Find companies:
Amsted Rail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Amsted Rail Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old and poorly managed
Environmental (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAMay 14, 2014
Many issues and poor management in charge.....................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging atmosphere.
Welding Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), Greenville, SCApril 9, 2014
Manage all aspects of continuous improvements in the welding areas throughout the plant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Assembly Line
Welder/ arc air (Former Employee), Granite City, ILMarch 25, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the speed and being responsible for making the line run smoothly.
Cons: some office politics was less than productive.
There I was at the front of the line, setting the speed and production quality for the line. I was looking forward to being promoted however the corporated atmosphere at the time made a change more beneficial at that time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun with long hours
Crane operator (Former Employee), Granite City, ILMarch 19, 2014
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: not alot of home time with the family
This job could be fun to work however long hours could take a toll as I would work 70 hours per week. The upside to that is I made very good money and was able to take care of my family very well. They also provided great benefits, such as medical and dental and life. Over all this was a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Assistant Pattern Maker (Former Employee), Granite City ILMarch 12, 2014
Learned many different tools. Knew what hours I was going to work.Very good atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Chipper (Former Employee), Granite cityJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: pay insurance
Cons: hot temps dangerous
Neat place to work my coworkers were great great pay but not a secure job you never know when or if you will get laid off if you can handle the extreme temps then its for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Quality Inspector (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAJanuary 13, 2014
pushing product in a efficiency manner to make sure all customers were satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of good people
Sample Prep Tech (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAJanuary 10, 2014
Working at Amsted Rail was a great experience. Learned a lot things and had great people helping me. I was upset when I lost that job because it was very easy and laid back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee), Hammond, INDecember 18, 2013
Pros: free meal if theres no injuries for the month
Cons: short breaks, bad health insurance
i dont have a problem with the work,i learn alot,the management stinks,co-workers are nice,the hardest part of my job is when the shift before you doesn't do their part...6-7 days a week,,,no personal life,no incentives,no match with 401k
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn great work ethic.
Welder Inspector (Former Employee), Granite City, ILDecember 9, 2013
Pros: great work experience and health care
Cons: bad overhead
I worked on a assembly line as a welder welding train parts. We inspected and welded all deficiencies. I also cut all access scrap metal off with a torch. We used electric hoist to flip parts from side to side for inspection. I learned how to work fast and efficiently with team members. This job was union job, and was very typical that some people would – more... work and others would not. I proved myself to everyone right away and earned a spot on the insensitive work line. We made extra money on or production and we were very successful.The hardest part was being able to deal with the extreme heat and dangers of sparks and burning torches around you.I enjoyed the satisfaction of hitting are production numbers as a team, and earning are extra bonus day in and day out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to worrk
Inspector (Former Employee), Granite City, ILOctober 24, 2013
A typical day would start off with a meeting with managers then the safety gear and off the production line, to deal with the many different co workers, with different attitudes and the possible extreme weather.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but no stability
Inspector/Production Worker (Current Employee), Granite City, ILJuly 15, 2013
Hot when its Hot an Cold when its Cold and dirty! Being an inspector was the best job I learned a lot Management to me isn't very honest. My co workers are really fun to work with the hardest part of the job is the heat in the summer and the cold in the winter the most enjoyable part of the job is working as an inspector and helping others
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dificult workforce to manage. Rewarding if sucessful as I was.
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Granite City, ILJune 28, 2013
Pros: rewarding work
Cons: harsh conditions
Oversee production line. Learned to be more efficient. Harsh working conditions. Up and down production led to many layoffs. Co-workers are friendly but very competitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Company
Credit Analyst (Current Employee), Granite City, ILMay 14, 2013
Great benefits and great people to work with. Company rewards hard work and there is a lot of room to grow within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neat place to work
Welder Inspector (Former Employee), Granite City, ILFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: great pay .good group of guys ....
Cons: dirty /long hours /constant lay offs /
Welder C&F Great group of guys for the most part long hours but good pay The supers where also pretty good guys with the exeption of a few on days a typical day for me was go in and find out if im working a line or working center bay i got laid off in sept of 2012 still hopeing to get called back but getting tired of waiting on them its a great place – more... to work but constantly getting laid off .... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working expirence of factors
A rate Chipper Inspector (Current Employee), Granite City, ILJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: good pay, benefits, co-workers
Cons: work enviroment
the typical work day is fast paced, long hours, and very dirty.
I got a all around good understanding of what it takes to produce products in a production enviroment.
the managment was very open to suggestions and advise.
I had the privalige of working with the best group of co- workers and gave me a great expirence in a team eviroment.
The hardest – more... part of the job is the work conditions. They are very dirty and dealing with the extreme tempatures.
the most enjoyable part of my job is my co-workers and the benefits – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management not bad
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Hammond, INDecember 27, 2012
Pros: management will make money but long hours
Cons: off and on periods of work
dirty work and layoffs prevail at all levels and when its busy you will live there. But when its slow you are sittin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place to work
Welder A- rate (Former Employee), Granite City, ILOctober 30, 2012
the work at Amsted Rail was very satisfiing. I learned alot about rail car sideframes and bolsters and in doing so I earned my welders A-rate in less than a years time. On a typical day of work I would perform three to four different jobs in one night. The hardest part of the job was working six days a week, the most enjoyable part of the job was learning – more... new jobs and being able to do certain jobs that I could not perform the day before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and make a decent living for yourself and family.
Casting Finsher in Small Parts (Former Employee), Granite City, ILSeptember 17, 2012
My coworkers were excellent and everyone treated me with respect. I looked forward to working everyday, no mater how many days a week or the amount of hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good.
Machine Operator (Current Employee), Hammond, INAugust 12, 2012
Pros: three dollar raise after 1900 hrs.
Cons: layoffs are a posibility and some days off with out pay is manditory.
Pay is good but the benifits are extreamly poor one star for their health care.