Find companies:
Anthem Blue Cross
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Anthem Blue Cross Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
HEDIS MEDICAL ASSISTANT/ ABSTRACTOR (Former Employee), Fresno, CAJune 6, 2014
I learned the meaning of teamwork and everyone plays a major role in a company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the flexibility/work/life balance of the company
Individual Underwriter II (Former Employee), Newbury Park, CAJune 5, 2014
reviewing applications to determine eligibility for enrollment. Worked from home last 6 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities to grow within the organization.
Medical Investigations (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Learned new skills for third party payer processes, claims review/analysis, ICD-10 coding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation, typical corporate environment
Business Analyst I through III (Former Employee), South Portland, MaineApril 28, 2014
Worked for company and division 20+ years. Enjoyed the first 10 but after the large expansions and buyouts employees became more like cogs in a wheel than actual living, breathing people. Face to face interaction dwindled and management moved out of state. More people began working from home and expectations were that you would then be working all hours. – more... Benefits and bonuses shrank or disappeared. Performance expectations were lifted to the level of perfection (unattainable of course, so no-one got livable raises or decent bonuses except the top dogs). OK place to work for a few years but no longer a lifer type job like it used to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
j.o.b.
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 23, 2014
We all all work to acheive goals and meet basic neccessities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Clerk 1 and 2 (Former Employee), Manchester, NHApril 2, 2014
People, environmentally friendly atmosphere. Willing to work with employeees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was the best place to work
Medicaid data entry & claims specialist (Former Employee), Reno, NVMarch 18, 2014
Pros: a enjoyable place to work
Cons: i no loner work there
I loved coming in to this job everyday, I had the best management team. the co-works were great, the best I have ever worked with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PPO and HMO case management
Registered Nurse Complex Case Manager (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CAMarch 2, 2014
Work from home is great
It has great medical benefits
Work salaried from home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enivronment
Customer care associate (Former Employee), Newbury Park, CAFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: leaving early on meeting days
Cons: long walk from parking lot to building
A typical day at work is answering inbound calls from customers about their medications, making any outbound calls needed to pharmacies to clear any mishaps with the customers insurance. I learned about the difference between PPO and HMO for insurance purposes, I learned how to override customers accounts tso they could be able to pick up meds early. – more... My managemnet department was the best managment i've ever had. There very understanding and dependable when you needed help especially when starting at the company. The hardest part was leaving the company. The most enjoyable part was helping customers and being with a wonderful team of co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly,loving, just at times very high school
Health Outreach Specialist (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: cafe, some good people and very up lifting
Cons: very high school and did not have a lot of overtime
I loved my job i just need a new setting and to get away form that high school feel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace with limited opportunities
Grievance/Appeals Rep (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: important work, decent benefits.
Cons: as the company grows the less efficient it becomes. benefits become less each coming year.
Come to work in the morning. expected to log on and get started on duties,. take scheduled breaks within 3 hours of arrival and Lunch within 5 hours. given a 3rd breaks as well.

Depending on the department management can be helpful. Co workers above Customer service are usually dependable. Seems that some of the customer first a bit in exchange for – more... meeting numbers. It is a fine line with health insurance. Hardest part of the job is to assure customers you are looking to help them as best you can. The most enjoyable part is succeeding at proving to the customers that you can help by actually doing so and sensing their gratitude. Sometimes you are told how much you have helped. Health insurance can become awfully personal when its a matter of life or death for that person or their loved ones. Not always giving the answers you would like to give per there are rules/guidelines that you must abide by as it pertains to contracts and benefits as well as the necessary channels members must go through depending on the circumstances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced, routine
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CADecember 22, 2013
Pros: cafeteria on site, self satisfaction, job rewards
Cons: couldn't park on site, consistant layoff's, short lunch
Anthem Blue Cross was a great place to work. Nice tall executive building with professionals working on all twelve floors. Fun filled and fast paced and the position allowed me to grow as a customer service agent because somewhere along the day, a new challenge always presented itself. I wanted to work for Anthem for many years and it took a while to – more... accomplish finally getting in. But once I did, I was exposed to great and ever lasting friendships with coworkers, personal satisfaction, and great job rewards. A typical day would be taking 50-65 incoming calls per day helping our members handle their issues. I was used to an exciting, fast paced day. Every inbound call was important and called for my undivided attention as an agent. I had many demands to meet and deadlines to beat. The hardest part of the job was knowing that not every caller was satisfied with the answer they received. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Claims Examiner and Processor (Former Employee), North Haven, CTDecember 14, 2013
Pros: bonuses for a job well done, tickets for free lunch, prize patrol.
Cons: when our work was outsourced there wasn't enough to keep busy
My typical day at Anthem involved processing claims involving some research and getting necessary information needed to process the claims. Management was great, they believed in treating their employees well to make for a happy work environment. My co-workers were also great to work with and we all worked together as a team. The hardest part of the – more... job was running out of work. The most enjoyable part of the job was that in the beginning we kept very busy. Also great environment to work in with a relaxed atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company. Compensation/benefits good.
LVN Senior Utilization Review (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CANovember 18, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: stressful, and too much overtime required
I am a senior LVN who has worked here for over 7 years. I work from home, and are looking for work at home positions only.
My job is demanding, and I work long hours. I am seeking employment with good compensation and benefits, and a place where my joh does not get in the way of my personal life balance time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding place to learn
Clerk 11 (Current Employee), Indianapolis, In 46204October 16, 2013
I worked there for a number of years and I really enjoy where I work at because I love to work. I do the best no matter where I go and they really liked me.No matter what amount of work they would give me, I did it and I enjoy doing it, if I didn't finish I would stay late or come in early. I learned about the new Hires and what you do to welcome them, – more... have all material done on time and double check your work to make sure it is done correctly. People don't always come to work in a happy mood but you can't let them bring you down, you have to keep going. every part of your job that you do is hard but when you are trained, then you do it by your self then it becomes enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large turn-over rate
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Diamond Bar, CASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: medical benefits were great
Cons: company downsized
I enjoyed my co-workers, the paid was low and micro-managed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive face paced work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pomona, CASeptember 4, 2013
co workers were easy to get along with on an every day face paced large incoming call volume providing members and providers with information regarding claims and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked collaboratively well as a team
Utilization Nurse Medical Management I (Former Employee), Camarillo, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: sign on bonus
Cons: can potentially run into long hour days.
* A typical day at Anthem was very high energy and high paced
* Meeting members needs
* Learned the ability to multi-task
* Co-workers communicated and collaborated well with
multi-disciplinary team.
* Maintaining caseload metrics and requirements
* Learning a different aspect of healthcare aside from hospital and
clinic work.
*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anthem Blue Cross
Customer Service Office Representative (Former Employee), Pomona, CAAugust 23, 2013
Pros: interacting with many people
My typical day working with Anthem Blue Cross was very faced paced. I have learned many things concerning great customer service and the insurance industry. This job required answering fifty or more calls per day and processing medical claims. The hardest part of the job was multitasking in a faced paced environment. However, this was not a problem – more... for me. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping patients and medical providers with there concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Implementation Specialist (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAAugust 15, 2013
Pros: fun
Researched and resolved routine sales, claims and benefit issues.
Review of new group enrollment material for accuracy including outreach for clarification. Responded to incoming calls/ e-mails and initiated outgoing calls, providing customer service to brokers and employer groups by answering benefit questions, resolving issues and educating callers. – more... Verified enrollment status, made changes to records, researched and resolved enrollment system rejections; addresses a variety of enrollment questions or concerns received by phone or mail. – less

1 2 3