Find companies:
Annas Linens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Annas Linens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
$7/hr selfish hiring manager
Cashier (Current Employee), WestheimerMarch 18, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: pay, staff, labor
If I have over 10 years customer service exp why waste my time with such a low pay. What happen to competitive wage? I'm surprised such a high dollar place would have such a low hourly rate really sad. I will pass
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn
Supervisor (Current Employee), DurhamDecember 27, 2013
A typical day at work consist of providing excellent customer service while providing what a customer needs. I learned how to relate to customer so that a choice can be made by the customer and they can leave confident knowing they made the right choice. Nothing is hard about the job, if you can provide customer service then you can fit in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee), Elk Grove, CAOctober 26, 2013
Great place to work. You can learn a lot about the business and their core value. The hardest part about the job would be the day when we get truck. We would get anywhere from 200 to 500 box a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Customer service, sales, Supervisor (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJuly 2, 2013
Pros: meeting new people. networking
Cons: not enough hours
I would open the store set up register for the day. Count down safe and recover store. Directing associtates of task for the day. Helping customer find things they needed and up saleing items. I have learned time management, and also management skills. The hardest part of my job was when the system would go down. I would have to call register support – more... and we would figure out the problem together. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the customers. They would come in and need directions on how to fix up their bedrooms, bathroom, and living rooms. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place but not so fun anymore
Sales Associate, cashier (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILJune 5, 2013
Annas linens Is a nice place to work but I can honestly say that the people in my work place aren't so nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
sales associate (Former Employee), houston texasJune 5, 2013
Pros: discount
Cons: everything else
I worked at a houston store for 2 yrs and I honestly liked it but after a few months i found out how petty and lazy the sm,am and supv werewere. Assoc. were expected to do all the work and the managers and supv got to relax in the break room with family which is not allowed. Ppl were fired for nothing just plain messy. So i would advise anyone who is – more... thinking about working here think again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs New Store Manager who appriates her employees
associate (Current Employee), IndioMay 22, 2013
Pros: learning great customer service and learn how to decorate
Cons: very little hours, no appreciation for good customer service, mistreated, unfair scheduling, no raises and no bonus plan
The Store manager has to be always right and If you make a mistake you can see your hours on the schedule drop to one day. Not fair at all. It's hard to ask for a day off for a personal reason because the store manager takes it as if you don't want to work therefore you will see your hours drop to one day or two. You never get a set schedule it is always – more... changing except for management. But the store manager gets vacation and time off whenever she asks for it. There is no future there and the store manager has a very unprofessional way of speaking to her employees and is very rude to customer complaints. She needs to be retrained or suspended without pay and maybe her attitude will change on how she treats her associates at Indio's Anna's Linens and maybe her associate's will want to come to work instead of calling off . Customers can compliment the associate's and the Store Manager does not take it into consideration at all it just goes into one ear and out the other. None of our work as an employee here goes recognized. Employee stay locked in the store alone while the manager leaves to the bank to make a deposit if you work in the morning with no keys. this is very dangerous especially because we are known for earthquakes in our city. Employees here also drop like flies what does this tell you about who is running the place??? NO BONUS PLAN OR RAISES AFTER YOUR 90 DAYS – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE place to work...
Supervisor (Former Employee), EL Paso, TXMay 21, 2013
Pros: 20% discount
Cons: please read review
WHERE DO I BEGIN...
1.I recently left Anna's Linens for the fact I was looking for a job that had opportunity to advance. IT IS VERY RARE that they promote within the company. The DM, SM, and AM bring in people they know from outside the company because they get incentives when they refer somebody. So they all work together so THEY only get the incentives. – more... Also, the company pays for ALL the DM's and store managers to take a paid, 1 week, vacation twice a year WHEN they could use that money to give their associates better raises. They start you off at a fair pay but then they turn around and give you 5cent raises:( EXAMPLE: self- I started out at 8.25, worked their for 3yrs, and when I left I wasn't even close to making $9.

2, The DM's and store managers are very unprofessional and will disciplin you in front of a crowd instead of one on one in the office to correct your error.

3. The aprons they make you wear cause alot of stress around the neck. REALLY, all they need is an Anna's Linen polo shirt, pants, and name tag.

4. When the stores are expecting a visit is the only time the schedules are set out for weeks in advance, but the associates are informed not to follow the schedule because its only for looks because of the visit. In reality, the schedule is always changing on a daily basis. Giving No time to work around it.

5. NO BREAKS. If your working 5hrs or less dont expect a break, and if your working 6hrs or more you only get 1/2hr lunch and you cannot leave the store:/

6. You get blamed if the store doesn't make budget or if you get a low score on your monthly secret shopper. THEY TAKE YOU OFF THE SCEDULE:( so you loose your weeks pay.

7. The quality of their comforters are horrible. They want you to sell, sell, sell, but how could I sell these poorly made items if I, myself, wouldnt even buy them.

8. No vacation for part-time. If you ask for time off, they get upset and make you close for awhile.

9. DON'T CALL IN SICK! That will spread through email from SM to DM, and all sorts of new rules are made in your honor. So, in other words, NO SICK DAYS.

10. Only the SM and AM benefit from contest between stores. The SM gets a 250 gift card, the AM manager gets a 150 gift card (both gift cards to ANNAs of course) While all the other employees get a $25 party they have to split. So we pretty much had no choice but to order $5 pizzas:(

I can go on and on, but I think I've said enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management really sours things
Sale Rep (Former Employee), TexasApril 16, 2013
Pros: met some... and i do mean only some, good people
Cons: management.
management is lazy and expect a ridiculous amount of tasks be completed. Also very cliquish. if you are not in the 'in' group youbare treated poorly and hours are cut drastically. Honestly if I could give them no stars I would.

wouldntyouliketoknow – May 22, 2013

I agree with everything you said! I guess its not just going on here in California. Here is my compliant about this store I am an associate at... The Store manager has to be always right and If you make a mistake you can see your hours on the schedule drop to one day. Not fair at all. It's hard to ask for a day off for a personal reason because the store manager takes it as if you don't want to work therefore you will see your hours drop to one day or two. But the store manager gets vacation and time off whenever she asks for it. There is no future there and the store manager has a very unprofessional way of speaking to her employees and is very rude to customer complaints. She needs to be retrained or suspended without pay and maybe her attitude will change on how she treats her associates at Indio's Anna's Linens and maybe her associate's will want to come to work instead of calling off . Customers can compliment the associate's and the Store Manager does not take it into consideration at all it just goes into one ear and out the other. None of our work as an employee here goes recognized. Employees at the Indio's Anna's Linens drop like flies what does that tell you about who's running the store???

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun outgoing staff
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Jose, CAApril 6, 2013
Pros: always busy, do-it-yourself displays
Cons: part time, minimum wage
I've only been working here for a few months but I love it. The staff is fun and outoing. We work as a team and will try our hardest to make our guests happy. Managment is awesome. She is open minded and knows that life gives you lemons and helps work with your schedule. I love it. :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and positive area
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Indio, CAMarch 26, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: short hours
my day at work consist of checking customers out, ensure the store is put together, and ensuring customers needs are met. i learned how to properly use a cash register and how to meet a customers needs by providing the best quality in the items they are looking for. the managers do their job well and always have everything done when needed. my co-workers – more... are positive, friendly, and provide great customer service. what i enjoy most about my job is when a customer metions to my co-workers that im a very helpful associate – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customers, and staff
Supervisor (Former Employee), Fremont, CAMarch 6, 2013
Pros: excellent customers
Cons: hours and health benefits
You assist customer work as a team. The company sucks
Management don't run the store they have no say so on what display
or sales. The DM runs all of stores they put stores up against each for contest to see who makes more money and budget. You get blamed if you don't make the budget. It's not a company that I would recommend to any of my friends and – more... family members. Most of the merchandise that is returned is used and placed back on the shelves. Your better off shopping at other stores for better products. You only get benefits when you work 15 hours the company is always cutting hours left and right. They pay isn't all that good for all of management and sales assciates. All of mangaement get paid hourly and they have a lot of safety hazzards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to much drama.... alot of problems and no solutions!
supervisor (Former Employee), El Paso TxFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: discounts...
Cons: ...... ....
The job its good you learn alot for your house..company policy never used.. DM and Store Managers always have problems of comunication... to much Drama......
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: meet alot of new people everyday
Fun place to work, great fast pace experience. This job is fit for young energetic individuals. Like Me!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dysfunctional & Drama Filled
Supervisor (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXJanuary 30, 2013
Cons: everything
Management sucks, and the district manager and overall head management plays favorites. If your not playing politics you may not have a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good workplace
supervisor (Former Employee), milw,wiscJanuary 25, 2013
There's a lot of favoritism, nothing is confidential when presented to management a lot of gossip between store mangers /district managers, just horrible if you don't have a tough coat of skin I don't recommend this workplace .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I WILL NEVER STEP FOOT IN THAT PLACE AGAIN!
ASSISTANT MANAGER (FORMER EMPLOYEE) (Former Employee), MOBILE, ALABAMAJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: closed on holidays
Cons: the entire company
THE JOB IS NOT HARD, THE COMPANY IS JUST SO CONFUSED THEMSELVES TO IT'S RIDICULOUS. THE DM SUCKS, CORPORATE OFFICE IS NOT A GOOD SOURCE. THE SALES ASSOCIATES ARE GREAT MANAGEMENT NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL. BEING AN ASSISTANT MANAGER FOR THEM REQUIRES YOU TO CLOSE EVERY SATURDAY NIGHT. THE PAY IS DECENT BUT THE AMOUNT OF WORK AND STRESS THAT IS ON YOU; – more... IS WELL WORTH A SALARY. I KNOW ALL THIS FROM EXPERIENCE SO IF YOU DON'T HAVE A LIFE AND JUST WANTS TO DO NOTHING THEN IT'S THE PLACE FOR YOU OTHER WISE IF YOU STILL WANT TO ENJOY LIFE DO NOT APPLY. IT WOULD BE A MISTAKE ON YOUR BEHALF TO ACCEPT A JOB HERE AT ANNA'S LINEN. ESPECIALLY IN THE MOBILE STORE THE STORE MANAGER IS RUDE UNPROFESSIONAL AND IS NOT WHAT THAT COMPANY NEED IF THEY WANT TO KEEP AN EMPLOYEE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste Your Time
Supervior (Current Employee), South CarolinaJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: great for some one who only wants to work 5-15 hours a week
Cons: poor management and worst dm ever
I love most of the customers we have and enjoy helping them with their decor. The quality of the merchandise we sell is seconds and over priced to be seconds.The FOA is a joke. We give this little speach about how they will get coupons in their mail or email but if you don't put down an email address you wont get any coupons. The managers tell the customers – more... that it is a rewards card but that's a lie. The customer will not earn any rewards or points no matter how much they spend. The store manage and the DM play the favortiism game. Kiss their butts and get hours, but tell them that they are doing something against company policy and they will cut your hours even if you are a supervior and then find a way to get rid of you. They work you 8-9 hours a day with no break because the manager doesn't know how to make out a schedule so you can take a break. No advancement unless you're good friends with the manager and he/she will put in a good word to the DM.This is the most streesful job ever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place, but not one to thrive off of..If you aint a supervisor or manager you can pretty much expect not to work much.
sales associate (Current Employee), Madera,CAJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: co workers are friendly, discount, cashier experience.
Cons: breaks are so short, poor communications, hardly any hours for regular cashiers
I started with some alright work hours ,still less than what I would have liked. And it was more on call to me. Twice I got called about me supposed to have come into work ,when NOBODY called me to come in. After being told " We'll call you if your needed"...Manager just did not call, So the communications were not very good. Good thing I did not get – more... into trouble for it and they realized they were at fault.AS soon as the second new employee was hired My hours were cut even more.So Im through with this.They say there is not enough hours to go around yet the manger works a full time shift almost every day, and just sits in the backroom most of the time.Not even present on the floor,So for that my hours get cut!?! Also the Supervisors work almost daily shifts..But the regular cashiers get nothing...The job is easy and simple,co workers were great.Alot of work for little pay but hey thats retail for ya..You shouldnt get cut down to only 6 hours a week just because they hire a new employee, its stupid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Charleston, SCOctober 28, 2012
Pros: good team enviroment
Cons: no breaks, no coverage, your pretty much on your own.
I have been here for almost five months. The job itself is ok. Products in the store for the most part are ok, however bed skirts, sheets and rugs will fall apart as soon as you wash them. You wont believe how many people bring just those three items back. Store manager does not know how to be a manager, he doesnt care about his employees or customers. – more... He is very sensitive. He will get angry at the customer and let it show. Overall this job is a stresser. Now I have a great team enviroment, the only problem in our store is the store manager. He has treated everyone very very poorly, that all of us want to leave. I have a kid to think about and this store isnt worth staying. You WILL NOT advance in this company. They WILL NOT promote you no matter how hard you work. I come in on time all the time, have covered numerous shifts, come in on my days off and do not get one thank you for it. – less

About Annas Linens

Motherly devotion paid off for entrepreneur and company founder Alan Gladstone. Anna's Linens (which is named after Gladstone's – Read more