Find companies:
Ann Taylor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
204 reviews

Ann Taylor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrrrrrrrrrrrrribleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Stock & Sales associate (Former Employee), Lee maJune 25, 2013
Pros: none unless you're a girl then you get a discount
Cons: read the review.
We would get over 100 boxes of clothes that was single packed and not organized at all. There was usually only 2-3 people scheduled to organized, fold/hand all of the clothes and jewelry and finish by the end of the night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Management changes way too much!
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Gaffney, SCJune 17, 2013
Work days were fun and busy. I've learned all sorts of things. Workers were fun. The hardest part of the job was working with a manager who goes against every policy and procedure that was put in place. If the company set them, they must be there to use. I would think! What made it even harder they allowed this manager to manage 2yrs. There was another – more... manager who never wanted to work but wanted to get paid. And when this manager was there no one saw her face until it was time to go home, after working 4 hrs. She also managed 2yrs. WOW! It blows my mine. At times it left me to question have you ever managed before or did you just slap it down on your resume and call it a day! The vice president at the time could not add. I wonder can he now! Everything else was just peachy! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with fun employees
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Marietta, GAJune 13, 2013
Pros: my co-workers became my good friends
Cons: short breaks, no hours ever
A typical day at work consisted of greeting customers as the walked in and out of the store. I worked with customers on the main sales floor and in the dressing room. I helped them find the perfect outfit to wear on a date, something for a vacation, etc. I opened and closed with another lead associate/manager; working on mark downs, re-arranging the – more... store, restocking the clothes. The main goal for each day was to encourage people to sign up for our credit card. I learned that was the hardest thing to do. No one wanted another credit card, and if you asked them, they already had it. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the expressions on our customer's faces when you helped them achieve what they were looking for. The management was about the same as any other job. Certain managers were respectable, while others were not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly an amazing company to work for as it helps you to grow into a multi-talent manager
Store Manager/Co-manager (Current Employee), Corte Madera, CAJune 4, 2013
Pros: great benefits, ft receives pto + vacation time + sick pay time.
Cons: short breaks, there's not a work/life balance, does not meet up to standards.
I am grateful for the experiences that The Loft has given me this past year and a half. We pretty much do EVERYTHING there, and by this I mean, we are responsible for merchandising, leading the store and team, maintaining our customer services, stock, windows, and store operations, all in one day. The Loft definitely builds your characters up and truly – more... gives you a strong foundation to move forward with your endeavors. My co-workers have been amazing and we have transitioned together through the good and bad times. The hardest part is probably right now as we just got a new SM whom haven't yet been fully assimilated into the store and team. But the most enjoyable part of this job was to meet the many amazing people I worked with, and was able to work with the customers who are loyal to the brand. I love when I am able to make a customer smile and walk away wanting to come back to see me. Overall, The Loft has been a great experience, however, I am ready for a new endeavor because I want a work/life balance and I no longer feel that The Loft is able to live up to that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ann Taylor Review
Stylist/Sales Lead (Current Employee), Reston, VAJune 2, 2013
I have worked for Ann Taylor Inc for over 2 years, working for this company has furthered my experience in the retail industry and I have learned many things as an associate. I work with customers on the sales floor as well as in the fitting rooms, coordinating outfits suited for their office attire and their wardrobe for traveling and events outside – more... of the workplace. I have gained much experience working at the register, selling Ann Taylor credit cards during transactions. I have acquired visual merchandising skills and customer service techniques that benefit our clients. I enjoy working with my fellow co workers, who all feel like friends and not strangers, we have had many different store managers in and out of the store, but our current one, I can say with confidence is one of the best I've worked with and I feel much more relaxed as opposed to stressed when coming into work. My store manager is easy to talk to about any concerns I have about the store, scheduling, and the company as a whole. Ann Taylor Inc has educated me in the fashion industry and has made my passion for that industry much more interesting and fun for me to learn. I enjoy my job very much and I love coming to work. The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers who really appreciate the time and effort I give to help them find exactly what they need and I pay attention to their needs and wants. The hardest part of the job is dealing with clients who are not always at their best, but regardless I try to keep them as satisfied as possible as well as try and find the best solution for whatever problem they have encountered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Customer Service (Former Employee), Braintree, MAMay 29, 2013
Pros: discount on glasses
Cons: short breaks
Selling customers prescription or non prescription sun glasses. This job has improved my Customer Service skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly enjoyable, not many hours.
Stylist Associate (Current Employee), Lehigh Valley, PAMay 27, 2013
I learned about visuals, like dressing mannequins, banners... etc. I did stock and shipment. I also would help women find clothing and know what looked good on them and what was in style. The management was good and I enjoyed working with my co-workers. The hardest part was some of the clients. I really enjoyed working on shipment and rearranging the – more... store when we would get new collections. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here for two months
Stock (Former Employee), Aventura, FLMay 17, 2013
Pros: learned a new skill
Cons: not satisfied with hours
was dissatisfied with hours. Co workers we're cool. They manager only gave me four hours a week and that wasn't enough to live by
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cypress, TexasMay 16, 2013
Pros: always have a break, and half off merchandise
Cons: no health benefits, work all weekends.
I clock in and a manager will give me a warm up that includes the sales goal for the day and then tells me where to go. I can handle the registers, work the fitting rooms, or be out on the floor assisting clients with whatever they are looking for. This job has really helped me understand good customer service and taught me to be more approachable to – more... others. The management was great at first and was extremely flexible with all schedules. Not so much with the new management. I enjoy all of my co-workers they are all very kind and patient. The hardest part of the job would have to be standing for long hours and working all weekends/ most holidays. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting really great people and helping women find clothes that they feel good in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An extremely comfortable environment to work in
BUYER for Missy Dresses (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 13, 2013
Pros: it was the ideal job for someone like me; who appreciates the corporate environment, i enjoyed working with women's clothing and accessories
Cons: the schedule is not flexible and it requires travel into nyc
I loved working at Ann Taylor. I agreed with the core values of the company; to have a balance of work and life outside of work.
I loved having input in the collection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee), Rockaway, NJMay 12, 2013
Payroll
HR- recruiting, interviewing, hiring, training,coaching
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Somerset Collection, Troy MIMay 7, 2013
THIS IS ONLY FOR THE SOMERSET COLLECTION LOCATION. ANY NEGATIVE COMMENTS ARE NOT TOWARD THE COMPANY AS A WHOLE, JUST AT THE SINGLE LOCATION. The clients at Somerset are generally very snobby. I don't like how we can't tell people to leave. I have school along with this, and when I close, we close at 9, then leave at 10. Every time, someone is in there – more... until about 9:30-9:45, and I don't get out until about 11.
Also, I don't like how we can't do anything about the clients. My manager was on the floor picking up clothes, and a woman hit her in the head with a hanger and said "MOVE.", and there is nothing we can do about it.
The other workers, too, are always causing problems and stress to everyone else, but they fired the person who couldn't make it to work because no one could cover for her when she had to take her dog to the vet.
The pay is ok, but other than that, I don't like working here at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous people to work with
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSMay 6, 2013
The other employees and managers are very encouraging and supportive. They are a great group of people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and quiet office
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ellenton, FLMay 6, 2013
Nice management and good work environment. Sometimes it can be boring if you run out of things to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Sales Associate/ Credit Card Coach (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 5, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, great retail environment, great schedule
Cons: pay and lack of promotion
The company was an okay place to work. What is a deal breaker for a lot of employees is the pay. Managers worked well with me when it came down to scheduling. They were understanding and willing to teach. When it came to being promoted and getting more pay, management looked the other way. I worked with a great group because everyone was aware of their – more... strengths and combined it to reach sale goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Stock Lead (Current Employee), Aventura, FLApril 29, 2013
Huge discount on clothes, well paid, no hours. Poor management when it comes to communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 26, 2013
Pros: great great great.
Cons: non
great environment to work. nice hours. you get to build client relationship. they also work with students and school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Sales Associate/Stock (Current Employee), Deer Park, NYApril 12, 2013
Great interaction with clients and co-workers. The environment is clean, respectable, and organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educating Workplace
Style Associate (Current Employee), Fairfield, CTApril 11, 2013
Since starting at Ann Taylor I have learned a lot about the many different aspects that go into retail stores that most customers don't realize.
I have become more organized when completing tasks and have realized the importance of finishing in a timely manner while taking into consideration every tiny detail. I have also learned the importance of patience – more... when working with others to make for a smoother and more productive interaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The grass is not always greener
Corporate (Former Employee), New YorkApril 10, 2013
Pros: work life balance, compensation
Cons: no growth, advancement or development
I was passively recruited to join Ann Inc and in 20/20 hindsight it was the biggest mistake of my life. Having worked in a corp role I was able to see much that "went on behind the scenes". The truth about this company is they offer very little career advancement. They use a rating for employees who in their opinion are not performing called "out placed". – more... These out placed individuals then become a target for "moving out of the business" rather then coached and developed to better perform. The average new hire has a shelf life with Ann Inc of approx 6 months where they are then praised or deemed to faced a dark destiny. There is little to no development , feedback, coaching or investment in their employees. I would not recommend this employer to ANYONE who actually wants growth within their career. Ann says "they get woman" hard to believe cause first you would have to "get people" – less

About Ann Taylor

ANN: a name favored by royalty and commoners, as well as a company recognized for its aspirational luxury and feminine wear-to-work – Read more