Amtrak Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working conditions and excellent supervision to work for
Manager of Safety (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 8, 2017
An excellent place to work. I have advanced myself from union to management. Promoted over 6 times as my career advanced. Would like to continue working there.
Pros
Excellenet benefits and advancement opportunities
Cons
Amtrak has begun to overlook employees with institutional knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unstable
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 8, 2017
Very unstable- weak leadership- behind on all processes - poor leadership- inconsistency in job evaluation and compensation- unfairness and discrimination.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work place
Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 6, 2017
make sure the staff have their stocks to do their job.assist staffs in preparations for all beverages and menu item as needed. you get to meet so many different people from around the world.
Pros
meet a lot of intresting people
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job culture
Train Conductor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 6, 2017
working for Amtrak was truly my favorite job overall. the hardest part is the time away from family. They have great benefits, great advancement opportunities
Pros
great pay
Cons
time away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personal cleaner
Janitorial/Personal cleaner (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 2, 2017
clean office trailers for layover and destination trains as well as the other offices, clean toilets, vacuum, mop, dust. they provide all of the supplies for me.
Pros
doesnt take me long to complete the task
Cons
monthly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOC is a great place to work
Network Operations Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sandy Springs, GAJuly 31, 2017
Very nice working environment in the NOC, good team chemistry. Nice view to relax in, everyone was cordial. We had good tools to work with, opportunity to grow was possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer experience increases ridership..
Service Attendant / Train Attendant (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 30, 2017
A typical day at Amtrak is about on time performance with a number one goal of focusing on safety for employees and passengers. Keeping the passenger experience in mind is critical in the overall details of our mission to provide great ridership.
Pros
Cross country travel
Cons
Unforseen traffic jams as with all travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
material control clerk (Former Employee) –  Rensselaer, NYJuly 27, 2017
Amtrak is a great job but its not a job a its a career you have great benifits to very good pay.I love my job everyday is different day it never gets old.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization
Contract Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 20, 2017
I enjoyed working with the various groups within Amtrak. They are professional and work hard to ensure timely and safe operations of their trains and their systems.
Amtrak's culture is performance based with an emphasis on safety.
I thoroughly enjoyed working with IT leadership and management.
Pros
Progressive and performance based management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and Clean Office Environment
Administrative Assistant; Claims Department (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA 90012July 17, 2017
A typical day at work is full of paperwork and emails for an Administrative Assistant. I've learned several great skills, and even have have sharpened some of my other skills. I have received my CPR and First Aid Certification through this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relief Station Agent / Station Services
Relief Agent / Station Services (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJuly 15, 2017
• Provided rail transportation services to the public.
• Responsible for all train station activities when Station Agent (MOD).


Station Agent is solely responsible for all activities during the work shift.
Pros
free train tickets
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting engaging work space
Government Affairs Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 12, 2017
I could not recommend working here enough. Everyone in the office is committed to their job and genuinely care about their work and their co-workers. Working here is the best decision you can ever make.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
DevOps / Build & Release Engineer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 10, 2017
good i am satisfied with the work and i like the environment in amtrack good place for me . i was very happy to work their and the location os comfortablr fo rme
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amtrak
Invoice Analyst (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 10, 2017
I learned several new systems within a very short amount of time here. I also assisted more than one department with their everyday operations. I was always very busy and faced a variety of new challenges daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Reservation Agent (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJuly 7, 2017
Everything at amtrak is good, the only thing i didn't like was the hours they really didn't offer full-time schedules. but you can always pick up extra shifts to make the hours you need
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place right now
Director (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 5, 2017
America's Railroad is a horrible place to be right now. HR, Human Capital is being run by a group of very incompetent leaders. There is a cut throat mentality throughout this place.
Pros
free train travel
Cons
HR Leader is zero HR expertise. Good ole boy network
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Assistant Chief / Train Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA 02110July 2, 2017
Working in Boston is great, able to ride train to anywhere in country is a plus. Taking the job home was daily due to a high stress environment that was company driven.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Ticket Agent/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 2, 2017
Amtrak is a great company to work for. The benefits are good and you learn alot of different things. My experience with the company has been amazing.I love my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place but bad management
Coach Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 28, 2017
Good job to work for but bad management and the job itself its a lot of work. If the management was better than it will be a better place to work for. I just go to the safety meeting, get my lineup then do my job.
Pros
Pay, Paid time off and benefits
Cons
Management, not enough employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Sr. VMware Administrator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 27, 2017
I am done with my projects so have to move out soon.This is a Good place and i can recommend my friend too .Working from a long time so feeling bad o leave this one early but i have to leave this and move on.Thats it for share .
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Amtrak. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 381 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5