Find companies:
Animal Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Animal Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time goes by very fast because there is always something to do.
Customer Service (Current Employee), Sauk Village, ILMarch 5, 2014
Pros: get first had info on new products for pets.
Cons: there is no healthcare coverage because the business is a small facility.
I love working with the animals, and helping their owners understand illnesses or care issues. The Doctor I work for is very knowledgeable and likes to explain things. No day is the same and I like the flexibility of the job. The hardest part of the job is when an owner has to put a pet to sleep. Many of them I have had contact with since they were – more... puppies, so it is like loosing my own pet. Most enjoyable part is when an illness is cured or a new pet is brought into a family. We also delivery puppies by C-section so when a liter is born healthy it is very enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very clean atomosphere
Kennel assistant (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAFebruary 27, 2014
*typical day was feeding, cleaning, walking animals
*the managment wasnt the best
*hardest part about the job was seeing the sick injured animals
*the best part was seeing them get better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to help people and their beloved pets under a harsh work environment.
Veterinary Technician (Former Employee), Hesperia, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: we had a break room
Cons: they took away our paid vacations and healthcare benefits when bought out.
This company was ran by money driven owners with a horrible financial adviser. Rude and uncaring of their staff. A typical day consisted of me caring for hospitalized animals assisting the doctor in and out of surgery, checking patients into rooms, making prescriptions going over estimates with clients in the exam rooms, radiology and performing blood – more... work on pets as well as placing and removing IV catheters, dental hygiene on cats and dogs, sedating pets and preparing them for surgery. Assisting the receptionist at the front desk and at times being the receptionist. Cleaning and laundry. Hardest part was getting in trouble for laundry not being caught up while I was up to my eyeballs in patient care. My co workers were great, we all stuck together as a team and supported one another. I would say my most enjoyable part of the job was seeing our patients come back in to our hospital healthy for a recheck with the doctor. And then watching them leave with their happy owners. Management did the best he could under harsh and unpredictable ownership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Animal Medical Center has allowed me to learn the skills I need to be a better manager and employee.
Hospital Administrator (Current Employee), Anniston, ALJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: helping pets
Cons: this can be an emotional atmosphere.
A typical day at Animal Medical Center is usually pretty busy. We are blessed to be able to help people and their pets. The hardest part would have to be when someone has to make a decision about their pet's medical treatment that may end the pets suffering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hospital
Kennel attendant, and general assistant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 21, 2013
Pros: solid work hours
Cons: no room for advancement
I tended to all the healthy animals,walking, feeding and cleaning. I learned how to deal with customers and animals. The managment was ok but I was there six years and could not get a promotion. I loved the other people. The hardest part was seeing the sick and dieing. the best part is playing with the puppies and talking to clients about the animals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work.
Employee (Current Employee), Madisonville, KYOctober 18, 2013
Best part of working here is the discounts. No raises, no lunches or breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Anniston, ALSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: working and dealing with animals
Cons: euthanasias
*I loved working around animals.
*I loved working with pet owners.
*I had long breaks.
*I learned how to schedule/cancel appointments.
*I learned Receptionist Skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good experience
Certified Veterinary Technician (Current Employee), Nashua, NHAugust 29, 2013
Working at the animal medical center of new england and animal hospital of nashua, has been a great learning experience. I have been taught how to take my skills as a general practice technician and use them to care for more critical animals. I am extremely thankful for the learning experiences I have gained from this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Receptionist/Kennel (Former Employee), Findlay, OhioJuly 20, 2013
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: hours
checking in animals for surgery or procedures, boarding of animals, checking in clients for appoiontments, assisting doctor with their needs, inventory, ordering, answering phones
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location.
Technician/Technician Asst., Receptionist, Kennels (Current Employee), Mission Viejo, CAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: location, scheduling, discounts on pets
Cons: no paid vacation, no 10 hour work shifts
I like that throughout the day I work in all of the sections of the hospital. I like the constant change of place and duties. All the co workers get along with one another which creates a peaceful environment. Hardest part of the job is watching people loose their pet. Most enjoyable part is all the fun faces and wagging tails
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animals
Front Desk / Vet Tech. (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJune 26, 2013
I loved working here. I learned so much form the Doctor. Was involed with surgurys and exams. Gave shots, meds, and weighed the animals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best veterinary clinics in Amarillo, TX
Receptionist (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXJune 16, 2013
Pros: all of the above
Cons: 2 hour lunch break
This practice has 4 doctors and 2 RVTs. It offers digital radiographs, ultrasound, laser therapy and treats some exotic species. These are pretty rare finds in Amarillo, TX!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical general practice environment
Veterinary technician (Current Employee), Covington, LAMay 5, 2013
typical general practice environment with mildly laid back employees who genuinely care about the well-being of companion animals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great veterinary clinic with excellent DVM staff and technician staff
Veterinary technician (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNApril 27, 2013
Pros: great staff and location, and 24 hour availability
At Animal Medical Center it is clear that patient care comes first. All doctors and staff approach their job with the utmost professionalism and character. After working there I have learned a great deal about emergency care of patients as well as the effect of different treatments and/or medications to ensure further life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Veterinary Technician/ Receptionist (Former Employee), van nuys californiaApril 2, 2013
I learned a lot from one particular manager (no longer works there) who cared and took the time to teach his staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok working there
Client Services Representative (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 12, 2013
They need much help with management. The hardest part of the job is when a pet had to be put to sleep.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job.
Receptionist (Former Employee), Harriman, TNMarch 4, 2013
Pros: it was great getting discounts on medication's, food and vaccines, it was great getting a free lunch during office meetings, it was great working part time, as we all did due to the high stress of working in this type of job.
Cons: sometimes there was a little stress, with sick or dying pets, sometimes it couldn't be avoided.
I love working with a lot of people, the busier, the better for me. I've enjoyed most everyone I've ever worked with for the most part, I think the most difficult part is when the owner's of pets are needing to let their pets go due to fragile health conditions. I've learned so much from working at a vet's office, and the female vet's can't be beat, – more... they've all been wonderful ladies to work for, from the office manager, to all my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working with the animals and assisting the Veterinarian
Pet Groomer (Former Employee), Charleston, ILJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: the environment, being around animals
A typical work day I would take care of the animals in the kennel and clean the back runs.. Groom dogs off and on during the day. Assist the Vet or in the lobby when needed. I felt I got along with my co-workers, The hardest part was making sure the grooms were done the the clients expectations, and so see an animal in pain or pass away. I love taking – more... care of the animals that came into the facility, and assisting the Vet in surgeries and assisting in the delivery of puppies or kittens. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work content is the best part
Veterinary Technician (Former Employee), Anniston, ALDecember 7, 2012
I enjoyed working there because I learned so much about veterinary medicine. It is an emergency clinic so you have an opportunity to see a lot of diverse medical experiences. The people you might work with are somewhat two faced and if they don't like you they will get rid of you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the animlas
Front Receptionist/ Office Manager (Former Employee), Tempe, AZOctober 21, 2012
Pros: loved all the animals, always made me smile
Cons: seeing the mistreated ones brought in by the state.
When i got there in the morning got all charts ready for all surgery patients...then worked on the days patients coming in for routine visits...performed computer data entry, worked with doctors for medical review, assisted doctors during surgery if short handed, made employee schedules and posted financial information to companies financial agenda.