Anchor Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst
Social Services (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 11, 2018
Working at this place is the worst and if you are considering it RUN as far away possible. There need to be a new director put in place that can actually lead the team and show true appreciation towards them. No one should be treated like a slave ever.
Pros
Some great coworkers
Cons
Underpaid and overworked, leadership needs Big Help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Counselor (Former Employee) –  GANovember 29, 2017
A typical day is full of CHAOS. The management team is ineffective. And, employs favoritism in daily duties. Would be a nice place to work under new management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment, great people
Social Services Counselor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2017
It is always busy within the walls of Anchor, but the staff and clients make the time go by fast and keep you focused on the goal of stabilization efforts for the client.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but fun people to work with
Clinical Counselor Intern (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 8, 2017
Working in a psychiatric hospital can be stressful but the support of the team members was helpful and made the days go by. I would recommend the services provided to a friend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Groups
Substance Abuse Therapist (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 24, 2017
I conducted substance abuse groups in a partial hospitalization setting. Working as a team we shared material and techniques. Management was readily available to assist with patients as needed. Workplace culture is fast paced but manageable. The hardest part of the job is finding aftercare placements for continued treatment. Th most enjoyable part of the job is seeing results in the patients.
Pros
Flexibility of material
Cons
Not enough aftercare facilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New leadership and staff making a difference
Employee (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 12, 2017
I've worked at Anchor for several years doing both direct care and a quasi-management role, so I've observed the changes (both positive and negative) in hospital leadership, culture, patient care, clinical safety and the overall "feel" of the hospital.

Due to the nature of the work (e.g., caring for a wide variety of patients with mental health/substance abuse needs), it's very challenging. Caring for people who are in crisis and may want to actively harm themselves or even you is definitely not easy, so nurses, social workers and mental health associates (MHAs) are tasked with a difficult job that requires vigilance, compassion, teamwork, skill, and true love for the work.

Balancing all that on day-to-day basis is hard, but speaking from my own experience, it's beyond rewarding when you actually see/help patients get better (e.g., get on the correct meds, become oriented and stable, start processing trauma in groups, learn better coping skills, etc).

Some good changes have already happened (e.g., culture is safer with more accountability) but hospital has not "arrived" yet.

Overall, very glad/encouraged to see new leadership and direct care staff with a renewed focus on upgrading the facility, teamwork, and keeping both patients and each other safe.
Pros
Quality patient care; transformed culture; new leadership and committed staff
Cons
Older facility; inter-dept. communication better but can still improve; long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This jobs varied
Mental Health Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 5, 2017
The actual job and responsibilities were great but management was very poor. There was never enough support and that is important in a psychiatric setting. The management was disconnected from the staff that provided direct care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Mental Health Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 18, 2017
Thay has good working culture.but the Management is judgemental,
there is discrimination in anchor hospital between African America and Africans, a lot of white patients complain that their bills are higher compared to Black patients.
Pros
Good Workers
Cons
Discrimination
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume work enviornment.
Assessor (Intake) (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 13, 2017
The job is very stressful. Sometimes no time for break. Some good co-workers. You will learn how to get precerts and learn the information needed to bill for certain levels of care. Most enjoyable part of the job is helping the patient. The hardest part of the job is managing the temperament of co-workers. You must have a tough skin
Pros
Steady pay
Cons
Verbal altercations with staff almost daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast Pace
Assessment and Referral Counselor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 11, 2017
Great entry level job for recent graduates learning the assessment and screening process for psychiatric and substance abuse patients. Management was well rounded and helpful in educational moments of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 4, 2017
Great place to work. Staff was always available to address any and every question or concern. Excellent benefits. Safe facility to residents and staff members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place To Work
Manager of Integrated Services (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 2, 2017
It appears the hospital was neglected, however there is a new Energetic CEO and things are quickly turning around. He is making necessary changes to make Anchor a better place to work and care for those in need
Pros
All Pros
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental Health environment, serving patients diagnosed with psychiatric/behavioral
Mental Health Assistant (Former Employee) –  College Park, GAMarch 11, 2017
As an Mental health associate at Anchor hospital I had the opportunity to observe the different states of mental health illness. The environment consist of adolescence, geriatrics, and detox patients who were all experiencing some form of psychosis. I was responsible for observing/documenting patients behavior, exercising expressive therapy, and maintaining medical records.
Many days at the workplace was unpredictable and difficult, due to the environment itself. In which the patients may become violent towards staff or each other. Although training for such behavior was provided, it didn't dictate the potential escalation.
However, during this experience I observed that mental health has no respect of persons. And has given another purpose for me to provide exceptional patient care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
DIRECTOR OF IT (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 28, 2017
Great 10 year run! Provided good job stability! Could have been a little more competitive when it came to compensaation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Utilization Review Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, GAFebruary 1, 2017
Managment changes every 3 months
They can not keep a director for that long. They have had 4 interm CEO and Directors within the last 2 years. Terrible management and Human Resource. The attitudes at this job allows for people to try to talk to you any kind of way and treat you any kind of way. Human resource gives you interviews according to if they like the way you look or act towards them, they do not even care about your credentials. They will put people with little to no experience in high acute settings. Terrible place to work seriously. Please Please Please think hard about what type of employment environement you are used to before working here. They also underpay you for the work that needs to be done. Other employees put their work off on you also. They don't staff properly for the census of patients therefore you will have to cover other's shift. They did not want to pay me for my professional licensure when I recieved it while working there. It took them 3 months to pay me for my LMSW. Not a good place to work, unless you are entry level.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patients were wonderful, management horrible.
Mental Health Associate (Former Employee) –  College Park, GASeptember 2, 2016
This could have been a good company, but I think they just care about the money. Staff is treated worse than an inmate. If no one shows up at the end of your shift, you are supposed to just stay and do another shift. They don't care and management turned over four times in four years. The experience with patients was great and it is sad that they are in such a poor work environment. Patient group therapy was the only reason I stayed as long as I did. Management needs to be reorganized and structured. Employees need better treatment.
Pros
Patients, free lunch.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult place to work
Data Entry/AR Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 24, 2016
The company was very difficult to work for, they lacked organization skill, every day was very challenging to me as well as my co workers.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
No Organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An absolute nightmare!
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Stockbridge, GAFebruary 4, 2016
Management is a joke! The DON is the devil! You are treated like you're an idiot. Patients sre supposed to come first....ALWAYS! Patient care means nothing to them. It's all about the Benjamins!
Pros
None
Cons
Management treat you very badly! DON especially!
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking Ethics, Compassion, and Understanding
Mental Health Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 6, 2015
Poorly managed facility. A lack of psychological ethics and sensitivities to patient mental health. I hope the staff reads and researches the DSM thoroughly one day.
Pros
Free Junk Food
Cons
Poor Treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 62No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Mental Health Intern (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 2, 2015
This was an internship so I made the best of it. i enjoyed working with the patients but for some of the staff, things were different. I love that I was able to make a difference in many lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Anchor Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.5
Culture
2.8