Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne National Laboratory Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 76 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place To Work
Designer/Drafter (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILJune 15, 2015
I enjoyed my time at ANL immensely. The work they do there is important. More government funding would help push projects along quicker though.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Funding shortfalls
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with a diverse culture
Lead Senior Technician (Current Employee) –  ILMay 26, 2015
There are many different people from many different countries and backgrounds. Argonne promotes a fantastic work/life balance. This is a great place to work all who are interested in science.
Pros
Lab contributes 9% of your salary to your 401K if you contribute 2.5%.
Cons
Not always room for advancement because people work there forever.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great start for a criminal justice career
Pro Force Officer (Former Employee) –  ILMay 22, 2015
great environment to work in, you meet lots of different people from various places and cultures. plus you get the chance to see lots of scientific marvels.
Pros
very interesting place to work
Cons
no public transportation access
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Nuclear Engineering Associate (Current Employee) –  lemontApril 29, 2015
Working at Argonne National Laboratory is a wonderfully fulfilling experience. I am so happy to be here (and that is not even sarcastic at all!). I wish that I could work here forever.
Pros
the gym
Cons
nothing!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILApril 15, 2015
I learned many new data bases and was able to use them to create other Excel spreadsheets for tracking purposes. I learned to work with people of all different levels from custodial to top management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefit empolyee package
Power Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  Lemont, ILApril 5, 2015
Awesome place to work. College style atmosphere. Good food. Close to Chicago. Great benefits. Relaxed atmosphere. Fitness center onsite,
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent for Academic Researcher
Research Aide Intern (Current Employee) –  Lemont, ILMarch 2, 2015
Overall a great place to work if you want to continue research after PhD. Higher pay than other postdocs. Flexible work schedule and enviroment.
Pros
fexible times, various experts
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILFebruary 15, 2015
It was almost a days work starting from 8 in the morning till 5pm. I enjoy the freedom of taking short brakes. but when it comes to work the goal set is to be reached in the stipulated time. co-workers are all hardworking to keep us in close coordinance with the progress of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Argonne is a good place to work.
Software Contractor (Current Employee) –  Darien, ILDecember 22, 2014
I enjoyed working at Argonne. I liked the people, had a good mix of assignments and achieved things I had never even tried at previous jobs. Developing the Selenium based automated test environment for the e-Foci / e-Fcl web sites was most rewarding. But, developing / enhancing the HelpTool (web-based) for our Help Desk staff and general web-based applications were also new and interesting challenges.

Originally, I was hired to clean up a project that triangulated on a radiation source to pin-point the location of the source. I succeeded at this very well, I think, eliminating more than half the source code through refactoring and 'dead-code' detection. I also eliminated a massive number of memory leaks, so the application would run continuously, rather than for only an hour or two.
Pros
interesting an new challenges.
Cons
lack of needed support from other developers due to their lack of free time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of the art scientific laboratory
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILDecember 7, 2014
State of the art scientific laboratory with the most modern technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for starting research career
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 28, 2014
Good workplace with world class facilities, good to perform high evel research. Excellent starting point for an early career researcher.
Pros
great facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  ILNovember 4, 2014
I loved working for Argonne National Laboratory. Very nice co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and respectful workplace
Assistant Chemist (Current Employee) –  Lemont, ILNovember 2, 2014
Colloborative and productive work place.
beautiful campus with new instruments to analyze and seminars to listen to.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treats workforce poorly
Postdoc Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  ILOctober 24, 2014
Poor experience as an adjunct; Puts extreme load and want teachers to keep continuing as adjunct without any benefits.
Pros
some good colleages
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment.
Sr. Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  Advance Photon SourceOctober 7, 2014
My career at Argonne National Laboratory has been interesting regarding growing in the knowledge of the field in relation to Argonne with respect to the research. The friendships that are created and grow over time. The hardest part of the job? Receiving that on call at 1:30am to come in to troubleshoot and repair! The most enjoyable part of the job? When coworkers and or management give you compliments on the quality of the project that you have completed!
Pros
never ending challenges
Cons
goverment facility subjected to political correctness!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience and exposure to govenment purchasing
Procurement Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILSeptember 22, 2014
Great learning experience and exposure to govenment purchasing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energy research lab
worker (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILAugust 28, 2014
A typical day at work was 8 to 5, sometime to 6 or 6:30.
what you learned: keep "off the radar".
management: under a lot of pressure.
your co-workers: decent people.
the hardest part of the job: hitting goals with all the phone calls, e-mails and mandatory meetings.
the most enjoyable part of the job: interacting with people outside of your own division.
Pros
some decent people work there.
Cons
the government should give them more money.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice park and wildlife
tech (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILJune 24, 2014
working at Argonne was a job I enjoyed .Work was laid out by are super then we would perform the jobs, management was a joy to work for,co-workers were very helpfly .the hardest part of the job understanding why we build the devices we build for testing.The most enjoyable part was working with good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everday is yours
Intern (Former Employee) –  Argonne, ILMay 2, 2014
Very little work due to inability to ration out small portions of such large projects with such large undertakings. I had a lot of fun and made a lot of friends. They had a lot of programs to let you see Chicago as well as free movie Wednesdays. Definitely would recommend this place if you're into R&D.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start up
Chief Operating Assistant (Former Employee) –  ILMarch 31, 2014
A typical day at work involved learning different parts of the research wings. My first few months there, i had lots of time learning a lot of different things, but then everyday routine takes more precedence and less time to learn other things on my own time. Management was very helpful and understanding of my situation balancing kids, full time job, college, etc., but the insane work schedule (working through nights for a week every other week) took a toll on me.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Argonne National Laboratory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 76 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture