Arbitron Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Netherlands, MOMay 2, 2017
As part of the client team, i am not so sure to review this about the Philips. As far as the management is concerned had a great face of the customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company no loger exists
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 3, 2017
The company was acquired by another company a couple years ago. The two sets of employees were merged together, and staff decisions were made when there was redundancy.
Pros
None now
Cons
Company does not exist under its own name.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best part time job ever
Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2017
I loved working here. I worked part time. They offered overtime all the time and tons b of bonuses. Management was friendly, the dress code was relaxed.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
High health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, trend setting research company. They really cared about their employees
Senior Membership Representative/Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDSeptember 14, 2015
Arbitron was a great company to work for. I went from the call center to the service department to field operations. I enjoyed my time there. Arbitron fostered and supported a very diverse environment.
They provided excellent and continued training. They had the best benefits and compensation.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Nielsen took over and let must of us go immediately
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back & Fun Work Place
Customer Service, Out Bound Calls (Former Employee) –  DallasJuly 1, 2015
this place is really laid back.
no one constantly breathing down your neck.
lots of bonuses.
meet lots of cool people.
trainers are awesome.
supervisors are awesome too.
i would recommend this place to friends
Cons
short breaks, very little hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Survey Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 21, 2015
Music played out load in the production floor as employees entered the office. Staff was upbeat and mentally prepared to sell. Money and gifts were awarded throughout the day. Employees were easy to work with. I was responsible for providing a high-spirited environment for employees to produce in a sales environment. I learned to become unselfish and how to better lead people while meeting their needs and the needs of the business. Management was very insightful and willing to assist. The hardest part of the job was receiving commitment from 100% all of representatives. The most enjoyable part of the job was the human interaction, the energy and excitement involved in working together to achieve something greater than just individual sales: meeting production needs of the call center.
Pros
Free food, gifts, bonuses, and parties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity driven
Quality & Assurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMarch 30, 2015
Upon arrival set up to receive customer service calls. Trouble shoot calls and document the interview. Monitor and generate potential customers. Conduct one-on-one feedback sessions with management.
Pros
goal incentives
Cons
limited to indoors
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a good job
Data entry is required after each call (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 13, 2015
this was a good and i really liked what i did but at the end i think i became burned out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed atomosphere
Operater (Former Employee) –  Houston TxJanuary 4, 2015
Very relaxed atomosphere inside call center and it was mild mannered i got along with co workers very well
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to work for
Panel Specialist Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDNovember 23, 2014
I enjoyed meeting and working with different people. I pride in my Customer Service Skills. Dealing with irate customers were difficult but with my strong Communication Skills was able to resolve what could be difficult situations.
Pros
Great Supervisors and Managers
Cons
Laid off after 14yrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Panel Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas TXSeptember 17, 2014
Arbitron was an excellent company to work for, great benefits and monthly bonuses, awesome supervisor team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging place to work
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 20, 2014
Daily tasks were geared around coaching and sales visits to consumers. Great team spirit among co-workers. Freedom to self-manage your day and week. Plenty of opportunity to travel and earn bonuses.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
petty and high school type attitude from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Grow
Research Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Columbia MDJune 26, 2014
Arbitron was a good place to work. I enjoyed my time prior to the Nielsen aquisition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that cared about its employees.
Supervisor Credit & A/R Analyst (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 17, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Arbitron, however due to the aquisition, many departments have been laid off. This was a solid compnay, with a strong family environment, strong work ethics that honestly cared about their employees. I met many wonderful people, and I enjoed coming to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solidly professional organization. Well run and talented, hard working people
MANAGER - Strategic Business Intelligence (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 3, 2014
One of the best places I've ever worked. Management was both competent and reasonable. Never had pointless fire drills or unrealistic deliverables.
Pros
Compensation, work/life balance, coworkers
Cons
taken over by Nielsen
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Bookkeeper/Accounts Receivables (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 29, 2014
Very laid back. Dress code was awesome. It was a lot of work but it was fun. Work well as a team
Pros
Benifits are excellent
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work before sale
VS (Former Employee) –  ColumbiaMarch 19, 2014
Work was very friendly until the acquisition. kfdsfdafdafadfadfdsfffffffffffaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Call Center Representative (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMarch 1, 2014
very busy environment. management is okay. can get worked out by all the calls back to back with no break during busy seasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Shipping & Receiving Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDFebruary 10, 2014
Excellent place to work. management cared about the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arbitron was a wonderful place to work unfortunately it doesn't exist anymore
Sr. System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Columbia MDFebruary 7, 2014
I cannot review the company as they have been purchased by Nielsen and Arbitron no longer exists. Nielsen is a completely different company and I didn't work their long enough to know how the company operates.

I am grateful I got to be an Arbitron Alumni.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arbitron. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1