Find companies:
Area Wide Protective
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Area Wide Protective Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWP Winter Garden
flagger (Former Employee), winter garden,floridaJuly 13, 2014
Cons: everything
Worst job by way I ever tried to work at.. First off the interview not a,interview just a hey you got the job. Next is training which you find out you can,easily die flagging.. Not to mention no breaks,no lunchs you can't even use restroom unless u have someone to watch your post basically. Fulltime right? Bs you will get 17 maybe 20 hours sometimes – more... how is that fulltime?!! Alot butt kissers and lazy people.. No benefits so kiss your butt good bye if something happens out on a job.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Traffic Control Specialist (Current Employee), Lima, OHJuly 4, 2014
Would like to find a better paying job. The hours are not the same every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee), Huntington, WVMay 11, 2014
Pros: met some nice people
I worked for this company for about 6 months. Yea I worked 4-6 days a week, had a truck, etc. They fired me for something that happened 4 months prior to my termination. It doesn't stop at that. They refused to pay me the hours worked on my final check, disregarded state laws and paid me late etc. this company is a joke, management plays favoritism – more... and is so in organized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people are easy to get along with
Flagger (Current Employee), Pikeville, KYMay 5, 2014
Pros: easy days and nice people
Cons: no benfits and dangerous road conditions
The work days vary some days are easy and short some days are long and hard the management is ok but they have no clue how to run a company they are to hard on there workers and dont treat them the way they deserve to be treated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Flagger (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNMay 4, 2014
*Iv been here a year and they play favoritism BIG TIME
*You get a phone call everynight and if you don't your on call for the next day(witch you better live close or they will never call you)
*Everyone else in my ATSSA class is driving before me

Pretty much if your an butt kisser its a good job but if not find something else
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is full of mess from the start!!
New hire (Former Employee), Cary,NCApril 23, 2014
Pros: easy interview
Cons: no benefits, no schedule, sloppy management!!!
So for starters this job had a posting up stating that they had open interviews to all that were intrested in the postition for traffic controllers. I then went to the open interview which was very sloppy because the manager was all over the place not organized at all. All candidates were called into a room where the manager ran through the job description – more... so quick u could barely understand her! Then they pulled u in a room for a one on one interview but they didnt ask u any questions! The manager just gave you a sheet of paper and said "go do your drug test" which was the easiest interview ever i would say!! After your drug test u have to call them and ask for a start date!! Ridiculous because they NEVER call you!! Such a waste of time!! I went to the interview even after reading the ratings just to see for myself if this company was as bad as people say!!! Lol YES THEY ARE!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee), Kent, OHApril 21, 2014
Pros: long hours great people
Cons: long hours
its a great company to work for and a lot of different people around too teach anything you need or ask for help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's not for everyone
Crew Chief (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 10, 2014
Pros: company truck
Cons: nuh uh, not saying.
I controlled traffic. I learned ODOT regulations. I'm not saying anything about my co-workers or manager at this place. It was hard being outside in steel toed boots in freezing weather. It was nice driving around the city and being outside when pneumonia wasn't a risk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you can honestly make more money working fast food.
Traffic safety coordinator (Former Employee), Huntington,wvApril 7, 2014
Pros: 25$ christmas bonus to walmart lol
Cons: to many for words
My typical day was driving my own car an hour plus to meet someone in a company truck than going to meet the Forman to get cancelled for the day I spent more than I made just getting to work. The hardest part about working there is standing for long periods of time. I am being 100% honest you can make more at Taco Bell my check on a very good two weeks – more... would be around 475 to 500 who can live on 1000$ a month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taking care of Kidos
Traffic Control Officer (Former Employee), Akron, OHMarch 27, 2014
I really enjoyed taking care of the kids, it made my day! I would make lesson plans for age appropriate activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, easy going, great co workers
Safety Supervisor (Former Employee), Cuyahoga Falls, OHMarch 10, 2014
Pros: company car, phone, laptop, tablet
Cons: lack of communication, salary, health care
Supervised 150 employees, inspected traffic control work zones to the standards of Area Wide Protective rules and regulations. Constructed mass traffic control work zone set ups. Managing employee's, Ordering correct supplies for traffic control work zones. My co-workers are very hardworking and come from all walks of life, very dedicated and self-efficient. – more... Hardest part of the job was trying to gather equipment from different locations under time constrictions. Most enjoyable part of the job was driving around Ohio and seeing different parts of the state. My co-workers having complete faith in me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for them
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: getting a job with mastec while working for awp..
Cons: danny from the greensboro office sucks. he should be fired!!
Don't work for these Company. Management out of Greensboro NC (Danny) will curse at you threaten to hold paychecks and saying they will add the check on to your next check!! I don't think so double tax my paychecks Other employees will backstab you cause I think they have seniority over you trying to get your job from you that's you've been placed on. – more... You will work your but off for $10 a hour drive miles and hours and not get payed for drive time. Just my opinion the management in Greensboro office is a bit sneaky and Shady.. They promise me a raise after six months of higher haven't seen a dime. You never get things you will need todo your job with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run, hide, get away
Traffic Control Specialist (Current Employee), Pikeville, KYFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: co-workers, client workers, travel
Cons: everything else besides the cons
First thing, you don't know if you're working the next day and if you do work you don't know if it'll be 1 hour or 16 hours..
There is no difference in full time and part time here..
No one gets benefits besides managers..
Poor management, low pay
You're work in the road and they treat you like you're 5 when you're in the road.
You communicate by $5 – more... walkie talkies from dollar store, you can yell back and forth and do better than these things..
The company is all about the almighty dollar..
They give you garbage equipment then when you try to rig it, they'll write you up after telling you to do it...
If you think its to dangerous to work, get over it
If you have a family and the only one looking for work, try your luck somewhere else
The pay is aweful, they don't give you the supply's to keep your equipment in good working order. If your work truck is tearing up they'll make you drive it until it's useless them find ways to gripe at you
All in all, DO NOT work for this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Traffic Control Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: get to travel and work through out florida
Cons: having to work in really bad weather while standing for extended periods of time
Fun and fast pace environment surrounded by co-workers who knows the job. Management is very supportive and helpful when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Maryland Manager (Current Employee), Kent, OHFebruary 7, 2014
Don't put in an application. Only good thing is some of the coworkers are cool. But management sucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad of a company to work for.
Traffic Control (Former Employee), North Canton, OHFebruary 6, 2014
great management. they did not take care of the workers as well as they could of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work experience
Traffic specialist (Former Employee), Bedford, OHJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: not a great work place but you can make lots of money
Cons: great pay after time in a half
I worked and they didnt not provide hours I only worked for 4 weeks and I was on call 1 day a week in a two week period job security is not promised. Management sucks they lied about hours as well as opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABSOLUTE DISGRACE!
Flagger (Former Employee), Canton, OHJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: you get to go home at the end of the shift
Cons: everything
This has to be by far the worst company in business! Terrible pay, management sucks, too much favoritism, disorganized and the supervisors they dnt care about you.. All the they care is that ALL MIGHTY DOLLAR! The WORST union in the country, to top it off no raises, no benefits, and the convenient company vehicles barely run.. Very bad place to work! – more... How do you call yourself a union but the company doesn't have to go by seniority! SERIOUSLY!!! Once you go full-time your pay drops .25 cents! Beware, Beware, Beware!!! Trust me you dnt want to work here! If your unemployed, Keep looking!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job to work for!
Flagger (Current Employee), Dunbar, WVJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: non paid lunch, not knowing if you have to work, bad communication
I have worked for this company for about 6 months now and all the reviews on this job is spot on correct! I have worked a day out of the last 3 weeks, you don't have any idea when and where you are working, how long you will be, and most of the formans you work with doesn't communicate with you to let you know what's going on. When you do get to work – more... most of the formans leave you to find your way back home. Some days you will work 10 hours and somedays you will work 4. Hands down the worse job I have ever had. I wouldn't recommend working here at all. We don't get paid enough to stand out in the freezing cold to hold a sign.
NOT WORTH ANYONES TIME AND ENERGY! Don't apply! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
definitely not recommanded!!!
Traffic Control Technician (Current Employee), Youngstown,ohJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: paycheck if you work 60 hrs a week
Cons: usually no breaks not even for lunch, company does not care, hours, no room for advancement whatsoever!
First off, this company does not care what happens to you as long as they get their money from the contractor. You never know if your gonna get 4 hrs or 16 for the day. Half the time, whether you work for electric or pipeline, you do not get breaks. You have to eat your lunch while flagging. You have to deal with ALL weather, including lightening storms – more... and toenado sirens. If your crew is on the road, you have to be on as well, if not you take the chance of getting fired. All in all this company works harder at firing people then they do at keeping people. – less

1 2 3