Find companies:
Amtrak
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
93 reviews

Amtrak Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greatly understaffed, limited room for growth, lack of accountability
Machinist Mechanic (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 4, 2014
Pros: amtrak is a veteran friendly job
Cons: there is no orm safety, shift
When you come with a certian type of work ethic you can become easily burnt out. I am always determined in getting the job done in a timely manner and safely which has had a negative impact with older empoyees and some management as they may have friendships through working together over time. I don't mind their friendships but work and personal should – more... be seperated and we all must be held to the same standard of getting the job done.
The hardest part of the job is the days and shift, the crazy shift schedule makes it hard for family time
There is no ORM safety, you are working on trains, Management will have you take a class during the day and still expect you to work you shift into the night which is not safe when you working on trains until 4 am. You are not just putting your life at risk it, thousands of others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive organization
Locomotive Electrician/Journeyman (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 1, 2014
I learned to work closely in a team environment. The most enjoyable thing about my job was working to ensure the safety of passengers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST PLACE I HAVE EVER WORKED
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEJune 28, 2014
The life of the rails is no joke. Safety is number 1. No one understands a railroader like another railroader. You will see your co-workers more than your family at times but you can always take the family on a great vacation. Moving up the ladder/rails is always an option and you will always have support from Management to encourage you. Beaware of – more... co-workers that feel like you are progressing more than they are....they will sabbotage you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peer Friendly
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Presque Isle, MEJune 19, 2014
Comfortable environment for work Staff was professional, work was able and competent. hardest part was working around food I wanted to eat, I enjoyed being surrounded by a good atmosphere of people as well as my fellow co workers, I learned a lot of new things like properly cutting fruits how to store food in freezers how to clean meats and dishes properly – more... after using them with certain foods. I enjoyed my time there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Train Attendant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 16, 2014
The site was your helpful it helped me out a lot. I got this job coming out of college this job gave me the opportunity to travel to interact with multiple people and there personalities this has great benefits for a up and coming young man as myself. I'm still looking for a job in the field which is chemistry (engineering).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Department Operates on Cronyism
IT Professional (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 6, 2014
Pros: good peer relatonships
Cons: incompetent management. rule by fear and threats. no loyalty.
Entire IT Department (including senior managers) is run based on personal friendships and secret relationships. No coordination or loyalty. People who have been solid contributers are shown the door with no notice, while others who do no work but are friends-or more- with important people are hired for jobs that they are not qualified, promoted, and – more... kept around. Majority of managers are clueless. There are some really good people here but they are not valued. Projects suffer because there is no coordination amongst the teams because of distrust and incompentence. Guess how many projects get delivered on time and on budget? This place is so political and toxic it's ridiculous. Time to move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Union/ Poor management
Reservations Sales Agent (Former Employee), Riverside, CAMay 25, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: no advancement
Great co-workers and some supervisors. The management cares little about employees health. Their attendance policy is a way to keep rotating hiring by only allowing 10 attendances in a rolling calendar. Which, is longer than a full year. I was ill with the flu and they didn't accept documents from the ER. They forced me to resign or be fired. Be careful – more... if you work for the call center. Employees health isn't concerned in the attendance policy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to Travel
Train Attendant (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 14, 2014
Great job if you like to travel. Good benefits. Great work schedule. Family benefits. Friendly locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning something new everyday through research and friendships
Senior Contract Administration Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 17, 2014
Pros: keeping current with events, maintaining good friendships
Cons: long commute
As an auditor in a national organization keeping up to date with current events is challenging. This is particularly important when responsible for paying for services to many outside partners. While some functions may be repetitive, many are new or are in the evolution of change. These require contacts to field personnel, other departments, or searching – more... a previous contact with a similar issue. Maintaining friendly relationships with co-workers is not only important for personal needs but for work information as well. In large organizations various departments have information that is beneficial to another area. Keeping up to date with changes within an organization and changes in the industry is also of great importance. Obtaining information in a timely manner is crucial to performing a job on time. Plus, learning is an everyday event at work. I learn something new every day. The more people I know, the more I learn, and the better I can perform the duties of my position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 9, 2014
Nice place to work, conveniently located, great technologies used.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crews to work with and great passengers with great stories
Lead Service Attendant (Former Employee), New York New YorkMarch 27, 2014
Pros: co-workers and passengers
Cons: working long hauls due to the lack of sleep.
Day started out counting stock to ensure correct stock is on board for the trip. Trips could be anywhere from 5 hours to a 4 day trip
I learned how to walk on a moving train without falling or spilling hot coffee.
Co-workers were great people.
Hardest part of the job, lack of sleep. At times I would start my trip at 3 A.M. and not get off work till – more... 12:A.M. then back to work at 5:A.M. ( this was on long haul trips.)
The most enjoyable part of this job was the passengers and co-workers. Passengers were very interesting, as there was people from all over the world and told many stories of their country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Career
Engineer Work Equipment/Machine Operator/Trackman (Current Employee), Providence, RIMarch 24, 2014
Working for Amtrak you have the potential for a long career. Once getting grounded and involved in the company there may be oppotrunities for you to move into a position within Amtrak that interests you more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 24, 2014
Cons: healthcare
Love to come to work everday to enteract with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Energetic place to work
Senior Business Liaison/Senior Process Manager (Current Employee), Washington DCMarch 19, 2014
The workplace is extremely friendly and helpful. I have learned a great deal about government policy and finances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours good rest time
RESTAURANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 6, 2014
Pros: good rest time
Cons: long hours
Long Hours Good rest time. Management leaves you alone.
Become regular and you will have several days off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position involving multifaceted aspect of Public Health
Senior Public Health Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CA; Western Region of United StatesMarch 5, 2014
Pros: learning new things by giving and attending presentations
Cons: away from family often.
Traveling and inspecting trains, watering points, mechanical facilities, and conducting investigations. Everyday and trip is unique. I work with various department to coach, inspect, educate, and encourage behaviors that will result in better health outcomes for staff and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive workplace
Service Attendant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: discussed upon interview
Cons: discussed upon interview
Typical day consisted of monitoring of onboard food service distribution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, secure job
Electrician (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: job security, benefits, retirement plan
Cons: management
Solid place to work job security wise. If you do not know anyone on the inside do not bother applying. Would be a great place if jobs were filled and safety was a real concern for management. Lots of down or in between time can make for a boring environment at times but money is fair and co workers are courteous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn about railroading
Senior Track Engineer (Current Employee), Jackson, MIDecember 5, 2013
Good place to learn about railroading

Good place to learn about railroading
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work invironment.
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Riverside, CANovember 18, 2013
I loved the people i worked with. A typical work day consisted of answering multiple calls, problem solve customer complaints and and provide the best possible customer service to every caller.

1 2 3 4 5

About Amtrak

Amtrak trains connect businesses and communities across the country and move America’s workforce toward the future. Amtrak – Read more