Find companies:
Arkansas Department Of Human Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Arkansas Department Of Human Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Be
Assistant to Arkansas Medicaid Director (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARSeptember 3, 2014
DHS is a great place to work. The employees and management are very personable. Everyone relates on some level or another. People get along with each other. It's kind of like family. Having a parking deck is a huge blessing. It really makes a difference if it's very rainy outside. I can't think of anything negative to say about this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it is a good place to work.
Program Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee), West Memphis, ARAugust 25, 2014
Pros: the work schedule
Cons: healthcare and a tremendous amount of paperwork.
I enjoy helping others and I'm giving that opportunity with the department of human services. I work hard on a daily basis. I enjoy the contact I have with my clients. The caseload is terribly large, but its a very rewarding job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Government
Local Office Assistant (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARJuly 21, 2014
Good place to work if interested in serving people to provide support in Human Services to the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work each day
DDS Specialist (Former Employee), harrison arJune 3, 2014
This position required a lot of time management due to paperwork timelines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and willing to learn.
Family Service worker (Former Employee), Warren, ArkansasApril 14, 2014
Pros: always on time.
Cons: healthcare
A typical work day is something that I like. Learning about different people and helping my clients and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was stressful at sometimes but l enjoyed helping general public
Administrative Specialist II (Former Employee), El Dorado, ARFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: benefits, advancement, 401k, retirement
Cons: environment stressful at times, negative supervisor
Typical day at work was a little stressful and busy.

Learned to be patience and be multi-tasker.

Management- N/A

Co-workers was helpful at times.

The hardest part of the job was getting deadlines done promptly.

Most enjoyable part of the job was helping the general public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DHS Investigations Division
SIU Public Service Investigator (Current Employee), Bentonville, Washington County , Benton CountyJanuary 31, 2014
Cons: little rock supervisors
Okay this Place is B-O-R-I-N-G the work load is impossible to complete. Average 40 cases per week Never ever ever Stops being depressing. Every worker at the Office lives in Fearof being Fired . You area At will Employee for the State and you will not make enough money to support your family No matter what Job you get. I have never seen anything like – more... it. Everyone hates coming to work, then you see people that are so badly in need of help that thanks to the reduction in SNAP not much you can do to help. You will cry every evening when you get Home. Take my advise, your better off even if you have to hold a sign and beg for food. Oh and the Great Benefits these other idiots are talking about will cost you $250.00 a month off your check and u still will pay $35 for a dr. Visit. Your take home will be $600.00 for two weeks. I had to leave before I hung. Myself. It is Hell if you apply dont say I didnt warn you. I dont care what job it is at DHS money is horrible, management iz Horrible and dont think you will help needy. You will be mandated to refer any and I mean any suspisions for a Investigation. Even if u know these poor souls need the money. Sad part most CW get excited denying benifets. Like i said its Hell And working there makes demons out of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but interesting
Family Service Worker (Former Employee), West Memphis, ArDecember 17, 2013
Pros: extra pay
Cons: working after hours
I experienced a lot working with children. This will help me in the near future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government job, dealing with red tape
County Records Clerk (Former Employee), West Memphis, ARNovember 20, 2013
Pros: health benefits, regular schedule, holidays off, paid vacation
Cons: self serving caseworkers who didn't care about clients; poor pay
This job started out really well, but the longer I worked there, the worse it got. The caseworkers were more concerned with personal drama than with helping clients; My favorite part was transcribing for children and family services, but you saw the worse of human beings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive position
Administrative Specialist III/Human Resources (Former Employee), Pine Bluff, ARNovember 19, 2013
Great place to work, politics makes it difficult to work there. Management needs revamping. Management needs to be overhauled
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Management
Local Office Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Smith, ARNovember 16, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: lack of leadership on part of supervisors and upper management
Management is more concerned about the rules than quality of service or quality of working environment. Get reamed out if you start before 8:00 or work a minute past 4:30. Immediate supervisor had already retired in her own mind and was unavailable and/or unapproachable. Decisions were not made with all players participating in the process and as a – more... result, they got revamped MANY times, and often received contradictory directives. Many go to work there thinking they will make a difference in people's lives...and leave very disenchanted with the chaotic and unsupportive environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow and learn about children and families with disabilities
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARAugust 2, 2013
I get so much joy knowing that I'm able to provide a service that will benefit children and families with a developmental disability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much politics interfere with ability to do job
FSW Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Smith, ARJune 3, 2013
Pros: lots of good co-workers, helping people, fast paced, everyday is different
Cons: low pay, long hours, on-call, when things go wrong, (and they do frequently) the administration is quick to look for someone to blame and fire
DHS/DCFS is filled with very dedicated and idealistic people. The mission of the agency is to help strengthen families and protect children. However, there are many dynamics involved in that mission. I recommend that you understand that it is very unlikely that you will make this job a long term career. The constant stress leads to a high turnover rate – more... that adds to the stress of the job. A lack of placements available for teenagers results in a lot of long nights and much time spent on the road away from you family. Then you have to balance the demands of the agency, your clients, and the juvenile court. And that is just the beginning! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Fiscal Support Analyst (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 20, 2013
A typical day at work is creating purchase requisitions and reconciling accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment
FINANCE ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 13, 2013
Pros: very flexible and laid back work environment
Cons: healthcare, interal advancement opportunites
I have learned a lot while working in State Government. My current workflow is very busy and I constantly have deadlines. I enjoy the workflow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A much needed organization
Family Service Worker (Current Employee), Jacksonville, ARApril 21, 2013
Pros: interacting with various personalities, providing services
Cons: very time consuming, stressful. the job can consume your life. pay does not compensate for work required.
Working at DHS requires great time management skills, communication and multi-tasking. Teamwork can make the day easier. The job can be very rewarding when you are able to help families better their situation and make life changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DCFS FSW is Hard Work
DCFS Family Service Worker (Former Employee), Woodruff CountyJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: action packed in investigations, great co-workers and pto.
Cons: long hours if you not use to it (dcfs), dangerous life & death in some areas (dcfs)
Being a Family Service Worker is hard work and it can be dangerous out there in protecting the children. It was adrenaline rush and action when I was a FSW but I got burned out. DCFS needs to strongly praised and more recognition needs to be for DCFS. It is a great job and a excellent job if you are an investigator. Case Management Work is tough. I – more... worked with some great co-workers and supervisors! I actually cried I left but it had to be done because I simply got burned out. There is a big need for some good strong & knowledgeable people to keep children away from abuse & neglect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, difficult place to be an FSW
Family Service Worker (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: wonderful coworkers
Cons: doing the best they can with a broken system.
I loved the people I worked with at DHS, but the state needs to allot more money to its children. The constant crisis environment and high case loads lead to task-juggling that sometimes lets the children in the system down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low morale and poor advancement opportunity
Program Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARJanuary 10, 2013
I enjoy working with the public however,the compensation doesn't match the labor from employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Access Arkansas Processing Center
Program Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee), Batesville, AROctober 24, 2012
Pros: health care and retirement benefits.
Cons: please see above review.
I would avoid this office unless you are without any other options. The management is sub par, the work day is long and tedious, 29 days out of 30 you will be emailed wanting to know why your case work is not done (never mind that you have the work of three people), morale is terrible, and 4:30 is the most enjoyable part of the day because that is going – more... home time. – less