Arctic Slope Regional Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun job where i was able o use my skills
Insulator (Former Employee) –  Prudhoe Bay, AKOctober 16, 2017
Typical day at work started with a safety meeting which is beneficial get out work locations for the day we would go to the fab shop get our tools together and fab up any materials we needed, then we start \would head out to our locations for the day.
Pros
two weeks off
Cons
not being paid for two weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So Far So Good
Software Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sierra Vista, AZJune 13, 2017
I made a huge decision to move my family from Texas to Arizona, to get away from being on the go so much. So far it was a good decision. I enjoy coming to work everyday, and the people that I work with are enjoyable to be around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very respectful, cultural workplace.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Barrow, AKJune 2, 2017
I feel as if everyone has respected the culture of the workplace. Everyone is very respectable in general. They are very understanding of new learners in the workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe workplace.
Accounting Clerk I (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMay 7, 2017
I loved working with people and the job i did, it was fun i learned a lot of new things i didnt know about this corporation till I started working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok but not awesome
Contractor (Current Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDJanuary 19, 2017
I like a lot of the people I work with but saw a change in culture over time toward treating people just as bodies and not people. Shareholders are the focus and the only way to be one is to have Alaskan blood.
Pros
nice facility, pay is competitive, professional environment
Cons
benefits get worse each year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
arctic slope regional corpation oil response operation.
oil spill response (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKDecember 26, 2016
start work 6:00 a:m to 6:00 p:m start safety job paperwork sheet. CPR,AED,and Basic First Aid . journey management . send all itineraries for travel to & from Alaska. train with co.worker in Coldwater Survival Egress Training .having clearance homeland security to get TWIC card .working with enjoyable people 12 hours a day .
Pros
three weeks on to work three weeks off .
Cons
lazy co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need a better overarching business model for the subordinate companies; not enough cooperation
Senior Capture Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDDecember 7, 2016
Solid business base and portfolio. Pays well, but lots of internal churn and sometimes conflicting priorities. Need more coordination between the subordinate companies under the ASRC umbrella.
Pros
Pay, autonomy, empowerment
Cons
Changing priorities, senior management changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place to work
welder helper (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKDecember 7, 2016
Its a great company to learn a lot of useful skills. It also lets you feel a sense of accomplishment. Your co-workers and managers are always willing to help you out when you need it. Also teach you new skills that will help you out down the line. The most enjoyable part of the job is all the experience that you can get. While the only down side is that your away from your family for a while.
Pros
Gain a lot of experience
Cons
Away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Computer Systems Administrator III (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, CONovember 24, 2015
Excellent life/work balance. Excellent benefits package. Wages were flat, but to be expected when working for a government contractor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term contract with excellent company in Anchorage, AK
HVAC & Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKNovember 17, 2015
Contract position: Excellent group, fine quality work and work atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed.
Very professional group of engineers and designers. Well organized in phasing project design requirements.
Multiple meetings that kept all in the loop and kept the projects moving along well.
Pros
Fellow workers, organized projects, fun atmosphere
Cons
None noted during 6 month stay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Arctic Slope Regional Corporation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment
Oil Spill Technician Response (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKOctober 26, 2015
First experience as a Oil spill Tech. I learned a lot in this position and made a lot of new friends. experiencing different work enviroments and lengthy time away from family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Customer service oriented
Shareholder Employment Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Barrow, AlaskaApril 21, 2015
Great oppertunities with ASRC. If we can't find you employment, we will identify training.

Cold call
professional communication
friendly co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
Technical Writer (Current Employee) –  Suitland, MDMarch 24, 2015
Being a contractor means you have a lot of job security working for the government. However, you're never at the corporate office. The salary is decent, and working for NOAA is interesting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Pipe Welder/ Fitter (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJanuary 24, 2015
Safety meeting every morning you have to contribute to, fill out safety papers every morning and place them in work area of all the hazards. Get prints, cut/ prep and weld pipe. Very high turnover rate, big jobs come and get finished very fast. Get all benefits but they dont like giving raises and try to low ball employees on pay. Other than that a great place to work if you are entry level.
Pros
Company BBQ after big jobs are done, Get good benefits
Cons
Not very competitive on pay unless they really need you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the Artic circle
Pipe Welder/Operator (Former Employee) –  AlaskaOctober 15, 2014
It was a good job but I got layed off. Meet a lot of good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at ASRC
Systems Administrator III (Current Employee) –  Beltsville, MDMay 23, 2014
ASRC is an Alaska owned Native Corporation with 10,000 employees nationwide. They provide a relaxed, but professional work environment where I was able to work my way up from Helpdesk Technician to Systems Administrator with a combination of on the job experience and proficiency in my job. There will be travel and training opportunities that should delight anyone seeking career employment.

The hardest part of the job is that the infrastructure and projects are very business driven. Supporting a large enterprise can be difficult when IT is at the whim of business decisions and processes. There are a multitude of tools at their disposal but some more staffing would go a long way.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the relaxed but professional environment and exposure to best of breed technologies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Telecommunications Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 20, 2014
Good benefits, opportunities to join other contracts but upward mobility is average.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work - Stress-free and laid back work environment
ACHC STUDENT INTERN (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKFebruary 14, 2014
ACHC Student Intern: Must be an ASRC or equivalent Shareholder.

Flexible schedule to accommodate with school, certifications to further performance and goals. I can stay involved with various safety meetings and luncheons. The workload varies, mainly data entry and filing Incident reports, training, certificates, etc.
Pros
Certifications, training, flexible schedule, safety involvment
Cons
No benefits, position is not considered full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Fort Huachuca, AZJanuary 27, 2014
I would highly recommend this company. They truly care about their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and interesting work. Great crew.
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, AlabamaJanuary 21, 2014
Exciting opportunity to work on US rocket program.
Challenging work with a great crew.
Pros
In the middle of the action.
Cons
Away from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arctic Slope Regional Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Arctic Slope Regional Corporation Reviews by Location