Find companies:
AOL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
170 reviews

AOL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun working place great co-workers to work with
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMJune 10, 2014
Pros: working in a good environment
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work was to do a good job and have fun.
learned how to get along with other people of different races and how to work together as a team and how good it felt after the job was done.
Management was good great owner and supervisors
hardest part of the job was try no to curse customers out that curse you out.
Most enjoyable part of the – more... job was seeing that good pay check that I had to use to pay my bills and knowing they gave me the opportunity to work for a good company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Engagement
Senior Advertising Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNMay 30, 2014
Had a great time there. Loved working with and meeting people.
Loved the co-workers, fun times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The AOL culture was in transition because of rapid expansion
Transition Project Manager and Coordinator (Former Employee), Vienna, VAMay 16, 2014
Pros: free culture
Cons: none that i can think of
Excellent company with excellent benefits.
I had freedom to explore different venues in my work experience.
This enabled me to grow because I was exposed to many different types of experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Dulles, VAMay 10, 2014
Pros: new and exciting work
Cons: some long work days
As executive assistant for an international internet company was an exellent experience. Learned about international travel and meetings. Was allowed to expand my skills by attending my executives meetings with him/her. Co-workers were very professional. Hardest part was long work days. This position would sometimes need me to work until 10 pm. Most – more... enjoyable part of the job was that it was unlike any type of executive support I had ever done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Review
Contracted employee (Former Employee), Oakhurst, CaMay 5, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: aol closed down facility
Only Help Desk tech for 100 user development site. Also maintained Novell network.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was one of the best Companies to work for Before Time Warner buy out.
Customer Care Consultant (Former Employee), Tucson,AzApril 29, 2014
Pros: this is the place that every day was a new adventure. we all had fun at what we did.
Cons: i have not found that at this time for other job or places to work.
This was a company that had recliners in the lounge, Televisions, DVD Players, and made you feel like your second home. There were so many different things I learned working for AOL. (1) How a computer really worked and why it worked. (2) How to break the software and then fix the computers software. What to do with software to fix or tweak. To make – more... work on the application. more of your co-workers were like family and treated you like family. Even today still keep in touch with many of the ex-workers. Most problematic part of the job is when new spyware came to light and finding ways to fix the problem. The best part was the people you worked with and how we took care of each other. If you had a bad day you could say this is just my day and was accepted for that. This company was all about team work.

I well tell of a time when was at lunch in the lunch room and the owner of Aol came in to the lunch room to eat his lunch as well. I did not know him at that time by face but got into a conversation with him and was to find out he was the owner of AOL. His name is Steve Case and he was a very nice person to talk to. There was other time had very long conversation with about different software to come in the future. What thought would be problem with and so on?

This was the best experience in the work place for me. Have never work for a company like that sense that time. I would love to find a new place that had that kind of thoughts in mind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up and down
TPM (Former Employee), Dulles, VAApril 29, 2014
Pros: contributing to the news and various special interests, contributions published to many is very rewarding.
Cons: very cut-throat and competitive, regular layoffs, modest sense of uncertainty.
AOL has some of the best minds in the business focused on delivering relevant content to it's mass audience. Finding the right part of the business for you can be a challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream job at the time
Technical Support (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 28, 2014
Help customers over the phone with technical issues. Dealt with irate as well as nice customers most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs ever!
Executive Assistant to SVP and General Manager (Former Employee), Dulles, VAApril 25, 2014
Pros: huge learning environment with opportunities to grow at every turn.
Cons: it was sold after the owner died.
SHERIKON was an 8(a) company that graduated 8(a) status with several million dollars of revenue. We were a government contractor with sites all over the US. When I first started there were only 200 people, when the company was sold to Anteon (now General Dynamics), there were over 1,000.

My boss was also my mentor. I leaned about RFPs, SOWs, the FAR – more... and all that goes into government contracting. We provided training to all our site on running their contracts and finding follow on work with each of the agencies we worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had
Video Master Control Room Operations (Former Employee), Beverly Hills, CAApril 21, 2014
Pros: many opportunities to learn and grow
Cons: huffpost live was moved to ny
Great people, Great work environment. I was always learning new equipment and had the privilege work in a fast paced, live production environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People-Friendly, Flexibility Were Beyond Compare
Resource Management Analyst (Former Employee), Dulles, VAApril 13, 2014
AOL had an employee culture that was top-notch. Management was cooperative and extremely flexible. Employees were engaged across functional units, which fostered a sense of togetherness. Overall, it was a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer the business it used to be
Shared Services Analyst (Former Employee), Dulles, VAMarch 30, 2014
AOL was a great company during its time. Broadband changed the scope of this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AOL
Windows Tech (Former Employee), Tucson, AZMarch 14, 2014
Pros: met interesting folks
Cons: no cons to report
It was nice! Very laid back. They took ownership to a higher level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Managed and Long Hours
Advertising Sales Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 13, 2014
Cons: long hours, horrible commision schedule that management change frequently
- 12 hour work days
- Learned a lot about the corporate working of business
- Management is very close minded and micro-manage
- Co-workers are very helpful and nice
- The hardest part of the job is being micro-managed
- The most enjoyable part of the job are the co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Project Manager (Apprentice) (Former Employee), Dulles, VAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches, great atmosphere, great people, so many learning experiences
Cons: leaving the program
I loved my internship with AOL. My day started off kind of slow being as though we had to be up so early and travel so far. But it was definitely worth every moment of travel. I learned how to run meetings effectively, how to conduct wiki pages, how to process tickets, and so many other project management skills. Management was awesome, always had something – more... for us to do to research. My co-workers were very helpful in every way possible and that made the entire experience enjoyable. The hardest part of the job was learning how to do something I wasn't use to doing such as creating wiki pages and working in Omniture Site Catalyst, but once I got the hang of it, it became fun to do. The most enjoyable part was the whole experience from beginning to end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and energetic bunch of people
Sales associate (Former Employee), tucson azMarch 3, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
arrive from a day at university general education
to a friendly helpful environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management always helped with stress
Account Executive (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: less stressful
Cons: people yelling at you on the phone
I sold America Online yellow pages for business'. It was a little stressful cold calling but the owners always did what they could to calm us down. They allowed as many breaks as possible. The company soon went out of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and supportive of professional development
Consumer Marketing Intern (Former Employee), Beverly Hills, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Spent two months in a Consumer Marketing Internship role with 2 Aol brands, Moviefone and Engadget. Developed skills in campaign management, delivering creating assets, offering performance analysis from extracted data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they had lots of good things for the employees to do
Customer Service Representative - Tech Support (Former Employee), Tucson, AZFebruary 12, 2014
It is sad that they laid us all off but it was fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Account Executive (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 29, 2014
Good work environment
Fun peers
Strong company outlook
Good perks
Good benefits

About AOL

Though it's no longer a part of Time Warner, AOL is still serving America online. The Web portal serves users with an array of – Read more