Anthem, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
NGS Appeals Representative (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 10, 2018
I loved the opportunity to work from home and having all the tools and resources necessary to be successful in my position there. However I would suggest better job placement for employees when a department loses their contract.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and friendly environment
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 9, 2018
Great place to work, great people to work with, diversity, fun, relaxed at times but very professional. Break rooms are huge and relaxing. Managers really enjoy their work and mostly enjoy helping their team succeed. Managers were very nice and always willing to help with any questions. Relaxed business casual dress code which makes it easier in a call center where we spend hours sitting and talking to members. It can get repetitive and tiring but coworkers make up for it when the hours seem to not pass.
Overall a great place to work!
Pros
often free food, free cupcakes and treats, Tshirts, or freebies.
Cons
a bit strict about break times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place tro work
Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 9, 2018
Anrhem is a good place to work. I enjoyed working there and I enjoyed doing claims. They have alot of audits and the information that is constantly changing is hard to locate and the script is written in a confusing way.
Pros
I enjoyed doing claims
Cons
too many audits and too hard to get answers on problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Provider Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHJanuary 9, 2018
Anthem is a well known insurance company however the customer service environment is not great. Promotions are based on popularity rather than hard work and everything is very high school like. The particular manager I had was very bad at this, the hard workers were not recognized unless you were grabbing coffee and print jobs.
Pros
Training
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, stressful work environment
Designer (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 9, 2018
Great co-workers, but bad decisions coming from corporate make it a tough work environment. Decent work/life balance. Not competitive pay versus other places in the twin cities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Connecticut Customer Service Rep/Claims Processor (Former Employee) –  North Haven, CTJanuary 9, 2018
very busy
Anthem gave me skills for other jobs
customer service was the hardest
friendly people
managernent always turnover
workplace was strick
was allowed to eat at desk to still work
Pros
skills I learned
Cons
short breaks, underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Business Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 8, 2018
I've been at Anthem for several years, while it has had it share of ups and downs, overall it is a good place to work. The health side seems to be a bit rocky, but the specialty side has been consistent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and relaxed work enviroment
Customer Service/Pharmacy Customer Care (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 8, 2018
I love my job at anthem, the staff is friendly and its a comfortable work environment. The call are often more moderate than not, and the give quarterly bonuses.
Pros
nice staff, quarterly incintives
Cons
short breaks, sitting for long periods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Executive Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 8, 2018
Anthem is great place to work. Tons of room for career advancement along with supplying bonuses to all employees not just management, which was really nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Call Care Advocate (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GAJanuary 7, 2018
Anthem is a great company to work for! They provide extensive training and benefits! There is a lot of room for growth. Have to be able to hold your own but there is a ton of support when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work life with an onsite gym, but due to poor management information was slow to circulate.
IT Quality Control Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHJanuary 7, 2018
Flexible work life with an onsite gym but due to poor management information was slow to circulate. Been involved in an Agile team that has become more collaborative and the benefits are good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Claims rep I FEP (Dental/Health) (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 6, 2018
It helps contribute to the household.
I love the flex schedule.
I love the option to work from home if you can get it.
Boss is flexible when it comes to family/personal issues.
Pros
Stability
Cons
Too many hoops to jump through to get what you want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Community Relations Representative (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 6, 2018
This is great company to work for with lots of room for growth and opportunity within in the company. I have the flexibility to manage my own schedule. They a somewhat rigid process for setting individual goals and objectives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anthem Blue Cross
Membership/Claims/Benefits Representative (Former Employee) –  Newbury Park, CAJanuary 5, 2018
Stressful
no assistance provided to the ccr's
management is horrible
no compassion for employees
poor training
just a bad work environment overall
would not recommend as a place for employment
Pros
no pros
Cons
to many cons to name
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paces phones
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Woodland Hills, CAJanuary 4, 2018
Back to back calls
Learned about claims and their process
Management is fine but to busy to relate
Alot of friendships are created
The reprocess of the claims is the hardest part of job
The most enjoyable part of the job is the teamwork in this department
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing culture
Quality Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 3, 2018
Over the 14 years I worked there the culture of the company has changed greatly
I learned a lot about the insurance industry.
I really enjoyed being able to telecommute.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well
Claims Analyst (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 3, 2018
Great place to work at. The only issue I have is there is no upward growth. Other then that I look forward to going to work each and every day love my co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Field Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2018
Great place to work. Only thing is like I’m any other job there is the stress from being micro managed and some times it becomes difficult to deal with. Then you get your commission check and it will bring a smile to your face and make you forget.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Anthem as a Project/Program Manager
Health Care Analytics Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 2, 2018
A typical day would be monitoring 3 -4 projects at a given time. Chairing team meetings, updating project plans, communicating to senior management, managing risks and reporting on project financials.
Pros
Working with an excellent talent pool and increasingmy knowledge of project management..
Cons
Would have appreciated training on the systems that I managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Choose not to provide at this time.
Director of Marketing Services (Former Employee) –  North Haven, CTJanuary 1, 2018
So much more to discuss in person. Anthem was a tremendous place to work and I enjoyed my time while at Anthem with all the job opportunities I encountered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Anthem, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,549 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6