Amscot Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 162 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Financial Services Associate (Current Employee) –  Dunedin, FLJuly 17, 2016
Wonderful company to work, overtime, and working with nice people. Fast paced environment, must have an energetic spirit
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time consuming and closed off work envrionment
Overnight Leader (Former Employee) –  Rockledge, FLJuly 14, 2016
A typical day at work with this company would start with you entering a secured area of the location and not be able to leave that section until time to go home. While there you would give pay day cash advances to people who could not afford to pay back the amount that they borrowed. You would also continually suspect every customer cashing check of being a crook because that is the culture that is taught during training.
Pros
Pays very well
Cons
Time consuming, no sick days given, cannot leave until time to go home not even for breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced you will make money but be prepared to earn it
Assitant Manger (Current Employee) –  Longwood, FLJuly 10, 2016
great place to make money. good team of people that want to succeed. Very Very fast paced environment multitasking a most. benefits could be a lot better for associates.
Pros
you make money and can move up fast
Cons
very very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Owner/Manager (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 5, 2016
Amscot offers great pay and the ability to move up quickly with hard
work. I enjoy working with the customers however the schedule is all over the place. It is hard to plan your family time outside of work because you never have the same schedule or the schedule is not posted until Saturday before the Monday work week.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed job culture, low compensation rate
Assistant Tax Manager (Former Employee) –  Gibsonton, FLJuly 1, 2016
The tax department is fairly laid back when it is not busy, but compensation is lacking and could be improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience.
District Collections Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 25, 2016
Co-workers were great and very helpful. Assisting customers was rewarding. Management was great to work for I enjoyed the hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not suggest
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Holiday, FLJune 14, 2016
Dont like current employees looking for new employment. Only promote from within, however if the district leader doesn't like you will not promote you. Long hours, always short staffed, most branch leaders are really biased and play favortism. Schedule changes weekly. No work/life balance. Company doesnt like employees furthering their education. Make employees feel disposable. Took away bonuses and other incentives.
Pros
Offer health insurance
Cons
Long hours, no schedules breaks, 16hr mandatory shifts on sat.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Services Advisor
Financial Services Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 13, 2016
A typical day can vary from 8-13 hours. Repetitive work is what this job is all about. Doing the same job day in and day out.
Pros
Set schedulke
Cons
once in the building you cannot leave until end of shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work. They don't care about their employees.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Polk County, FLJune 11, 2016
Amscot is the absolute worst place to work. If you're sick, oh well you better show up to work. Because even a doctors note won't help you from getting written up. The hours are all over the place. They are too strict. And I get we deal with a lot of money daily but they don't get that we are human and we are going to mess up. So when you close your drawer you better balance to the penny or you'll get written up for that too. And late because of traffic?! If it's rare that you're ever late and then you get stuck behind an accident...well you get written up for that too. They don't care about the women that are pregnant there. And when you do have your child you are only allowed one month of maternity leave without pay and forced to come back just after a month. If someone passes away in your family. You get three days to do what you have to do and when you come back you have to bring in an obituary to prove the person actually passed away. But you don't get paid for that either. You have to wait one full year before you get any vacation time...but you can't use it from the 1-5 of any month. And if someone else has the time off that you want then you can't take it off. The pay is awful. They say it's easy to move up...it's not. And half the time you won't get a raise because it's based off of your locations growth...not your individual growth. Which is awful since you cannot control others numbers.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything listed above
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great compensation exhausting hours
Co Leader (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJune 8, 2016
Company pays overtime non exempt. Lunch has to be taken inside branch and you cannot leave at any given time unless your shift is over. Once promoted you work about 10 hours a day minimum and Saturdays or Sundays you could work up to 16 hour shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works with you
Co-Leader (Current Employee) –  FloridaJune 8, 2016
everyone is really nice. Managers are not always fair but comes from upper management. Store Managers try to help you out with schedules etc but needs approval from upper management. Set schedules for certain positions. Do not think upper management appreciates hard work from employees. Always acknowledge the bad barely ever the good.
Pros
pay to start
Cons
barely get breaks even though they are paid & long shifts for certain positions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Financial Services Associate (Current Employee) –  Port Orange, FLJune 8, 2016
I would say that working at Amscot has been great. I have learned much about this industry being with Amscot. The things you lean here are valuable. I like working here. one of the better jobs I have had.
Pros
great pay
Cons
not the best benefits package.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting pay
Asistant Manager (Current Employee) –  FloridaJune 1, 2016
At Amscot be prepared for a fun filled busy day. It can get hectic but the people are great to work with when they work as a team.
Pros
Starting Pay
Cons
No set breaks if it is busy all day you must work until the storm has passed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work environment with competitive pay
Overnight Leader (Current Employee) –  Brandon, FLMay 16, 2016
Amscot is a high volume workplace with helpful staff. You are however confined inside the store till the end of your scheduled shift.
Some shifts can be as long as 16hrs and you have no consistent work schedule.
Pros
good pay and paid luches
Cons
confined and schedule changes weekly
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay- a lot expected in return
Branch Leader (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 30, 2016
My experience has been mostly positive after 10+ years with Amscot. The pay is good with opportunities to advance. It does require a lot of intelligence and a great attitude. If you can't brush off the negative then it's not for you. I will only address the cons that the company has the ability to change without changing their business model. (They can't change the fact that you will work weekends, have to learn a lot of info, etc.)
The cons are there is no bonus program for management. Very odd for a company that considers themselves retail. There is no sick pay. After 5 years you have 3 weeks of vacation a year. You better save a week til the end just in case you get sick. You can't call out sick unless you go to the doctor. It's hard to cover shifts when someone is out, so nobody does it, but it would be nice to have a little sick time available just in case.
BL's work about 55 hours a week with a huge chunk of your check being overtime pay! This is how BL'S make their money. The dollar per hour tops out around $19 which is low considering the position. I haven't gotten a raise in years and top out has never been increased in the last ten years. But with overtime you make $50k- $65k per year. It is not a salary position and they are great about making sure you are compensated for every moment. BL'S paychecks are good, but you work for it.
Vacation pay is only 40 hours though even though BL'S work 50+ hours, without exception. So when I take a vacation my paycheck is drastically short. It would be fair if they would pay us an average number of hours we work and just make
  more... it straight pay.
Amscot has a policy for all leaders in the branch, including assistants, that if your branch did not grow over last year's numbers you will not receive a raise no matter how high you scored on your evaluation. My worst moments as a manager have been to give an employee a glowing review, thank them for all their hard work and dedication, but tell them the company will not give them a raise because our branch didn't grow.. I have had to do this to some of the best people that Amscot was lucky to have. This policy sends the message that you are not valued. I hope amscot will eventually realize the very strong negative message this sends. Everyone knows about it even if its never effected them and it destroys morale. I know there are people who have decided not to seek promotion or have looked for another job over this. The idea behind is it that leaders are accountable for their goals but there are many factors beyond your control. But employees see it as the company trying to get out of raises. You could have the best team out there and your branch just might not be growing because of a number of outside factors.
District level management has always been good to me. Upper level management is ok.
Bottom line, it's a good place to work. If you don't mind long hours and dealing with the public it's for you.
Overall I like it here and it was a great career move for me. I'm a believer in Amscot and i hope they will eventually work toward some more employee conscious policies.
  less
Pros
Pay is good, overtime opportunities
Cons
No bonuses or sick pay, no raise if your branch isn't growing
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy high pace job
Financial Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLApril 24, 2016
A typical day at work requires cashing checks, printing money orders or processing a payday loans. I learned a lot regarding financial laws and how to identify a counterfeit currency. The hardest part for me is the standing. My most enjoyable part of my day is the interacting with the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work never apply there
Overnight Manager (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLApril 22, 2016
they spect you to be perfect, work this long 10-14 shift hours they think that because they pay your break they own your time sometimes I would be eating in my break and the manager would still call me to leave my food and time to serve customers corporate employees don't respect you at all they call you at the store you are at and disrespect you in the most meanest way you could ever think. horrible experience.
Pros
pay
Cons
all about the job is bad
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is good but you get NO LIFE
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  FloridaApril 22, 2016
If you are single and have no children, don't like spending time with your family or having time for yourself, this is the perfect job for you. I applied because I was in need of a job, and I saw that the pay was good. After 2 weeks from applying the recruiter send me an email that I got an interview. You have to take a very simple math test, If you pass it then they interview you, if don't, well, you know. The training is very intense. It requires a lot of concentration because they are ruled by the government so you have to know all the procedures, laws, and regulations. You HAVE to pass all the tests and quizzes with more that 85%. If you pass, that's when you start working at the branch they assign you.
I have to be honest. What they teach you at the training center and what you do at the branch is completely different. They don't teach you how to use the system, just a few things, so when you get to the branch you will feel completely lost.
At the branch that they assign me to, the employees were very rude to the customers, they scream to them and treat them like if they were idiots. Management is very poor. If you are new, good luck the first of each month. Depending of the transactions the managers have to give you a lots of passwords, and if its very busy you will feel very uncomfortable because that's how they make you feel for asking. The hours are CRAZY, specially if you work in a small branch. You can close on a Friday and leave at 11 pm, then open the next day and you have to be there before 6:30 am. They don't care. On your days off, they make you
  more... go and do the buddy system, so you have to be there very early in the morning even if you don't work that day. There are no lunch breaks, which is crazy because if you work on a busy day you will have no time to eat, not even a snack, and if you ask for at least 10 minute break they give you the look. You will have no family time, you will only get a weekday off, and a weekend day off. So if you have plans, be sure it's nothing big. The management even tell you that Amscot is consuming all family time, no time for yourself. The only way they compensate you is in the pay wage. Nothing else. So, if you are going to apply, I recommend you to think about it very carefully.  less
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job
Assistant Leader (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 19, 2016
They say they start from $12-$15. But most likely they will start you off at $12. They are deceiving with how much they offer for any position. Make sure you negotiate before taking the offer. Yes, Amscot has rapid advancement but every promotion it's just .50 cents. When in retail as a leader start off at $15. So be very careful with this company. They want you to live and breath Amscot. Corporate has no respect for the employees and mistreat them when making a mistake. Amscot wants us to comply with all these laws and regulations but doesn't want to compensate enough for it. They expect leaders to work 12 hrs a day for 5 days week. Yes overtime is great put people have lives to live not just breath Amscot. Barely any time off....
Cons
No raises if your branch does make goals even though you had a great review.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Assistant Leader (Current Employee) –  Miami Gardens, FLApril 11, 2016
This company offers great pay and great benefits. You can move up really fast as well. Great advancement opportunities.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 162 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
2.7