Find companies:
Argos
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
615 reviews

Argos Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has changed in the last 2 years. The security and the enviroment has become very tell and do not ask too many questions.
Argos store manager (Store manager) (Current Employee), St Stephen GreenFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: digital leader
Cons: poor support and lacks real leadership.
I enjoyed my first 3 years then the company changed , stopped lane 4 people development and have become very do what your told do not ask too many questions. Great company to learn the digital retail environment. A very loyal group to the company which at the moment is a very good asset.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team spirit
Shipping & Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Elgin, ILDecember 22, 2013
Several receiving on a daily basis must have team sprit and be very open-minded to be cross trained in other departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
sales assistant (Former Employee), enfield retail parkFebruary 23, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
it was a good first insite and experience in a retail environment especially at a big company like argos which taught me alot of very important lessons/values i need to make me a better retail industry worker and finally showed me that retail is definitely one of a few industries i would love to be involved in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and extremely long working hours
Argos Customer Service Centre (Current Employee), Sittingbourne, ENGSeptember 13, 2014
Poor working conditions, sometimes 13 to 14 hour working days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good first job
Customer Advisor (Former Employee), Eastleigh, ENGSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: everyone was really nice, good pay and discount
Cons: not long enough hours, typical amount of hours would be 3hrs on sat and sunday, and it would be at awkward times like 12-3
this was my first ever job although I wasn't till trained, It was still a really easy job to understand I got to work in the stock room as well as collection point and my favourite part was working in the stock room, it was really easy! :D
I was ment Christmas temp from Oct2013-Jan2014 but my manager extended my contract to Feb2014.
Management was really – more... nice and helpful and so was all my co-workers whenever I needed help they was always there.
Hardest part for me was if the item that got picked was wrong and you had to find the correct item, we always found it in the end.
Most enjoyable was surprisingly when it was busy because time went really quick and was always kept busy!
My typical day was just on collection giving out orders and then if I was told I would have to go up to stockroom and pick the orders for collection point to give out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a productive and fun place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee), Norwich, ENGSeptember 10, 2014
I would start off by opening the shop with a member of the management or team member.
I have learned again that I can be confident enough to serve customers and deal with customer problems.
my co-workers were all very nice people and we always worked together as a team every day that we went into work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trainee shop assistant
Retail Assistant (Former Employee), hullSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
my training at argos was on customer service were I served the customers with their items that thy have reserved or wanted to purchest and I was talking and making sure that the customers were happy when they left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), LondonSeptember 5, 2014
• Helping customers with queries and assessing the customers using our new system of ipad for search of needed items
• Merchandised, replenished stock and collect items for customers by using auto voice system
• Undertook product demonstrations and informed customers about specifications
• Met and exceeding assigned sales and profitability targets and – more... performance criteria
• Dealt successfully with customers’ complaints and comments as well as refund and exchanges – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Work Experience (Former Employee), Leamington Spa, ENGSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: good workplace to work for
Cons: i have no cons
I enjoyed every day and minute for being there I got on with the team and made new friends and was happy being part of the team

the hardest part of the job was carrying the heavy items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but petty management
Customer Advisor (Current Employee), leedsSeptember 4, 2014
i enjoy working for argos, but some of the people i work with can make it difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace, fun team
Customer Service Advisor (Part time) (Former Employee), Bristol, ENGSeptember 1, 2014
Every day might see you working a different position i.e. on tills, in warehouse, at collection, on delivery etc.

Management are friendly, and helpful though at times disorganised, and lacking communication skills.

Co-workers fun, helpful, familiar with their roles.

Training was primarily e-learning. Easy to use system, though many holes in the skills – more... and knowledge needed on job.

Hardest part of the job is we are kept understaffed at all times- When someone calls in sick, it's very hard to call in replacement.

Most enjoyable part is having fun with the team. Very fun group of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Christmas Temp (Former Employee), Rushden, ENGAugust 31, 2014
Pros: it was an enjoyable experience and my first proper paid job
Cons: it was only a temporary job and i couldn't stay on longer
i could work on the till, i would sale save sometimes - this meant i would walk around the shop floor helping customers look for the right product, if we didn't have it i could check on the computer if another store had it and i could reserve it for them
i worked on the till a couple of times
i also enjoyed doing the picking out the back and finding – more... the products for the customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy and Challenging
Sales assistant/Customer Advisor (Former Employee), Blackpool, ENGAugust 30, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
It was hard at times however, when a sale was completed it was rewarding and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Challenging workplace
Customer Advisor (Current Employee), Wood GreenAugust 28, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: workload
Argos is a enjoyable job that has many benefits whereas it can become very challenging at the busy seasons of Christmas etc where it is imperative to have good communication and leadership skills to ensure customers have the most pleasant shopping experience we can provide for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of last job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Hartlepool, Marina, EngAugust 28, 2014
Pros: we all got 10% discount from the store
Cons: could be more hours.
My Training was very good and easy for me because i'm more the hands on just like the training, Except it was a live shop we where at so we had to serve real customers and help customers on different ways to pay on the shop floor. Behind the shop where we keep the stock we would be very busy picking stock for the customer and putting new stock on the – more... shelves but well worth the experience and would do it again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and Physical Job
Customer Advisor (Former Employee), RayleighAugust 25, 2014
Pros: customer based
Cons: headsets
A typical day at Argos was to be on a headset to pick items that customer have ordered and to put delivery away. Delivery would come in every night and it would be the main task to complete the following day. I learnt that I can be very patient when it comes to dealing with customer quires or problems, also with customer whom have speaking or hearing – more... impairment. The most enjoyable part of the job was to be a Navigator and spend part of your shift on the shop floor, welcoming customer into the store, be ready and available to answer any questions and also able to open and close a sale with a customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Customer Advisor (Current Employee), Staines, ENGAugust 23, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: nothing
Working for Argos has taught me a lot, it has helped make me a more confident person and helped me to expand my customer service skills. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was always fresh ideas from a vary of diffrent peopple with diffrent perspectives
Reatil assistant (Former Employee), SCTAugust 23, 2014
Pros: if you ever forgot your money luch ect someone would always be there to help you out.
Cons: some days could be long shifts and tireing but worth it
a typical day at work would entail being there on time and prepared. i learned a lot about the company and how things worked behind the counters from a different prospective prom the public. I made new friends as well as gaining collueges, The hardest part of the job was near christmas it was always busy and you had to make sure you got the correct – more... objects to the customers within the time limit of 3 miniutes wich was some times hard with the amount of object you had to collect in the time it could sometimes be overwealming, the most enjoyable part about the job was that h they gave me the oppertunity to experience work in the company and met lots of decent genuine people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learned
Customer advisors (Former Employee), Orpington, ENGAugust 22, 2014
This was my first retail job, It taught me alot in dealing with the public and the correct customer service that is provided within a retail store. I enjoyed the expreince of learning the correct way to deal with the pulic and also in working within a team of partners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), BournemouthAugust 19, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: not hitting my targets e.g product care
It was a fairly simple and easy job with friendly people, a typical day for me would either consist of picking tickets and searching for and collecting the customers purchased items and delivering it to them, or on tills working customer service. i learnt how to smile literally all the time, i got better with my communication and people skills, and – more... obviously gained a lot more confidence and work experience. for me the hardest part of the job was trying to achieve product care, the most enjoyable part was just picking the tickets because it was so simple and easy i made a game of it when the day was dragging on. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Argos

Argos is a catalogue merchant based in the United Kingdom and Ireland. With over 800 stores, it is the largest general-goods retailer – Read more

Argos Photos