Find companies:
Anthem Blue Cross
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

Anthem Blue Cross Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was the best place to work
Medicaid data entry & claims specialist (Former Employee), Reno, NVMarch 18, 2014
Pros: a enjoyable place to work
Cons: i no loner work there
I loved coming in to this job everyday, I had the best management team. the co-works were great, the best I have ever worked with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPO and HMO case management
Registered Nurse Complex Case Manager (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CAMarch 2, 2014
Work from home is great
It has great medical benefits
Work salaried from home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enivronment
Customer care associate (Former Employee), Newbury Park, CAFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: leaving early on meeting days
Cons: long walk from parking lot to building
A typical day at work is answering inbound calls from customers about their medications, making any outbound calls needed to pharmacies to clear any mishaps with the customers insurance. I learned about the difference between PPO and HMO for insurance purposes, I learned how to override customers accounts tso they could be able to pick up meds early. – more... My managemnet department was the best managment i've ever had. There very understanding and dependable when you needed help especially when starting at the company. The hardest part was leaving the company. The most enjoyable part was helping customers and being with a wonderful team of co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly,loving, just at times very high school
Health Outreach Specialist (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: cafe, some good people and very up lifting
Cons: very high school and did not have a lot of overtime
I loved my job i just need a new setting and to get away form that high school feel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace with limited opportunities
Grievance/Appeals Rep (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: important work, decent benefits.
Cons: as the company grows the less efficient it becomes. benefits become less each coming year.
Come to work in the morning. expected to log on and get started on duties,. take scheduled breaks within 3 hours of arrival and Lunch within 5 hours. given a 3rd breaks as well.

Depending on the department management can be helpful. Co workers above Customer service are usually dependable. Seems that some of the customer first a bit in exchange for – more... meeting numbers. It is a fine line with health insurance. Hardest part of the job is to assure customers you are looking to help them as best you can. The most enjoyable part is succeeding at proving to the customers that you can help by actually doing so and sensing their gratitude. Sometimes you are told how much you have helped. Health insurance can become awfully personal when its a matter of life or death for that person or their loved ones. Not always giving the answers you would like to give per there are rules/guidelines that you must abide by as it pertains to contracts and benefits as well as the necessary channels members must go through depending on the circumstances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced, routine
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CADecember 22, 2013
Pros: cafeteria on site, self satisfaction, job rewards
Cons: couldn't park on site, consistant layoff's, short lunch
Anthem Blue Cross was a great place to work. Nice tall executive building with professionals working on all twelve floors. Fun filled and fast paced and the position allowed me to grow as a customer service agent because somewhere along the day, a new challenge always presented itself. I wanted to work for Anthem for many years and it took a while to – more... accomplish finally getting in. But once I did, I was exposed to great and ever lasting friendships with coworkers, personal satisfaction, and great job rewards. A typical day would be taking 50-65 incoming calls per day helping our members handle their issues. I was used to an exciting, fast paced day. Every inbound call was important and called for my undivided attention as an agent. I had many demands to meet and deadlines to beat. The hardest part of the job was knowing that not every caller was satisfied with the answer they received. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Claims Examiner and Processor (Former Employee), North Haven, CTDecember 14, 2013
Pros: bonuses for a job well done, tickets for free lunch, prize patrol.
Cons: when our work was outsourced there wasn't enough to keep busy
My typical day at Anthem involved processing claims involving some research and getting necessary information needed to process the claims. Management was great, they believed in treating their employees well to make for a happy work environment. My co-workers were also great to work with and we all worked together as a team. The hardest part of the – more... job was running out of work. The most enjoyable part of the job was that in the beginning we kept very busy. Also great environment to work in with a relaxed atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company. Compensation/benefits good.
LVN Senior Utilization Review (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CANovember 18, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: stressful, and too much overtime required
I am a senior LVN who has worked here for over 7 years. I work from home, and are looking for work at home positions only.
My job is demanding, and I work long hours. I am seeking employment with good compensation and benefits, and a place where my joh does not get in the way of my personal life balance time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding place to learn
Clerk 11 (Current Employee), Indianapolis, In 46204October 16, 2013
I worked there for a number of years and I really enjoy where I work at because I love to work. I do the best no matter where I go and they really liked me.No matter what amount of work they would give me, I did it and I enjoy doing it, if I didn't finish I would stay late or come in early. I learned about the new Hires and what you do to welcome them, – more... have all material done on time and double check your work to make sure it is done correctly. People don't always come to work in a happy mood but you can't let them bring you down, you have to keep going. every part of your job that you do is hard but when you are trained, then you do it by your self then it becomes enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large turn-over rate
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Diamond Bar, CASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: medical benefits were great
Cons: company downsized
I enjoyed my co-workers, the paid was low and micro-managed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive face paced work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pomona, CASeptember 4, 2013
co workers were easy to get along with on an every day face paced large incoming call volume providing members and providers with information regarding claims and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked collaboratively well as a team
Utilization Nurse Medical Management I (Former Employee), Camarillo, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: sign on bonus
Cons: can potentially run into long hour days.
* A typical day at Anthem was very high energy and high paced
* Meeting members needs
* Learned the ability to multi-task
* Co-workers communicated and collaborated well with
multi-disciplinary team.
* Maintaining caseload metrics and requirements
* Learning a different aspect of healthcare aside from hospital and
clinic work.
*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anthem Blue Cross
Customer Service Office Representative (Former Employee), Pomona, CAAugust 23, 2013
Pros: interacting with many people
My typical day working with Anthem Blue Cross was very faced paced. I have learned many things concerning great customer service and the insurance industry. This job required answering fifty or more calls per day and processing medical claims. The hardest part of the job was multitasking in a faced paced environment. However, this was not a problem – more... for me. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping patients and medical providers with there concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Implementation Specialist (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAAugust 15, 2013
Pros: fun
Researched and resolved routine sales, claims and benefit issues.
Review of new group enrollment material for accuracy including outreach for clarification. Responded to incoming calls/ e-mails and initiated outgoing calls, providing customer service to brokers and employer groups by answering benefit questions, resolving issues and educating callers. – more... Verified enrollment status, made changes to records, researched and resolved enrollment system rejections; addresses a variety of enrollment questions or concerns received by phone or mail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Customer Service Representative in the Retention Department
Health Plan Advisor (Former Employee), Westlake , CAAugust 12, 2013
Pros: clean, organized buildings, well maintained grounds, safe parking lots with guards, good pay (but no benefits for temps), business casual attire
Cons: if you forget your badge you need to get a supervisor to check you in, the lunch is so short you can not go out for lunch, there are no food trucks allowed in the parking lot, no benefits for medical, dental, vision or 401k are offered
This position is a very difficult one. There is much to learn in the ways of Anthem Blue Cross. I was hired as a temp worker for a few months to accomodate their expectations of receiving many calls due to rate increases for insurance premiums. There is also many different softwares and applications one needs to know, in order to work this job properly, – more... but because they have limited staff to train us, they take on temp workers that have already worked there previously to train them as little as possible and start working as soon as possible. In this position, we take calls from members who want to change their plans in order to accomodate their rate increases, and often reduce their coverage and raise their deductibles, so we often get very irrate members calling. We take the verbal beating for the company, but whats hard about the job, is there is very little, or no support to us from the management. There are managers who are very fair and very good, but there are very high strung managers who expect you to fix things with out completely knowing their policies or the way they want things done. Take care of it, make note of it, but do not make any waves. I tried to ask many questions and take notes of the way they want things, but those things/policies can change at a drop of a hat. You have to juggle many things. They expect you to take as many calls as possible, get off the phones as fast as possible, deliver quality service and do not want the members to call back, so you have to make sure you have taken care of their needs in one phone call or as few phone calls as possible. This was a inbound call environment, so making calls out, was more difficult and if you were not in the "log in" status you need to be prepared to explain why, even if it is for the completed cusomer service satisfaction.

This can be a very good job for someone who likes to work in a high pressure environment, picks up policies, procedures and applications quickly. This job is not for everyone. They do prefer college educated and you do need a health/life insurance license to work in this position/department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anthem Blue Cross is a great company to work for!
Temp. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Visalia, CAJuly 8, 2013
Pros: i got to work with great people!
A typical day at work would be answering multi- line phone calls, transfering calls to where they need to go, coordinate meetings as necessary to fit everyones schedule, assist the public walk-ins, verify insurance eligibility, keep track of whose medical charts HEDIS team is bringing in and out, request medical records from different facilities, create – more... check request as necessary for member transportation or sponsorships, handled the budget reports, membership reports, expense reports, provide travel arrangements for the program manager, and assisted with putting together provider profiles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When it was Blue Cross of CA- great place to work and advance
Individual Medical Underwriter (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAJuly 1, 2013
Pros: i work from home.
Cons: not always being updated on changes within company, more media connected, webinars- never see alot of our team as most work from home now
Production first and foremost, work from home, balances life.
My imitate team which works Colorado/Nevada business is fun, and we share alot and are close= especially after all these years.
Management has changed quite a bit over last year, not as friendly as before.
I love my job, and always have-- love working with the agents sales managers as they – more... are a large part of my daily activity. We find alot of humor in what we do each day.

There is no hard part of my job, I make it work, find humor in the applications, and in the people we connect with. Always a positive in what comes by days end – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviroment and good benefits.
Customer Care Associate (Former Employee), Pomona, CAJune 3, 2013
I was part of a great team, we where the unit that handled benefits to one of the multi million dallor accounts in the National Accounts department. Learned a lot about medical policies, the difference between an HMO and PPO, how claims are processed and how benefit coverage applies. At the end of the day I felt I made a difference in the understanding – more... of benefits when a member would call confuessed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare environment focused on continuous improvement
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAJune 1, 2013
Pros: training to increase knowledges
Stimulating, mentally challenging, results oriented environment. Created niche to collaborate a win-win continuous improvement. Gaining knowledge from the programmers to increase my skill set has been very rewarding.
Mentoring an associate to provide technical knowledge and training has been my finest accomplishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and tough conditions for a 3-1/2 month contract position.
Quality Compliance/Medical Record Auditor (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 20, 2013
Pros: good opportunities to learn about various working environments
Cons: tough working conditions and pressure to complete tasks with limited time
* Two webinar training sessions on data entry procedures for medical conditions and required documentation for each compliance criteria
* Good support from team lead and senior team mates during early site visits
* Typical daily site visits run from 8:30-4:00 with dual site visits on several days
* Worked independently with appropriate check-ins and – more... supervision from team lead
* Co-workers knowledgeable about required documentation for each compliance criteria
* Physical difficulty of taking 40+ pound printer on public transportation
* Enjoyed interacting with providers and their staff; and learning about electronic medical record systems – less

1 2 3