Aramark Employee Reviews for Cook

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't pay
Cook (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORJanuary 19, 2018
I'm waiting for my paychecks. Haven't gotten them after months and been constantly given the runaround by management. Contacted a lawyer and they've had several cases involving aramark and non payment of wages. Do not work here unless you like work8ng for free and for managers who have no idea what they are doing.
Pros
None
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone wants help, yet no-one it's willing to help others
Cook (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJanuary 5, 2018
It might be better if i were full time. I've been waiting to become full time for a while now. Almost 7 months. Things move really slowly when it comes to employee needs.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No hours, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked the management staff
Institutional Cook (Former Employee) –  Roswell, NMJanuary 3, 2018
i had fun working for aramark there were times when non perishable and perishable product were damage due to carelessness of route drivers and had to put up with the inmate kitchen detai attitude! other than that got nothing else to sayl
Pros
all staff were respectable and willing to help out
Cons
i don't nothin bad to say
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Replaceable
COOK'S HELPER (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJanuary 3, 2018
Company does not care about employees at all, only profit.Working in a National Park ensured an evergrowing surplus of guests with little to increase in help.
Pros
yosemite
Cons
aramark
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bettendorf, IAJanuary 2, 2018
It was a great place to work at I learn a lot about the business and great people to learn and work with I love working there. I thank Aramark for job and trusting me to do the job. To bad they had to lay me off. But I would not change nothing about that place.
Pros
good people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Cook (Current Employee) –  Lowell, MAJanuary 2, 2018
I work with Aramark because is a great company a lot of opportunities, am very productive for them and I like what I do for them, I love to cook I work with a lot of responsable people that care about what they do.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Unión
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace..always something to do
Cook (Current Employee) –  West Chester, PADecember 11, 2017
I love working for aramark. Flexible schedule, raises, incentives, and chance for advancement. You get rewarded and recognized for outstanding work performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life of a nfl cook
cook (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 2, 2017
a fast paced job the every minute of the day you are working, from sandwiches to salads you go go go, filling hot boxes to pushing them to the suites its a fast paced life
Pros
lot of work
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee) –  RTP, NCNovember 30, 2017
Aramark has a professional friendly atmosphere, everyone is a team player and we are all like family.my time spent in the kitchen/FOH I've learned how to organize and manage time .as well s meet and take care of my customers.
Pros
free lunch, paid holidays, monday thru friday weekends off
Cons
earlyhours, management plays favoritesCashier/Barista/FOH
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Main Dish Cook (Former Employee) –  Newport, ArkansasNovember 29, 2017
It was a very fun environment to work in. Getting to feed the kids is great. You get to work with a great team. You have holidays off and the summer off if working for the school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was enjoyable working there was productive and exciting
Cook (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZNovember 28, 2017
I loved the pace it was enjoyable I learnt a lot of technics which was and is extremely helpful. The personal and interpersonal skills I encountered was a genuine asset for me.
Pros
free lunch relationships with coworkers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Cook (Former Employee) –  100 indigo drNovember 15, 2017
Great menu selection. a good place to learn to cook different types of foods.work only weekdays weekends off.easy work great work hours. You have a good chance to advance in company
Pros
Eat free
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Cook (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 3, 2017
The employees of the company are okay, but the management on the other hand, aren't the most informed. Often times they make mistakes in communicating a message, which I've noticed seems to create a problem for the employee rather the the manangment taking accountability for the actions their in.
Pros
engagement with the students and leaders of tomorrow
Cons
working with persons with a lack of compassion for their jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Cook (Former Employee) –  Travis AFB, CANovember 3, 2017
your work day starts with stress, ends with stress. poor management, poor leadership. poor communication from management to employees

great team members, shortage of good people

systematic work - demands change from day to day - inconsistent demands in-relationship to the work expectation and the actual work
Pros
lots of time off - vacation pay and piloben
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work
Pittsburgh Cook (Former Employee) –  PNC Park, PANovember 2, 2017
Come in prep food, set up, serve and breakdown. Prepare foods for the next day or upcoming events. We had special banquets and events. It was really fun working the baseball games.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of proper management
Cook (Former Employee) –  Travis AFB, CAOctober 21, 2017
Overworked, understaffed and unsupported. Does not treat workers well. Lack of manager precense, lack of tools needed to succeed. Lack of communication between management and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Swing Cook (Former Employee) –  Reading, PAOctober 11, 2017
Work with already prepped items sometimes, alot of work but low pay, they manage the food thats been throw out like trimmings. The food is good and you gotta work teenagers
Pros
good food
Cons
low pay alot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The benifits of working at a portable Grill
Cook (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60601October 10, 2017
A typical day at work consist of signing in and being searched, then reporting to my portable stand where inventory is took and food area is thoroughly cleaned, food is then prepped then cooked, and ready for purchase by customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cook (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOOctober 3, 2017
I love my job there Been there for 10 years they pay good they give a lot of hours they also work around other jobs if they have too and very professional
Pros
Good money, great work environment
Cons
Too many off days sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 3, 2017
It was a normal job. I did the same thing every day. I learned to become quicker on my prep work so that I could be more effective during the busy time of the day.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not enough hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aramark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 10,687 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4