Find companies:
Argonne National Laboratory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

Argonne National Laboratory Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of the art scientific laboratory
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Lemont, ILDecember 7, 2014
State of the art scientific laboratory with the most modern technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for starting research career
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 28, 2014
Pros: great facilities
Good workplace with world class facilities, good to perform high evel research. Excellent starting point for an early career researcher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Mail Clerk (Former Employee), ILNovember 4, 2014
I loved working for Argonne National Laboratory. Very nice co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and respectful workplace
Assistant Chemist (Current Employee), Lemont, ILNovember 2, 2014
Colloborative and productive work place.
beautiful campus with new instruments to analyze and seminars to listen to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treats workforce poorly
Postdoc Research Scientist (Current Employee), ILOctober 24, 2014
Pros: some good colleages
Cons: poor management
Poor experience as an adjunct; Puts extreme load and want teachers to keep continuing as adjunct without any benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment.
Sr. Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Advance Photon SourceOctober 7, 2014
Pros: never ending challenges
Cons: goverment facility subjected to political correctness!!!!
My career at Argonne National Laboratory has been interesting regarding growing in the knowledge of the field in relation to Argonne with respect to the research. The friendships that are created and grow over time. The hardest part of the job? Receiving that on call at 1:30am to come in to troubleshoot and repair! The most enjoyable part of the job? – more... When coworkers and or management give you compliments on the quality of the project that you have completed! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience and exposure to govenment purchasing
Procurement Specialist III (Former Employee), Lemont, ILSeptember 22, 2014
Great learning experience and exposure to govenment purchasing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energy research lab
worker (Former Employee), Lemont, ILAugust 28, 2014
Pros: some decent people work there.
Cons: the government should give them more money.
A typical day at work was 8 to 5, sometime to 6 or 6:30.
what you learned: keep "off the radar".
management: under a lot of pressure.
your co-workers: decent people.
the hardest part of the job: hitting goals with all the phone calls, e-mails and mandatory meetings.
the most enjoyable part of the job: interacting with people outside of your own division.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice park and wildlife
tech (Former Employee), Lemont, ILJune 24, 2014
working at Argonne was a job I enjoyed .Work was laid out by are super then we would perform the jobs, management was a joy to work for,co-workers were very helpfly .the hardest part of the job understanding why we build the devices we build for testing.The most enjoyable part was working with good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everday is yours
Intern (Former Employee), Argonne, ILMay 2, 2014
Very little work due to inability to ration out small portions of such large projects with such large undertakings. I had a lot of fun and made a lot of friends. They had a lot of programs to let you see Chicago as well as free movie Wednesdays. Definitely would recommend this place if you're into R&D.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start up
Chief Operating Assistant (Former Employee), ILMarch 31, 2014
A typical day at work involved learning different parts of the research wings. My first few months there, i had lots of time learning a lot of different things, but then everyday routine takes more precedence and less time to learn other things on my own time. Management was very helpful and understanding of my situation balancing kids, full time job, – more... college, etc., but the insane work schedule (working through nights for a week every other week) took a toll on me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Environment
Internship Student (Former Employee), Lemont, ILMarch 13, 2014
My typical day at work was analyzing the programming outcome using Visual C++ to monitor system,linking and running Visual C++ and Matlab using Simulink to analyze the outcome of the fuel alternative vehicle, debugging computer programs using Visual C++, Simulink, and Matlab to find run-time errors, helping develop fuel alternative vehicles using Visual – more... C++, Simulink and MatLab. I have learned about using various programming languages and how to problem solve while debugging various computer programs. My advisor was very helpful in challenging my learning skills. She had me learn on how to use different computer programs to see which one will work in debugging the fuel alternative vehicle program. The hardest part of my job was getting the program to work where there were few bugs in it and making sure that the program is displaying the correct formulas and information. I enjoy working on learning how Argonne is developing fuel alternative vehicles and how Visual C++, Matlab, and Simulink work; – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research environment
Post Doctoral Fellow (Former Employee), Lemont, ILFebruary 3, 2014
Scientists have independence to carry out their own research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with great benefits
Cognizant Systems Engineer (Current Employee), ILNovember 22, 2013
Good place to work with great benefits, however due to the dysfunction in Congress, there is a lack of job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
observe and report
Security Officer (Former Employee), Darien, ILNovember 21, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: short breaks
customer service, investigate and report, post and patrol duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge research
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Lemont, ILSeptember 23, 2013
One of the most amazing thing to work at Argonne is that one can collaborate with so many experts from different field to provide solutions to the critical problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Workplace
PRINCIPAL MECHANICAL ENGINEER (Former Employee), ILAugust 15, 2013
Pros: very good benefits, excelent ambience, interesting people.
Cons: no cons.
Typical day of work was busy and extremely interesting. Working with the brightest people from all over the world gave me the unforgettable experience. Management was friendly and caring. The same applies to co-workers. In my case the hardest part of the job was also the most enjoyable since there was a lot of traveling involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Visiting Scientist (Former Employee), ILAugust 13, 2013
It was international company with very professional people.
It was interesting and educational to work in SSC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some where between industry and academia
Engineering Specialist Senior (Current Employee), ILJuly 29, 2013
ANL is a strange mixture of industry and academia. There are good benefits but unless you are publishing papers there is not much room for advancement. The management are better scientists then managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with others. Team leader. Love a chalenge and always willing and eager to learn more.
Scientific Assistant (Former Employee), Lemont, ILJuly 2, 2013
Pros: free education. great benefits
A typical day at work was a new and exciting experience.
I learned something new everyday about work and about myself.
Management was excellent.
My coworkers gossip a little to much.
The hardest part of my job was leaving at the end of work day.
Most enjoyable was arriving to work ready to go every morning.

1 2 3

About Argonne National Laboratory

It takes a lot of manpower to¬†build a nation's economic and energy security. That's why there's the US Department of Energy. The – Read more

Argonne National Laboratory Photos