Find companies:
Arcadia University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Arcadia University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Glenside, PASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: helped me meet my professors and gain work experience.
Cons: low paid work study position.
The people and people in the department are kind and very personable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant work
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Glenside, PAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: helped provide me the money i needed from my income gap as a student
Cons: was not a permanent position
* Had an amazing boss
* understanding of my needs
* Great hours
* Flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aquatic Insect Identification, Trusted with Solo Collection
Commuter Assistant (Former Employee), Glenside, PAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: outdoors, invertebrates, specimen collection
Cons: the heat
I was personally asked by the professor to work in their lab. They wanted me to go to a local environmental center and sample the aquatic invertebrates there with the hopes of identifying them. Eventually I was trusted to go by myself to sample throughout this summer and successfully identified specimens to the genus and species level. The best part – more... of this position was that it was on my own time and could sample when it wasn't too hot out and identify into the night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, great place for networking
Student Worker in Library (Current Employee), Glenside, PAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: paid breaks, laid back environment
Usually I supervise the circulation desk at the library. I help patrons with anything possible. I collect database usage, conduct inventory by making sure all of the books that we should have are actually here.My manager is beyond understanding and very easy to work with. My coworkers are my fellow students so it is a pleasure working with them as well. – more... The hardest part of the job is dealing with patrons' attitudes and complaints. I always handle the complaints in a professional manner though. The best thing about the job is being around positive people. We all have a common goal which is to graduate from college and make a better life for ourselves. Having friendly people around you with common goals always makes a great working environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The PT Director of Clinical Education, didn't have faith that I would fulfill the job with the way she wanted it in the future.
Worker (Former Employee), Glenside, PAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: beautiful campus, great location, after one year tuition remission, benefits, though expensive. for the most part faculty and staff is friendly, easy going, except the person who runs clinical education and one of the coordinators, who had my position previously, are not stable with what they expect.
Cons: unfortunately, they have two sides to their personalities.
The person who runs Clinical Education didn't have faith (but no proof) that I would fulfill the position with the way she wanted it done in the future. All of my work was completed. I put in extra hours and was never late. I took lunch only once in 9 weeks. I never had a sick day. I was always discrete, never speaking a negative word about anyone in – more... or out of the department, and kept all information classified. The transitional coordinator made negative comments about others especially the upcoming newly elected chair (effective September 1, 2014) that was unprofessional, but I kept silent and minded by own business. I remained friendly and respectful to all faculty and staff.
There was no reason I should have been terminated in such a short period (9 weeks) and without a more appropriate reason. I was told I was organized and had strong work ethic by the current chairperson who was easy to speak with and didn't seem to know what to do about this...so I had to be let go to please the person running Clinical Education. The person who runs Clinical Education mentioned I didn't own the position even though I was only there for six weeks at that point. This being said even though my work was all completed in a timely matter with nothing outstanding, overdue, or done incorrectly by a due date. In fact, it was mentioned by the current chair a week before my firing that my work accelerated and that I was doing very well. My termination was done to please the person running Clinical Education. The PT Department is presently in the process to hire new employees in the department, and the coordinator is being promoted to an administrative assistant position to the Physical Therapy chair (effective September 1 , 2014) without a posting going out to the University. The woman before me left for a lower job outside the university which is strange. All of this to satisfy the Clinical Education director's drama episodes. Also, I was never offered any severance pay to make amends for this type of firing. The appropriate person from HR was not available to speak with me upon my dismissal so I met with the benefits person who really had nothing much she could say. A complete witch hunt from the person running Clinical Education and the former transitional coordinator, so please be aware!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and calm work environment
Co-Supervisor (Former Employee), Willow Grove, PAJune 12, 2014
Administrative support staff for Arcadia psychology professors and various students throughout the department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviorment
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Glennside PA,Easton RoadJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: our holiday parties and taking us out to lunch for jobs well done.
Cons: breaks were short but could have been longer.
A typical day at work would be maintaining of my building and helping out where its needed.I learned how to be a good team player.got along very well with those in management and authority.learned how to except criticism in a positive way from co-workers.the hardest part of my job was keeping the president of the university pleased.the most enjoyable – more... part of my job was coming in to my work place and knowing that my management was pleased with my work and a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a pleasant environment to work in
Legal Asst to the VP and General Counsel (Current Employee), Glenside, PAJanuary 15, 2014
Friendly co-workers
Relaxed atmosphere
Inspiring place to work for students and faculty
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and peaceful environment
Assistant Librarian (Former Employee), Glenside, PANovember 27, 2013
Pros: free lunch, flexible schedule, and awesome environment
Cons: summer job
The day was average paced and productive. I've benefited drastically and have learned a lot about the library and the behind the scenes of how it operates. My co-workers and I were cordial and professional. The hardest part of the job was leaving on time, it was such a friendly and awesome work environment. My most enjoyable part of the job was meeting – more... the various students and staff at the university. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An institution that provided its students with research opportunity to further experience and education
research analyst (Former Employee), glenside, paJune 5, 2013
Pros: helpful, friendly environment
Cons: lack of personal growth
A typical day consisted of initially coming together with the supervisor and becoming educated on the project being carried out. My personal progress in the field involved utilizing laboratory techniques like PCR, electrophoresis, proper pipetting skills, and centrifugation. Other areas of studies pertained to environmental investigations that accounted – more... for species richness and diversity in a specific parameter. Moreover, I gained strong skills in reading, interpreting, and reflecting data from studies. The hardest part about the job was working in a very close environment that lacked independence and the ability to advance. Alternatively, the most enjoyable part was the support system and the eagerness to help researchers when they are in doubt or need reinforcement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arcadia University
Apprentice IT Helpdesk (Current Employee), Glenside, PAApril 3, 2013
While working for Arcadia University I have been awarded with many opportunities. I have learned skills such as customer service, the ability to work in a diverse environment and some technological skills. I believe that the hardest part of the job is conveying to customers that we do have their best interests at heart and we are always trying our best – more... to complete tasks in a efficient manner. On the opposite end, the most enjoyable part of the job is working with people with a wide variety of skills and learning from them as well as the tasks at hand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical nonprofit environment..laid back but progressive
Accountant (Current Employee), Glenside, PAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: health benefits...
Cons: lacking public transportation..
Great place to work particularly if residing in area..ghas a very close knit community feel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive environment for personal and professional development
Facilities Manager/ Conference and Events Director (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 19, 2012
Pros: as mentioned above, good benefit plans
Cons: often needing more time and tools to accomplish objectives
- A function-focused environment with emphasis on student professional and personal development
- Opportunities for building creative, cooperative relationships within the University and community-wide
- Support and encouragement given and received between administration and co-workers
- Opportunities of meeting and working with significant leaders – more... both locally and nationally – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational Institution..
Senior Accountant (Current Employee), Glenside, PASeptember 11, 2012
organize my day..begin account analysis gen ledger analysois..bank reconciliation...Journal entries that are needed analyze prepaid insurance and monthly accrulas...make adjusting entries...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Annual Instructor
Neurosurgery Instructor (Current Employee), Christiana, DESeptember 7, 2012
I am only the instructor for neurosurgery for the PA students and do 1 three hour lecture per year, but everything ran very smoothly and the students were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Fundraising Representative (Former Employee), nyJune 21, 2012
• Assisted with daily activities
• Conducted patient surveys to ensure that highest degree of quality care is maintained
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arcadia pride
AV/IT STUDENT ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Glenside, PAMay 15, 2012
My job is a part of my work study allocation. Even though I'm instructed to do this job in order to receive financial aid I have enjoyed every opportunity that has been presented to me. As an AV/IT student assistant I have the opportunity to set up multi-media presentations for our dedicated professors and staff. This job has helped me develop my technological – more... skills. I have gotten to work with projectors, laptops, screens, and speakers. I've had experience with these items separately but having to work with them all at once intimidated me. However, with my boss' instruction and my co-workers guidance I was able to become higly successful at my job. I couldn't be more proud to be a member of the Arcadia University AV department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a jack of all trades
Physical Therapy Office Assistant (Former Employee), Glenside PAMay 13, 2012
Quiet days at work.

Cannot remember anything else, has been 2 years since I last worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing atmospher to work in
Site Manager of Mail and Print Services (Former Employee), Glenside, PADecember 31, 2011
Friendly people and has a home type of feeling around the campus