Anne Arundel County Public Schools Employee Reviews

Showing all 44 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operations/Custodian (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie,MDOctober 5, 2015
I enjoyed this learning experience. My co-workers are true definitions of team players. The most enjoyable part of this job is satisfying the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No ordinary day.
Sign Language Interpreter (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJuly 29, 2015
My work day consists of education, challenge and growth when working in the school system.

I've honestly learned how to be a better interpreter, teacher and overall human being.

I couldn't ask for a better group of faculty and staff in Anne Arundel County.

Interpreting can be difficult at times, however I love the language and thoroughly enjoy the challenge.

The most enjoyable part of my job is watching the students grow as individuals and as a whole student body.
Pros
Watching students grow on an individual level, as well as a whole.
Cons
No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aacps
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJuly 8, 2015
A typical day is very busy. You will be teaching all day with very few breaks. Resource staff is unreliable at times. The best part of the job is seeing the progress your students make from the beginning of the school year to the end.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security, unqualified leadership
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Severna Park, MDMay 23, 2015
More than any other position I ever held, being successful is more about who you know than what you know and do on a daily basis.
Pros
Coworkers, benefits
Cons
No job security, teachers bullied out of positions by giving demeaning assignments
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting & flexible part-time job...
Cashier/cook assistant (Former Employee) –  Gambrills, MDMay 11, 2015
Loved to work for educational institution day hours was perfect, co-worker are helpful & king sharing their knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School System
Speech Pathologist Assistant (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDMay 6, 2015
A very pleasant working environment at most of the schools. The teachers and staff are all working towards the same goal. The students benefit from the dedicated teachers.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Speech Pathologist Assistant, 2009-current (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDMay 4, 2015
There is a wide variety of the individuals in the this county. Schools are great and the expectations across the board are the same. Students are learning the same lessons because of the Math and Language Arts lessons being the same across the board and the staff is welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and good benefits.
Systems Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDApril 18, 2015
Able to learn an on-line application system and spend time recruiting!
Was part of the implementation of a new payroll system.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of experience
Special Education Teacher- K (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDApril 8, 2015
Anne Arundel County Public Schools provided me a variety of learning opportunities. I was employed as a special education teacher for 16 years and a reading specialist for 2 years. I worked in needy Title I schools and schools with a more affluent population. My co-workers were very supported and I learned a lot from them. The hardest part of the job keeping the balance between working with the students and completing the paperwork. The most enjoyable part of the job was making a difference with the students!!
Pros
Variety of experiences
Cons
emphais on paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Immature workplace
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJanuary 26, 2015
I have been working with AACPS operations team for about a month and although I am the youngest employee on my team I must say these are some of the most childish coworkers I have ever had. Plus, they put you on a 6 month probation once receiving employment which has got to be one of the most ridiculous things I've ever heard of.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
6 month probation, no place for advancement unless you know someone
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Secretary/Admin (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, MDJanuary 9, 2015
Answer multiple phone lines. Update student data, Check in students and parents. Other duties as needed
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open minded and creative learning atmosphere
Okay to contact this Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDNovember 12, 2014
i love this company, I can work as much or as little as I want. I love working with the youth, You learn something new almost every few hours working in this type of atmosphere. My mangers are also very open and helpful to staff.
Pros
make my own schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security and workable hours
AA County, MD (Former Employee) –  Odenton, MDOctober 30, 2014
During my tenure as a substitute teacher I enjoyed ability to pick my own hours. I found out however that dealing with middle school students was very stressful and not meant for me since it required little to none tasks.
Pros
ability to choose hours
Cons
dealing with middle school students
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard to get into if hired as temp, its who you know
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDOctober 12, 2014
Decent place to work but if you dont know someone, you will not advance
Pros
working at high school, you get off at 2, summers off
Cons
mgmt terrible, doesnt matter how well you do your job, its who you know
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great office relationships
Coordinator, Kids at Hope (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MarylandSeptember 9, 2014
Working for AACPS in the Office of Equity was a great experience. The manager of this office allowed each employee to grow and encouraged you to soar to your highest level of competency. Atmosphere conducive for achieving goals.
Pros
good working relationships
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Custodian I (Former Employee) –  Arundel High SchoolAugust 27, 2014
I enjoyed all of my co-workers and I learned how to work as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good plcae to work
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Annapolis MDAugust 25, 2014
I liked working for the board because you always meet new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Advanced Placement Test Proctor (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJuly 29, 2014
All aspects of working with AACPS were positive. Job expectations were well communicated. Training was thorough and presented very well.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the students, faculty, and administration of the high school.
Pros
school hours
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated staff committed to helping students succeed
Instructional Assistant in the Read (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJune 18, 2014
I learned how to engage students in a variety of ways to help them learn.
Pros
family friendly schedule.
Cons
low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job, nice work environment
Infants and Toddlers Teacher (Former Employee) –  Anne Arundel County, Md.April 6, 2014
Summer position as home visiting teacher for Infants and Toddlers and their families. Conducted home visits with parents, implemented Individual Family Services goals and objectives.
Job was temporary for the Summer.
Pros
home visits with young children and parents
Cons
temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture