AmSurg Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of balance
Payment Poster (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 5, 2016
-A typical office environment with limited employee association.
-Normal office drama far from managements grasp of control.
-Usual expression of favoritism between management and rest of staff.

Overall:
The COMPANY itself has a great vision and prospect of what it wants to be and what it can be. But the extensiveness of micromanaging being done by so many of the smaller manager tends to blur that vision down at the lower levels. That leads to much discouragement with the newer folks specially due to such a high turn over, and a feeling of fear tactics used to keep everything in line.

Not worth the 'money.'
Pros
Good company vision
Cons
Just do not be late.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Drama
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 19, 2016
The management staff care more about hanging out and being friends then actually doing their job. It reminds me of High School when you are constantly being talked about or stabbed in your back by co-workers and management. Your boss will talk to your co-workers about you!
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy with Amsurg
biller (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 12, 2016
Amsurg as a company is great. But the people that they have in upper management are tearing the company down. I have seen so many employees come and go within a week and they were all happy to leave. Majority of the supervisor and upper management are friends so if they do something wrong they are never punished for their wrong doing. They are the only ones with job security. There's tons of micro managing!! The benefits are ok. The raises suck :( And the supervisors are always belittling their employees instead of uplifting them.
Pros
Having a job
Cons
Working for incompetent people
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Director (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 11, 2016
In my job, I am challenged everyday. No two days are the same. The benefit package is very good here. The company seems to be growing and on pace to have a very good 2016.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers and the company
Medical Biller (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 1, 2015
the company seemed to care about the employees and i really enjoyed the group i worked with. they had good benefits. the hardest part of my job was having to type all day and not have any interaction with people.
Pros
free lunches, free unlimited soft drinks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical corporate office
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNMarch 11, 2015
There was no room for advancement. The company was top heavy with managers. The compensation was ridiculously low. However I believe that has changed in recent years.

There are very intelligent people who were a pleasure to work with and know.
Pros
free soda
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
A/R Specialist (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 14, 2015
I enjoy AmSurg, enjoy the leadership team, I feel my job security is excellent. My coworkers are great to work with. A lot of perks working for AmSurg.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a positive work environment.
Endoscopy Technician (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDNovember 20, 2014
We were short staffed all the time. The turnover rate was unreal, actually scary. Overtime was basically mandatory. Not much support from management or the doctors. No room for advancement and fairly low pay especially for the area. Samsung micromanage everything.
Cons
several
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Nurse Manager - (Promotion) (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 6, 2014
The company is a great company, if you are not looking for advancement. I really enjoyed working there except there was no room for growth.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
no room to grow, no tution assistance for those who wanted to further themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pased
Medical Biller/Refunds/Payment Poster (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 8, 2014
Review credit balance reports for potential overpayments
Administer manual adjustments, refunds, and reimbursements
Perform payment postings, deposit reconciliations, batch reviews, adjustments and refund processing
Post payments via EFT, Patient checks, and, EOB’s
Research payment discrepancies, refund requests, and account suspensions
Provide support for the department and assist with special projects, as assigned
Sort, add, and deposit all mail/payments that come in daily
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government work assistance
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNMay 28, 2014
Lots of red tape to change any processes for the better but very supportive management when they have the authority to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
Paramedic / Pre-Op, Post-Op Tech (Current Employee) –  Miami FLOctober 14, 2013
They are flexible with your schedule. Upper management is caring and understanding, Everyone performs their job and works as a team.
Pros
work hours
Cons
no windows
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working here.
Vice President Development, Southwest Region (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 4, 2013
Largest and most successful ASC Corporate partner.

Enjoyed everyone there that I had the pleasure f working with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Summary
Account Reimbursement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 30, 2013
I do all billing for 3 large anesthesia groups. I work rejections, denials, take patient payments, post adj, balance daily, do insurance and patient refunds and anything else that comes up.

I love my job, however, I do not care for the management and supervisors. They treat their employees very unfair.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AmSurg
clerical (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 29, 2013
Its a fine place to work. You get free drinks and popcorn. Alot of room for personal growth.
Pros
free drinks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AmSurg offers great incentives
Medical Biller (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNMarch 13, 2013
Overall as a company, Amsurg is a great company to work for and offeres great incentive.I do not feel however, there is much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable Accounting Responsibility
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 16, 2013
Month end close of surgery centers
Research on surgery centers reconciliation analysis
Assisted with special projects
Approval of journal entries and invoices
Approval of centers' bank reconciliation
Pros
great culture and environment, work experience, job advancement.
Cons
traffic to work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1