if you work at Amscot there is a zero tolerance policy where you are not aloud to associate with other co-workers outside of work even though you spend more time with your fellow associates then your family. You cannot attend funerals, weddings, baby showers or promotion celebrations without getting fired.
District Leader also goes through your phone and sometimes your bags or purse for no reason which is not a problem if you have nothing to hide.
Pros
ok pay, customers are usually friendly
Cons
short breaks, no privacy, no consistency with schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes28No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional culture with high expectations
financial service associate (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 9, 2015
In a normal day of work at Amscot we would deal from bill payments, to check cashing transactions, as well as different types of services we as a company provide. In my time with the company I have learned about federal compliance laws as well as different privacy policies every company should have. The management is always approachable and just a phone call or email away. One of the hardest things to do with this company is say no to people, and not always being able to tell them the exact reason why we are refusing them. The most fulfilling thing to do at this job is being able to help our customers out monetary, i must clarify that they must qualify first, with the cash advance, or even a simple thing as a bill payment sometimes that could make their day better.
Pros
good pay, cash advance approval
Cons
healthcare, no sick days
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 133 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture