Archdiocese of Philadelphia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 5, 2017
Excellent place to work. Friendly coworkers. Catholic environment. Located in the center of Philadelphia. Employees treated fairly by supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful - Not Enough Staff, Poor Management
Certified Nursing Assistant and Restorative Aid (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 13, 2017
The facility was always understaffed and it made it difficult to give the care needed to each resident. Poor management. A typical started with the unknown. You could have 12/13 residents per day to provide ADL's. Overnight shifts often only had 1 or two CNA's for three wings. Just not enough hours in the day. Start time was either 6 or 7 am. They didn't want you to take a lunch break until 2:30 or 3 and then you would leave at 6:30 or 7:30 Even then they were asking you to work doubles or stay overnight.
Pros
Working with the Seniors
Cons
Overworked, Underpaid, Stressful, Not Enough Hours in the Day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting Homeless into homes
Residential Aide (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 21, 2017
Typical day at work was dealing with homeless men and making sure their safety is number one. I have learned that dealing with homeless men can be stressful but the outcome is awesome watching how they start from nothing and then gain so much. The culture was really diverse. The best part of work was watching the homeless do daily proactive things trying to better their situation and the worst part was dealing with a crises with the homeless men who have behavioral outburst.
Pros
Eat for free
Cons
Dealing with homeless men acting violent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all experiences not too much tosay about them i was working just to be at work
DCP /direct care professional (Former Employee) –  Archdiocese of PhiladelphiaMay 2, 2017
My review is simple for them bad working with handi cap children its a very good experience I learn a lot from the kids other then that the company is no encouragement.
Pros
No free lunch /
Cons
Normal break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on where you are
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 11, 2017
Each grade school is governed by that particular parish. So depending on the involvement of the community the school can be wonderful or terrible. The school I worked at tried very hard but there was little to no community support. Therefore it translates into funding issues as well as infrastructure issues.
Pros
Rituals traditions god
Cons
Consistency workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 12, 2017
i would recommend this job to anyone they are loyal and will help where ever needed i regret leaving this job but had to for personal reasons please seek them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant Workplace
temporary contractor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 4, 2017
A very busy but pleasant day. Staff were like family. I learned to listen to the applicants. Christian workplace. The most enjoyable part of the job was placing someone in a position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigor and Relevance
Secondary Educator (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 24, 2017
Working with and for the Archdiocese can offer many advantages for a practicing Catholic. Finding the correct school environment is key, not all buildings are fit for everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fullfilling
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 19, 2017
I was only there as an employee for that summer, but I've attended their program before being employed by them, and I must say both experiences were great. Filled with opportunities and open to ideas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have a passion to work with the vulnerable populace choose the Archdiocese
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 17, 2016
The Archdiocese is a good place to start, if you want to gain relational skills with mental health vulnerable populations. It's worthwhile experience to gain.
Pros
Convenient to public transpotation
Cons
The areas are dark at night
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring workplace
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 4, 2016
Working for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia is an honor and a privilege. Everyone is there for the right reasons which is to help the students succeed, in and out of school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The compay is an excellent one. This may be one of the few places that one can stillfind job security.
Classroom Teacher (Current Employee) –  Audubon, PAApril 4, 2016
Excellent co-workers. Team effort and collaboration is satisfactory. The hardest part of the job is trying to school young people who do not want to be schooled.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with enjoyable faculty and generally nice students
High School Teacher (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 22, 2016
I have taught at numerous schools and all had the same environment.

I enjoy the subjects that I teach.

I enjoy the different variety of students.
Pros
Summers off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Kitchen Aide (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 13, 2016
It was a very interested day working with Senior's but is was a very great business.Loved working for them just needed more income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very micromanaged and no supervision nor good training
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Phila, PANovember 18, 2015
Co workers were nice but Mangement and Corporate need to be reorganized and new tecnology is not utilized. Finacial reports are useless . They are ad hoc and outdated .
Pros
Nice people at the school level
Cons
low pay, typical day is puting out fires from all areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All of the companies were a good place to work
Lead Mental Health Worker (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 30, 2015
All of these companies have enable me to be the best at the kind of work I can do today. On any given day work may require advance training in copying skill and the ability to listen with a level of high important. The hardest part of this kind of work could be leaving .The most rewording is watching a family grow often little steps open huge doors for the families I have worked with
Pros
have the ability to help some one
Cons
sallary may requier more that one job i
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on, Physical
Assistant Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon Valley, PAJuly 19, 2015
Moving heavy furniture, painting walls, and doing an in-depth cleaning of the school building for the upcoming academic year. I learned how to strip and wax floors, and general maintenance of a large grade school property.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, which is fun and challenging.
Head Cook (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 13, 2015
Prepped breakfast & dinner, daily. I learned the importance of managing food temperatures according to state & city regulations. Management and co-workers are supportive. The hardest part is working 12.5 hrs, daily and the most enjoyable is when the residents and staff members verbally praise me for going above and beyond the call of duty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productve and fun place to work.
Pre-K Teacher (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 27, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job was the morning time watching the children faces, so happy . A typical day at work was filled with leaning about the newest of school Learning are ABC's , numbers and making new friends. My co-workers were the best. I made friends that will last a life time. The hardest part of the job was leaving and moving.
Pros
Weekends off and summers off with pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving
Assistant Principal (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 16, 2015
A loving place to work. A balanced environment that unites professionalism with spirituality, while focusing forward on 21st century education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Archdiocese of Philadelphia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9